Your Cart Is Empty

Spectre Cold Air Intake Customer Reviews

Average Rating

80 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Doug & (Littleton, CO) Reviewed for a 1998 Chevy Tahoe — 2012-11-28 13:08:31

Nice quality fit and finish for half the price of the big name companies.

Great cheap alternative!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David S (Albuquerque, NM) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford F-150 — 2009-09-30 21:25:58

I bought this cold air intake for my 1999 f150 and it took about an hour to install. Once installed, i took it for a test drive. It gives my truck an awesome sound if I step on the gas little bit but it still runs just as silent as stock if I don't get on the gas too hard. Did notice a little bit of power gain but not what I was expecting. Also noticed a very small gain in mpg. Overall good product for the price!

Great Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Justin W (Greenbrier, TN) Reviewed for a 1999 Chevy Tahoe — 2010-05-20 14:57:54

Product was easy to install. Fits very well. Good performance.

2002 GMC Sierra 1500 4x4

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dennis T (Olympia, WA) Reviewed for a 2002 GMC Sierra — 2009-11-18 06:30:18

Great product at a great price! I only wish the manufacture put a sticker or something on the 90 degree rubber bend that shows this side toward engine (for those like me who are dyslexik). It will fit only one way without cutting the fan guard back. After nearly deciding to cut the fan guard back I reversed the bend and it fit perfectly. But then those with dyslexia shouldn't work on vehicles!

2003 gmc sierra crew 6.0

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jim R (Castalia, OH) Reviewed for a 2003 GMC Sierra — 2010-04-07 15:37:17

excellent product! installed in 30 min. noticeable power increase, great price, with exhaust and tuner purchased from autoanything really noticed the gas mileage improve. will definitely recommend to friends and family...why pay more for a name? spectre performs just as good if not better than any other brand.

Great Addition to my Truck

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Willie M (Lansdale, PA) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F-150 — 2009-05-05 08:33:31

Installation of the intake was very easy. The hardest part was getting the filter clamped onto the intake tube. My truck now has more low end torque and gains speed faster at reduced RPM. Although I havent measured it yet, I know that I am using less gas. Finally, a fuel savings device that works, and it looks great too.

Great Buy!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Justin V (Walhalla, SC) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Tahoe — 2009-10-21 04:47:23

The Spectre CAI is really an excellent buy for the money. It looks and performs exactly like those costing $300+. Instructions were clear, the fit is perfect, and sounds awesome. Shipping was also fast and free!!

Great upgrade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ed D (Indian Harbour Beach, FL) Reviewed for a 2010 Chevy Equinox — 2009-04-28 12:12:15

Installation was straight forward. The AIT sensor installation was a pain. The results were great! I believe I've picked up 3 miles per gallon and performance is definately much stronger than stock. Price to performance gain makes this an excellent investment.

amazing!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Laura A (Avon, OH) — 2011-07-11 20:47:47

This is the best bang for your buck. There was a def increase in hp it sounds amazing and improved the sound of my truck. It is great product the housing compartment just took a little workto get it screwed in. Great product thought and got here quick!

MORE PEP

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Allan W (Danville, IN) Reviewed for a 1998 Dodge Ram — 2010-01-29 08:45:59

Instructions were easy to follow, Everything fit perfectly except I had to purchase the hose from the PCV valve... Wasnt a big deal or expense.... I would definitely recommend this product

Awesome Product!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Timothy G (Niles, MI) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Avalanche — 2012-05-01 20:43:12

I purchased this for my 2008 Chevy Avalanche. It did take a while to receive it but well worth the wait. I admit that I spent a lot more time than was necessary installing the kit because I wanted to make sure that it was perfect. The installation was flawless and required absolutely no modifications to the kit or my vehicle. It looks incredible!! There is definetly a noticable improvement in the performance especially in the areas of throttle responce and mid-range power. The engine has a completely different sound. It's hard keep your foot out of the gas because it sounds so good!! The quality, components and fit of this kit are superb and I would HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!

Great intake!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brandon S (Bessemer, AL) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford F-150 — 2009-09-09 07:59:02

I got 2-3 MPG increase with this intake ALONE. I already had exhaust and an Edge programmer. This really did the trick!

