Your Cart Is Empty

Yakima SuperJoe Bike Rack Customer Reviews

Average Rating

13 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

good value

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael C (FREDONIA, NY) Reviewed for a 2004 Subaru Forester — 2012-12-29 15:23:54

can be used on many different vehicles

Great on a Celica

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Randy M (Chevy Chase, MD) Reviewed for a 2002 Toyota Celica — 2012-08-14 04:53:33

I was concerned about finding a rack for my 2002 Celica with a spoiler but the SJ2 fits great. According to the manual you don't want it if your Celica is a convertible though.

Superb item!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ron O (Manteca, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Honda Accord — 2011-04-19 07:36:09

This is a superb item. It is easy to install after the initial measurements and setup. Holds my 2 bikes firmly in place. Great value. I highly recommend!

SuperJoe Review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brett S (Midland, MI) Reviewed for a 2012 Chevy Silverado — 2011-10-10 04:18:19

The SuperJoe was fairly easy to install. Fumbled around with the straps a bit but once I had them adjusted closely I could hang the top straps on the front of the hood of my daughter's Buick LeSabre. The rest went quick. The hold down clamps are very well designed and heavy duty. Don't think there's much worry about them letting loose of a bike. Glad I bought the three bike rack as two would not have been enough room for even two bikes. I am confident with three bikes on the rack that the first one on will be bumping up against the back of the trunk and bumper. Will see.

Easy to use & Reliable

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Wendy W (Hancock, MD) Reviewed for a 1997 Geo Prizm — 2009-07-27 03:30:58

I have never used a bike rack before. I ordered the SuperJoe Bike Rack off the internet and it arrived at my door 2 days later. At first it looked confusing to put on because of the straps and rubber tie downs but my 15 year old son figured it out. We put it on my Geo Prizm. My car wasn't listed in the enclosed booklet with measurements to set the rack at. Costumer service was closed when I called so we put the rack on my car the way it was shipped. We stopped several times on the way to our destination to check to make sure the rack was secure and the bikes were stable and everything was fine. We drove 900 miles over 3 days with the bikes on the rack. Needless to say that I drive on the fast side and didn't worry about the bikes going anywhere.

Best Bike rack ever

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Sarah G (Oil City, PA) Reviewed for a 2009 Toyota Camry — 2012-07-29 13:28:28

Easy to install and of excellent quality. Very durable!!!

Fits my Pontiac G3

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael Z (Jefferson Hills, PA) Reviewed for a 2009 Pontiac G3 — 2010-06-22 07:16:47

I have to admit, I bought this more for the price than anything else. On another vehicle, I had one of those racks that goes on top of the roof, but it was expensive. I didn't want to spend that kind of money again. At first, I was afraid this would not fit my car. I have a hatch back with a unique shape to it. Once I figured out where to best set the top and bottom, it was smooth sailing. I attached the hooks, tightened the straps and all is good. I've driven long distances with the rack, both city driving and highway driving. No problems at all. The rack is sturdy, the bike stays in place with no moving around at all and I can leave it on when I'm not using it and still open my trunk. Only downfall to his one vs. the more expensive ones that go on the roof is vision. Your rear view mirror is rendered almost useless while using this. I often wonder of people behind me see my brake lights, but I've had no problems so I guess its not that bad.

SuperJoe - super easy!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tom C (McKinney, TX) — 2011-11-24 05:07:22

Within minutes out of the box, the SuperJoe was being used. Sturdy, lightweight. A good choice!!

Realy good deal for a realy good product.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Pawel M (Citrus Heights, CA) Reviewed for a 2002 Toyota Camry — 2011-03-09 22:18:32

Light, easy to install, fast shipping. And only one thing that turn me from buy other company: price. I understand that good brand most of the time give quality that I'm looking for, but prize is adequate too. In this case I got everything that I wanned.

Super Joe IS super

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Alexandra C (, ) Reviewed for a 2006 Nissan 350Z — 2010-01-14 08:07:47

This is a great, stable rack for 350z owners whose options are limited. Easy to install and remove, does not impair visibility and serves it's purpose at a great price.

Yakima SuperJoe Bike Rack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John P (Wellsville, NY) Reviewed for a 2009 Toyota Camry — 2010-08-16 16:16:03

Item received earlier than expected. Value is great! The only problem was with the ease of installation....the car we bought it for was not one listed to be compatible with this bike rack....but it does work with minor adjustments! Overall...very satisfied with the product!

Solid and stable

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ken B (Philadelphia, PA) — 2009-05-07 13:33:48

This is a great rack even for smaller cars like my wifes 04 VW Jetta. The directions were simple and installation was easy. The dial to adjust the arms does stick so once you set it for a specific car it is challenging to readjust.

just had one bike

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by AARON B (Chicopee, MA) Reviewed for a 2002 Honda Accord — 2009-07-30 18:06:54

I was a little worried about traveling with the bike on the back of my car. I only had one bike and noticed that after I was on the highway for 10-15 the clip guards that hold the bike in place came loose and the bike was no longer stable. The clips had to be pulled as far away from the car as possible to make the bike stable and stay in the clips. After I figured that out it did not give me any problems for the rest of the 3 hour highway drive. Thanks SuperJoe!