Your Cart Is Empty

PlasmaGlow Firestorm LED Tailgate Bar Customer Reviews

Average Rating

40 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

LED Bling Bling

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dion M (Killeen, TX) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Silverado — 2010-01-07 11:10:28

I had to look around for several LED light bars to find the features I wanted: Breaking, Turn Signals, Backing-up and running lights. PlasmaGlow had all the features I wanted. Hookup for me was simple, I connected everything to my trailer hitch wiring and it took less than 30 minutes. Just make sure you place the LED light-bar as low as you can, but still able to see it, otherwise your tailgate will hit it or worse will not open without breaking the light-bar. The only con for me is I wish the LEDs were grouped a little bit more tightly instead of the current spacing between them, besides that one issue the light-bar adds a little Bling Bling to this white boy’s Chevy Silverado.

big truck

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by richard c (Killeen, TX) — 2008-12-24 19:04:23

the firestorm looks great on my truck i get asked all time time where did i get.it sets the truck off even more

Excellent at night.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael G (Hawley, MN) Reviewed for a 1990 GMC C/K 1500 — 2012-02-11 18:28:17

Many people ask where I bought them from or were they difficult to hook up? Adds visual to the truck all around is led lights along with the amber/white side running light.

super cool lite

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by michael H (Pahrump, NV) Reviewed for a 2004 Dodge Durango — 2009-03-19 20:29:12

Great looking lite and good company to do business with. I had a problem with the lite i purchaced and they warranted it with no trouble what-so-ever.I would do more shopping in future.

Dodger

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard G (Altus, OK) — 2011-09-06 18:26:16

The lights look excellent and work as advertised.  However, installation is tricky and best installed by someone who knows how to solder.  Also, with the Dodge Ram the hole to lower the spare tire is covered by the bar.  As a work around I used velcro for the right side so I can move the bar if I have to use the spare. It took the better part of a day to install them but in the end it was worth it.

FIRESTORM INSTALL

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William B (Northville, NY) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Tundra — 2008-12-09 17:54:48

THIS UNIT WAS PRETTY STRAIGHT FORWARD AS FAR AS THE INSTALL WENT. THERE WERE A FEW EXTRA ELECRICAL PARTS INCLUDED IN THE KIT THAT WERE PUT THERE BY MISTAKE. A QUICK PHONE CALL TO PLASMA GLOW CONFIRMED THIS. THE KIT MUST BE HARD WIRED INTO THE VEHICLE UNLESS YOU ORDER THEIR 4 WIRE CONNECTOR, WHICH I DIDNT UNDERSTAND WHY I COULDNT USE MINE. I HAVE SEPARATE BRAKE/TURN SIGNAL LIGHTS WHICH DIDNT NEED THIS KIT. OVERALL, THE UNIT WORKS FINE WITH OR WITHOUT THE HOT LEAD CONNECTED.

2007 Toyota Tacoma Installation

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Thomas G (Berkeley Lake, GA) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tacoma — 2008-12-04 04:55:08

I purchased based on an extensive internet search and read a lot of reviews. The product arrived well packaged to protect it during shippment. Installation was not difficult. You need to follow the directions to the letter. Don't skimp in your hurry to get it installed. I ran my + and - wires through the truck frame for protection. I also marked the installation location as directed under my tailgate and then removed the tailgate during installation. Be sure to sample position the light bar and then open and close the tailgate to check for clearance. The only real difference I made was to install a switch in my dash for the running light portion of the light bar with that I could control it seperately. I ususally run with my lights on and wanted to be able to have the LED's off during the daytime hours. The more time you spend on a quality installation the better. You will not be sorry. Everyone that sees the light bar comments about it. A very eye catching addition.

firestorm

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Daniel D (cleveland, OH) — 2011-04-29 09:42:47

Looks great and easy to install with the trucks service manual.

Easier Installation than you think

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Frederick S (Waldorf, MD) Reviewed for a 2001 Ford F-150 — 2009-11-10 04:35:50

This awesome sequential turn signal light bar is easier to install than you would think. Buy the trailer plug adapter. I added a fuse to the 12V constant, and placed it right up at the battery, where I connected the 12V constant.

