Your Cart Is Empty

Softride Access Dura 4-Bike Rack Customer Reviews

Average Rating

51 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

5 star rating for Dura 4-bike rack!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bobbi P (Houston, TX) — 2009-10-05 06:22:25

I received my Dura a few weeks ago and took it on an out of town camp trip this weekend. It's very easy to assemble and install. I love the hitch lock, pull pin release and the anti-sway. The rack rides like a charm and is very well made! Highly recommend this bike rack!

Best rack out there!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ramiro T (Miami, FL) Reviewed for a 1999 Acura TL — 2008-09-13 11:51:16

Durable, great apperance, priced just right! Can't get a better deal anywhere else.

Softride

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Wayne K (Smithville, MO) Reviewed for a 2007 Mazda CX-7 — 2009-09-08 05:52:45

We are very pleased with our purchase. An excellent piece of engineering and design. It is somewhat difficult to mount our mountain bikes but it works. Designed for touring bikes. Mounted on my wife's car and she has no problem using it.

All-around solid

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Scott B (Cary, NC) Reviewed for a 2009 Honda CR-V — 2009-09-08 06:23:58

I was a little hesitant to spend the extra money to buy this rack compared to others made by big-name brands but it was well worth it. The assembly was very quick and the rack fit perfectly into the hitch. My first use was a four-hour trip to the beach and the rack held three bikes very securely. My wife was very impressed with how easy it was to lower the rack and get things for kids out of the back of our CR-V.

Softride Access Dura 4-Bike Rack 2"

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Scott C (Sioux Falls, SD) Reviewed for a 1998 Chevy Venture — 2009-07-11 22:02:38

Shipping was quick. Arrived with no damage, all parts included. Assembly was easy and quick. OUr first use was for a 300 mile trip. Struggled the first time loading bikes and learning how they fit. We have four bikes, two of which are kids bikes. Had initially bought two bicyle adapters and had to purchase a third for my wifes bike. Bought this rack for tilting feature to access the back of our minivan. 10 year old son was able to move rack up and down.

Nice looking and well designed

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gregory M (Selden, NY) Reviewed for a 2002 Ford Excursion — 2010-10-30 06:52:42

I loaded 3 bikes and it handled good, easy to load and push up to lock, it had no provision for my wife's bike without the top rail but i turned bike upside down and worked, they do sell an accessorie for that, overall it's great, when loaded it seemed to wobble a bit, but a bunjee cord can fix that

It's worth it!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Christian M (Lynnwood, WA) — 2011-06-16 22:10:25

It is very quiet and sturdy, kept the bikes really secured, rattle-free ride, and the ease of accessing the lift gate of my truck. Installation was a cinch, nice features like lockable hitch pin and integrated cable to secure the bikes.

Easy to use

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Douglas J (Frederick, MD) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Sienna — 2008-09-21 17:43:46

Rack swings down and away from our van's trunk easily. We were able to access the trunk space. Our kids' bikes did not fit on the rack so we still have to put them in the van. We did have to purchase a 22mm wrench to attach the rack to the hitch and we borrowed a ratchet set to assemble it. Ladies - this is easy to have on your car and haul your bike and older kids' bikes. No heavy lifting!

Nice Rack!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Daniel S (San Rafael, CA) Reviewed for a 2010 Subaru Forester — 2009-11-19 10:41:24

I bought this for my 2010 subaru forester with the smaller size hitch receiver. The rack is great, holds the bikes nice and secure and has minimal rattle. The fold down feature is amazing. The smaller hitch adapter makes the rack stick out way too far, I ended up using only 2 of the 3 bolts for the adapter so I could bring it a little closer to the vehicle.

Great bike rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ROCHELLE G (Savannah, GA) Reviewed for a 2006 Honda Pilot — 2010-08-08 10:36:35

Looked at several bikes racks; most popular brands. None of them you could access the trunk with bikes on the rack. With this bike rack you can access the trunk, comes with a hitch lock and lock cable for the bikes, "name" brands you pay extra. Very sturdy and holds 2 adult and 2 kids road bikes with ease.

