Your Cart Is Empty

Volant Ram Air Scoop Customer Reviews

Average Rating

54 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Ram air scoop

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeff B (Brea, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Silverado — 2007-02-14 13:30:33

The scoop is a excelent buy but the install instructions did not tell you how to install the scoop just a picture of it atached to the air box.

great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by christopher m (Staten Island, NY) Reviewed for a 2005 — 2006-04-04 11:31:52

i cant belive how this product wokeupmy truck

really cool engine

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by julian t (Hialeah, FL) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Silverado — 2008-04-02 04:57:22

I purchased air scoop 3 months after my volant intake. the engine runs alot cooler and I noticed better acceleration on the higher speeds. nice upgrade.

scoop review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by robert d (perris, CA) Reviewed for a 2004 GMC Sierra — 2008-04-14 21:53:21

went on preety easy . it fills like it has better pick up ; but with out being hooked up to a computer i really dont know the sound is nice when you jump on it . over all you cant beat this price ive looked for a long time thanks. robby

Ford F150 5.4 Volant Ram Air Scoop

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Doug O (Atlanta, GA) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F150 — 2006-09-06 14:20:02

I ordered the Ram Air Scoop after installing the Volant Cold Air Intake for my 2004 F150 Supercrew. The ram air scoop made a huge difference in performance and noise reduction. It only took me 45 minutes to get installed. If you are going to purchase a Volant air kit, then you better get the scoop too!

ram air

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Rob S (N Dighton, MA) — 2006-05-27 16:42:16

awesome... especially at highway speeds... 60-100 for me

A perfect accessory to the Volant Cold Air Intake (CAI)

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeff C (Cary, NC) Reviewed for a 2004 Nissan Armada — 2011-07-28 22:41:58

The Volant ram scoop is very well constructed and brings cooler air from the driver's side bumper (on the Nissan Armada/Titan) to the CAI air box. The increase in cooler air flow was significant enough to force a new resetting of the ECU to compensate for the richer fuel/air mixture. Installation was okay (instructions were just about nil) and the CAI air box does need to be removed (if already installed) to access the lower port to attach the scoop. Overall, the ram air scoop is solidly built and a big boost for Volant CAI.

Great Mod!!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Nicolas E (San Antonio, TX) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan Titan — 2010-03-10 21:49:45

Awesome product!! Only took about 30min. to install. Took a lot of the drone out of the cab, so all I hear is the exhaust now. Truck reacts quicker when I punch it and I did notice a little increase on the mpg. AutoAnything is great!! Guaranteed lowest prices!! Thanks Guys

more power!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Randall M (Hermiston, OR) Reviewed for a 1997 Dodge Ram — 2007-10-29 17:15:59

This scoop rocks. I could tell a difference as soon as I installed it. Great product. The scoop installed in about 2 minutes. And attaches directly to the intake. Its great.

Volant Snorkle, Easy Installation : )

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Randall D (Blaine, WA) Reviewed for a 2004 GMC Yukon — 2011-04-18 21:59:54

Application 2003 Tahoe, Installation took all of about 20 minutes. I have read reviews from others saying that it is a difficult and time consuming affair...it is not. Remove 5 of the most forward inner fender liner snaps (passenger side) and the bottom of the inlet of the intake box is clearly visible. Once removed you will see how easy it is. You "Do Not" have to install it from the bottom and try and reach your hand up to tighten the hose clamps...voila!

2000 Dodge Ram Sport 5.9 GREAT

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Erik R (Anza, CA) Reviewed for a 2000 Dodge Ram — 2007-01-29 21:46:22

i did extensive research before purchasing a intake for my truck, and with luck came the Volant intake, noticed 1.8 mpg gains (alot when only gettin 9.4) noticed exhaust tones changed and power throughout, the thing i liked most was the shifting to seem easier not so clunky.

air scoop 2005 titan

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by michael b (San Diego, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan Titan — 2006-11-05 08:12:35

if you already have the the cai you need to get the air scoop. had to drop the skid plate to put it on but besides that only took 20 minutes. really boosts power and gas mileage and sounds beefy as hell. great buy. volant makes the best air intakes around and autoanything always comes through with fast delivery and the best prices.

