Your Cart Is Empty

Volant Cold Air Intakes Customer Reviews

Average Rating

80 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Worth every penny!!!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by mark s (Niskayuna, NY) Reviewed for a 1997 Dodge Ram — 2009-10-07 13:59:40

My 2005 cadillac ext has more power and sounds great.The response time has definitely improved.You can hear and feel the truck breathe better.The directions are useless but the 2guys garage video on auto anything helps alot.On a big gas guzzler the intake is a must.As long as you dont hammer on the gas to hear that deep throat sound all day you should see an MPG difference.Thanks to all who write reviews they always help when your not sure!!!!!!

pretty Legit

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Marcus H (Vista, CA) Reviewed for a 2002 Ford F-150 — 2008-05-07 12:45:27

it looks cool and adds a few hp and mpg.

4.8l 05 Silverado

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark D (Fresno, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Silverado — 2008-01-23 05:55:45

Brought this little engine to life. A noticeable improvement in performance. Like most I've been too busy enjoying the added HP to notice a MPG difference. This is a must have for the stock motors.

Volant Cold Air Intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jaswell H (Las Cruces, NM) — 2008-04-21 16:15:32

The volant air intake is worth spendig on. It pays off the money that you spend. It works realy great on the vehicle.

Vroom

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Rodolfo A (Port Royal, SC) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Silverado — 2008-04-17 19:16:15

It really woke my flowmaster up now its sounds like a beast and no lag speeding up after 30MPH I love it. Do suggest cleaning the throttle body and MAF to get the most outta it

Volant CAI

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jonathan L (Reno, NV) Reviewed for a 2003 Nissan Xterra — 2008-04-16 21:01:28

This things sounds and looks great on my Xterra. I would say its a little on the pricy side for what you get, but I think this is the best CAI out there. It has a fully enclosed box, so no hot air from the engine compartment gets in. It looks really good, and for the most part is well made. The air filter is huge and looks nice sitting in the box. Now to the negatives. The directions leave something to be desired. If you dont know what your doing, you will get lost and not be able to get it installed correctly. They should be more detailed. Also the part were my air temp sensor plugs into the box, is not very secure and looks like it could fall out if you go over a big bump, leaving me to add a rubber o-ring on the inside to secure it better. Overall great item, matched with a new muffler and your good to go!

Excellent nstyle

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Daniel T (Naples, FL) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Tundra — 2008-04-19 16:48:35

Could fit better on inner wheel well. Did my own modifications to enlarge hole on fender well and attach with alumiunum duct tape. Much better!! No hot air from engine compartment.

kick ass

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by austin h (Jasper, MN) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy Silverado — 2007-03-25 13:21:46

this adds a lot of power, my truck is now fast as hell. buy the intake as well as the ram air tube that goes with it, very worth it!

Good investment for a Dodge Hemi.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Shirron F (Cedar Rapids, IA) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2008-07-08 15:48:42

The torque increase is evident. Not sure about fuel economy yet, though. I ran 0-60's before and after using FlashPaq as the timer. Showed a slight decrease in the average times - a couple of tenths. Product is easy to install on the RAM. Took about 1/2 hour. Like the way it sounds, a little extra air noise, but not too loud....just right for a truck! I think I'm going to like this.

99 Tahoe Z71 Volant Intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by brandon k (South Lyon, MI) Reviewed for a 1999 Chevy Tahoe — 2008-02-07 17:22:19

Nice and easy install with step by step instructions. Can't go wrong with this intake!

Great product! Worth the price!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Randy W (Hill Air Force Base, UT) Reviewed for a 2005 GMC Canyon — 2007-04-17 16:46:29

It fit really well and made a instant difference in power. The sound is really cool also, like a low growl. The instructions could have been better but is easily figured out!

easy install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by oswald s (Wildwood Crest, NJ) Reviewed for a 2007 Cadillac Escalade — 2006-10-04 09:58:19

installation took less than an hour,some modifications were needed nothing major.overall a positive experience.you can hear and feel the power.