2006 Chevrolet Silverado 1500

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Joshua G (Lakewood, WA) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Silverado — 2010-02-10 12:22:48

I have ran two full tanks through my truck since installation have noticed gains in HP and better MPG I have the cold air intake with a programmer and exhaust all putt together I am recieving 4 mpg better with a 6" inch lift and 35" tires. More power and saving gas cant beat it. Installation was easy but a little tough to fit the filter just a snug fit.

Best on the market for the price.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by frederick h (Milton, FL) Reviewed for a 2009 Dodge Ram — 2009-07-14 19:07:29

I have a 2002 chev silverado 5.3L and installation was easy but I had to make some modifications because of a throttle body spacer I put on earlier.Great look under the hood and extra boost of HP and throttle response.I've owned Ingen and K&N intakes on previous truck and car and i can honestly say that Spectre is the best on the market for the price.

Ross's Review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Carla O (Covington, GA) Reviewed for a 2004 Dodge Ram — 2011-01-06 08:35:55

It's really nice to get something that does what it says' really pleased with look, fit, and how well instructions worked!!!

Good Buy!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ian M (Neodesha, KS) Reviewed for a 2000 Chevy S10 Pickup — 2010-07-28 15:37:25

Looks and sounds good. Good for the price. Had some trouble getting the sensor through the rubber inlet. Very noticable HP gain. Haven't noticed any major mpg increase.

2006 Silverado 5.3

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Victor O (Galveston, TX) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Silverado — 2010-12-16 12:13:15

Great product. Installation was very easy, it was harder to take off the original than to put on the Spectre. Results were instant, MPG's definetely shot up, and the power difference is felt as soon as you hit the throttle... Overall a great product for thr value.

Throaty

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ted B (JACKSONVILLE, NC) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2009-10-10 04:31:53

The spectre intake is awesome...the best install directions i've ever seen and nice fit! Gave the truck a nice throaty sound and a lot better throttle response and top end power.

Simplicity and Function--Spectre Cold Air Intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gary T (Clark, MO) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-150 — 2009-09-23 20:35:38

Installing the Spectre Cold Air Intake on my 2005 F-150 was a breeze. Parts fit perfectly and look great. I haven't had time to assess any economy effects but the acceleration response is improved for sure. Also, removing the stock breather allows more air to circulate over the upper motor which has to be beneficial for heat dissipation. The price was excellent and delivery was quick. Great product and good service. G.T. Missouri

Alan 2004 silverado 1500

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Alan W (Lorena, TX) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Silverado — 2010-04-11 20:42:57

Very easy to install and immediately noticed the difference it made when I drove my truck. I noticed, over time, a gain of almost 3mpg. After comparing to other brands and websites, I found this to be the "biggest bang for my buck" so to speak. I would recommend this product to anyone.

GOOD STUFF

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mickey B (Clovis, NM) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy Tahoe — 2010-02-20 11:49:06

I bought the 9900 series for my 02 Avalanche(5.3L) in 2008 and thus bought a 03 Tahoe (5.3L) for my wife and quickly put the 9900 series on it as well. You feel more power after you add this thing. I can also see the little it saves me on gas(not that I was expecting a lot. 16 mpg in town and between 20-21 mpg on the highway. installation was a snap and you can't beat the price compared to K&N and other well known intakes.

great deal

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Branden K (Danville, IL) Reviewed for a 2000 Chevy Silverado — 2010-02-09 05:14:05

best price and look

Sweet !

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert C (Gautier, MS) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford F-150 — 2011-01-06 05:53:51

I bought the Spectre cold air intake for my Ford F150. The installation was a bit more difficult than I had read from other reviews. Still it only took me about 1 hour to complete. The results were outstanding. I felt the increased horse power immediatly upon test driving. The response to the gas pedal is much quicker. I havent estimated the fuel savings yet, but with the increased performance I am completely satisfied.

Great value

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by james s (Long Beach, CA) Reviewed for a 1999 Chevy Silverado — 2010-05-18 22:15:19

Installation was easy, and the increase in HorsePower was pronounced. Great value.