Great Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gilbert J (Onset, MA) — 2008-04-05 20:19:35

A necessity with the air intake makes the the package perform outstanding! Works great with electric fans and power chip.

01 duramax 4x4 longbed

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Colton W (Damon, TX) Reviewed for a 2010 Scion xD — 2011-06-21 18:17:41

Hey, Autoanything thanks for the great price on this scoop. the scoop opened up more air to my volant intake with the amaazing powercore filter good for 150,ooo miles. The box said it gave me up to 38 HP plus the 22hp standard intake thats 60 extra !!!!power. my turbo on my duramax is louder.I dont know about the mpg but hoping for 1or 2 mpg upl like the box said. Thanks alot.

Nice...

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Abel C (San Jose, CA) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Suburban — 2009-05-11 08:19:12

The installation took a little longer than expected due to having to disassemble some hidden bumper pieces underneath the vehicle in order to be able to install the air scoop a little easier. The vehicle runs smoother at higher speeds, but it is still to early to tell if I am getting better fuel econonmy. I surely hope so! Maybe it's me, but I think that it's a little quieter now at cruising speeds, but it still sounds great when you get on the throttle!

2006 5.3 silverado

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Andrew E (Rochester, NY) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Silverado — 2007-04-10 20:56:00

Gives the system that extra power at speed. Easy to install and necessary to make the most of the intake system.

Ram air Scoop----Sounds Great-INCREASE MPG

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brent H (Brandon, MS) Reviewed for a 2000 — 2006-05-25 07:32:56

After installing the scoop(very easy )I noticed a increase in responds and the sound was GREAT ---not to loud--the mpg also increased 1 to 2 more mpg. Great product!

Big difference

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Franklyn T (Virginia Beach, VA) Reviewed for a 2005 Dodge Ram — 2009-09-01 01:53:53

Well I felt he difference right away. My exhaust which I was thinking of changing wasent deep enough till I got the intake. Wow! The scoop and intake a little pricy for a bunch of plafyic but I'm happy.

CUYEYO, CERRALVO, NUEVO LEON, MX

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gilberto L (Roma, TX) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Silverado — 2007-06-06 07:33:52

ESTA TODO EXCELENTE, EL ENVIO FUE MUY RAPIDO, VIENE TODO EL EQUIPO EN PERFECTAS CONDICIONES, EL UNICO PROBLEMA QUE VEO YO ES QUE SI BATALLE COMO 45 MINUTOS APROXIMADAMENTE PARA INSTALAR EL SCOOP, PORQUE ESTA UN POCO REDUCIDO, FUERA DE TODO ESO YO EN LO PERSONAL SIENTO LA CAMIONETA CON MAS POTENCIA.. CREO QUE FUE BUENA DECISION COMPRAR LA MARCA VOLANT

Ram air in a tube

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Roger P (Saint Clair Shores, MI) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy Silverado — 2008-10-04 06:45:20

Maximum forced air induction taken through the hole from where the tow hooks are presently placed. Expensive, especially after buying the whole system beforehand. Volant should give a discount for buying the whole system. However, definitely know that it does feel like a ram air system after insulation. Air is forced through the whole volant air system. Truck runs better, idles low, added mpg, and a little thrust of horsepower.

Quality product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Nicholas R (, ) Reviewed for a 2012 Chevy Silverado — 2011-10-18 11:24:33

this full system and the scoop really helped out my truck. Definitely opened up my engines breathing and has improved my overall gas mileage by a little over 2 miles a gallon. The throttle respond was greatly improved, idle has smoothed out as well as felled about 200 rpms. Great product even though it's a little expensive it's not when compared to others of comparable quality. Product was installed on a 2008 Silverado 1500 Z71 4X4.

2004 nissan titan

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by COY E (Santa Fe, NM) — 2006-07-07 08:20:00

I installed the volant cold air intake on my nissan and added the air scoop the results were fantastic increased preformance and 3 more miles per gallon highway very easy install on both units excellent products autoanything has the best prices and deals that I found very satisfied.

muchos huevos

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by manuel a (Healdsburg, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Silverado — 2007-07-24 14:05:04

y had the #1 in air intake since y instal this product my truck has more power (este es el mejor intake de todos yo puse otra marca y no me gusto. manuel from healdsburg ca.

