Your Cart Is Empty

Hypertech Speedometer Calibrator Customer Reviews

Average Rating

37 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

2006 Toyota Tacoma Speedometer Calibration

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John L (Lakeland, FL) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford F-350 — 2009-06-15 20:24:21

This unit is invisible and corrected the problem with 35" tires and 4.56 gears. Easy installation, and did exactly what it said it would do. Left my dash cover off and drove around with my laptop and got the speedometer right on the money by tweaking the numbers. Nice to have things correct and can't even see it.

Hypertech Speedometer Calibrator

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Thomas G (Raymond, WA) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy C/K 2500 — 2009-11-10 05:56:44

I purchased this device to correct my odometer after the dealer installed oversized tires on a truck I bought from them. The installation was a breeze. My 9 year old daughter could have done this. Now my speedo is right on, (confirmed by GPS) and the shift points are correct. Before I was revving to over 2400 RPM at 65MPH. Now I'm right around 1500 RPM at the same speed. My truck also feels a whole lot peppier and does not struggle when I really get on it. It really responds. I've also gained 1.5 MPG since the install and it keeps getting better. Autoanything provided a great product to help me out. The whole purchase experience was very positive.

great item

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by stanley k (Hillsborough, NJ) Reviewed for a 2003 Ford Mustang — 2009-10-16 09:28:45

works great, simple o use. thanks

Great tool to adjust spedometer

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William B (Olean, NY) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Silverado — 2010-04-01 03:56:44

I tow a travel trailer with a 1/2 ton Silverado. The dealer said he couldn't adjust the speedometer to display the correct speed. After 15 minutes with the Hypertech Speedometer Calibrator, I had the tire size, the rear-end ratio and transmission type set and the display reading better than it did when new. The ability to read and clear trouble codes is an added bonus.

Finally a fix for Tacoma speedometers.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robin A (Gary, IN) Reviewed for a 2009 Toyota Tacoma — 2010-07-08 07:39:43

My 09 Tacoma was a full five MPH off at highway speeds. I kept getting the same aggravating excuse. It's within factory specs.Checking online, I found this was a common problem. With the Hypertech Speedometer Calibrator I was able to program in different axle gearing to dial the speedometer right in to where it should be. I wish I had known about this product sooner. Rob.

09 Ram, oversize tires

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Daniel M (St Louis Park, MN) Reviewed for a 2009 Dodge Ram — 2013-02-07 15:29:26

Easy to use. Accurate. It's nice having my speedo and odometer read correctly with a bigger tire. I'm going to regear here soon so it will get some more use when I do that. Worth the price.

super accurate!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ross n (Sedona, AZ) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Silverado — 2010-06-16 14:58:29

I recieved my tire calibration tool and downloaded the instructions for my year and model. I followed said instructions , plugged in the unit. I then had to go online and update and download the program for my year and model truck. I was a little dissapointed at first, but it was so easy I surprised myself. I then went back to my vehicle, plugged it in and in a few minutes the hypertech did its thing. I put my gps in the truck and the speedometer is now right on , exact! Thanks

a must for over size tires

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Salvador V (Watsonville, CA) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tundra — 2010-11-04 01:13:56

After a lift and bigger mud tires my tundra would shift hard and the svc light would turn on under hard acceleration. I installed the hypertech speedometer calibrator and it solved this problem.

2005 WK

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tim R (LAS VEGAS, NV) Reviewed for a 2005 Jeep Grand Cherokee — 2013-02-21 20:24:35

Bought to recalibrate speedometer to improve mileage, trans shift at correct RPMs, and accuracy back to stock-- it did this exactly as product was described. Very effective, very easy to use which is a big plus!

07 chevy 2500hd

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John P (West Hartford, CT) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Silverado — 2011-06-14 04:47:44

bought this for my new body 07 Chevy 2500hd and it couldn't have been any easier to use.. i only put 33" tires on it but it made a transmission noise when downshifting under throttle. this went on for months before i bought this calibrator. the very first drive after 5 minutes of calibration the noise was gone and the speedometer was back to normal. great product!

Hpertech Speedometer Calibrator

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John F (Astoria, OR) Reviewed for a 2004 Dodge Ram — 2009-11-07 09:57:05

My Hypertech Speedometer Calibrator arrived on the day it was due.The ease of installation was amazing,it took longer to open the package than it did to install,had it installed in under three minutes.I haven't had a real chance to check the speedometer accuracy, but followed a county sheriff and the speedometer was reading the speed limit.