Better Highway MPG

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Erica C (Shirley, MA) Reviewed for a 2006 GMC Sierra — 2011-04-12 12:43:10

I got the cold air intake with the hopes to get better gas milage out of my 2006 gmc with a 5.3. I was able to gain 1-1.5 mpg as long as i drive normally, which can be hard at times because it does have an awsome sound to it when you step on it.

Great Price, Great Performance

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John T (Imperial, CA) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford F-150 — 2009-03-13 12:08:48

The Spectre air intake was very easy to install. It took about 30 minutes, and I am not handy with tools. The intake made my truck more responsive, and appears to have improved the gas mileage by 1-2 mpg. Great product!!!

very happy with my intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ryan a (Green Bay, WI) Reviewed for a 2002 Chevy Silverado — 2011-03-15 04:24:48

good intake; looks great under the hood; better throttle response and can barley hear it when driving. had to slightly modify the filter box to make it line up with factory bolt holes. and had to trim a little piece off of the radiator shroud for installation. but well worth it.

cool cold air intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jesus M (Anthony, NM) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Silverado — 2011-03-24 18:46:49

I really like how the chrome jumps out and right away I felt the power of the engine.

Love it

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Shawn R (Kingsport, TN) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-150 — 2011-03-27 12:05:44

I really like this product. The sound is awesome and the improvement it my to my F-150 is definately noticeable. I would recommend it to anyone looking for an affordable CAI!

Nice Quality

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Lee A (Florence, OR) Reviewed for a 2002 Chevy Silverado — 2011-03-23 21:15:00

Just installed my air intake and it was easy, I was surprised that it wasn't louder until I really put my foot on the accelerator what an easy add on for a $100 bucks.

Spectre Makes a good Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Johnathan M (Freeland, MI) Reviewed for a 2001 Honda Pilot — 2011-11-09 15:55:48

Easy installation a monkey could install it. So I had my son do it, no problems, installed in less than 45 minutes. Sounds great, looks awesome, and noticed more HP immediately. Not sure about Mileage, added a New Exhaust (Cat Back). Like sound so much, proabably burning more gas driving like a fool, but who cares when you are having fun. Always purchased K&N systems, however, really think Spectre rates just as good. Like the Spectre washable Filter better than the K&N Recharging Kit.

Spectre Cold Air Intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David E (Lindale, GA) — 2010-01-02 16:16:42

First of December I installed the Spectre Cold Air Intake for my 2003 Toyota Tacoma. Installation took about hour and a half (took my time). Everything fitted fine but did have to work a little with the box for the filter. The first few miles I noticed the engine seemed to be adjusting to the extra air it was receiving. Later my wife drove the truck and she commented that when she hits the gas she hears the "whoosh" sound of the intake. Installation was no problem and the truck seems to run better. Planning to install a less restrictive muffler and hopefully this will improve performance more.

Spectre intake 2003 toyota tacoma v6 3.4

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kari W (bakersfield, CA) Reviewed for a 2003 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-07-27 10:22:01

I bought the intake and it arrived faster than it said it would. installation was very easy took me 30 to 45 minutes by myself and looks great. i have oversized tires and before got about 280 to 290 mile to a tank a gas. with the spectre i get about 300 to 315 on one tank depending on how much i drive on the freeway. it looks great and cant beat the price. good job autoanything.com

Better than K&N. Guaranteed!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert T (Port Huron, MI) Reviewed for a 2005 GMC Yukon — 2009-08-28 13:09:52

The Spectre Air Intake greatly increases horsepower and exhaust sound. I have a Flowmaster exhaust system on my 05 Yukon and before I bought this intake system my exhaust was pretty loud, but now it is really impressive. The throttle response is awesome and with both the exhaust and the intake I would say I've probably gained over 45hp. If you are a person that is looking for more MPG than I wouldnt waste money on this. I've only gained about 0.5 MPG on the highway and none in the city. This intake is designed for the person that wants gain hp and noise level. If you plan on installing it yourself you should probably plan on about 1.5 hours. Don't waste your time with expensive alternative systems that dont work any better than the Spectre. All intake systems are about the same in the aspect that they increase power "Not MPG."

matt

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by matthew t (DANSVILLE, NY) — 2011-05-13 04:49:08

Awesome product. I notice an instant difference. I'm getting better gas mileage and definitely more power.