Installation

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Carlton K (Brawley, CA) — 2006-09-13 19:45:37

The install was very easy. I had it installed in about 10 minutes. The intake was already installed previously. Saw gains on MPG and response in truck.

Ram air scoop

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by justin s (Marshall, TX) Reviewed for a 2008 Nissan Titan — 2013-03-06 01:34:10

Easy to install once I got tow hook removed. Intake air temps within 2 degrees of outside temp.

Extra Power

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Daniel W (Tishomingo, MS) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-150 — 2011-10-24 20:57:39

I bought this at the same time as the cai. Money well spent! It really makes a difference at highway speeds and passing is a breeze. The only drawback is needing a custom program after installation or the truck will run bad lean. The guys at PHP are taking care of that. Great addition to the volant cai.

Great!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ALVARO B (Gustine, CA) Reviewed for a 2002 Chevy C/K 1500 — 2006-07-17 07:20:53

Huge difference from stock. Excellent product and easy to install. Would recommend to anyone.

Tacoma Ram Scoop Cold Air Intake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Paul R (Kaneohe, HI) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-06-01 00:53:16

I recently installed my Volant CIA on my 2006 Toyota Tacoma 4x4 with TRD exhaust, very pleased on performance. Later installed the Volant Ram Air Scoop.Easy to install by removing factory radiator shield ,saving the screw clips to hold down the Ram Scoop. Remove the cap on the CIA box and connecting the Ram Scoop to Air Box. The whole system works by sucking cold air from the bottom passenger side front fender and also from the top front area of the length of the radiator. Volant Ram Scoop Cold Air Intake System is worth the money spent, notice increase at 2-5.5 RPM. Sounds and feels Awesome from under the hood to the exhaust.Did not yet figure out millage after instaltion, having to much fun with the amount of extra horsepower..... Aloha from Hawaii

volant ram air scoop

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Vince L (Springfield, MO) Reviewed for a 2000 GMC C/K 1500 — 2007-06-02 17:15:36

after putting on the ram air scoop there was a noticeable change in the top end.

Its alright

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin I (Soda Springs, ID) Reviewed for a 2001 Dodge Ram — 2006-04-13 11:54:32

I like the intake but I didn't really notice much until after I bought the "extra ram air scoop" sold seperatly. That made a world of difference! However it cost me an additional $100 bucks :-( If you have the intake I suggest the scoop, it makes a difference

air scoop nice assy.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by BARTON W (Riverhead, NY) Reviewed for a 2007 GMC C/K 3500 — 2008-08-05 04:06:00

very well made air scoop,assy. instructions very poor this piece fits 2008 gmc 3500 hd disel also !!

2001 chevy silverado 5.3L

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Evan K (Queen Creek, AZ) Reviewed for a 2001 Chevy Silverado — 2007-04-20 19:59:23

The ram air scoop is a good add on to your volant cold air intake. I do notice a little more power at highway speeds and the mileage seems to be about the same. Overall, I think it's worth the money if you want that little extra surge at higher speeds.

99 Dodge Ram

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steven K (League City, TX) Reviewed for a 1999 Dodge Ram — 2006-12-01 04:47:15

Installed fairly easy, Has boosted performance. Gas milage has increased just not as much as I thought it would

it works

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Donald D (Leonardtown, MD) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F150 — 2006-08-24 16:52:37

No real instructions, I had to remove the airbox to install. It works really well. There is a quicker throttle response, especially when at speeds. Worth the money.

Quiet performance

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Carle M (Saugus, CA) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy Silverado — 2007-12-12 10:59:34

There was a big difference when I installed the Volant air intake on my 2003 Chevy Diesel. The surging at idle stopped and throttle response was greatly improved. I noticed it seemed unfinished, and purchased the Ram Air Scoop. The directions lacked reference that the scoop attached straddling the frame rail, other than that it was easy and provides my truck with the air it deserves. I noticed no performance increase over the air box itself.

