Your Cart Is Empty

Yakima KingJoe Bike Rack Customer Reviews

Average Rating

10 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

quality produce

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James L (Columbus, OH) Reviewed for a 2008 Subaru Impreza — 2011-04-24 11:12:39

everything seems top notch; haven't taken my bike for a long trip yet, but will soon; only item that concerns me long term, are plastic knobs to secure angles of rack; they could be heavier; seems to fit well over spoiler on 2008 subaru impreza wrx

Perfect.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dean G (Elizabethtown, KY) Reviewed for a 2006 Volkswagen Jetta — 2012-06-20 04:09:06

Very well designed and very sturdy. Did not budge on an 500 mile trip. And most importantly, did not mar the paint because the strap hooks are flat and rubber coated. I used some green auto masking tape underneath for extra insurance.

Nice Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by keith r (robertsville, MO) — 2013-01-14 06:18:23

For the money, great product and well engineered.

Straps

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Joseph V (Chase City, VA) Reviewed for a 1999 Chevy Silverado — 2012-08-05 10:58:44

Installing the rack the first time required two persons because the straps were flopping all over the place. However, once the right tensions were achieved the rack snuggly held the bike to the car. This style rack is not as easy to use as the other bike rack that I have that fits into the trailer hitch receiver on my mini-van, but compared to other racks of similar design that I have used, the Yakima KingJoe rack is by far the best I've seen. I would highly recommend it if you don't have a trailer hitch installed on your car.

My experience with Yakima King Joe Bike Rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John S (Groton, MA) — 2011-05-19 05:04:34

Easy to install, very stable, very good buy. Recommend it highly.

Exellent Yakima quality

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Carlos O (Montebello, CA) — 2008-10-05 21:22:47

I got the 2 bike model. easy to set up, without any tools! Feels strong and stable. Folds to a compact size you could keep it in your car's trunk. One thing is missing. It should have measurement markings on the hubs to indicate the dimension of the openning in inches. I measured the distance of the openning and the angle of the support arms as specified for my car, and I painted aligning dots on the hub shells so I could set up the rack at the same measurment evry time without using a ruler.

King Joe Comes Through

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jimmy H (GASTONIA, NC) — 2012-09-11 05:29:13

Just used my King Joe 3 bike rack for the first time. Brought our bikes to the beach (approx. 200 miles) on the back of our 2005 Malibu. Must admit I was a little nervous about it when we started out on our trip, but the King Joe came through like a champ. Still have the return trip to do but I'm not near as anxious about it now. I give it a thumbs up!

Good value

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Merrill J (Castle Rock, CO) Reviewed for a 2003 Toyota Highlander — 2012-03-26 20:14:33

It takes a little time to load the wife's comfort bike on the rack but

Does what it's designed to do.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by philip f (leominster, MA) Reviewed for a 2011 Nissan Altima — 2011-05-10 20:11:00

Put this on my new altima coupe for my mountain bike, put down painters tape where everything touches the paint so no scratches. Does what it's designed to do, overall pretty good. Used it about 6 times and so far no real complaints.

Does not fit 2008 Volvo XC90

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jessica S (Roanoke, TX) Reviewed for a 2008 Volvo XC90 — 2012-07-22 13:36:47

Sadly I have to return this item because it will not fit my vehicle (after reading the "fit guide" that came with the rack). I'm very disappointed because this site said it would indeed fit.