Spectre Cold Air Intake for my Tahoe

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John S (Powell, OH) Reviewed for a 2000 Chevy Tahoe — 2010-02-08 07:00:14

I have installed many CAI's from many vendors on many cars, SUV & tucks. Volant, K&N, AirAid and even the cheap-o home made "chrome intakes". I was surprised by the quality, engineering and instruction of the Spectre. In my opinion - it is higher quality and better fitting than any of the others. I was both surprised and impressed. I will look for Spectre's for my other/future vehicles.

2000 Tacoma V-6 Doug Thorley Headers Doug Thorley/Jardine Exhaus

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Matt S (Orangevale, CA) Reviewed for a 2000 Toyota Tacoma — 2009-06-04 21:22:42

Excellent value! For the price paid i couldn't belived the quality was as good as it is. The install was easy except the bolt/spacer thing for the tube mount didn't work correctly, I pulled the bolts out of the spacer then drilled through the middle replacing the 2 separate bolts with one 8 grade bolt to make it work. I hour install including finding a bolt that fit and fixing the spacer, then adjusting it by adding and removing washers to get the proper fit in the air dam. When i started it i couldn't believe how much air it was suckin in, it is definately noticeable in terms of sound and performance. Overall very happy great product, unbelieveable price and you can get relacement parts for them at your local kragens.

2010 Camaro SS

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by travis g (Junction City, KS) Reviewed for a 2010 Chevy Camaro — 2011-12-16 03:47:10

The Spectre intake was easy to install only took 20 minutes in my garage, and the price was even better! I was a little leary at first because I was always a K&N person until now I am a true believer.

Better than others

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Christopher F (Tucson, AZ) Reviewed for a 2009 Volvo C30 — 2010-02-16 05:56:12

Comes with the new advanced filter - so it's actually a filter and not some "increase your horsepower" with really bad filtration, just there to make you feel good piece of surgical cotton. Don't get me wrong this is also surgical cotton, but if you have hesitation take one of these filters to your local auto parts store and compare to other surgical cotton fitlers like K&N (look at the peaks and valleys of the pleats). It's one thing getting more power another thing wrecking your engine in the process.

Works great, not too loud

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jesse A (MINOT, ND) Reviewed for a 2008 GMC Sierra — 2012-03-14 19:44:33

Great product

Nice

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gary P (Mancelona, MI) Reviewed for a 2001 Chevy C/K 2500 — 2010-11-23 20:10:32

Nice clean fit and looks great.

Looks good...sounds great

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Matthew H (Eagle, CO) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Tahoe — 2010-12-15 09:57:28

Easy install. Immediate difference in throttle response. I first upgraded to a Flowmaster Force II cat-back exhaust system and noticed a bout 0.4mpg improvement, BUT when I got the intake installed the fuel mileage went up by another .75mpg. The intake is loud but I like that as my truck now sounds like it means business. I would definitely give it 2 thumbs up!

Spectre Cold Air Intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kent J (Nashua, NH) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Silverado — 2009-08-10 20:10:23

It was very easy to install. I haven't driven very much but there seems to be a subtle increase in horsepower. I do love the growling sound it makes. I haven't noticed a change in MPG yet.

tgs

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Timothy S (Tamarac, FL) Reviewed for a 2004 GMC Sierra — 2009-08-20 19:35:00

very cool, Exactly what I expected, Easy installation. Only thing that I would like to see different would be that it come with a plastic tube. Looks great and has improved gas mileage and given the truck more pep. Waiting on the one for the hemi now.

Great item for the price, but no cure-all.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin C (Warrenton, VA) Reviewed for a 2005 Dodge Ram — 2010-03-24 04:42:32

The intake looks great under the hood! The parts are good quality. Installation was pretty easy when all was said and done. The instructions were good but probably not detailed enough. If you've never worked on cars or are uncomfortable taking off or loosening a lot of major parts you may want to get someone else to do this for you. I had to tweak the bracket on the intake tube quite a bit to get everything to fit properly. The bracket also had to be bent a little to assemble and then bent back. Not a big deal since it soft chrome. It looks good and sounds great when I give it gas now! I may have a little more low end power or it may just be that it sounds more powerful. The jury is still out on the gas mileage. Initially I was getting 1.8 MPG LESS that before but I'm hoping it averages back up to where I was. The benefit may be more obvious in summer highway driving.