Volant Ram Air Scop

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian I (Westminster, CO) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-05-04 07:50:49

I tied this into the TRD CAI so it required some hole saw action for install so my installation was a more difficult than if you had the Volant CAI. If you have the Volant CAI it would take a total of 5 min to install. The ram air scoop is just what I was looking for to bring cold air into the box instead of warm engine bay air. The center hole on the ram air scoop was off so I had to drill a new hole. Cant really tell that anything is different though. Overall good product.

Good quality

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeff C (Lake Zurich, IL) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Silverado — 2007-06-14 08:06:52

very happy with quality of product.

VOLANT AIR INTAKE AND SCOOP

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Victor A (Chino Hills, CA) — 2008-07-06 20:04:11

THIS IS A GREAT INTANK AND SCOOP THAT I PURCHASED FROM THESE GUYS IT ADDED SOME HORSEPOWER TO MY TRUCK AND BOY YOU CAN FILL IT ON THE TAKE OFF.THE INSTALLATION WAS EASY,COMPLETE JOB UNDER ONE HOUR.

no install instructions

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Stephen S (Topeka, KS) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Silverado — 2012-10-20 07:49:48

The product is great! you can definitely notice the additional ponies you get, don't know that the scoop provided all that hp but just helped all the other mods work jst a little bit better. There were no install instructions, only a schematic view of how its suppose to be installed. It made it take way longer than it should have.

Ford F 150 2004 ram air scoop review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Shane W (Lafayette, LA) — 2008-04-27 13:56:43

I am really enjoying the increase of mpg and horsepower with my scoop. I never have gotten such good MPG until I purchased both the volant air box and scoop. I also really enjoy the throaty sound when I punch the gas pedal. However, the installation of the scoop was more difficult than i would have expected. Installation instructions would have been beneficial.

Ram Air Scoop Silverado 2500 HD

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bryan W (O Fallon, MO) Reviewed for a 2010 Chevy Silverado — 2010-11-03 05:13:53

Good quality part, Hard to install due to lack of instructions, Noticed a little more power on the highway. Kind of pricey for the results, but I think it will help even more when I get exhaust upgraded.

Volant Ram Air scoop added to my 2004 Silverado

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Christopher B (Lansing, IL) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Silverado — 2012-06-06 07:22:48

Added the cold air intake from Volant 2 years ago and loved the added low end torque and response on the throttle. I have the SS front bumper and really wanted to see if this would add a little more to the intake. Install was not hard at all. I unbolted the cold air box and pulled it out so I could aline all the parts easier before tighting the clamps. It seemed to add a little more performance, but the sound it makes as the engine sucks in air is AWESOME! Not like a supercharger sound, but really cool none the less. Over all, the price is a little high, quality of the item is very good, directions are only a cad drawn photo of how it attach's to the cold air box. I would buy it again if I had to, just wish they could come down a little in price.

Quad Cab Dodge Ram

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Eric K (Findlay, OH) Reviewed for a 2005 Dodge Ram — 2006-06-09 07:10:46

Took longer to install than the cold air box, tight fix and would go alot smoother with 2 people. In town not much of a difference, but @ 55:19 mpg, @65:22mpg and @70:20mpg at least that's what the on board computer calcuates. Took a 100 mile trip and with some city and mostly highway driving and averaged 19.5mpg I guess I'm glad I got it.

VOLANT AIR SCOOP ON 07 TAHOE

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by KENNETH F (, ) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Tahoe — 2009-09-26 11:28:33

THE FIT COULD OF BEEN BETTER,THEY NEED TO MAKE A FLAPPER FOR THE END WHERE IT GOES INTO THE TOW HOOKS,TO KEEP RAIN AND OTHER STUFF OUT. THANK YOU.

Volant Scoop

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robbie M (Tulsa, OK) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-150 — 2009-12-31 06:55:42

Im not sure if this addition helps any at low speeds (city driving) but it has to help at highway speeds. I have not had an issue with water getting sucked in at all. As far as installation...PAIN IN THE A**. Only because I bought this after I had the intake so it would probably be easier if you bought it and installed it with the intake at the same time.