Volant CAI Awesome!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John S (Lake Charles, LA) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tundra — 2008-01-26 20:45:44

First, I read about the Gap on the finder well of the 07 tundra. Install the Volant CAI according to exact sequence and the install was 15 minutes with no Gap in finde well. Install out of sequence and it could take all day. After installation, fired engine. Went out for a test drive. I steped on the gas, with stock exhaust, better throttle response. Pulls harder at higher RPM. Up to quarter inch of throttle, truck sounds stock, past that your 5.7 sounds like a completely different truck. Sound change from norml to a mean BEAST!. Thats the way the truck should accelerate and sound while doing it. Great Great Product. Thanks Volant. John

Definitely a good system.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Stephen B (Quarryville, PA) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan Titan — 2005-12-15 17:04:23

I have a 2005 Nissan Titan. There is so many intake systems out there and I chose the Volant cause it is the best design. The reason it is the best design is because: Before I did any modification.. I got caught in a bad flooding downpour. I had to drive through a flooded road that was like a river. IT was deeper then I ever thought and water was at hood level and coming up on the hood but I kept going and was waiitng for my engine to seize, but I made it through. I opened my hood when I got clear, and the engine was dirty and the only thing that saved the engine was the fact that the factory airbox is a sealed unit and takes air from the fender. The Volant is the same design. If I had the other intakes with the open filter design, it would of injested water and ruined my engine for sure. The volant is awesome with power and makes a big difference you can feel. Way to go Volant!!!

2006 Titan, Hot Springs Arkansas

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Darren C (Hot Springs, AR) Reviewed for a 2006 Nissan Titan — 2007-04-24 06:30:14

The Volant delivered every thing it promised! It sounds great very easy to install and I can tell a huge difference in the trucks throttle response. I would recommend this product without hesitation..

Noticable Power Increase

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Charles S (Fort Pierce, FL) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford F-150 — 2008-08-13 04:44:36

Easy bolt on power! Installation instructions are poor, fortunatly it became rather obvious how the unit was to be installed, after removing the stock intake. Not sure of any MPG increase, too early to tell.

Volant CAI for a 350 SD turbo diesel

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark B (Washougal, WA) Reviewed for a 1999 Ford F350 — 2007-10-01 20:46:41

Great product, made of heavy duty plastic, well thought out and tested for fit and function. I've recommended this CAI to my friends.

03 chevy reg. Cab truck with 327

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Matthew H (Monroe, LA) Reviewed for a 2003 — 2006-01-05 13:00:32

easy to install,works great,improves gas mileage,and look really great under the hood!!! very satisfied!!!

2007 5.7l Tundra Volant Intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mario R (Harahan, LA) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tundra — 2007-11-09 08:35:48

The install was super easy, even for a beginner. Sound is awesome. Very stock-like while cruising but let's you know it's there at WOT which is exaclty what I wanted. Has been installed for 300 miles or so. This intake alone should shave .1-.2 off your 1/4 mile time and raise your trap speed 1 mph. I would definitely recommend this product especially for the price here at Auto Anything. No one can beat it.

Great product!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Charlie K (Grosse Ile, MI) Reviewed for a 2008 Cadillac Escalade — 2007-10-23 05:03:05

easy intall, very clean looking and a definate response for the better...i rate it a 5star!

volant cold air intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Frankie L (New York, NY) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Tahoe — 2007-10-09 14:42:17

great product at a good price. works great and easy to install.has a nice sound to it when you hit the gas.

