Your Cart Is Empty

SSBC Drum to Disc Brake Conversion Kits Customer Reviews

Average Rating

20 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Great value

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Phil M (Ely, MN) — 2011-04-27 20:22:12

Quality all the way. This conversion kit is a great value. I have converted many vehicles to disc brakes, and this is the best kit I ever purchased. Phil M.

review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin H (Navarre, FL) — 2011-12-02 19:46:01

Very good kit

My truck now STOPS!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William K (, ) Reviewed for a 2002 Acura CL — 2010-08-17 07:25:37

Am looking forward to driving my 69 Chevy C10 again, now that I have confidence in its braking ability. Kit arrived as described. Instructions were clear, easy to follow. I did have two issues; (1) mounting of the power brake unit (truck did not have power brakes before conversion), and (2) how to make up hydraulic lines to connect original lines to new location of master cylinder. (1) My original master cylinder push rod mounts to side of brake pedal. New push rod mounts to front of brake pedal using a yoke, which adds to overall length. I put a nut on each stud in firewall, then mounted power brake booster on studs, which let plastic boot at rear of booster meet firewall w/o crushing it; and cut 1/2 inch off pushrod to provide adequate b/pedal freeplay. (I also had to slightly enlarge booster mount bracket holes for clean fit to studs on firewall.) (2) Bought a tubing bender from Harbor Freight (<$9.) and bought some 8" and 12" brake lines w/brass connectors; was able to bend lines and connect from original lines to outlet holes of original distribution block at master cylinder (w/proportioning valve in line per instructions). This truck now STOPS! Night and day difference. Highly recommended conversion.

Manual disc brakes on a 1967 Barracuda

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by mark b (richfield, WI) — 2011-10-30 11:02:27

This kit was very complete and easy to install. The instructions are clear. AutoAnything had the best price anywhere. The difference in braking is incredible.

1958 T-Bird Brakes

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kenneth C (Warner Robins, GA) Reviewed for a 1958 Ford Thunderbird — 2008-04-10 02:37:53

Easy to install and looks great! But, I have to order me some wheel spacers and do think this should not have been needed. But, the Kit is greta and do recommend to anyone as I will also apply a set of Rear Disc Brakes on this same vehicle just because of the quality you have to offer!

SS BRAKES

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael L (Jefferson, LA) Reviewed for a 1968 Dodge Charger — 2007-07-03 21:04:24

The conversion from drum to disc on my 70 Chevelle was a pleasure. Total job 5 hours. Great product, my 4th set. Thanks Again.. M.L.

Drum to disc brake conversion kit for 14 inch wheels

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Duane S (El Cajon, CA) Reviewed for a 1992 BMW 3-Series — 2011-08-27 19:53:49

This is the only drum to disc brake conversion kit I could find that supposedly will fit wheels as small as 14 inch by 5 inch. There is, however a problem that SSBC does not mention: the 14 inch wheel must be from a year in which the car manufacturer offered disc brakes. If not, the wheel's "drop center" will be too wide and it will not fit over the caliper. On later years (maybe '67 and later) the "drop center" is narrower and thus does not conflict with the caliper. I found 14x6 inch wheels from a later year to replace my stock 14x6 inch wheels and the wheels fit over the caliper with no rubbing. These comments apply to the OEM steel wheels. The Rally I or Rally II wheels may not show this problem. In all other respects this is an excellent kit. It is very complete and all the parts fit very well. Highly recommended with the above caution.

65 Fury disk brake set review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Matthew S (Seattle, WA) Reviewed for a 1965 Plymouth Fury — 2007-06-20 10:38:27

I had the set installed and they were impressed that the kit included the hoses also as many kits in their experience did not. I have been driving on them for about two weeks not and love the positive braking and performance they give over drums. Absolutely great for a daily driver.

SSBC power front disc conversion kit A120-20

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Eric B (Grants Pass, OR) Reviewed for a 1965 Ford Mustang — 2011-05-10 21:13:03

Very helpful sales person. Correct kit was shipped very quickly. Quality of this kit seems to be very good - all parts are there and are well made. This kit contains everything you need for the front power disc brake conversion. And these guys had it for around $100 less than everyone else - and free shipping! Still havent installed it yet, but I have read several articles that say it goes in really easily.

