Your Cart Is Empty

Hypertech Max Energy E-CON Customer Reviews

Average Rating

80 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Very pleased

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeff H (Hueytown, AL) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford F150 — 2008-02-06 02:14:18

very easy to use. saved about 3 miles a gallon. worth the money it will pay for itself.

05 nissan titan

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ricardo A (Laredo, TX) — 2011-06-18 12:43:05

this is a great product. easy installation and with results. gas mileage on truck i was getting 13mpg and now im getting 17mpg in the city. wow, what a big difference. you get power and save gas. especially with the fast shipping from autoanything. a must have right now with high gas prices.

A snap to install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Chris A (Virginia Beach, VA) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford Mustang — 2009-09-15 16:51:08

If you can push buttons and turn your ignition key on/off you can install Max Energy E-con, more pick up, lower reves like geting an extra 2 gallons per tank.

2004 Chevy Suburban 2500 8.1

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dustin D (Winder, GA) Reviewed for a 2008 GMC Sierra — 2011-06-20 20:48:02

I was very pleased with the customer service in answering my questions,and shipping was very fast. When I bought the programmer it came with a free update to the full featured Max Energy programmer,however there was no instructions on Hypertechs website on how to go about getting the free upgrade other than a promo commercial that was not helpful. I eventually figured out how to upgrade it and flashed the ECM. I have quite a bit more midrange power and have also picked up 1-1.5mpg. I am very pleased with how the programmer works and will do business with AutoAnything again.

Review of Hypertech E-Con for 6.0L Powerstroke

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian S (Sycamore, IL) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford Excursion — 2010-05-22 09:22:48

I did a lot of research before purchasing a programming chip for my 2004 Ford Excursion with the 6.0L diesel (about 6 months worth of research). After speaking with several other diesel owners and the tech folks at HyperTech, I decided to make the purchase of the Hypertech E-con. There has been a great improvement in power and on the hwy I am getting 4.5 more mpg (improvement from 17.9mpg to 22.5mpg). Everything else on my truck is stock. I will be pulling my 28' travel trailer this next weekend and am curious to see the results. I have only had the product installed for about 3wks, but am very happy with it so far.

worth the purchase

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by JOHN G (TYRONE, PA) — 2011-09-21 19:29:55

I upgraded to the max energy power programmer with a simple phone call. What a difference it made. My fuel mileage increased by +5 mpg and the performance is night and day. I have a 2008 f150 Ford with a 4.6 engine and a k&n cold air pack. The engine was so under powered that I was considering trading it in. After I put your program in, all I can say is wow. Totally woke it up. I believe thats the reason for the gas mileage increase. I hardly ever have to get into the throttle for the response needed and when you do........ Worth every penny and wish I would have known about it earlier.

max energy e-con

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by william b (Holland, MI) Reviewed for a 1999 GMC Sierra — 2011-03-23 06:41:46

the trans shifts are great for part throttle as is full throttle. gas mileage has yet to be know as no fillup as of yet .easy to install once downloaded .

Great Value

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ashley S (Evansville, IN) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Silverado — 2010-08-24 05:40:27

This is a great product and the free upgrade made it even more affordable!

max energy econ

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Paul M (Canterbury, CT) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2009-07-03 11:28:37

easy to install Feels like I have more power ,gas milage a little better so far but only on my first tankfull since I installed it.

2008 Jeep Rubicon 4 door

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Phil B (Denton, NE) Reviewed for a 2008 Jeep Wrangler — 2011-09-06 05:32:54

Prior to installing the Hypertech, I was getting 17.6 mpg on the highway. After installing my mileage went up to 21.5 on the highway at 55 mph. The added horsepower was also noticeable at all speeds. Excellent value.

04 Chevy 2500hd 6.0 (exhaust and intake)

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Zachery E (Asbury, NJ) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Silverado — 2008-06-04 20:29:22

I purchased this programmer for 1 reason..... to get better fuel mileage. I was getting 11 around town. Got the programmer and it is now up to 13.38. I am very happy with my purchase. The programmer is doing just what it said it would do!! Very easy installation. Took less than 10 minutes. The hypertech max energy programmer is a must have if your looking to increase your fuel mileage!!

