Your Cart Is Empty

Putco Boss 4'' Wheel-To-Wheel Side Step Bar Customer Reviews

Average Rating

17 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Boss bars

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeff A (Berthoud, CO) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy C/K 3500 — 2007-04-20 20:34:33

Best looking bars available and made for a dually. Directions leave a lot to be desired. Very hard to understand.

Putco Boss Wheel to wheel step tubes

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jackie R (New Berlin, WI) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Silverado — 2007-12-06 07:13:57

I ordered these for my dually and love them. They look great! I can't believe the money that AutoAnything saved me and the product was better than expected. Installation was a breeze. I put a pair of wheel to wheel tubes for a crew cab short box truck on my long bed dually. The length worked out perfect. Would definately recommend. Jay

Beautiful fit

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Barney F (Rapid City, SD) Reviewed for a 2002 Ford F550 — 2007-05-01 21:06:28

I put these on a Ford F550 dually pickup conversion. they really compliment the big attitude of the truck. they were easy to install and they fit perfectly. there is no flex or give in the bars. good job!!!!!

2008 Dodge Ram

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steve W (Pittsburgh, PA) Reviewed for a 2008 Dodge Ram — 2009-03-19 08:20:04

I installed these step bars on a 2008 Ram 3500 Dually and the larger size really matches the truck. I installed the bars by myself and they were very easy. The only complaint I have is that the mounting brackets looked like they came off a used vehicle. The paint was worn down to bare metal because they bounced around in shipping. I repainted them to make sure they would not rust and they look great.

GREAT

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by greg y (Cleveland, TN) Reviewed for a 2006 GMC Sierra — 2006-08-16 06:24:47

LOOKS GREAT, EASY INSTALL, FIT IS NICE

Easy install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert B (Oxnard, CA) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2006-07-06 06:46:34

I opened the box and started the install knowing I had less than an hour. I thought maybe I could install a bracket or two. Thirty minutes later the both sides were completely installed. This was the easiestinstallation of side bars I have ever performed. One word of advice, when you remove the tape use it to hold the screws in the holes to prevent them from falling inside. These bars are big, the brackets are heavy duty. They look great on the truck.

Putco Boss W2W Sidebars on 05 F150 Screw

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Carlos M (Glendale, AZ) Reviewed for a 1999 Volkswagen Passat — 2006-10-09 12:00:52

The sidebars went into my '05 F-150 Supercrew. The fit and product quality were excellent. I can now reach to middle of windshield, roof, cabin, or bed with ease. The mounting braces are substantial.

Sturdy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Aaron C (Congerville, IL) Reviewed for a 2004 GMC Sierra — 2011-04-05 06:35:27

The bars went on with no adjustment needed. They seem to be very sturdy.

Why Mess with Less?

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kenneth F (Washington, NC) Reviewed for a 2005 — 2005-10-11 07:54:10

Great bars! Instructions should be updated with clearer pictures otherwise fairly easy installation all around. Have had many compliments already. Boss side bars and bed rails are impressive (and functional).

Expensive, but nice

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James T (Oroville, CA) Reviewed for a 2011 Toyota Tundra — 2012-02-21 14:09:26

I was looking for something different than I see on all the other Tundra's...had to pay to get it. The installation wasn't too bad after I jimmied the brackets to get everything to line up. They are a "close fit" but not exact. The stability is dependent upon the brackets and seems to be about the same as others I have seen.

Richard

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard A J (Newport News, VA) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Silverado — 2012-03-18 11:54:29

Like the others the direction are very poor. I thought after all these years Putco would have revised them by now. There are two different mounting systems, needless to say I had the jacked up one with the bad direction. The other mounting system is simple it use the cradle system. I had Putco send me both, but once you figure out one side the other side goes smother.

Jimmy's Express

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jim P (Muskego, WI) Reviewed for a 2004 Hummer H2 — 2008-09-16 04:26:55

They are great, but do change the look of the H2. There should be an additional bar of some sort available to fill in a gap left from the h2/gm stock steps.

Boss Bars

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Edward B (North Las Vegas, NV) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2006-05-14 08:40:20

I love the bars, I hate the directions. The directions leave a lot to be desired, very unclear, basic pictures that do not show all of the steps involved.

Cheap instructions

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeremy M (Herriman, UT) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Silverado — 2012-10-11 23:49:05

Great looking bars, but you'd think for the price Putco could put out quality installation guide. Pics are cheap, grainy, black and white. For the price I expected better.

Look Great

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Danielle B (Elk Grove, CA) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Silverado — 2008-09-22 09:59:31

I agree with the other reviewers the directions could be a little clearer however if you have installed bars before it is easy to figure out how it goes. After install I noticed a sound i didn't have before @75mph I hear a low pitced humming sound that wasn't there before. Overall I am very satisfied with the bars and they look great.

Putco Boss 4

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Lou D (Riceville, TN) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Silverado — 2007-08-29 23:45:46

They look great and if the front pads were longer the would be more functional. The drivers seat on the new silverado moves to the full rear when getting out and as such the natural exit move puts your foot on the metal not the pad.Installation on the new body style also proved to be a feat. the rear mount parts didn't fit and after a couple atemps to get help from putco , I had to fabricate my own.

read this

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by sean c (Manassas, VA) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy C/K 3500 — 2012-02-15 04:18:46

Nerf bars are nice, instructions were terrible, the instructions looked like it was for a different set of nerf bars. The product is nice and looks awesome, again a pain in the butt to put on and I highly recommend two people to do the install.