97 F250

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Charlie P (Canton, MI) — 2012-11-07 00:48:53

Bought it for my son's 97 F250. It looks and works awesome. Found it online but called to order it but called to order. Great over the phone help and speedy delivery.

Awesome look

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jim S (Pompano Beach, FL) — 2012-04-19 08:28:49

had a pro install it as it is not the easiest to do however when done looks great. Not to excited about the skinny ribbon cables they use but will see how it lasts.

Love the Lights

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Shane D (MILTON, MA) Reviewed for a 2003 Ford Explorer — 2013-02-05 16:57:54

These lights were much cheaper than other popular websites, so I went with AutoAnything, never used them before but shipping and packaging was fine. The installation was the only downfall, I did not have time to install them myself so my father did and said it was time consuming and a pain, and he's worked with cars all his life. Overall, the lights are awesome and not many people have seen these before so it's pretty cool, will definitely use AutoAnything again in the future.

lights

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by mike l (cincinnati, OH) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-250 — 2013-03-05 04:11:38

Love the look. people ask what it is.

plasmaglow firestorm need to know

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by timothy b (, ) — 2013-01-18 22:25:41

great product but had to order 4 prong plug in to avoid hsrd wring would been good to know this when ordering other wise very satifed with it.

Dan

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Daniel S (Channahon, IL) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford F-150 — 2012-12-30 17:13:56

Had it installed by a custom shop good thing.The shop loved the light bar.T ook them 2 hours. Would say if getting this product have a shop put it on..light bar looks great.

Sets my Ford Ranger apart from the crowd

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Allan C (Parkville, MD) — 2012-01-25 06:07:19

I have received so many compliments while sitting at a red light that I have lost count. Everyone seems to notice the "Amber" scrolling turn signals and say they have never seen them before and ask where I got the lights. I had professionals at Auto and Truck Outfitters install them and even the technician said he had never seen the Firestorm before. They have installed the Fire and Ice before and he said that the Firestorm was way cooler. Thanks for a nice product. Allan - Baltimore, Md.

Killer looking addition to the 12 Tacoma

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kraig M (HOWE, TX) Reviewed for a 2011 Toyota Tundra — 2012-06-27 09:17:14

Installation is more difficult than you think. I have 5 motorized vehicles and many Snapon tools. I only say that to make the point I'm not newbie to repair and installations. Instructions are average at best and YouTube videos show the unit working, not installing. In the end, I went to a very good CarToys and it took 2 tries for them. Daytime Running lights complicated it a bit and Toyota's "no power to the unit" unless it is in use complicated the issue. Love the end result and AutoAnything is great.

Best one out there

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Carlo D (Claremont, NH) — 2011-08-30 01:02:14

Its the best one out there. I have a new 2011 chev and had to also buy the converter due to my breaks r the same as the blinker. Like hoe it scans but its pricey whem all said and done .

Design change

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Russ F (Cadott, WI) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Silverado — 2011-03-06 08:36:08

I replaced a failed "1 piece"scanning light bar. The new "2 piece" bar required me to drill new holes to route the wires. Install was uneventful, the the new bar is a great compliment to my led tail lights.

nice unit, poor instructions.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael J. B (Victoria, MN) Reviewed for a 2008 Lincoln Mark LT — 2009-06-03 19:09:15

kit to make easier to install really was not of any help, you have to run wires to front of truck anyway, so what is the point of it, plus it ties up four plug trailer plug.

2002 Chevy 2500 HD

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tyler R (Hockley, TX) Reviewed for a 2002 Chevy Silverado — 2009-08-02 18:19:22

The light looks great but when i recieved it it was broken. This was the fedex delivers fault and autoanything did a great job of helping me get a new one.