Sweet on the trottle

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Andell F (Mastic Beach, NY) Reviewed for a 1997 Jeep Cherokee — 2009-03-19 08:45:15

Love this thing had a jet in another truck before but this is the best upgrade I have ever done

Good Value

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael B (Panama City, FL) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-250 — 2008-06-03 04:45:07

I've only driven a short distance since installing the Hypermax E-con, but it appears to be working as advertised. My fuel mileage on my F-250, 6.0 Diesel was running around 17.3 mpg. It is now at 18.8 over the same route.

2008 Chevy Silverado V- Max 6.0

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by JULIO A (Pomona, CA) Reviewed for a 1998 Chevy C/K 1500 — 2011-03-20 09:47:00

Bought the E-con version but upgraded to the Max energy power. When I installed it, I felt a small difference in power. Yes, I did use higher octane gas. After two months and losing MPG's (went from 15 to 14.5 according to the truck). I decided to return to stock and use regular gas. What A huge difference it was! I had now realized how much power this programmer gave my truck. It shifted faster and firmer with the programmer.

Great Value

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Shane B (Dalton, GA) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F250 — 2008-02-15 05:20:52

I have had this programmer for a week and already I have seen a big difference in fuel milage. For normal driving, I was having to fill up once a week. It has now been 8 days since I have went to the fuel pump and I still have a 1/2 of a tank. Great product.

econ max energy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by CHRIS C (zirconia, NC) Reviewed for a 2000 Chevy Silverado — 2008-07-16 05:02:31

this is worth every penny

Hypertech Max Energy E-Con

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bradley R (Austintown, OH) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Silverado — 2008-07-01 23:28:05

I am very satisfied with my purchase of the Hypertech Max Energy E-Con.I noticed an immediate difference in horsepower and after installing and filling up my gas tank for my 2007 Silverado1500 new body 4.8L V8 I have noticed a considerable difference in my MPG!!I reccomend purchasing this product to all owners of full size 4X4's!!!!

Work Truck + milage

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Stephen C (Corona, CA) Reviewed for a 2006 GMC C/K 3500 — 2008-06-24 10:22:10

Installed in a 2006 3500 service body. The truck weighs in at 8000 plus lbs empty and over 10,000 with tools. The Dura-max consistantly got 13.5 city or hwy 55 or 80mph. After installation we ran 16.1 on the hwy. The truck appeared to have more throttle response in the ow end which took some getting use to without snapping your neck. There is definatly a payback to this product and I would recommend.

Hypertech Max Energy E-Con 2007 GM 6.0l Max

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Clair K (Rock Springs, WY) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Silverado — 2008-06-28 08:04:50

This thing works great, ease of installation, great. I installed this and was a bit skeptical but after a month of testing I am averaging 2 MPG better city and highway and my truck runs better. This really works. My only problem is that I can't download any different programing, website or my problem not sure. Clair K. WYO

Finally MPG

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John J (Mystic, CT) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Silverado — 2008-04-11 06:53:11

I have a 2005 Silverado with the 5.3 liter engine and have tried both the Power ProgrammerII and the Superchips programmer and neither one improved gas mileage.The Max Energy Econ unit has improved my gas mileage.I am pleased with the unit.

Crew Cab 4x4 Desiel - 1997 Ford F250

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert T (Fallon, NV) Reviewed for a 1997 Ford F-250 — 2008-05-18 21:19:26

My setup: K&N air filter 11MPG pulling U-Haul style trailer 16.5 MPG with bed shell With trailer & program A - 15MPG With trailer & program B - 14MPG Without trailer & program B - 18.3MPG

This is Awsome

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Scott L (Hamilton, NJ) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford F350 — 2008-02-08 05:52:09

I have only tried out program 1 so far but the power increase has been great and I have gotten almost 2 MPG more while towing with a load of 14,000 lbs.