Topcat

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tedd C (Winter Springs, FL) Reviewed for a 1966 Chevy Nova — 2011-06-27 14:58:53

Kit seems to be very well made. I have one wheel installed and am working on the other. Haven't tackled the booster yet, but seem straight forward. Have a very small issue with the installation instructions. When installing the brake pads - it says to clinch the rear pad to the caliper - not sure what was meant by clinch and would like clarification on where the spring thing goes..but besides that - good instructions.

Corvette C1 finally stops on a dime!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Doug S (Kalama, WA) — 2011-07-28 21:44:09

The kit was complete and easy to install. The only wrinkle was grade 5 attaching bolts with a torque spec that exceeded that of the nuts supplied. Went out and bought some grade 8 nuts and finished the installation. Brakes work very well. Thanks for a nice, easy kit to install!

Rear disc brake conversion kit

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Edward D (Hudson, WI) Reviewed for a 1992 Ford Mustang — 2012-07-15 06:50:42

Kit comes complete....installation instructions could use more photos to help with installation for the home style mechanic.

necesary send a manual

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Alfonso N (San Diego, CA) Reviewed for a 1963 Ford Galaxie — 2007-05-15 08:34:12

necesary send a instruccions

Decent kit

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Don D (Carrollton, IL) Reviewed for a 2001 Dodge Ram — 2011-04-18 20:29:36

The parts in the kit were very good quality. I was however expecting a little more form the kit. The caliper mounts needed more shimming than the shims included would compensate for, so i had to use washers. I would like to have seen brackets for the rubber hose where it attaches to the steel lines and the way the driver side brake cable operates is a bit cheesy. Other than that it was an easy install.

disc brake conversion

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ty w (Chattaroy, WA) Reviewed for a 1993 Ford F-350 — 2011-04-12 12:29:31

Well pretty easy to install works great, my original brakes sucked so bad I almost sold the vehicle. The only problem I had was the 7/16 bolts were 1/2"to short and 1 of the steel brake tubes was a little short. Other than that awesome kit. I installed this on a 2002 dodge durango RT 4X4 with a 5.9

pa-ranger

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by George S (Mountain Top, PA) Reviewed for a 2003 Ford Ranger — 2011-02-28 04:06:18

This kit is very nice. Went together very well on my 03 ranger XLT. The exploded view in the instructions were not quite right. Had to drill out the park brake bracket holes, reverse them and mount it on the lower caliper bolt instead of the upper. The supplied hard lines were also too short for my application but not a big deal. After that everything fits perfectly an works well. Calipers were highly polished. SSBC tech support was very good. Way better, simplier and better looking than drums. Only additional change I will make is to mount hose brackets to create a hard mount point. Auto Anything had best price and I received the kit quickly.

Very nice

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William B (Webster, MA) Reviewed for a 1971 Buick Skylark — 2010-05-05 05:42:27

Kit seems good so far looks to be good quality.

Conversion Kit

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Greg B. A (Normal, IL) — 2011-10-17 18:00:48

Nice kit, better braking power.

Missing items from the SSBC disk brake kit

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jay W (Beavercreek, OH) — 2011-10-20 05:39:35

I have yet to install the kit, but there are several needed things missing to install the brakes. There is no adapter for the intake manifold to attach the vacuum hose to the included power brake master cylinder nor is there a vacuum hose included. The adapter proved to be the harder product to find. I went to a junk yard and removed the adapter from a car with power brakes. My car only had an adapter that supplied vacuum to the heating control unit. I needed an adapter that could supply vacuum to both the power brake master cylinder and the heating control unit. No one sells this item. Also the vacuum hose was not included. There is nothing in the directions about the size of the hose needed to fit the power brake master cylinder (11/16 inch). The vacuum hose is also not easily found in parts stores. I have bought a hose meant for the PCV valve and I assume this hose is strong enough not to collapse.

SSBC Drum to Disc Brake Conversion Kits (1997 Jeep Wrangler TJ)

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark M (Longmont, CO) — 2012-01-03 11:27:40

WOW! More work than I expected. I ended up buying all new brake lines in the rear, which was a must. Also, the hard lines that were sent to marry the new Master Brake cylinder to the old brake distribution block did not fit and the fittings were not the correct ones either. I went to a local truck shop to have them shopped bent and spliced into a usable set. The instructions are good but could definitely use some more pictures with arrows and descriptions. For as expensive as this set is I expected it to be a lot more plug and play. I would not buy it again if I had it to do over. I have honestly not noticed any improvment from my drum brakes.