Good mod for the price

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steve Z (Le Roy, NY) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-150 — 2011-11-02 13:22:21

easy to install, i had an CIA (air force one) on my old truck, this one was half the price. don't really 'feel' the HP increase, but, it runs nice and smooth. hoping for MPG gain but too early to tell. can't beat it for the price

specter cold air intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by robert p (Crossville, TN) Reviewed for a 2000 Chevy Silverado — 2009-11-26 06:01:30

easy to install seems well made. doesnt seem to change milage, but engine runs better used on 6ltr

Spectre for 2001 Dodge Ram

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Larry P (Mount Juliet, TN) Reviewed for a 2001 Dodge Ram — 2009-11-05 19:14:55

I would recommend the Spectre kit, it would be hard to beat for the price -just be sure to allow some extra time for the assembly of the shield box and the installation should go well. Performance seems to be improved and it sounds good when you punch it.

great performance awesome price

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeffrey G (West Mifflin, PA) Reviewed for a 1999 Chevy Tahoe — 2011-01-19 19:12:11

easy installation,looks good, and a feels like a slight increase in power especially under hard acceleration

2006 Dodge Ram Hemi

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ronald k (Venice, FL) Reviewed for a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee — 2012-03-29 09:42:43

Looks good, easy to install. I had to cut a small scetion of plastic out where thr old plastic air duct sheld was so the new air filter would fit better. Looks goods and sounds good.

Great product for the price.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Chance L (Perkinston, MS) Reviewed for a 2002 Toyota Tundra — 2009-06-17 07:16:05

Overall great product. Slight tweaking was needed for a perfect fit, but the low price was worth the minor problem. Definitely improved performance and added an aggressive sound. Great product at a lower price than the competitors.

Good CAI

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jim B (High Bridge, NJ) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F-150 — 2010-08-10 05:31:20

installed easy and now my truck has a deeper sound when i jump on the gas

Great intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by john d (shelby, IA) Reviewed for a 1999 Ford F-150 — 2009-05-12 17:30:34

this intake was easy to install and sound great under the hood.

good product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by david s (Cardiff, CA) — 2009-09-29 19:26:51

The install was easy and fit perfect. the rubber on the filter is weak and the filter wobbles around, I'LL need to support it some how. Great for the price and i noticed an big improvment in power.

Easy Install, good driections, fits well...but one concern

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert S (Nashville, TN) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy Avalanche — 2011-03-15 04:32:34

I love this new intake. I feel like I'm getter mileage but will not get a good baseline for anoher month. the 1st fill up showed about a 1.5 MPG increase. That alone will pay for this unit in about 7 months on the outside. The one concern I have is that now the intake is open on all sides. Living in Nashville where the floooding is still in te front of my mind, I cannot run in very deep water at all compared to stock. If that is not a concern for you then this intake rocks!!

spectre cold air intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dylan D (Duquoin, IL) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Silverado — 2011-03-25 10:57:31

The spectre cold air intake was at a good price and really easy to install looks great.

My experience with this product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin L (Valley Cottage, NY) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Silverado — 2011-07-20 10:09:53

The first thing to remember was this was the lowest price on a cold air intake setup. The installation was straight forward but the instructions were by far, the worst I have ever seen. As far as performance, I don't notice any significant improvement. Fuel milage went up from 13.8 mpg to 14.1 mpg. That is not to say it was solely the product. It could be I was easier on the pedal or air temp. As I checked the fuel milage on ONE tank only, it will take a few months to see the true gains. It did make my exhaust louder (Flowmaster muffler).

intake review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by CHRISTOPHER P (U S A F Academy, CO) — 2011-08-15 08:25:20

The intake was easy to install except that one screw broke when I tried to make it fit. Easily replaced but a pain. Overall it looks and sounds great.

stylish and well worth the money

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by dennis h (Winnebago, WI) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Silverado — 2012-02-08 17:58:43

gives my 07 silverado more power and sounds good looks gd and worth the money

Worth the Money

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian L (Jackson, MI) Reviewed for a 2002 Chevy Tahoe — 2011-05-05 17:18:03

Overall performance of my 2002 Tahoe was a noticeable improvement over stock. Significant increase in mid to upper range RPM. Not too much noise present when under normal acceleration, but open the throttle wide and it sounds great!