It definitely works!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David C (Holiday, FL) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford Expedition — 2011-09-14 15:55:25

Installed on my 2006 Ford Expedition. I was able to correct the speedometer(and odometer) for the larger tires I had previously installed. The difference in power and acceleration was instantly noticeable. Also mileage is somewhat improved. All in all,a worthwhile purchase

01 Dodge 2500 4x4 5.9 gas

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by erald V (Newburyport, MA) Reviewed for a 1992 Jeep Cherokee — 2011-06-01 20:56:19

Programer came with wrong software but acouple of calls to Hypertech I down loaded correct software. Tech stayed on the line to make sure it worked right incase of any problems. Installed very easy and corrected my tire size change and inproved my mileage. Performance wise WOW, what a differance! Pulls alot better on hills, loaded or not. Shifts the way it's suppost to now as well.This and the other upgrades I made are well worth the investment!

Bill B

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William B (Newark, DE) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2011-02-02 15:45:33

I found the hypertech E-CON programmer easy to install & to set up for my prefrence.My mileage inproved by25%.

FREAKIN AMAZING

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Deven P (Spring, TX) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-250 — 2011-07-21 21:48:05

POWER INCREASE IS EXCELLENT. FUEL INCREASE IS BEYOND EXCELLENT. ADDED AND EXTRA 70 MILES TO THE TANK. ADDS UP QUICKLY. WILL BUY IT FOR EVERY VEHICLE I OWN.

2001 Ford Excursion 7.3L Diesel

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Matthew B (New Britain, PA) Reviewed for a 2001 Ford Excursion — 2011-05-27 19:56:14

Was averaging 15.6 mpg combined before installing the Hypertech Program B. After the install, the fuel mileage was 18 mpg and the truck had more power. Great profuct at a great price.

Excellent Product!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by JEREMY E (Ada, OK) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Tahoe — 2009-08-27 07:51:01

Installation was easy, just took a few minutes. Looks like my mpg's have went up 1-2 mpg. But every little bit helps. What I have noticed most is the increased power on take offs.

ower of ford f 150 2010

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by joseph n (Westminster, CA) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2011-04-29 08:40:41

after flash ecu with e-con the engine runs smoother. gas mileage increase 1 mpg for the first 2 tanks fill up. will keep monitor gas mileage. not really impressive with this programmer at this time

Wow a great product.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John L (Vernal, UT) — 2011-07-05 10:47:56

I had a problem with this when I upgraded. However one call to the company fixed that. They followed up on a Friday after they had closed to ensure that I had my vehicle up and running. Not only a great product, but great followup. Increased my fuel mileage 2+ miles per gallon or better when I drive the speed limit.

Energy E-con Install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jim C (Austin, TX) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2010-03-31 10:11:32

I am very pleased with the programmer. It was almost to easy to install. I updated the programmer online then programmed my truck. The engine runs smoother and shifts sharper than before. On my most recent highway trip I got 19.4 mpg

Amazing Results

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Nolan L (Winnabow, NC) Reviewed for a 1996 Toyota Tacoma — 2009-07-26 20:04:38

I installed my Hypertech Max Energy E-Con in under 10 minutes and when I started my truck, it was idling 500 Revolutions Per Minute lower. I get 2.9 more miles per gallon on the highway. This Programmer is worth every penny. I definitely recommend getting this Programmer is looking for better Mileage and better Performance.

FORD UPGRADE

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by wayne t (huntingdon, TN) Reviewed for a 2003 Ford F-250 — 2011-01-07 04:35:15

WILL UPDATE FORD 6.0, LOT OF POWER CHANGE AND AXLE & TIRE CHANGE

Offers good Power

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David D (st albans, VT) — 2011-08-29 04:10:30

I have yet to put it to the test but I feel the TQ power I have recieved and I like the options I have with it.

Sad that I could not get it to work

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Donald W (Albion, NY) Reviewed for a 2007 Chrysler Pacifica — 2008-09-26 18:40:49

I was unable to get the Econ to work on my 2007 Chrysler Pacifica. The Hypertech people were very helpful, and were even willing to take my vehicles computer and install it themselves, but I was unable to give up my car for 3 to 4 days while it was done. I will gladly try there products again when I get another one that they support.

