Your Cart Is Empty

Softride Access Element Bike Rack Customer Reviews

Average Rating

11 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Great rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jermy H (Ovid, NY) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Suburban — 2009-04-30 10:05:16

I really like this rack. Bikes are very secure even on bumpy roads or highway speeds. The way the rack tilts back is great. I can open the glass with bikes on the rack and with it up and the full hatch open with it tilted down. The only thing to remember is to loosen the Velcro strap holding the first bike to the rack before tipping the rack down. It also holds my wife's ladies bike fine without any additional parts.

Excellence in design

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ira J (Glenwood Springs, CO) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Land Cruiser — 2010-01-13 10:44:29

This is asuperbly engineered piece of equipment, Very easy to assemble. Sturdyly built. Allows easy access to rear of car while protecting bikes. Soft restraints are secure and do not damage carbon fiber tubes. Dr. J.

Bike rack review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeffrey B. C (Elizabethtown, NC) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Traverse — 2010-10-03 04:53:16

This bike rack is a very sturdy and solid rack and is reasonably priced compared to others I looked at. Putting it together was easy as well with simple directions. Two complaints though...1) It is a fairly heavy rack to manipulate on and off the vehicle and 2) I don't like the fact that it bolts onto the trailer hitch-a slide through pin would be easier. I'm 60 years old so getting down on the ground to bolt the rack on and off the vehicle and then carrying it to storage is getting more difficult each year! Other than thes two issues I'm very pleased with the rack and look forward to many years of use!

Great Bike Rack for my 2000 Dodge Durango.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Noel C (Poway, CA) Reviewed for a 2000 Dodge Durango — 2012-03-10 21:03:29

I highly recommended this product. I have used it and mounted 4 bikes and no problem. Very stable and excellent product.

Just What We Needed

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Wataru I (Providence, RI) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota Highlander — 2010-06-26 04:56:26

This bike rack is exactly what I was looking for, and the tilting feature is very nice, but lifting can be a little heavy with bikes on, but it does not bother me too much. I also like the fact that the two arms that supporting the bikes can be easily removed and stored inside the car when they are not used. Overall, I am pleased with the purchase.

Great bike rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tommy T (Brooklyn, NY) — 2011-03-30 08:32:09

great for the price and quality. easy to assemble but you will need to purchase 2" hitch lock depending on your hitch size for the bike rack. with this bike rack you are able to get access to your SUV trunk without removing the bike hitch.

Softride Element Bike Rack Rating

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Edward C (Canton, CT) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy Trailblazer — 2009-05-06 05:44:30

This is the first bike rack I have purchased. The Softride is excellent for my need. I love the feature where I can pull the rack and open my trunk for my dog and get something. This feature is easy and a must have. I recommend it to eveyone.

VERY PLEASED

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ROBERT F (Chiefland, FL) — 2011-08-21 15:24:20

MY FIRST HITCH TYPE BIKE CARRIER AND I AM VERY PLEASED WITH IT.

Van Rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jason C (Menomonie, WI) Reviewed for a 2005 Dodge Grand Caravan — 2009-07-19 16:09:21

This seems to be a great rack. Used on a 300 mile round trip this weekend. I was a little leery on the rubber straps holding the full trip. So I used a couple of staps also. Figure better safe than sorry since bikes don't just grow on trees. Seems to be sturdy even on the bumps. Had a little issue with how I was going to mount my 6yr olds bike on. Ended up just using one side of the mount. It is great how it folds down and can still open the back of the van to get things out. Would I buy another one. Sure would.

Don't buy the locking hitch pin they advertise with it.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michele L (Duluth, GA) — 2009-05-26 14:02:16

The rack is great. Easy to use. However, the hitch lock that AutoAnything advertises with it does not work with the hitch. Soft ride has asked AutoAnything to stop advertising it with their product. Now I am suppose to pay for return shipping of an item that does not work as advertised. Soft ride makes their own lock that fits the rack.

Works well

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Wendell T (Ann Arbor, MI) — 2008-08-19 21:22:50

This is a well designed product. It's sturdy and securely holds 4 bikes with very little sway. I quickly developed confidence in it even while driving over rough terrain and around corners. The few complaints that I would have are: 1. The rubber pads started to show permanent damage after one trip. They're molded plastic with a molded rubber-like material in contact with the bike frames, but obviously not a true vulcanized rubber. 2. The anti-rattle hitch bolt works well, but it doesn't come with the advertised locking device. 3. The vertical beam just misses the bumper on my Dodge Magnum by less than 1mm. Maybe the hitch receiver is partly to blame, but I'd appreciate more clearance.