2006 Toyota Tundra

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Darrell H (Prunedale, CA) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tundra — 2006-11-08 20:20:58

Auto anything was great recieved the system in about 7 days. Installation was a snap. I installed it in about an hour and a half. definatly increased power off the line. sounds good, maybe a little loud when you hammer down but no problem when crusing. Have not checked milage yet but I think it's better. 1-10 I give a 10

Love the Air Intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Frank T (San Antonio, TX) Reviewed for a 2001 Cadillac DeVille — 2007-04-20 05:59:16

I love the air intake. It made a different in horsepower and gas mileage. Thanks!

2007 toyota tundra 5.7 v8

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by benjamin g (Wisner, LA) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tundra — 2009-04-02 07:56:18

after recieving the intake install took about 15 minutes, it was alot easier to install than i thought it would be. i noticed imediate performance boost. i have not really noticed fuel milage increse yet, but that is probably due to the way i drive. i love the new sound. i would suggest this product to anyone. auto anything was well bellow everywhere else i looked for this product as well as other products. this is a great product and a great company to buy from.the only thing that i didnt like about this product was there were no decals or no warranty papper work.

F150 intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert S (Ashland, MA) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2008-07-25 20:41:25

Very well built. Installation instructions had alot to be desired. Had to move a electrical harness for intake box to fit. Used rivnuts in lieu of hardware provided to install box to make removal easier if required at a later date. Sounds and looks great. Haven't had a chance to see if there is a MPG improvement. Definate power increase.

Awsome intake!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jewett B (Middleburg, FL) Reviewed for a 2000 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-08-21 12:15:34

Easy to install and awsome sound and power. The price is a little high but quality gets a high rating.

Classy looks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Darrell S (Estes Park, CO) Reviewed for a 1999 GMC Yukon — 2007-09-08 18:47:53

I purchased this intake as a first step of increasing power to pull our new camper. Installation was easy, but did have to trim a little to make it fit. Looks sharp! I was surprised to see how much I will have to disassemble just to service the filter in the future, but not a big deal. Very little difference in sound (good-it is wife's vehicle). I have only run a couple of tanks of gas thru it so far. No noticeable difference in economy in our everyday driving, however for Labor Day trip with camper, it did almost 2 mpg better than last trip with camper! That was neat to see and we will be continuing to monitor over time.

Fits nice no extra pieces

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by franz e (Mason Neck, VA) Reviewed for a 2006 Pontiac Grand Prix — 2006-01-09 15:59:26

I added duel exhaust and was looking for something else to compliment this and found a perfect fit. Now my .02 Avalanche not only sounds good moves out.Worth the money!

Volant CAI

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ronald J (Lancaster, CA) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2007-12-20 13:06:31

This Volant is great so far. It sounds great,too soon to tell if any mpg improvement yet (lead foot)Need to take a trip. AutoAnything had the best price fast shipping.

1998 chevy silverado 5.7 liter

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by HARRY S (Grand Prairie, TX) Reviewed for a 1998 Chevy Silverado — 2007-12-06 08:44:55

The Volant Cold Air Intake Made A Huge Difference.My Truck Sounds Alot Better.IT Also Has Better Acceleration.I'm Not Sure About The Gas Milage.the drawback Is The Instructions Are Hard To Follow.Overall I Think It's A Great Buy.

Great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by will b (Kerrville, TX) Reviewed for a 2008 Dodge Ram — 2008-05-08 07:33:18

Very well put together product. Easy to install. Well worth the money

Looks good

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Larry H (Kingman, AZ) Reviewed for a 2003 GMC Sierra — 2008-06-28 05:42:17

It was easy to install and fits like a glove.

great intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Daniel F (Hackensack, NJ) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Colorado — 2007-12-14 12:48:51

the intake in very easy to install and it sounds awsome and looks good underhood and u can feel the thorttle respones

Awesome intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jason S (Beaverton, OR) Reviewed for a 2005 Dodge Durango — 2008-05-15 21:18:06

I've had the Volant intake on my 2005 Dodge Durango 5.7 HEMI for about a week now and love it. The throttle response has greatly improved and I really feel an increase in power. The look and fit is perfect and really feel at ease knowing I have a box instead of an open filter element. The only thing I have to complain about is the direction for installation are horrible. I had to use the directions from the K&N website to figure it out. All Volant offers is a single diagram.