Great Features, but if you have Mountain bikes....

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ken D (Prineville, OR) Reviewed for a 2009 Ford F-150 — 2009-09-25 20:40:07

This is a great rack with all the features I was looking for. Bike lock, hitch lock, parallel tilt, well built and looks nice as well. One word of advise however, if you have moutain bike you may have a hard time getting the frame over the yellow lock things where the reflector are. I have a Jamis X1,a Jamis X3 and two kids mountain bike ( 20" and 24" ) that will NOT fit over the ends of the frame due to the narrow space between to top bar and bottom bar of the frame. You have two choices, one is to put the bottom of the frame on top of the rack and the widest part on the bar or ( what I did ) purchase something like a Saris Bike Beam http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000BT0Z9Q/ref=ox_ya_oh_product or similar product to create a nice horizontal top frame bar. I believe this is also an issue with many other frames and mountain or fukk suspension bikes. All in all a great bike rack.

Works with a full size truck!!!!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Stanislav O (West Sacramento, CA) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Tundra — 2010-03-26 13:08:45

Good stuff. Eazy to use compare to other bike racks that i have used. Use it for my Toyota Tundra 2008 and tail gate opens all the way. I like an attachment that they have for a 2 1/2 hitch. I have a Sienna with a smaller hitch reciever and I can use bike rack with that attachment on my van also. Good product.

Very happy with this bike rake

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by LYNN L (Bel Air, MD) Reviewed for a 2009 Lexus RX 350 — 2009-05-01 15:40:02

I have had a thule rack that had a swing away feature to allow you to access your back hatch door. The Softride is a much better design. The rack is very sturdy, the bikes do not move and ride securely on the rack. The pull down feature that allows you to access your back hatch is very easy to use. All in all, the Softride is a better design than the more expensive thule. I also like the fact that you can lengthen the rack a few inches to allow more room between the racks.

Great Bike rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jolina W (Garden Grove, CA) Reviewed for a 2008 Honda Pilot — 2012-02-20 09:06:35

Being a 120lb female, having a bike rack that lowers down to allow you to put on the bikes is a lot easier than to lift the bikes up to the rack. That is the feature that got me to buy this rack. Yes, you do need a little leg strength to push the bike rack back up with 2-4 bikes on it, but it is doable. I also enjoy being able to open the back of my suv without disassembling the rack. I can only see 2 downfalls of this rack: 1) Someone can steal the arms off the rack with a push of a button. (easily solved: I just put them in my truck while biking) 2) If parallel parking, hope nobody parks too close behind you....when you put the rack back down it extends another 3 feet or so behind you. (without the arms on the rack, other people cannot imagine how much room you will need behind you) Other than these two small issues, I love the bike rack and I think it was well worth the money I paid.

Softride Access Dura 4-Bike Rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Fred D (Williamstown, NJ) — 2011-10-10 17:22:24

Very happy with the quality of the materials. Assembly was easy, tilt out feature works great. The only negative is the security cable could be a bit linger. Love it!!!

great purchase

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by russ r (Buffalo, NY) Reviewed for a 2003 Chrysler Pacifica — 2009-04-14 05:59:09

The softride went together easily. Better instruction are needed for the " not so handy bike rider.

Happyolive

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ron F (Price, UT) — 2009-08-26 08:44:35

We are well pleased with the Softride. Access to the vehicle is great and is coveted by family members with other bike racks!

Finaly ... the right bike rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Christopher T (Madison, NJ) Reviewed for a 2006 GMC Envoy Denali — 2008-08-05 03:56:31

I really wanted a future proof rack and thats what I got with the Softride Access. I had it assemble in five minutes, on the car without any worries in another five. The hinged access / drop down is awesome and is proving to be invaluable when the kids have fogotten to get something from the car. When its not being used, the top struts remove in seconds. Even my neighbor who is a serious cyclist is going to get this model now that he has seen mine! All in all this rack is 1st class, easy to operate, easy to instal and I would certainly reccomend it to anyone.