More Power

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard S. N (Waterbury, CT) Reviewed for a 2000 Ford F-350 — 2008-08-02 15:12:37

I have had the engine (Powerstroke) tuned to the "A" program for a little over a week. There is a definite power increase at higher rev's (over 2100 rpm, approximately). I am in the process of checking fuel economy. If I can pick up 2 or 3 miles to the gallon with the increased power and torque, I'll be one happy camper. I was getting 10.5 mph towing a 10,500 lb fiver and about 14 mpg solo. My truck is a crew cab dually, four wheel drive which I've had for 6 years. I will post my results in a couple of weeks with the info. So far, it looks good.

Fuel saver

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James M (Williamsburg, KY) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Silverado — 2009-05-20 06:50:38

The E-Con is very easy to install. It saves around 2-3 mph. However, I would like to see a better description of the difference between the settings, A and B. But overall, this is a good product.

hypertech e-con

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ronald o (Bakersfield, CA) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F-150 — 2008-07-21 19:38:33

the product is incredibly easy to install. however i was hoping for better mpg. i have a completely stock 2007 f-150 4x4. since the upgrade, i've driven two tanks. the first tank was no change in mpg. and the second had 1 mpg better. i don't know if it will continue to increase or if that's it. but i know they advertised 2-6 mpg gain. so... not quite what i was hoping for.

So far so good.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jacob N (Hildale, UT) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Suburban — 2010-04-15 18:11:36

Took me a couple days to get used to the way the transmission shifts. I am please with the transmission changes now. I can detect a slit increase in power which I like. With the first couple of tanks mileage has improve but only around 1 MPG. I did push it a little to test the power changes which has probably hurt the economy. Hope this improves to the advertised 2-6 MPG with normal driving. Overall I like the product.

2008 Chevy Silverado

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by STEVEN C (Maylene, AL) — 2008-06-27 06:33:36

I had to call and get the $100 update for tire size changes, mileage is up about 1 mpg can tell no performance changes.

Power to spare & slightly better economy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Anna M (Chino Valley, AZ) Reviewed for a 1999 Dodge Durango — 2008-06-14 13:30:27

We've noticed a marked improvement in performance. As soon as we touch the pedal, she goes! We've even noticed that passing gear is much better. Also, she used to lose a lot of power while running the AC, but now she does great even with the AC as high as it will go. We were hoping to get more improvement in fuel economy, but we're only getting about .5 mpg better than we were. But with fuel prices what they are, every little bit helps. Overall, we're very happy with the unit.

Good Modification

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by elliott g (Cumming, GA) Reviewed for a 2003 GMC Yukon XL — 2008-06-19 08:10:37

I received my e-con and went to the web to update it for my vehicle. Installation was easy and I was up and running in less than 1 hour total including internet update. I definitely notice the feel of better utilized power in partial throttle situations and at low speeds. I had been getting 13.9 mpg with my Yukon XL (K&N FIPK, dual exhaust cat. back, and oversized tires) My driving was a mixture of city and long haul towing. I have not had enough drive time to calculate a difference yet. My opinion is any marginal improvement will be good.

Hypertech Max Energy E_con

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gregory V (Phoenixville, PA) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy Suburban — 2008-01-30 04:03:17

Used it on a 2003 suburban and increased the gas mileage on the highway by 2 miles per gallon without feeling any loss of power. Very pleased so far

2006 f-150 reprogram

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by scott s (fresno, OH) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford F-150 — 2011-10-31 22:11:11

After getting the updates for the programmer installed the rest was easy. truck now has a great deal of more response to the gas petal. gas mileage in-proved about 1 mpg. not a great improvement. may try to add a k&n air intake after the holidays to see if i may gain some more mpg.

horse power

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by tim b (Richfield, NC) Reviewed for a 2002 Ford F-250 — 2008-04-18 17:01:23

I can roll in to the throtle and spin the back tires. I haven't been able to check the mileage yet but I don't drive my F250 thaat offten anymore because of the 4.09 fuel price. But I do see a improvment.

Program A

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Chris L (Ketchum, ID) — 2008-04-05 13:32:13

I installed program A and ran about half a tank of fuel through so far. I have an mpg monitor so I know the results immediately. I noticed a performance improvement but not so much of a mileage improvement. I think the city driveing may be why. I just installed program B but noticed I had a DTC of P0602, which is "module program error". I will let you know how "B" does but can you let me know why that code came up? Just to let you know I am getting 22.6 mpg city driving on this 3/4 ton 4X4 Dodge Ram, but I have done some other things to get there. The biggest thing was to take the tailgate off and then provided more air to the K&N air cleaner by modifying the air box.