Everything Promised and More

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Rodney G (Cameron, NC) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tundra — 2007-12-30 07:57:00

Installation was a breeze, other than the Mass Air Flow Sensor needs to read, (Install with connection toward grill). Currently it reads install the same as original which is not possible since the original mounts verticle instead of horizonal. As I quickly discovered, the engine will not run if installed reversed. A very small problem given the benefits after installing. Gas mileage has improved greatly, between 5-8 MPG. At 70 MPH the engine only tachs 1600 revs. Excellaration is instant. I passed a car this weekend running around 50 MPH. When I looked down at my gauges, I had already exceed 110 MPH before pulling back into the right lane. The increased engine noise makes my fuel injection system sound like a old "Holley Quadrajet" when excellerating quickly. This additional noise may be bother some people but not those that love the sound of horsepower!

great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by robert c (Newton, NJ) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy Silverado — 2007-12-12 21:18:12

this intake has it all. it has the performance with the styling. it looks great and it makes the motor come alive. doesnt fit perfect to throttle body, but that is an easy fix. great product

It works great

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by kevin d (La Puente, CA) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Avalanche — 2008-07-19 08:29:40

I have noticed better throttle response. I can feel more power and have noticed alittle better gas milage.

love it

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by daniel t (West Palm Beach, FL) Reviewed for a 2005 Dodge Magnum — 2008-07-22 06:36:08

easy to install, i had a lift to use so it made it much eisier to install the lower intake tube. noticed better throttle response at lower speeds but where is was really noticable was when accel at hwy speeds. i would recommend this to any one, great quility to.

Volant intake, 1999 Toyota 3.4 v6

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Austin K (Elizabeth City, NC) Reviewed for a 1999 Toyota 4Runner — 2006-02-02 09:40:07

After installing the Volant Cold Air intake into my 1999 Toyota 4runner 3.4 leiter V6, I have been truly pleased. Acceleration has greatly increased while fuel economy has also noticably improved. Engine sound now seems somewhat deeper, throater but not intrusive. I highly reccomend.

Great

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Glen F (Westminster, CA) Reviewed for a 1999 Chevy Silverado — 2007-08-15 17:35:45

Went on easy. Best performance boost I've gotten so far.

volant air intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by christopher m (Staten Island, NY) Reviewed for a 2005 — 2006-04-14 08:36:10

this has helped with gas mileage greatly

Great filter, poor instructions

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James M (Vicksburg, MS) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-150 — 2012-06-19 15:58:43

I still haven't put scoop on truck but intake w/Power core filter is installed. Had a little rubbing on firewall which was remedied by cutting T/B hose to lower tube. Overall it's a great CAI kit.

Volant CAI on 03' GMC Sierra

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by bill g (Pennsville, NJ) Reviewed for a 2003 GMC Sierra — 2008-01-15 17:57:54

Very nice looking hardware and air box. Huge air filter. Easy directions. Noticeable gains in the mid RPM range. Pretty quiet in the cab. Pricey but,you get what you pay for.

Noisy!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Victor H (Ontario, CA) Reviewed for a 2008 Nissan Titan — 2008-08-06 08:10:40

The installation could have been easier but the filter to the intake was kind of a pain cuz it kept slipping out while I tightened the clamp. I added all the parts and it still rattles when I hit the gas, and oh man the gas my mileage did not improve at all kind of bummed about that! But it did add the horse power I was looking for..

Install tricky...but it works

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jason R (Saginaw, MI) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Silverado — 2009-03-20 04:09:44

You know having instructions in the box sure would have been nice as opposed to a simple schematic in a 6x4 inch area at teh bottom of a parts list. But hey I've been working on cars for a long time so it really wasnt that big a deal. On the 5.3 flex engine I have taking out the old one is harder than putting on the Volant for the most part. The screw holes in the base didn't match up perfectly when mated up with old cleaner rigging but I managed to get it in there. Once installed VROOOOM sound on WOT and more torque. MPG was not my concern, I already had a lead foot this just made it worse with the cool sound it makes now.