11 Dodge Ram Power Wagon

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Blaine S (Virginia Beach, VA) Reviewed for a 2011 Dodge Ram — 2011-11-22 06:52:12

Used it to calibrate my speedo after increasing tire size to 35's. Easy as following the directions . make sure you know in inches your tire size before u begin . Easy easy

Speedometer Calibrator

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gury D (Elk Grove, CA) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-250 — 2010-03-18 20:24:32

Super easy to use, anybody with basic computer skills should have no problem.

Easy & Quick Install! Great Results

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Andrew C (Kingsport, TN) — 2011-10-29 06:48:21

I was very nervous about pulling the dash out of my Tundra to install this, but broke down and tried it. I had the dash out, unit installed, and back together in around 30 minutes. Results are great! I left the USB attached for easy reprogramming at a later date! Recommend this item for everyone who has added oversized wheels/tires!

Hypertech Speedometer Calibrator

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert E (KYLE, TX) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Silverado — 2012-10-30 07:45:59

Did as advertised. I am very happy with results and woud reccomend it. I used it on my 2009 silverado after i put oversized tires on it.

nice for speedo to work

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John K (Victoria, TX) — 2012-01-29 18:27:25

easy to use and work perfectly. derfinately measure your tire, dont trust the sells sheet about size.

Great Product!!! Could be cheaper!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Douglas M (Clarksville, TN) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2012-09-27 11:59:14

Took about 4 mins to install on my 2012 Ram for 35 inch tires. It has def helped my tranny to adjust for larger tires. The only gripe I have is the price could be a little cheaper considering that it doesnt do anything other than adjust gears/tires/codes. Overall great for 2012s as it is our only choice right now.

Hypertech Speedometer Calibrator

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Roberto S (San Antonio, TX) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tundra — 2011-11-15 09:04:00

I was one the fence about spending money on this product, however after reading reviews I decided to take a chance. I am glad I did. My new 6" lift and 35's made the transmission go crazy and my speedometer was off by like 5 MPH. Downshifting was the most notable difference. After the installation, everything is now nearly back to normal. I actually measured my tires instead of using the default numbers to get a better calibration since I read that 35's are not really 35 inches tall. I could probably tweak it a little more, but the installation didn't make me want to remove it again. It was not too hard and the instructions were spot on (read well, don't rely on the photos), but the location is tight and i have big hands. I highly recommend this product after a lift, bigger tires, or both. Best thing next to new gears. Autoanything price-matched and that was my deciding factor, plus shipping was fast. Thanks Auotanything! P.S. Mu Tundra kit didn't come with the LCD box, just the cable and small PCB, but I knew this.

Hypertech Speedometer Calibrator

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Roy F (Fairfield, CA) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tacoma — 2009-10-01 22:12:40

This product really does the job to which its intended for and very accurate. The step by step instructions that comes with the unit is easy to follow with complete illustrations per each step. Once completed, programming the unit is a breeze. Complete installation is a snap in 30 minutes or less.

speedometer calibrator

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by joseph r (KILLEEN, TX) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2012-11-28 00:10:33

to get your tire height, mark your tire on the ground and rotate the tire one revolution and measure the two marks, the divide by 3.14 to get your height. what discount tire said was a 32.10 tire is really a 31.75 tire, with this size put into the hypertech the speed was right on the mark the first time. extremely easy to install took about 30 seconds. it takes longer to read the instructions than anything else. you would think that just a calibrator would be cheaper..

2008 Silverado Speedo Calibrator

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Alston J (Jacksonville, NC) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Silverado — 2011-01-19 04:43:58

Had to update the unit before I could install, but that was very easy and only took about 10 minutes. The handheld is very easy to use and I am very happy with the product.

IN LINE SPEEDOMETER CALIBRATOR

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by JADE W (KINGWOOD, TX) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tundra — 2008-09-12 16:19:20

received my order very quickly from auto anything.emailed me the tracking order so i could track the shipment. very easy to install and the instructions provided are also very easy to follow.would recommend this to anyone that has a lifted truck and need to recalibrate your speedometer.

Happy camper

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ronald S (Victorville, CA) — 2012-01-26 08:12:41

The only problem I had is I took the tire diamater from tire specs on line, it was wrong. You need to measure the tire and do the math.On line 31.6 Measured 31.83

Recommended

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael D (Renton, WA) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-350 — 2011-05-06 06:37:35

This unit worked flawless..my only complaint would be that on the 2008-2010 Ford Super Duty unit it only calibrates up to a 35" tall tire (325/60 R20's are actually about 35 3/8" tall) but it did correct the speedometer to within 1 mile and hour at 65mph...checked with a GPS, so it is well within factory specs. I would recommend this device just be aware of it's size limits.