Scott from New Jersey

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Scott S (Titusville, NJ) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Tahoe — 2008-07-08 05:11:21

I bought the max energy to improve fuel economy, didn't really care about any performance gains. Installation took less than 10 minutes. I've only had the max energy econ installed for about a week, but have noticed a mpg gain of approx. 1.5 driving around town with the AC on. Also does feel more responsive.

E-Con Max Review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Charles S (Valley Center, KS) Reviewed for a 2006 Cadillac Escalade — 2008-07-02 12:17:07

The installation was very easy. The results are +/- 1.5 mpg which is of more and more value as the price of fuel goes up. I drive 50,000 miles per year and 1 mpg increase saves me over 200 gallons per year. The E-con ax pays out in less than 6 mos.

easy power

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John W (Whitehorse, YT) Reviewed for a 2002 Ford F-150 — 2008-05-17 07:47:57

got better throttle response more power for my 2002 F150

hypertech econ

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by walter b (Anderson, TX) — 2011-10-27 21:04:23

This programmer isn't as good as I expected but as far as autoanything.com goes their the ones to order from they are fast and conveinant I will use them again....

got horsepower?

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by robert p (Freeport, NY) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy Monte Carlo — 2008-04-03 02:12:53

more horsepower is definitely there but i need more time to evaluate it fairly for fuel economy.

Works well Glad I did it.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by M. Daniel H (Wilmington, DE) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F-150 — 2010-08-24 15:00:22

Bought the E-Con and upgraded it. Installation was simple took maybe 5-10 minutes. Driveability has improved and it eliminated some of the throttle lag. Power improvement was noticeable with normal driving. I also changed the firmness of my transmission shifts...nice and firm. Have not calculated mileage yet but appears relatively unchanged. No regrets!

Pretty Nice

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Grant B (Killeen, TX) — 2011-07-21 21:07:57

It works well. I'm still on the second tank of gas, so I have yet to see an improvement in mileage, but the upgrade has definitely given more power.

Hypertech E-CON on Hummer H2

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by kris k (lumberton, TX) Reviewed for a 2007 Hummer H2 — 2011-07-14 10:54:43

Easy to install. Took about 5 minutes to install. Makes the vehicle run a lot smoother but not much improvement on the MPG's.

Improved MPG

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Todd L (Olla, LA) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2011-05-02 16:40:21

I went from 17 mpg to around 20. Definite improvement. When going on a hour trip or more I reset the avg mpg and it stayed steady between 19.5 and 22 mpg. When in town I stay in the 17mpg range and was always in the 16 mpg range with stock settings.

6.8 Ford 4X4 Excursion Fuel Economy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by J. Fred R (Elk City, OK) Reviewed for a 2003 Ford Excursion — 2009-11-25 00:02:44

I purchased the Hypertech Max Energy E-Con programmer strictly to improve fuel economy. Installation was simple. After 500+ miles of driving ( 90% highway, ave. 70 mph )my fuel mileage increased 1 mpg. I am in the process of adding a cold air manifold system, and a cat back exhaust system. My hope is to increase overall mileage 3 to 4 miles per gallon.

IF it works...

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jon R (Woodland, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Dodge Durango — 2010-06-09 21:40:46

I haven't been able to get it installed on my Durango, and it's buggin' me. The various install instructions say to remove the fuses on aftermarket stuff before install, which I did. Apparently I'm not removing enough. I've talked to tech support 4 times and one email, and I'm basically not getting full answers. I sort of feel like I'm supposed to know more than I do. This is all compounded by the fact that I have very little time to be working on a project that should take 5 minutes, but has taken 2 hours and counting. I'd send it back, but I imagine the Bully Dog I wanted to get has the same problems...

improved gas mileage

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Terry V (Saint Charles, MO) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford F-150 — 2010-04-18 14:52:54

After recieving the unit, I had to install the computer updates prior to use. After that, the installation only took about five minutes. The regular gas program does just what it said it would do. It improved the throttle response throughout the entire range, smoothed out the last of the engine roughness, and improved the fuel mileage by 4 mpg. in suburban driving conditions. I am glad I bought it, and would recommend it to anyone. As always, AutoAnyhting.com was great.