Volant Intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Chris H (Canton, GA) Reviewed for a 2005 Pontiac GTO — 2008-06-25 01:06:20

Great product, but even though it should be an easy part to put on i found that it was difficult because the directions are unavailable.

Volant on 2000 4.7L Durango

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jay C (Elizabeth, CO) Reviewed for a 2000 Dodge Durango — 2006-05-02 07:07:08

AutoAnything did awesome on the shipping and delivery. The install of the CAI was a little difficult. I am disappointed with the size of the pipe clamps that were included. They pretty close to the size needed after everything was tightened down which made it VERY difficult to get the air cleaner and the shroud over the pipe on initial installation. I followed the directions provided and found that I had to remove everything so that I could have some leverage to hard press the air cleaner and shroud on the intake tube, then shimmy things around to complete the install. I initally bought the CAI in conjunction with the Superchips mod to help with mileage. The Superchips did exactly what it offered with increasing fuel mileage approximately 1-2Mpg in the 87 Octane mode. Since I put the volant CAI on the engine, my wife likes the sound during hard acceleration and I believe that I lost the mileage improvements I was going for, however, on the last tank of gas I still get 1mpg improvement with both components compared to stock. Thank you AutoAnything for your prompt and professional service.

2004 GMC 8.1

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian F (Methuen, MA) Reviewed for a 2004 GMC Sierra — 2007-02-27 08:13:59

Directions were great. Had to take a dremel tool and gring down filter box round tube to get mass air senser boot to work, not happy about that,expected better fit. Finished product looks great.

Good product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Chris F (T Or C, NM) — 2007-08-28 15:19:58

The product delivers everything it promises. My 2007 GMC runs great. The only real problem was the breather tube and its placement on the air intake tube.

Volant Intake review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tracy D (Lakeside, CA) Reviewed for a 2004 Nissan Titan — 2007-02-04 09:53:42

The Volant Cold Air Intake has restored the PEP my Nissan Titan had lost over the first two years of ownership. The only down side seems to be a quick transmission shift around 45 MPH which will slow you down if you don't stomp on pedal to force it to down shift. The tranny wants to short shift to get high gear more quickly than with the stock intake. Overall I'm happy with the purchase, it's just a bit pricey.

Volant Intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Glen S (Kent, WA) Reviewed for a 2010 GMC Sierra — 2011-02-16 04:34:58

Volant Cold Air intake system was easy to install, and has delivered everything it said it would, Performance, gas milage are up.

Very Professional

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin S (Winchester, VA) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2006-09-05 20:45:25

I purchased this system for my 06 dodge 2500 cummins powered truck. the stock filter was pulling real close to red line on the filter minder at 1700 miles the volant is still pulling with no restriction. Directions were a little hazy, but installed unit looks and performs well. You will hear a distinct turbo whistle with this filter. Kevin

high roller dodge

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by DOUG C (South Milwaukee, WI) Reviewed for a 1998 Dodge Ram — 2007-05-18 18:44:53

I have a 98 dodge ram 3in. suspention lift. 3in. body lift with 35x12.50 x 15s. Before the volant ram air intake system accelerating to pass was not fun. By adding this kit, besides myself others have noticed a differenc in power. Nothing at bottom end but after moving you can feel it.Kit was very easy to assemble.The only problem i had was the 3 in body lift. I had to put a 2.5in spacer on top of the throttle body. Gas milage has not gotten better but the power has.

volant intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bret Y (Edison, NJ) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan Xterra — 2008-02-13 10:54:49

I have had my volant on for 1 week and noticed an increase in power right away.The instruction were worthless.For the money you would expect more than one sheet of paper with a picture on it.The product is good and shipping was fast but the instructions need to be improved.........

