Your Cart Is Empty

Thule Raceway Trunk Bike Rack Customer Reviews

Average Rating

30 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Bike Rack As Advertised

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Merrie P (COMSTOCK PARK, MI) — 2012-07-28 11:47:35

Just finished installing the Thule Raceway Trunk Bike Rack easily onto my car. Rack a bit heavier than I expected but it went on easily and fits perfectly on my Lexus IS250. Seems secure and won't mark the car. This rack is exactly what I was looking for, ordering was easy, price was good and it came quickly.

Thule raceway trunk bike rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by paul g (timonium, MD) — 2011-10-27 06:38:53

Very satisfied

Great Bike Rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Timothy H (Wilmette, IL) — 2011-05-25 13:48:06

Easy to put together and install, feels secure on my car.

Very Satisfied

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard E (Tamarac, FL) Reviewed for a 2002 Honda Accord — 2011-05-11 06:00:31

Purchased this bike rack because it was one of the few that would mount on my car and girfriends SUV. Quality of product is excellent. I found mounting to vehicle easy. Very happy with purchase, worth the money.

Awesome Bike Rack, Looks Good and Great Quality !!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dane D (Mansfield, OH) — 2011-07-12 15:50:40

My Wife and I love our new Thule Rack!! It was such a pain getting everything together and trying to fit it into our SUV, but now we just throw the rack on the Civic and take off. The other nice thing about having the rack on the car is the added MPG we are getting! Right now we have only tried putting two bikes on the rack which isn't a problem, but I have a feeling that with my 29'er, it would be a tight squeeze to get three bikes on the rack. But the build quality is awesome. Has a built in bike lock, the rack folds down when not in use, and the cables that attach to the trunk even are locking!!! Overall I feel that it was a very wise purchase and have no regrets.

Very Sturdy - No Reservations

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michelle K (Oakdale, CT) Reviewed for a 1993 Volkswagen Jetta — 2011-07-09 07:02:41

This is a very sturdy bike rack. I have full confidence that the rack will stay put and the bikes are safe. The ONLY negative I would give this is that it's very heavy and as a female bike rider, it's too much trouble to take it on/off so I simply leave it on. I'm sure the weight goes with the substantial sturdiness, so it's worth the sacrifice.

Ease and style

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Maureen S (Granada Hills, CA) — 2012-07-05 08:50:00

It's easy to put on and take off my Pontiac. It has a stylish design. It's easy to secure my Giant bike and take it off again. I like the materials used in its construction, and it seems well-made.

Excellent Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kathleen N (Magnolia, IL) — 2012-01-06 09:43:46

The Thule bike rack lived up to the description. It was easy to mount, very sturdy, did not scratch the paint on my trunk and was easy to remove. I would definitely recommend this product to family and friends.

Love it

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bonnie S (BELMONT, MA) Reviewed for a 2012 Mercedes-Benz E-Class — 2013-02-28 15:59:41

I love the fact that it only has 2 straps, not 6. The ratchet to tighten the straps is super. I'm surprised that more trunk bike racks aren't made with this feature!

Great bike rack for my 2009 Nissan Murano!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Eric S (Geneva, FL) Reviewed for a 2009 Nissan Murano — 2012-09-04 07:37:28

This is an awesome bike rack!! Easy to use and very sturdy. I considered having a hitch installed and getting a hitch mounted bike rack. Glad I got the Thule instead. This is not like the old days with all the straps and buckles. Also, received shipment fast and price was right. Highly recommend.

Secure bike rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ronald V (Flushing, NY) Reviewed for a 2013 Volkswagen Jetta — 2012-10-25 23:51:07

The Thule triple trunk rack holds your bikes so well that you can almost forget it's there! Easy to put up and use, top quality materials and excellent design. No glitches with this rig!

Fast, easy and secure.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Burton E (Grand Rapids, MI) — 2011-07-06 06:48:57

I love the way it looks on my car, very easy to install. It is very secure on my car and bikes load very easy. Almost got the raceway platform instead, glad I got this one.

Bike rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by loui v (Yuma, AZ) Reviewed for a 2011 Nissan Versa — 2012-04-07 12:59:53

The best bike rack on the planet. No straps!

Love It

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Carolyn W (Mukilteo, WA) Reviewed for a 2001 Subaru Outback — 2012-07-11 21:31:56

I am very happy with my Raceway bike rack. It is easy to attach to my Subaru Outback wagon. It is secure and I especially like the mechanism that tightens the 4 cables to the trunk, a great design. I shopped around and this was by far the best deal. I saved $55.00.

Perfect bike rack for my application!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jerry B (Grand Rapids, MI) Reviewed for a 1984 Porsche 944 — 2012-08-10 08:11:00

I use this on my Porsche 944 and it is everything I had hoped - extremely flexible but extremely stable! Very impressed.

Gordon

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gordon S (Charlotte, NC) Reviewed for a 1988 BMW 5-Series — 2012-07-01 11:31:51

I have ownwd a few racks---this Thule Raceway 2 is by far the sturdiest, easy to install rack ever---great engineering. I will say it is heavier than some, but for what it makes up in durability, and functionality---the best-very stable. I'm sure this rack will last me forever, and would recommend it.