More power, better mileage as advertised!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Anthony P (Menifee, CA) Reviewed for a 2001 Ford F-250 — 2009-09-11 22:35:46

The unit is intuitive and easy to navigate out of the box. Experienced performance and mileage gains as advertised. Flagged an error code out of the box and I was able quickly remedy the error.

Power + Mileage -

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Marvin O (Coon Rapids, MN) Reviewed for a 2004 Jeep Wrangler — 2009-06-15 16:57:13

The power increase was very noticable. The mileage is about the same as before. I was looking more for the mileage increase but did't get it.

e-con okay

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by kenneth h (, ) Reviewed for a 2005 Chrysler PT Cruiser — 2011-06-13 09:26:14

haven't seen much from it but, maybe run smoother ,nothing for better milage!

F-250 Turbo Diesel

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by dave m (Vacaville, CA) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-250 — 2008-04-08 18:02:31

On a freeway only test the unit increased my mileage from 17 miles per gal. to a little over 19 on my 6.0 turbo ford diesel.Im still checking city mileage.

Its aright

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ernest T (Fort Worth, TX) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Silverado — 2008-06-30 20:28:05

Its alright

Average

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gerald L (Groves, TX) Reviewed for a 2007 Dodge Ram — 2011-08-04 22:08:55

I don't know if it's because I've done something wrong, but my truck hasn't seen crap for a increase in mpg.

Results not immediately apparent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Andy F (Bishopville, SC) Reviewed for a 2004 Jeep Wrangler — 2008-06-03 12:40:56

I bought the Hypertech Max Energy E-Con in order to improve the gas mileage on my 2004 Jeep Wrangler which got poor mileage, about 15 mpg. It wasn't that hard to install on the car, but came without the proper program installed in the computer I had to figure out how to hook it up to my computer and download the right program It wasn't all that hard to do if you know something about such things, but seemed surprising for a device that cost as much as it did. The installation wasn't too hard, I guess, but required very, very precise attention to every detail of the instructions. I think it worked, but the results are disappointing. My mileage was 17 mpg after I ran the next full tank through the car. But I think most of that was the result of me getting my foot out of it and driving like an old lady. I was very careful with every aspect of my driving to maximize mileage, lower speed, accelerate slowly, use cruise, leave windows up, etc, etc. I would guess Hypertech would say that was a 13% increase. But for around $350 I expected just a little more. I am now installing a large bug deflector which I think will increase my mileage (by improving the aerodynamics) as much as the $350 Hypertech. Maybe it will get marginally better as time goes on, but I don't think so. I still have hope, though. Increasing gas mileage is difficult and complicated. I read a very, very detailed study on Wrangler gas mileage which led me to the Hypertech. The study said it was a good thing and that it could potentially increase the gas mileage by 3 or 4 miles per gallon......... but I am not seeing that. But I hope it will happen eventually. I am not ready to throw in the towel yet.

Hypertech econ 2005 suburaban

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by RICHARD P (Wexford, PA) Reviewed for a 2004 Volvo S80 — 2011-01-27 05:05:20

The truck seems to have more power however I have seen no fuel economy increase. I have owned the truck for two years and track fuel economy every tank so I would see an increase. I will continue to monitor I am hoping that when the snow is gone and I am not using the four wheel drive I will see some fuel economy increase. If not this not a value for the minimal power increase.

2010 charger hemi

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by christine s (East Pittsburgh, PA) — 2011-05-28 04:45:54

no difference so far

Display screen

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by abdul Aziz A (Maple Ridge, BC) Reviewed for a 2007 Dodge Ram — 2011-09-17 10:51:04

At list back light will be useful for the the screen. Considering the total price of upgrading, I would have gone for other name brand with better screen display, almost does the same thing and real time reading display.

good price and decent features

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brad R (Woodlawn, IL) Reviewed for a 1999 Ford F-150 — 2011-08-30 08:05:13

I purchased this instead of the edge evolution my truck had before I bought it. I always heard you get what you pay for and now I know its true!! The hypertech unit is not "bad" but the edge evolution has so many more features to tune with. The hypertech has what I classify as "generic" tuning options for shift firmness, and engine tunes. If you want a basic tuner for a low price it's a no brainer but again, you get what you pay for.

no good product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Donald C (Lutz, FL) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Silverado — 2008-06-04 20:23:59

I installed the E-Con on my Chevy 1500 Silverado,drove it and did not see any kind of change other than the fuel mileage was worse than it was with it. I'm very much unpleased with it.