Back asswards directions

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by neil g (Bonita Springs, FL) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota Tacoma — 2009-06-03 12:14:33

Really? I'm fairly competent and intelligent, or so I thought. The printed directions were really confusing and backwards when it came to the signals during hard wiring. Once it was figured out, it was money. Cleaned up the wiring and mounted it. looks quite nice and performs well. Lets see how long it lasts.

Nice tailgate bar but pricey for what you get

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bryan D (Somers, CT) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Silverado — 2010-11-13 03:48:21

The plasmaglow works well.Did not like the way the wiring came out in the center,two separate sides,there was a left bar and a right bar . I had to wrap the wiring with electrical tape to further protect the wiring.took about 45 minutes to install.

PlasmaGlow Firestorm LED Tailgate Bar

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mike D (West Bloomfield, MI) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Silverado — 2009-06-29 21:49:04

The overall quality and style of the product is excellent. The Firestorm does a great job of enhancing the curb appeal of my '08 Chevy Silverado 1500. The only disappointment with the product is its long installation process (mostly wiring). Also, the Firestorm has a few compatibility issues with the vehicle's left and right turn signal and break lights. Although this was a disappointment when initially installing the product, the tech support from PlasmaGlow.com was very helpful and easy to work with.

wiring

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William G (Gabriels, NY) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Silverado — 2009-02-25 11:25:39

why don't you sell the adapter prewired into the light this would save alot of splicing!! atleast have some this way!

Plasmaglow Firestorm wire converter.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Remigio A (Mission, TX) Reviewed for a 2010 Cadillac SRX — 2009-05-12 21:02:16

The wire converter works great. It cut the job time in half or more because you only have to hardwire the reverse light and constant 12v terminal to the bar light. Although , they could have already included that connector like other brands of bar light makers.

Looks Good

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dwayne M (Owensville, IN) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford F-250 — 2008-12-18 01:13:11

The light bar looks good and is easy to install, but when I use my turn signal it doesn't keep up with my factory signal. It flashes in sinc for two flashes, then it hesitates and starts over to catch up. But, it is still a head turner and that is what I like about it.

good but poor instructions

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard C (Bennett, CO) — 2009-04-05 18:17:46

The PlasmaGlow is excellent, BUT the instructions were very poor. My instructions for child toys are more advanced than the ones for this product. They should have a step by step video on youtube, it's free. The Cartoy's guys were even scratching their heads, it took them four hours to install.

not easy to install, poor instructions

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tom M (Hamlin, PA) Reviewed for a 2012 Toyota Tundra — 2012-06-28 05:10:51

product looks great but the instructions are poor, go to plasma glows site and you can look at the same instructions that come with the unit. I bought the trailer hitch plug thinking that would eliminated me having to cut wires that go to my tail light. but you still have to cut to get a constant 12v and if you want reverse lights. So save the money and forget the trailer connection. I had to get someone to do this.

Firestorm Woes

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeff K (Neptune, NJ) Reviewed for a 2010 Dodge Ram — 2010-01-16 14:31:57

This product looks really nice when complete, however. I ordered the stiff bar and it comes in 2 parts wired together. The connections are in the center so there is a space between the bars. Had to drill to route the wires. My truck uses 1 lamp for brakes and turn signals so I purchased the adapter to make it easier. I don't like the plug sticking out the back as you have to plug in the 4 pin connector. Also every wire has to be soldered. I tried the quick connectors but the wire is so thin some of them didnt make contact. Its complete now and looks good but it took the better half of a day to do it. If you have the time and patience, it looks great!

plasma glow not worth the extra money

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by scott m (Dracut, MA) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-250 — 2009-11-04 14:33:12

Nice Looking Not to happy with the description of trailer wiring plug you still must put all wires together then run a wire to 12 volt on vehicle. Had i known i would not have spent extra money on plug harness they made it seem like it all plugs together better off saving the money and just hard wiring to brake light and taillight. If you want easy setup just buy the fire and ice i will again next time

These ARE COOL...Be Ready For Some Planning and WORK

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard W (marlton, NJ) — 2011-08-22 05:16:49