Excellent in almost every way.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert L. K (Columbia, PA) Reviewed for a 2007 Honda Odyssey — 2008-05-23 14:30:37

I would give this a rating of excellent all across the board, however under ease of installation, it wasn't too tough for me, but it weighs 38 lbs. It does go into the receiver easily, and once in, it can be bolted in. This rack is awesome! I get comments all the time about how great it is, and when I say how much it cost me, they are impressed because they paid nearly that much for inferior racks. This thing is top notch in every way. The locks and everything you need is included. The only other thing you need is your own padlock to lock the cable through the bikes. Hitch lock is included, the rack swings down when loaded with bikes to open your hatch. Quality heavy duty construction. It is heavy, but well worth the extra weight for the quality and function. I would recommend this to everyone.

Perfect

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Keith H (Gloucester, MA) Reviewed for a 2003 BMW X5 — 2008-09-12 06:46:02

Purchased this for four bikes(family). Replacing a much more expensive name brand that was a pain in the ass to load. This rack is top quality, finish, design, looks. I have recommended to several others who have sense purchased and could not agree more.

Excellent Bike Rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Roderick N (Round Rock, TX) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tacoma — 2009-04-27 21:04:54

The quality and the appearance of the Softride Access Dura 4-Bike rack is the best money can buy. Once you tightened the bolt on the hitch, you can't hear any rattling. It's rock solid. The hitch lock and cable lock are included which is a very good deal. One of the plastic end of the arm was cracked during the shipment and both Auto Anything and Softride customer was excellent in handling the situation by sending a replacement part withing 2 to 3 days.

good choice

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Wenchi S (Basking Ridge, NJ) — 2008-07-22 08:27:20

excellent

Softride bike rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by gerard l (Novi, MI) Reviewed for a 2007 Honda Odyssey — 2009-05-31 20:34:57

The Softride bike rack is a good deal for the money compared to other brandname racks.

Pleased with my purchaced

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jim B (Maple Valley, WA) Reviewed for a 2010 Honda CR-V — 2010-08-29 17:53:24

We were able to go on a family vacation and bring our bikes. that kept the kids busy while we were camping. the only thing I would change is the fact that it sticks out to far when you need the 1 1/4 in mount. To bad you could not make a better design on the smaller mounts. I have some Ideas and will modify mine to make it work. When the bikes are on it you can't raise it up as easy as you make it sound on the videos. My wife can't do it with 4 bikes on. Really do like the ability to get into back with the rack installed.

The best accessory ever

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Sergio M (Los Angeles, CA) Reviewed for a 2012 Lincoln MKT — 2012-12-25 17:26:21

Received the Softride Access Dura 4-Bike Rack within days, I installed it immediately. The instructions were easy to follow, in no time it was mounted on my SUV. To access the back door, I just pull out the pin and it extends out easy. To close, just push in and it locks in place. There is nothing better out there for this money, I checked. Used twice, there is no swinging, no noise, doesn't feel there are equipment in the back of the vehicle.

great rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by william c (Thornton, NH) Reviewed for a 2012 Toyota Prius — 2012-05-14 21:46:44

Love the rack. It works as advertised. The plastic guides for thr rack arms on the car side are easily dislodged and damaged. I bet Softride will replace them.

love the convenience and sturdiness of this rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Sarah D (CORDOVA, TN) Reviewed for a 2012 Subaru Outback — 2012-07-27 20:26:46

First 8 hour road trip with two comfort bikes, once we found the right configuration, bikes were attached very securely. I kept looking back and expecting them to be moving or even missing, but they were still solidly attached the whole way. Love the convenience of the included cable for locking the bikes during a quick lunch stop, and it was very easy to add my kryptonite u lock and cable for overnight peace of mind. My only negative so far - it was near impossoble to get the arms to slide out and back in to lock in place. The videos make it look so easy. We are hoping that the 100 degree weather and 100% humidity had something to do with swelling the plastic chutes, but with some sandpaper and lube they are now slighly easier to maneuver. Otherwise, I love this rack. We changed from a rooftop upright mount and couldn't be happier. I had to lower and raise the rack to get into the back of my Outback at least 5 times today, and it reminded me how nice this feature is every single time.