A great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Micah E (Columbus, OH) — 2012-06-30 20:31:33

A very nice product. It seems very durable. The shipping took a while, but the price was very competitive.

Nice Rack!!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mike B (Birmingham, AL) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Camry — 2012-04-03 22:08:13

Easy to use. It does take a little trial and error placing the bikes, but otherwise it is a quality rack.

thule 2 bike rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Frederick L (CENTENNIAL, CO) — 2012-11-09 03:49:42

sturdy, quick to setup, secure

Outstanding!! (using it on a honda civic 2001)

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by NATASHA M (Reno, NV) Reviewed for a 2001 Honda Civic — 2012-08-06 06:33:27

Im so glad we bit the bullet and spent the money on this one. VERY sturdy - will last for years to come. Three bikes fit very well. When not in use you can bend down the legs that hold the bikes. We also bought a bike lock and locked the bike rack to the bottom of my car, so we can keep it on for the summer and fall without worrying about it being stolen. EXCELLENT product. One of the best investments I've ever made!

Excellent bike rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mayer A (Minneapolis, MN) — 2011-10-05 04:24:05

Love the Thule 9001 bike rack, it certainly met my needs. Even though a slightly heavy rack, I always felt my bike was secure throughout my 29 hour long road-trip. The rack's padding did a great job at protecting both my car and bike.

Sturdy and highly adjustable.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jennifer M (Cincinnati, OH) Reviewed for a 2011 Hyundai Genesis — 2012-06-16 08:08:59

I bought this rack for a 2011 Hyundai Genesis coupe. Didn't realize this rack was 'not recommended' for the car. After trying to put it on my car anyway I can see why. The bottom straps slip from the bottom of the trunk lid to the sides. I was able to remedy the problem by cutting up an old yoga mat and putting the hooks onto that to give them some grip. Works beautifully! I use a 6 so that most of the weight is on the metal trunk lid instead of the plastic bumper. It's solid and did not damage my car at all. Big plus the metal hooks are coated with a plastic to make them less likely to scratch. I still keep a yoga mat piece under them though.

RE: Excellent Bike Rack; Good Design and Easy to Install/Remove

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gary M (HOLLIS, NH) Reviewed for a 2011 Volkswagen Jetta — 2012-10-03 20:28:40

This bike rack was for my wife for her VW Jetta 4-door coupe. It fits perfectly, is well designed, and (most importantly) is easy for her to put on and take off.

Great bike rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John W (KINGSTON, NH) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford Fusion — 2012-10-10 05:44:11

Set up was very easy; really like the cables that tighten easily instead of straps that typically fly around while driving; the locks are beneficial; the rack and bike don't move, even going over railroad tracks; looks great too. Highly recommend.

Great bike rack, perfect fit

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeremy H (Union, MO) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford Fiesta — 2013-01-20 18:55:46

I shopped a few weeks before settling on this rack since it was going on my brand new car. I wanted an easy on/ off rack that would have a good solid fit and leave no marks or evidence it had ever been on my car once taken off. This rack fits my needs perfectly. I have had this rack for 6 months and it was on my car everyday for at least 4 months of the 6. Traveling to and from work 80 miles each day with and without the bike this rack held up perfect. I highly recommend this bike rack.

heavy, but well built

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ron B (Danville, KY) Reviewed for a 2003 Lexus RX 350 — 2012-08-03 11:09:49

this is heavy unit, it takes two to get it on a hatchback like my lexus and the hooks need some effort to get them in the hatch gap. Other than that it seems to work well , easy to tighten up and the bikes ride well

Solid and heavy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ryan W (Conesus, NY) — 2011-05-27 09:24:29

This is a nice bike rack. Definitly solid and has the weight to prove it. The locking features are very good to have. The bars that hold the bikes together seem close.. and i have to turn the girls bike upside down to get it on.. but I am not one to whine.. so overall good rack.

Happy cyclist

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Terry D (TUCSON, AZ) Reviewed for a 2013 BMW 3-Series — 2012-11-22 06:47:18

This is a very well designed bike rack. I put it on my new BMW 328i and no problems.. My only complaint is that you must open the trunk to install the lower hooks. It is also a bit heavy.

Rack leaves dents in my bumper

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Lois G (Layton, UT) Reviewed for a 2011 Toyota Camry — 2012-07-09 07:59:33

Although this rack was identified as designed for my '11 Camry, the very first time I used it (2 of three bikes loaded, total travel time was 15 minutes) left significant dents in the top of my bumper. I'm working with the Toyota dealer for a potential solution, so I'm not sure what the long term resolution will be. Overall, the rack is very well made and seems easy to use. I'm pleased with the purchase but question the applicability to my specific vehicle.

Not perfect but good

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jae C (GUTTENBERG, NJ) — 2012-09-14 11:17:52

Locking mechanism didn't seem to lock the cables. Mounting two bikes of different styles is not ideal as components, e.g. tires rubbing against brake levers. Otherwise, a quality bike rack at reasonable price.