Volant 2001 Camaro

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ryan B (Pelham, NH) Reviewed for a 2001 Chevy Camaro — 2012-03-27 13:51:46

I got the intake and its a good quality piece, but it took a little fabrication to get it right. The first issue was the 2 little bolts they supply were too long. They bottomed out in the holes on the intake about 3/4 of the way in. The next fitment issue is the tube that fits over the MAF sensor wasn't 100% as tight as I would have liked. The tube would fit tight on the MAF but when holding it up to the light I could see slight cracks of light getting through. So I used a strip of double sided tape wth the backing left on; placed it around the MAF and that worked nicely to get a good seal. Now for the last issue. After the kit was installed the whole setup was sitting just off center from the throttle body. This was causing the filter to be pointing at a small angle towards the drivers headlight. I corrected this by clamping the filter on just crooked enough to make it look straight if that makes sense. Overall though I'm happy how it came out. On the inside of the box and on the inside of the tubes it has a nice smooth polished plastic. At idle I can hear it sucking air if I listen through the scoop in my hood. It definitely should have been direct bolt in for the price IMO but I'm not gonna complain about it.

A GOOD SYSTEM

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jamie L (South Bend, IN) Reviewed for a 2003 Nissan X Terra — 2006-08-24 02:56:24

installed fairly easily but i did have to go to the hardware store to buy a bolt that was not supplied in the kit and also buy a bigger hose clamp as one of the ones that was supplied was too small. too my knowledge the only true cold air kit for the xterra on the market.

Volant On A GM 5.3 ...

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert B (Lewisville, TX) Reviewed for a 2006 Hummer H3 — 2008-02-08 09:49:07

Installation was easy on my 2008 GMC truck. It took about 45 mins and went very well. I'm told it takes about 5 hrs for the engine ECU to learn the mapping of more air. So at first I really could not feel a change. Then the other day I needed to pass someone. I hit the gas and I could feel the change then. It's not a lot, but it's there. I feel it's more of a cool looking factor than anything else, and I like the fact that the Power Core is a dry filter. No Oiling...I like that. I give it 4 out of 5 stars.

Volant review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Timothy H (Conway, AR) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-250 — 2008-08-06 16:01:41

I purchased the volant system to save money on replacement air filter cost, i believe it will pay for itself in that area. I have not seen any fuel milage benifits yet. Instalation was easy, although the holes on the box did not quite match with the intake tube by half a centimeter a quick drill hole remedied that.

Volant CAI

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Christopher T (Vienna, WV) Reviewed for a 2002 — 2005-10-02 15:48:03

I like the volant system. I noticed power gains above 2500 rpms, and a fuel econ gain of about 1 mpg. The setup is fairly easy to assemble, however the intake pipe from the throttle body to the air box did not line up very well. I like this system much better than the AEM setup I had on my wifes car. I would purchase Volant's system again.

Volant on 2008 V-6 Taco

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark C (Phoenix, AZ) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-12-21 22:15:55

Installed Helix Power Tower Throttlebody spacer & Volant cold-air intake system. Significant HP gain & acceleration. Not sure of the gas mileage at present. Nice powerful sound! Some fitment issues, but not a big issue.

Decent CAI Kit

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David J (Berlin, CT) Reviewed for a 2007 Nissan Titan — 2007-05-15 15:01:43

The throttle feels slightly more responsive. Have not yet been to the pump to test that. Overall fit seems a bit flawed for the price, but a nice kit nonetheless. Aggressive sound at higher RPMS.