Bike rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John D (Phoenixville, PA) Reviewed for a 2012 Chrysler Town and Country — 2012-09-13 07:50:58

Nice bike rack works well

Great bikerack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tammy S (Cerritos, CA) Reviewed for a 1982 Volkswagen Vanagon — 2012-08-16 20:22:15

This bikerack is well built and easy to install. I would recomenbit to everyone

Mary E.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mary J (Seattle, WA) Reviewed for a 2002 Volkswagen Eurovan — 2012-05-29 22:44:37

My husband installed the rack and was delighted it had the full 2" hinge trailer insert. Very stable, easy to use with bikes loaded; both locks provided (bike cable & trailer hitch) were well thought out and easy to use. Rubber straps are stiff but once on, are very secure. Must remove small stop block to fully raise the lid on a VW Eurovan. Removal of horizontal bike rack arms are quick and easy. Our friends were envious!

Great value and easy to use

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by MICHAEL B (Colbert, WA) — 2011-07-10 19:43:32

Buying was easy with recommendation by AutoAnything phone sales rep. Assembly and installation straightforward. Used it for the first time this weekend for 2 bikes and load easily. Ability to lower the rack and open rear tailgate a great feature. Removable horizontal bars reducer rear profile and concern about clearance. Would buy again.

Softride Access Dura 4-Bike Rack is great

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by THOMAS B (Orland Park, IL) — 2011-07-16 04:05:46

It is very well built and solid. It was easy to assemble and install. The hitch lock makes ut secure and the security cable protects the bikes. It easily swings down and out of the way to allow access to my SUV cargo area. I think it's great.

Well made Agree with all excellent reviews.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin H (Huron, SD) — 2011-08-27 10:37:06

Very Well Made. Doesn't make any noise when driving. I would recommend this bike rack to others.

great bike rack!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William C (Roswell, GA) Reviewed for a 2005 GMC Yukon XL — 2010-04-24 09:28:31

High quality construction and excellent design. Assembly and installation was quick and easy. I typically haul two mountain bikes and two road bikes. They fit perfectly and there is absolutely no sway or movement of the bikes or rack while traveling down the road. The rack is easily lowered and raised to access the rear vehicle hatch even when loaded with four bikes. I'm an Industrial (product) Designer and I know good design and a good product when I see it. You can certainly spend more money on a rack but why? I highly recommend this bike rack.

excellent product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by JOHN W (Duxbury, MA) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Sequoia — 2009-09-29 21:53:43

i love this rack. carry 4 bikes with zero problem. super easy trunk access. one of plastic anti-sway cradle was broken after arrival, autoanything resolved the issue right-away and send a replacement.

So far so good

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael C (Bellevue, NE) Reviewed for a 2007 Nissan Titan — 2010-05-10 20:36:25

I've had this rack for a little while now, but I've only been able to put one bike on so far. The rack fit well onto our Nissan Titan and the tail gate clears by about 1/4 inch. The bike seems really solid and secure. I did mark down on the quality because the rubber straps are already cracking around the adjustment holes. Don't forget that you will need to purchase adapter bars if you will be transporting woman's or full suspension bikes.

Quality at a reasonable price

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Martin D (Chandler, AZ) Reviewed for a 2004 Honda Pilot — 2010-07-07 18:43:36

Easy to install, comes wit the extras you would normally need to buy on the cheaper bike racks like the hitch lock and built in cable for locking bikes to the rack. Really love the ability to open the hatchback without having to remove the bikes, a featue you will appreciate over and over. Strong quality and asthetically pleasing to look at. Very solidly built. Would definitely recommend to others.

