Your Cart Is Empty

SSBC Electric Vacuum Pump Kit Customer Reviews

Average Rating

21 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

ROY SKIDMORE

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Roy S (Hurricane, UT) — 2011-05-20 17:40:15

IT IS A EXCELLENT PUMP. IT IS NOISY BUT WORK FINE.

Brakes, Finally!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by lisa k (Palatine, IL) Reviewed for a 1969 Mercury Cougar — 2008-11-13 20:30:08

I have a 69 Cougar, that has NEVER had good breaking power. Now with the pump, the car stops as fast as it goes!

Bill Vogt

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bill V (Piqua, OH) — 2012-09-13 06:18:17

I don't mind the noise it makes because I can't hear it when the motor is running. It works great plenty of brake. It was hard to mount because it has to be horizontal I fabricated a bracket and mounted it on the core support. I can feel the vibration but I can live with it if the car will stop. Overall very satisfied good quality a little expensive.

Rate the SSBC Electric Vacuum Pump Kit

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Craig Z (Champlin, MN) Reviewed for a 1972 Plymouth Duster — 2010-11-10 11:27:41

Everything included needed to install the pump. It fixed my problem of low vacuum to the vacuum booster and the brakes feel somewhat better (less pedal pressure needed). Autoanything is superb! Good price, free shipping, quick response. I am happy.

STOP!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by EDWIN B (, ) Reviewed for a 1957 Chevy Truck Pickup (1934-1961) — 2009-06-16 09:13:36

After converting my 57 truck over to power and disc/drum brakes, I installed a SSBC vac. pump to top it off. With the big cam and tunnel ram I chose the pump over a vac. cannister. WOW, this thing really works. I searched the web front to back for best price, and Auto Anything beat them all by about 50 bucks. Now I can STOP!!

plenty powerful, works well, complicated install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bakari K (Oakland, CA) Reviewed for a 1983 Ford F-250 — 2010-04-09 20:14:01

This was to replace an old electric vacuum pump from a 1970s GM car. The old one had pressure sensor and relay built in, so I only had to plug in vacuum line, connect power and ground, and it was up and running. This one in contrast was very complicated and took about 3 times longer to install. It takes longer to get to its set point than my old one (runs more of the time)and it is louder, but it goes to a higher vacuum which is noticeable at the pedal (more brake power!) All in all, the trade offs are more than worth it, I definitely prefer this to my old one

great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Rachel B (Flossmoor, IL) Reviewed for a 1973 Chevy Chevelle — 2009-06-03 20:35:05

comes with everything you need to install; directions are easy to understand; works great - can finally stop my car.

Pumped about my Vacuum Pump

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Randy B (Post Falls, ID) Reviewed for a 1965 Chevy Impala — 2008-02-05 15:59:04

I searched the net and phoned every supplier looking for the best deal on an Electric Vaccuum Pump for my disc brakes. AutoAnything offered the best price by $50.00 and delivered it when they said they would. A great deal!!

Good but LOUD

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John E (Belleville, PA) — 2011-10-19 03:09:46

This system gives me brakes that I can stop on a dime now, but it is extremely loud. In fact, had I known it was this loud I would have gone a different route. I need to find some way to insulate it better. I also plan on building a box to put it in to help quiet it as well.

1964 Galaxie with SSBC brakes and Ford 460 engine(low vacuum)

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by steinar d (Tranby, norway) Reviewed for a 1964 Ford Galaxie — 2007-06-05 07:05:56

I can stop without using both feet on the pedal ! One BIG problem with the kit ! Actually, the problem is small, but the effect is BIG. There are two holes on the rubber isolator on the connector at the pressure switch. One is plugged with a round rubberplug and the other is open for the connector. After all connections were done, nothing worked! All kinds of testing (and swearing) showed that the pump worked when directly connected. The problem was the round rubberplug put in the wrong opening in the rubberinsulator/connector by someone either having fun or being under pressure at work. I switced connector and plug-position and now the car stops when I want it to ! Yeehaaa!

Application

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Sam A (Siler City, NC) — 2011-10-29 08:05:08

This application was for an older TR6 with very low vaccum from the engine. Pump was added to improve braking with the vaccum booster. Solved the problem. Limited installation space under the hood on the car but was able to fit it in w/o problem. The pump is a little loud but small concession for the results.

pump quality control

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Danny B (Plainview, TX) — 2009-11-15 08:55:39

Pump works OK after having to build some parts. The vac T fitting & switch threads were totally STRIPPED. Teflon tape was used to try to fix before shipping, didnt work. Tried to get replacement parts, no help. Try another pump first. Quality control SUCKS.

Love Auto Anything!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by kathleen b (Elkton, MD) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford F-250 — 2012-02-24 15:03:11

Found this item cheaper somewhere else, however, I have dealt with AutoAnything several times in the past and always have been please with their professional service. I called and asked for a price match. It was NO hassle at all and they honored the lower price. Awsome friendly service and super fast shipping!

79 Z28 Brakes

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by gary b (kennewick, WA) — 2011-09-11 17:33:23

Had booster issues due to cam and high performance. You can hear pump kick in and maintain correct vacume. Brake pedal is like new. Nice to have stopping power. Good product works well.

66 chevelle roland

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by STEVEN R (Byron, GA) Reviewed for a 1966 Chevy Chevelle — 2009-09-23 02:02:57

had a friend working on my car and tried everything to get the brakes to work. this was the last option, and sure enough it did the trick .my engine for some reason was not creating enough vacuum for the brake booster. we installed this pump on a 1966 chevelle on the driver side just behind the headlight and ran the hoses backside of the inner fenderwells, not to exposed.

Electric Vacuum Pump

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John B (WRIGHT CITY, MO) — 2012-08-16 05:27:24

Vacuum pump was relatively easy to install. Could be a little smaller, tough to find a good spot to locate. Somewhat noisy, but if you have a loppy cam and loud exhaust you'll never hear it. John

Good pump, but loud

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by DALE K (Howell, MI) Reviewed for a 1985 GMC C/K 2500 — 2010-01-19 08:48:05

Based on need, this was the only option that worked with the new engine, to provide enough vacuum for solid breaking. Works well, but loud.

Finally great brake/pedal feel again

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brandon S (Enterprise, AL) — 2009-03-18 21:13:25

This vacuum pump is great if you have a modified vehicle that needs more vacuum to operate power brakes. I've purchased two within 6 months and might buy a third. The vehicle I first bought for is a supercharged small block chevy with a rowdy cam. Before barely produced enough vacuum to power brakes, now works better than new. Second vehicle was to provide a more powerfull vacuum source to operate multiple systems. The only minor complaint I've had is that when it cycles on to operate it can be noisy but when engine running and mounted in a location that will suppress noise its not bad. Finding a location can also be an issue for some with limited space cause the unit is somewhat heavy and bulky but instructions are very detailed.

Needed because of low vacuum

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steve H (Lacey, WA) — 2011-09-30 18:35:22

The pump is LOUD! Sounds like a bilge pump on a boat. Good thing my engine is loud or I would be taking it back off. It serves the purpose but the noise is so loud that I would consider taking it off if I could find an alternative.

Lazy R

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dale R (London, KY) — 2011-09-22 15:10:28

Ran fine for one day then quit. Still waiting on replacement relay and presure switch.

Inoperable,Useless,high priced junk

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Carmen D (Chicopee, MA) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Cobalt — 2012-01-11 23:34:42

I'm very mechanically inclined and I've done all the work on my car so far the biggest piece of junk is this thing, it doesn't work properly even after trouble shooting it several times it still doesn't work properly, I'm returning it, if that's even possible.