Excellent!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard L (OSTERVILLE, MA) — 2013-01-04 18:46:17

This unit was extremely easy to install! Just make sure you know exact manufacture tire size stated in there specs.

Best Investment for Big Tires/Wheels

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Joseph K (ROSWELL, GA) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Tundra — 2012-11-20 08:48:32

Get this device if you are running 35inch tires on your Tundra. Got my shift points back to normal and less stress on my transmission. Also helped my mpg. Best investment I made in my truck.

Hypertech Speedometer Calibrator

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Matthew L (Paris, TN) Reviewed for a 2008 Jeep Wrangler — 2009-01-03 06:35:08

If you have changed the tire size or gear ratio in any OBD II vehicle, this unit is a must. I went from 32" to 35" tires. My speedometer, odometer, and MPG computer were off quite a bit. This unit is incredibly easy to use. Find your OBD port, plug it in and follow the instructions presented to you on the screen. You're done in a few minutes, and your vehicles computer has been re-programmed for the proper tire size and gear ratio.

Thanks for the fuel savings and better shifting

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Joseph K (Columbia, SC) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Tundra — 2009-09-18 07:03:33

This product is great and as advertised. I upgraded to 34" tires on my 08 Tundra which threw the speedometer off about 4 mph. After installing the Hypertech Calibrator, which took all of 10 minutes, the tranny began shifting better and I've seen about a 2 mpg increase. Well worth the money just for the returned driving experience.

Expensive but it works

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Alex G (Marana, AZ) Reviewed for a 2011 Toyota Tacoma — 2013-02-04 09:01:44

Considering that I paid $45 for a performance chip that saves me about 2MPGs and increased my HP by about 15%, it's hard to believe that a speedometer calibrator can cost 4 times as much for the simple task that it's designed for. That being said, it does exactly what it's supposed to do. Installation: depending on your vehicle, you may have to remove the entire dashboard to install it. Not a huge deal but you would think that in 2013 someone would have thought of an OBD2 port compatible device.

Response

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by brent c (Exeter, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-06-22 09:53:30

Was easy to install but would prefer the obd2 version. Would like to know why the obd2 version is not made for the Tacoma?

calibrator

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by randy c (, ) — 2011-08-28 08:17:44

Easy to set up and insulation took about 30 min. Did not like having to take my dash all apart to put it behind the speedometer.

Worked perfect

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ed T (Mineola, TX) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2011-09-01 04:42:15

easy to use. Checkedspeedometer with gps and it is right on

It Works

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Freddie R (Taft, TX) Reviewed for a 2011 Toyota Tundra — 2011-10-02 13:14:03

The installation was pretty simple. I worked in car audio for many years so removin the dash bezel and gauge cluster was no biggie, although it may be pretty intimidating for the average joe. The software install was fast and easy. After the install I went out for a test drive and compared my speedometer to my hand held gps, and it was dead on. It's nice to hit the higway without having to worry about trying to estimate my actual speed. Good product!

2011 ram

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Christopher T (Wallkill, NY) — 2012-03-06 04:08:29

Works great on my 2011 ram

It does the job.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian W (Copperas Cove, TX) Reviewed for a 2010 Nissan Titan — 2010-08-19 16:27:42

This really isn't Hypertech's fault, but I'm not sure why there isn't a better option for the Titan. This requires a bit of dissemblance of the interior which is time consuming. Plus the price on this is unbelievable. However, this does the job it is supposed to do.

Inline NOT worth the money - Get an external programable model

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by JOSHUA R (DANVILLE, IN) Reviewed for a 2011 GMC Sierra — 2012-10-16 20:37:38

The inline version makes for a fun install due to the interior trim panel removal, removal of the main connector to the gauge cluster, and zip ties to keep things together. Upon a very easy and user friendly programming procedure using the tire ratio method, testing with chase vehicle & GPS indicated speedometer was reading 2.5 mph fast @ 55 after calibration. OOPS I will need to make additional adjustments using the tire diameter method with another dash diss-assembly/reassembly fiasco.

Did not work for me.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Craig B (Conshohocken, PA) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford F-150 — 2013-01-15 10:44:30

I installed 37" tires on my F150, purchased the calibrator to fix my speedometer error. The programming was easy, I input all the correct information but according to my gps and my phone, my speedometer is still 5-7 mph off. I will be returning mine, for the cost of the tuner you can have your car custom tuned and regain some lost performance.