Great So Far

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Stephen C (Ridgefield, CT) Reviewed for a 2011 Buick Enclave — 2010-12-09 06:02:43

The rack is built like a tank and nicely finished. Time will tell how well it lasts. Installation was a breeze and they include a hitch lock which is a nice touch. Autoanything even had a special for a free ski rack when I purchased it - can't beat that. Switching between the ski and bike racks takes only a minute.

highly recommended

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Peter C (Knoxville, TN) Reviewed for a 2011 Hyundai Santa Fe — 2012-07-10 13:15:57

This rack is everything it looked like it was on the pictures. Heavy duty but easy to use. I immediately took it for a 13 hour interstate drive with two bikes including one built for women--which it easily adapted to. I've had 3 bikes on it with no problem. Rides very solid, no rattles thanks to the bolt that attaches it to the hitch. The bolt is partly what makes it such a stable ride, but you will need a wrench with you to put it on and off. I love the tilt feature that allows you to open the tailgate without removing bikes--also makes the bikes a bit easier to get on and off. I looked at Thule and Yakima and I am very glad I decided on Softride.

excellent bike rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Leroy S (SAN ANTONIO, TX) Reviewed for a 2010 Mazda 3 — 2012-10-30 05:50:31

its a strong rack with no problems putting it together and placing it on my mazda3. It is on the heavy side, wife does have a little problem. But still able to hook it up on the mazda. Since it comes with a 1.25' & 2", I'm not limited to my mazda only. I also use it on my truck.

Heavy duty rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin J (Lancaster, MA) Reviewed for a 2005 Jeep Wrangler — 2011-12-20 07:01:58

Heavy duty rack that should last a long time. Haven't been able to try it out yet but hope to use the ski attachment this winter and the bike rack next spring. The top plate arrived scratched on all 4 corners. Call the manufacturer and they sent a new one. It also got scratched due to poor packaging. They may want to rethink the packaging of the item. It is the only thing that got scratched in the shipping both times. Maybe wrap it in paper and then bubble wrap instead of just bubble wrap. Had to glue the caps on the ski attachment since they kept falling off and I didn't want to loose the caps. It is the little things that if they fixed them would make this a great rack.

Decent, easy to use bike rack.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David O (Sturbridge, MA) Reviewed for a 2005 Honda Pilot — 2008-07-31 04:38:46

I like the rack. Installation was reasonably easy although the directions were useless and misleading. Rack works well although it does not accept women's frames easily. There are cross pieces available that aid with this. I have ordered some but I have not recieved them yet so I don't know if this will help. It would have been nice for that information to have been made available when I made the purchase. I am pleased with the rack and would highly recommend it although I don't have any experience with any other bike racks to compare it to.

Easy install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin R (Coos Bay, OR) Reviewed for a 2012 Toyota Sienna — 2012-07-05 13:24:10

The rack works great smaller bikes are harder to put on rack even with adaptor but when on and straped down they dont move much. Like being able to access the back of the van with the rack on.

The good and not so good for some.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Marc W (Rolla, MO) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford Escape — 2010-11-16 07:17:09

This rack is pretty good overall but has some attributes that make is not well suited for some. The instruction to put it together were not all that clear. I am a pretty good wrench so I didn't have any trouble but I can see places that are just set up for mass confusion. the weight of the rack may be more than some would like to handle frequently. It is sturdy but does have a good bit of heft. If you plan to take it on and off a lot please take that into consideration. The bike holder parts don't fold down like some racks. They do come off quite simply when not in use but then you need to put the somewhere. Left on they stick out rather far. The fold down part is nice. Works great! With four bikes on it though beware it is a good hefty push to get it back up. again not a problem just beware if you are not that strong. the pads that hold the bike are rather large. This is good for securing it but can make getting smaller frames hard to get on. The anti-sway pads are a great idea and concept. they are marginally effective. the can be removed in second if you don't like them. They can get in the way of sliding a bike to the back of the rack. The anchors for the straps are not the strongest. Had one fail already on the second trip. Need to get a warranty replacement. Have not tried yet as it just happened. Just note don't pull on the straps. They hold pretty tight even when they are just snug to the frame of the bike. I like the fact the rack came with both the attachment to 2" and 1.25" receivers. Nice touch. The rack is sturdy for multiple bikes. Feel comfortable with 4 mountain bikes on it (and mine is no lightweight). The screw pin for placing it in the rack is nice as it keep the rack tight and it doesn't bounce or sway on the back. Good lock on the pin. Beware you will need a 7/8 wrench for the 2" receiver and a 3/4" for the 1.25" receiver. sockets will only work if they are are very deep well sockets due to the locking mechanism. The cable lock looks flim