If your good with electronics installations you will enjoy doing your own install......If you are NOT get a pro to do it. You will thank yourself for spending your money wisely to save yourself the agrivation of damaging your lights or your vehicle. The Lightbars are well made and look so amazing. You may want to put a switch in the constant 12V lead wire so you can turn the whole system on and off if you want to. I HIGHLY recommend these ligfhts to add an extra level of safety at night which is comforting. Too many rear end collisions happen due to younger drivers claiming " I didn't know the other driver was stopping " There will be NO question abuot the VISIBILITY of your vehicle OR what your intentions are at night.RICH W. New Jersey.

backup lights on the plasmaglow tailgate bar

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by jeff a (Biloxi, MS) Reviewed for a 2009 Ford F-150 — 2009-09-18 09:25:27

the plasmaglows are really great except i have four non working backup lights and if you hardwire, with the six wires you have to run two wires all the way forward to the front turn indictors.

Plasmaglow Firestorm

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Chad B (Wakefield, RI) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F-150 — 2009-11-18 16:33:42

Great quality product. Just took a little time to install because I have an 07 f150 with turn signal and brake on the same circuit, which messed up the lights when hitting the brake and turn signal at the same time. Just had to seperately wire the turn signals and brake wires from under the dash. Looks great though. Definately one of a kind.

PlasmaGlow Firestorm LED Tailgate Bar

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Josua I (Windsor, PA) Reviewed for a 1999 Nissan Frontier — 2011-07-27 16:48:30

The light bar looks really nice once it is up and running. I did not purchase the 4 pin trailer adapter. I would recommend the adaptor to anyone who does not need a free trailer hook or who are not skilled with hard wiring. It took me around 2 hours to hard wire it into my factory wiring but I'm glad that I did.

Love the LOOKS ! Hate the warranty

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert S (Enumclaw, WA) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Tundra — 2010-11-21 13:59:03

I bought the adapter along with the light bar thinking it would make it easier to wire, you only need it if your turn signal lights use the same wire for the Brake light. I didn't use it. I hard-wired it instead. The Right turn signal didn't work so I contacted Plasma-Glow. They had me check a few things but I already knew It was defective. After they told me I had to pay for the return shipping and they will determine the cause of the defect, I thought that was Kinda Shi**y. I uninstalled it and troubleshot it my self. The lights come in two sections and all the wires meet connect in the middle then split left and right. The wire to the turn signal was not soldiered correctly. All the heat shrink was lose and slipped off the bared wires and potential for major issues later. Even with that I.m thinking of buying a set for my Girlfriend's Truck.

Bad Quality

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard M (Salt Lake City, UT) — 2011-06-30 14:54:50

I just purchase the PlasmaGlow Firestorm LED bar. It looks great, was not to hard to install. My only complaint is that one of the LED's for the signal is not red but white. This maks the bar look cheap. I spent so much time hard wiring the bar and setting it up that when I noticed the white LED in the red i felt like throwing up. I was not about to undo all the hard wiring to send it back. O

Hard to install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gary W (PITTSFIELD, IL) — 2013-02-27 04:27:29

If you are an electrical engineer and like wires running from front turn signals to the rear go for it!

I have called plasmaglow twice

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jack I (ZEBULON, NC) Reviewed for a 2012 Toyota Tundra — 2012-07-25 16:57:07

Got the LEDs on my truck did not work riight called plasmaglow had to order more parts got them today and still not working right I am so pissed right now I will never order any plasmaglow products again.

Piss poor instructions -

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James D (Crestline, CA) Reviewed for a 2010 Dodge Ram — 2011-10-31 21:25:57

The product leads to believe that the installation is somewhat easy - but if fact the instructions are misleading and run you around in circles. The print and pictures examples are so small that even when blown up on a copier fail to give the right directions. So everything is most vehicle or some vehicles type of wiring - got to take your vehicle aart to find the right wiring terminals or leads to splits into. Was not worthg the trouble to even start the installation - trying to find right place to tab into the wiring. the hitch plug wasn't the money as it suggested that you cut the wires top make it work..... very poor - not worth it product. 2010 DODGE Ram 1500.