2005 F-150 5.4

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael C (Port Orange, FL) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F150 — 2006-08-24 15:12:33

I added the scoop a few weeks after installing the box. I can't say the scoop has made a noticable difference but it is summer in Florida and maybe in cooler weather it will help keep the box colder. It was a real tight fit. The box had no bolts holding it down so its nice that the scoop bolts down so the whole unit is more secure now.

2000 Chevy Silverado 5.3L

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark T (Tolland, CT) — 2006-09-09 16:34:18

I did so much research before buying an air-intake system for my truck. I bought the volant ram air scoop with the airbox system. I can def. notice difference in my gas mileage, and better exhaust tones. I haven't been able to calculate what I am getting for mileage, but it's got to be close to 20mpg. Great product but very costly. Hopefully I'll make up the money through my gas expenses. The scoop is a pain to install but works great. Part took forever (over 10 days) to receive. No wonder it's free shipping.

Ram Air Scoop on 05 Avalanche LT Z71

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David S (Fairfield, OH) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Avalanche — 2008-05-27 12:04:26

While the scoop didn't give me the 2-4 MPG gains, it did improve MPG about 1 and also made the Volant CAI a little smoother sounding. The system only roars now when I mash the pedal. It is also more responsive on the highway. Tricky to get top ring clamp installed to air box.

Volant + Scoop on 05 F150

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael G (Leander, TX) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F150 — 2006-06-20 16:48:37

Installed the scoop along with CAI. Nice part, fit good although installation tight. For F150 a additional work required on valance if installing on 4x2 model (I replaced with a 4x4 lower valance to provide scoop opening.

ram air

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Joe G (Pittsburgh, PA) Reviewed for a 2002 GMC Sierra — 2008-10-14 18:02:09

slightly better gas mileage and performance.

Not impressed

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Cody M (Arbuckle, CA) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Silverado — 2010-10-06 12:08:39

I purchased the ram air scoop after having my volant CAI for a few months. During those months, I once reset my average mpg before a 300+ mile stretch of freeway and got 18 mpg(superchips cortex and flowmaster also in the mix). The ram air scoop took nearly 5 hours to install on my own. I soon ran the same 300+ mile stretch of freeway with the newly added ram air scoop and received 18 mpg yet again. I didn't gain a drop of gas and i can feel little to no difference in throttle response at high speeds with the scoop. I can not say it is worth the time or money. Plus, the scoop sits extremely low to the ground(5-8 inches) so i am afraid to drive through standing water or pull up close to a high curb.

wayyyyyy too expensive!!!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by edward l (Abingdon, MD) — 2007-04-18 02:38:57

does add some quicker throttle response but it is way too expensive for some molded plastic. if i was asked if i would do it again, i would buy a different brand, one that is less expensive.

Volant CAI Scoop for 2007 4.3 Silverado Classic

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jimmy P (Gilbert, SC) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Silverado — 2012-04-26 06:29:57

Realy been disappointed in the Volant system as a whole. Can't really see much if any improvement in horse power or gas mileage. I first bought the CAI unit, it went in very easily although I didn't like the S shape of the tube to the FI. Volant doesn't officially offer a scoop for the 4.3 V6 but the one for the V8 fits fine but is hard to install (it would have been hard on the V8 also). I had a K&N on another truck and noticed both power and gas mileage increases but it was LOUD. This Volant system is very quite and probably does help some but don't look for a real noticeable increase in HP & gas mileage. It looks good I just don't understand why it doesn't help anymore than it does, it looks like it should.

Need intake with tiny filter, had to cut scoop to fit.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brandon W (Mokena, IL) Reviewed for a 2005 Dodge Ram — 2010-10-26 09:56:31

First off, there are two intakes with the same model number for a dodge ram. You need the older (smaller) one. They will ship you a replacement for a swap (The filter is about 1/2 the size). That will take a few weeks. Once you are ready to install the scoop, you'll notice the fender washers are tiny and look like crap (I used my own). You'll also probably have trouble closing the hood. I had to take at least two full inches off the top of the scoop with a Dremel tool to get it to fit correctly. Overall, the installation took me close to two hours. I wouldn't recommend it.