Volant for 2002 7.3L Powerstroke F350

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James M (Belmont, OH) Reviewed for a 2002 Ford F350 — 2008-01-22 05:36:14

My son and I installed a Volant cold air intake (basic model) on our 2002 F350 7.3L about two weeks ago. The installation was a breeze even though the so-called instructions were a joke (nothing but a parts list and a bad diagram). The fit is very good. We noticed a significant improvement in throttle response. Not enough time in yet to gauge mileage changes. So far we had one check engine light warning on a VERY cold morning at highway speeds, but it cleared itself and I suspect the adaptive learning mode had just not caught up wiht the apparently confused Mass Airflow Sensor (frigid morning = more concentrated oxygen). No problems since then. The box does drone a bit at highway speeds but its not bad. Exhales audibly when you let off the throttle, but again not an offensive sound. Overall quite pleased.

f150 5.4L

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brandon H (Mechanicsville, VA) Reviewed for a 2006 Jeep Wrangler — 2006-04-14 17:48:29

This intake really opened up the engine. he throttle response was much better and the exhaust note became louder and deeper as well. Would recommend to anyone with the new F150 5.4L

GOOD PRODUCT

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeff l (Lexington, SC) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan Frontier — 2006-04-08 06:25:59

DEFINITE INCREASE IN RESPONSE.MILEAGE MAY SHOW SOME INCREASE. LONG TERM USAGE WILL TELL BETTER.

2001 ford ranger

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Cindy H (Raleigh, NC) Reviewed for a 2001 Ford Ranger — 2006-09-25 15:18:42

a noticable increase in horsepower but not yet in adding extra miles to the gas tank but well worth it. excellent product and i love the roar it gives off

Nice product, not so nice installation

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Marco H (Decatur, GA) Reviewed for a 2002 Nissan Frontier — 2006-04-04 11:30:26

The Volant Air Intake System is a great modification to my Frontier. It is visually more pleasing than stock, gives the truck a "meaner" growl without being obnoxious, and recent calculations at the pump showed that I had gotten the extra mile per gallon they advertised. My only issue is the installation. The instructions are far from detailed, and I'm not happy that no screws were provided to secure the airbox to the truck (although the holes are there). But overall, great product!

still testing

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steven B (Los Alamos, NM) — 2009-01-08 16:39:54

still testing

2005 Frontier Volant Cold Air Intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Paul M (Cohoes, NY) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan Frontier — 2010-05-19 19:56:56

The installation of this product was a little difficult. The holes for the three bolts that hold the airbox in place didn't line up perfectly and needed some force to be able to get them all in place. Also, the powercore filter for this intake caused my check engine light to come on several times even after resetting the ECU. I ordered a different filter and everything is good now. I recomment getting the basic Volant filter for this truck. The intake looks great underneath the hood. Sounds are fairly quiet till you get past 2k rpm, then it kicks in and and you can hear the grunt. Overall, I'm pleased by the outcome of this installation. Thank you autoanything!!

07 Silverado Volant w\ Powercore

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kyle P (Schriever, LA) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Silverado — 2009-01-21 06:24:40

Installed in about 45 minutes. Instantly saw improvement in engine intake. Works well. Would recommend to anyone.

Diesel Excursion

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert C (West Richland, WA) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford Excursion — 2008-07-24 06:17:38

Arrived quickly and was a very easy install. Took about 30 minutes to get the old one out and this one installed. Does not cause excessive noise from under the hood, but you can hear the difference. This is the second volant intake system I have purchased, they make a good product.

Volant

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Zach W (Dover, AR) Reviewed for a 2008 Nissan Titan — 2008-05-06 07:36:12

The installation of the CAI was really easy and took only about 20min or so. Over all power difference is noticeably different in the butt dyno. My only problem is that it did not come with the pad that goes under the box between the fender. It is very noisy under WOT and causes some vibration i believe due to having the pad under the box. Also i wish the box was a little thicker making it stronger. But the power gains are worth it some have shown with the volant on a titan to have 10 horsepower gains havent had time to get to a dyno.