Spectre Air Intake for 00 Ford Powerstroke

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Matt C (Whitesboro, TX) Reviewed for a 2000 Ford F-350 — 2009-03-12 21:32:39

Shipping was good, especially for free. Product arrived as described, all hardware in place. However, there was no instruction sheet for installation. I had to look on the manufacturers website for a PDF file, then realized that installation was relatively simple. The only problem I had was the filter end of the intake tube needs another angle made into it to straighten the filter a little more, it rubs slightly against the battery box. Also, it would help if the open end of the filter was squared off more and had a notch for the clamp to sit in. The way the tube is made and the way the filter is made, when you try to clamp it down either the clamp slides off the filter, or the filter tries to slide off the tube. You have to work at it a little to get it to clamp down and stay put. Other than that, everything was pretty simple. I haven't had it long enough to tell if it helped with fuel mileage, but it does seem to have a little crisper throttle response. My truck normally averages between 13.5-15mpg. I pulled an empty 16ft flatbed 80mph down the intersate and got 14.6, then loaded two Kawasaki mules on it and got 14.7 on the return trip until I ran into a headwind. It seems to have helped the mileage, but will have to see what it does with a couple more tanks ran through it at curb weight.

very nice

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Karl N (wiley, CO) — 2011-06-21 10:01:47

i have ordered three spectre cold air intakes. All three were very easy to install and had no problems at all. I was worried when i ordered the first one because of the price. since then i have ordered two more and will continue too use them.

1999 gmc sonoma

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by josh m (Dover, NH) Reviewed for a 1999 GMC Sonoma — 2009-08-11 15:42:00

pretty easy install a couple of needed modifications but overall well worth the money. needless to say my little four cylinder moves right on out of its own way now. and it toned down the overall noise which was an added bonus.

Great product for the price

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Fredrick S (, ) Reviewed for a 2005 Dodge Ram — 2009-10-09 00:39:28

Great product for the price. Relatively easy to install. Requires quite a bit of tweaking to fit proprly. Quality is on par with price. Looks awesome once installed. Noticed an instant improvement in gas mileage and throttle r esponse. Would purchase again.

Intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Justin F (Manhattan, KS) Reviewed for a 2008 Lincoln Mark LT — 2011-03-02 20:04:39

This thing works very well I love it

Great product for the price

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Sandy S (Mapleton, UT) Reviewed for a 2002 Ford F-350 — 2009-11-24 08:13:13

The Spectre Cold Air Intake is a dang good bargain for your buck. Gives you what other products offer at less than half the price. Install instructions are not the best, so you will have to make a few assumptions. I found the air cleaner side of the tube should be at a greater angle for the air filter not to sit so closely to the battery but with some adjusting I got it working for my 7.3l Powerstroke.

Chris RAM 1500 360ci

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Chris P (Royal Palm Beach, FL) Reviewed for a 1998 Dodge Ram — 2009-10-07 08:28:46

The cold air intake has lived up to the hype. The heat shield that came wasn't right, but it only took one phone call for them to ship out the right one. My truck defintitely has more get up an GO. Better throttle response and I got about 1 mpg gallon improvement my first tank (that was with me getting on the throttle a whole lot more than usual). When I start to baby it again I hope to get more. Great buy for the money. Recommend for anyone looking for some power that doesn't want to spend an arm and a leg.

More power

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by allen M (Great Falls, MT) Reviewed for a 2001 Chevy Silverado — 2010-01-05 21:43:33

Noticeably more power, not sure about gain in mpg yet.