Solid!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James W (Brandon, MS) Reviewed for a 2002 Nissan Pathfinder — 2008-10-22 06:05:58

The rack is heavy, but very solid construction. The bolt to the hitch keeps it from rattling (a problem I've heard with other racks), and once mounted is easy to assemble and use. Because of its weight, the only semi-difficult part is sliding it into the hitch and lining up the hole for the bolt. Mounting bikes on it is very easy with the flexible rubber straps. It is well worth the money!

ONLY ONE PROBLEM

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John D (Sunderland, VT) — 2012-10-03 05:46:40

Traditional male bikes frames hang easily, while some Mountain Bike Frames are impossible to hang.

Good product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jean-Philippe H (VIENNA, VA) — 2012-09-07 18:53:08

Does the job, sturdy. If your bikes have odd shapes, it won't fit well but you can buy a horizontal bar as an accessory from bike shops and this will fix the issue. Had to grease the handle to make lowering the rack easier when fully loaded. Works as it should, seems solid so far. No bad surprise.

Softride 4 bike carrier after 2 weeks (Feb 2010)

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael O (O Fallon, IL) Reviewed for a 2001 Dodge Ram — 2010-02-16 08:18:14

Easy to install, A bit heavy. when lowered down it doesn't go down far enough to clear the tail gate being lowered with out hitting it. seams very sturdy and carried one bike securely on the highway from the bike shop. Like that the rear bar's can be removed when not needed and stored inside the truck. (Dodge 2500 4X4).

Sits a little low

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Doug W (Morrisville, NC) Reviewed for a 2011 Honda Odyssey — 2012-07-08 09:50:16

Used the SoftRide Access 4- Bike Rack for a trip to the outer banks last week. It does enable access to the rear, but my wife would not be able to raise it with 3 bikes loaded on the rack.. I can do it. On the Odyssey Van, after the bikes are loaded, the bikes are about 6" to 8" off the ground, alittle too low for my comfort level, but we had to use it for the trip, there wasn't time to order a different rack..It worked, but I'm going to buy a hitch extension, I have found which will raise the bikes about 4" higher....The sitting low problem is more due to where the actual hitch is installed on a Honda Van and the type of bikes you have. All in all, it is a sturdy bike rack, which we should use for years (after obtaining the hitch extension)

Quality control is lacking

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bruce H (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) — 2012-10-08 16:53:50

The rack rocks a lot on the 2" tube that goes into the receiver - wrong size bolts? The 3/4 inch tube that the bikes sit on keeps sliding out of the rack on one side. the release mechanism was attached too far away from tube.

Bike Racks Not Created Equal

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Rafael P (Alameda, CA) Reviewed for a 2008 Nissan Frontier — 2011-10-29 07:13:22

Compared to the Yakima rack I strap onto my Subaru, this Softride hitch-mount rack did not make the grade. In fairness, it was simple to install and the parts were complete. However, before I even mounted the rack, one of the plastic end-caps broke, casting immediate doubt on quality. Like Yakima, Softride utilizes the "switchblade" supports to minimize sway, a great feature, however, the material and design on the Softride are inferior: rubber straps are stiff and difficult to secure & plastic parts feel flimsy and cheaply made. Our bikes just did not "sit" well on this rack. I returned it without using it once. Autoanything made the process quite painless by sending me a UPS label at Autoanything's volume discount. This was deducted from my refund. Still happy with Autoanything...will go with Yakima.