What happened?

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard G (Flint, TX) Reviewed for a 2005 Dodge Ram — 2011-05-11 03:32:53

Installed on pickup. Decided to update device on Internet which made me restore programming on the pickup. Updating the device changed it to a different model and year programmer. The company did everything it could to try and restore device to no avail. They are replacing the device. Support is excellent.

lack of performance

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by steven c (Bellmawr, NJ) — 2008-05-07 04:24:40

This item doesn't live up to it's claim. I saw no increase in mileage. In fact it decreased it at times. There was no increase in power either. I did a comparison, with the econ installed & factory settings. No difference.

Ford Superduty 6.0 Diesel.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Alden R (Forest Lake, MN) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford F-350 — 2008-05-18 11:14:48

The Max energy E-Con was purchased only for improved economy. The end result was improved performance and and a reduction in MPG's of about 1 to 2. Did not need more power, but wanted a boost in economy.

DISAPPOINTED!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Marc C (Jacksonville, NC) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F350 — 2008-02-13 07:46:16

No fuel mileage improvement. Power & performance is improved somewhat, but not enough to justify the price. Bad investment.

Good little gizmo with SIDE EFFECTS

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by dong c (Centreville, VA) Reviewed for a 2007 Lincoln Navigator — 2010-07-20 21:10:45

Both tuning option definitely gave my Navigator noticeable power gains. Only problems are the side effects. Frist problem is that I got pinging or detonation which is bad for the engine on either settings. When I went back to factory stock settings, problem went away. Second problem is the slippage of transmission when coming off a turn or pressing on the gas pedal for sudden acceleration. There's delay in transmission engaging. I thought my transmission went bad but when I went back to stock factory setting, no slippage problem was present. Hypertech does have pretty good support though. I'm currently having the pinging problem looked at by their R&D team. I just wrote them today about the tranny problem. I really hope they can fix both issues because I love driving the car on either tuning settings and wish not to return it. But I only have 10 day windows until the 30 day refund expires.

Cant update

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by david L (Dover, PA) Reviewed for a 2006 Lincoln Zephyr — 2011-11-22 02:36:22

Installed software. Connect prgrammer and it turns on and starts scrolling. Click on update and told no programmer connected. Deleted and reinstall software as suggested. Same thing. Gives return code 020C. Very busy not had time to get ahold of factory, nor looking forward to it. Had no problem with super chip I put in other vehicle.

No increase in mileage

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael P (Adkins, TX) Reviewed for a 2009 Dodge Ram — 2011-08-20 13:27:35

I bought 2 e-cons one for my 08 Yukon and my 09 Ram neither one helped in increasing my mpgs. Don't know why they didn't work but I bought a hypertech programmer for my 99 Z71 and that increased my mpg by 4.5 plus it gave me more performance. I hope there is update for them to increase mpg by at least 2.

dissatisfied

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William G (Sun Lakes, AZ) — 2008-07-01 20:27:59

power good, shifting good, mpg bad, mpg dropped almost 3 mpg. very disapointing.

Don't believe the hype, only about a half MPG improvement

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark M (Litchfield, NH) Reviewed for a 2011 Nissan Frontier — 2011-04-26 02:53:02

Easy to install, took about 15 minutes but my Nissan Frontier only got about 1/2 MPG improvement. Not worth the cost of the unit.

Not very good quality

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin S (Chana, IL) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy Silverado — 2010-07-13 09:30:14

I purchased this for my 2003 chevy 2500hd to get better fuel economy and I only gained about .5 miles to the gallon. I do not reccomend this tune. It is supposed to detect codes and could not determine why my air bag light was on. Also the truck would idle so low my power steering would not work. I will be returning my tune.