7.3 powerstroke

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by howard w (Terrell, TX) Reviewed for a 2002 Ford F-350 — 2010-02-12 04:19:41

you get what you pay for, the instructions did not tell that you have to add wire to your sensor harness.

Spectre for Chev 2004 5.3L

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Harold R (Montgomery, AL) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Silverado — 2011-03-02 09:48:18

FAIRLY easy to install. Does have a small amount of whistling when giving it the gas but that is to be expected. Does suck more air. Can feel a difference in power. Not yet able to notice a difference in gas mileage. Would recommend product to others.

Great intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Darcy D (Kansas City, KS) — 2009-10-22 16:59:58

Overall very easy to install. Had to do a few modifications as the heat shield did not match up properly with the bolt pattern. Took about an hour to install. Gives great performance, a lot better throttle response and great sound. Can definately tell it's there when you punch it to the floor.

2005 chevy avalache spectre cold air intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Thuc D (Tucson, AZ) — 2011-11-09 23:17:26

look good ,can't tell any diffrence gain hp or gas miles ,clear install instruction,no maintain instruction for the filter

pretty good

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jose D (Harlingen, TX) Reviewed for a 2008 Chrysler 300 — 2009-10-22 12:46:12

don't let the price fool you, for the price this kit is a steal. my truck accelerates a lot better than it did without it. good product

Nice Intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by derrick b (Sacramento, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Dodge Ram — 2009-06-17 22:54:19

Easy to install. Overall good product

Breathe easy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Wes E (Corinth, NY) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-150 — 2010-05-27 06:42:58

I bouhgt the Spectre hoping to increase mileage on my 5.4. I have to admit the thought of getting a few more hp helped my decision. I have noted a bit more throttle response, as well as a much "throatier" sound- actually sounds liks a V* now. Too soon to tell on gas mileage- still romping it just to hear the noise.

Great Look for the Money

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael S (Saint Paul, IN) Reviewed for a 1997 Jeep Wrangler — 2009-10-02 04:06:53

The Spectre Cold Air Intake is easy to install with just a few tools. The quality of the intake pipe is a bit low. The fitting for the PVC hose was crushed and the weld looks poor. The Intake pipe should have another mounting location due to the size of the filter. The filters weight causes the pipe to bounce around and make contact with the splash shield. The tie strap used to connect the splash shield to the strut is a cheap mounting idea and could have been designed better. I did notice an increase in performance but not in fuel mileage. The sound is deep and throaty.

ok for the price

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Douglas P (Reamstown, PA) Reviewed for a 2007 Dodge Ram — 2012-03-29 03:15:32

Installation was a struggle. Mounts did not line up appropriately. After I purchased mine, autoanything site now says it is not available for my vehicle. Makes me wonder if what I received was truely designed to be vehicle specific. Price seemed good, wish I would have spent the extra money for K&N.

1996 ram spectre kit

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by brett p (Monroe, WI) Reviewed for a 1996 Dodge Ram — 2009-10-08 19:24:21

It doeswhat it is suposed to, but he install was some what of a pain the breathe hose was to short so i had to by my own only $3 at carquest

1/2 a mile per gallon savings

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John F (Deridder, LA) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy Tahoe — 2010-10-29 05:38:08

The intake wasn't too hard to install, but I'd recommend installing the air filter on the tube and then installing it as a unit, not as the directions indicate (piece by piece). On my 03 Tahoe I averaged 13 MPG, and after installing it I only average 13.5 - not much of a benefit. Additionally, some noted a 'mild' increase in intake noise when they 'got on it'. I can tell you that you don't have to accelerate too much to have a noticeable noise increase. For some this might be 'cool', but I don't really want my Tahoe sounding like an F350 Diesel truck. No noticeable 'seat of the pants' improvement in horsepower. Looks good, installs just fine, but the jury is out on it actually doing anything beneficial.

SOUNDS GREAT.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard O (Commerce City, CO) Reviewed for a 2000 GMC Yukon XL — 2010-03-05 09:32:31

The installation of this product was realatively simple. I have noticed more get up when I need it. It does sound pretty mean however I have not increased my m.p.g. in fact it has dropped a little. I did a trial run in which I didn't drive hard and I expected better millage and it just wasn't there.