2006 FORD PowerStroke F350FX4

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jack M (Anaheim, CA) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford F350 — 2007-04-20 07:35:07

Item didn't fit. Had to cut the Volant Intake tube and use the stock F350 rubber tube attaching it to turbo like stock setup. Instructions SUCKED and was SHORTED bolts to attach the top cover. Intake seems to be working great after these mods, and it kinda sounds like an airplane taking off. Wished I just spent a little extra for the BANKS Intake...

Poor Fit for a Tundra 5.7

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by chris m (wallaceburg, ON) — 2008-07-08 05:26:29

Doesn't seal tight to the fender on a 2007 Tundra 5.7L. Engineers culd have worked with the stock equipment to get a better fit. I think this CAI was meant for another vehicle but was close enough for a Tundra. Looks impressive but no one will ever see it under my hood. Seems to have great airflow.

Volant Air Intake System

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Deborah M (Portsmouth, VA) Reviewed for a 2005 — 2005-11-21 04:29:49

Truck runs smoother, faster acelerator response but no increase in MPG on highway noticed. Overall satisfied. Antoicipate adding air induction scoop.

NO CHANGE

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Octavio C (Fayetteville, NC) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford F-150 — 2008-04-10 07:09:37

I HAVE HAD THIS ITEM FOR ABOUT A MONTH AND HAVE NOT NOTICE A CHANGE. THE ONLY THING I NOTICE WAS A LITTLE LOUDER ON THE EXAUST.

good product poor design

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert B (Cary, NC) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Suburban — 2007-07-25 18:54:14

Having installed one of these on a prior vehicle I expected it to be easy. Unfortunately that was not the case. I had to get different screws to install since the ones in the box did not work and I had to leave off two bolts on the top off due to fender flang covering them. Volant needed to do more prep work or actually install one before it rushed it to market. Performance, it sounds great, slightly better pick-up but no appreciable gas mileage improvement.

4runner 2006 V8

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Phillip D (San Jose, CA) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota 4Runner — 2009-02-18 13:02:57

Had this for a year now. I honestly can't say it has increased gas mileage any. I added a Gibson catback as well and the combination has helped performance, but not noticable on gas mileage which was why I bought it. I calculate gas mileage with every fill up and it is fairly consistant at 17 MPG with my driving conditions....before and after the upgrades. There is more power and more appealing sound.

installation

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Raymond D (Somers Point, NJ) Reviewed for a 2009 Dodge Nitro — 2010-01-19 17:01:11

Most of the install went well till i got to the air sensor,the hole should have been put on the right of the air intake tube,the wires for the sensor would not wretch,not even close.The hose from the breather would not fit with the factory set-up,for this kind of money vol ant should supply all the necessary items and better instructions.This my third unit my first two were no problem.

all parts not received

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by paul c (Sacramento, CA) — 2007-08-20 19:51:55

there is no boot or seal where filter enters box. also founnd extra hole in which you sent me a plug and groment that interferes with smooth air flow, also no foam gasket to fit hood scoop

volant kit for 2007 Colorado 3.7 does not fit.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark S (Glendale, AZ) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Colorado — 2008-06-27 06:31:04

After 30 minutes of manipulation I finally got the air box to line up with the stock bolts. It sat too far forward and rested against the wiring for the lights and the A/C lines which worried me. When I went to put on the tube it didn't come close to lining up with the throttle body. Also, there was not a place on the box to connect the hose to the smog pump which attaches to the stock box!? Since it didn't fit I pulled the volant off and went to the internet to see if I could find a solution. What I found was more Colorado owners in the same boat. They either did a bunch of modifications to get the volant to fit or got rid of them. One of the owners had spoken to someone at volant who said they were trying this and trying that to find a solution for this particular application. The product should be engineered AND tested on the vehicle it is being sold to fit on. Only then should it be sold. Of course, the K&N has a spot to connect the smog pump hose and all of the people who bought them are happy with them. Why didn't I buy the K&N?!