Your Cart Is Empty

CURT Basket Style Cargo Carriers Customer Reviews

Average Rating

22 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Great Cargo Carrier

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mary R (Tiffin, OH) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Traverse — 2009-10-16 13:38:16

Installed and used this cargo carrier the same week it arrived. Being an older female I found this carrier very easy to assemble and just a tad heavy to lift into the hitch by myself. I used it in the folded up position and no noise from bouncing. I did acquire two locking hitch pins to use so it would not be stolen when parked at hotel overnight. I think this will be a great addition on camping trips when we start hauling a generator along!

As Advertised. Easy to assemble.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert F (Dayton, OH) Reviewed for a 2009 Toyota Highlander — 2009-08-21 21:24:59

Will keep the space inside my Highlander less cluttered for those long trips. Saw no need for any improvements. Great product.

Good basket

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by dave g (Fairmont, WV) Reviewed for a 2011 Jeep Wrangler — 2012-03-08 23:00:09

Replacement for a cheaper basket for me. The quality is excellent.

My New "Junk" Carrier

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Nancy S (Denver, CO) — 2010-02-01 20:57:42

My cargo carrier was easy to put together and install on my motorhome. It is heavy duty and well made. I wish it were wider so that it was a little more versatile.

It is better then the top loader

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Sajjad k (Blaine, MN) — 2011-10-04 21:34:31

I got this for my MDX 2007 and had it loaded fully and drove from North to South and after 1400 Miles of continues drive, the basket and my stuff both reached the destination in the same condition they left. I had bought the 60inch long one and not the short one but I am glad that I did that cause you will need every inch of space specially with a big family. I also parked my car at the airport so ended up folding the basket which was little cumbersome but after some muscle power I did succeed in latching it in a folded position. I would strongly recommend this.

my cargo carrier is great

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Lorenzo T (Bronx, NY) — 2011-08-03 10:52:27

Went campping .the cargo carrier workout just great held my 80 gal cooler and campping supplys . Left room inside my car for other things. Plus i could see out my rear window great!!!!

excelent service

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael G (Brooklyn, NY) — 2012-09-05 07:12:57

Thank you I received used and liked. Again Thanks Mike.

Great Cargo Carrier

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Neil M (Spring Grove, PA) Reviewed for a 2002 Ford F-150 — 2009-11-11 05:03:50

This is a excellent carrier! I used it this weekend in the mountains to haul luggage and my deer that I got. Have a lot of space and great places to tie things down. GREAT!!

Very Handy!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jennifer H (Fort Drum, NY) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford Expedition — 2012-04-17 10:45:49

We got this when we moved..we needed a little extra storage on our SUV...easy to put together and the raised lip is a must..highly recommend

Very sturdy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael S (Little Elm, TX) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Suburban — 2010-02-17 05:15:17

Just purchased this to take a 2,000 mile trip up into the mountains. It only took a few minutes to put together and was able to install it myself. I used a tarp and some wrench straps to keep all of the luggage dry and together and had 0 problems. The carrier was sturdy, without much play in the receiver when loaded down. Would definitely recommend this, especially over a roof rack. I got about 19mpg in a completely loaded Suburban which wouldn't have been possible with a bunch of luggage strapped to the top.

Works fine

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert G (Holden, MA) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford Flex — 2010-08-10 07:37:51

If you want fold up feature you must search around web site as the carrier first offered does not come with this option without purchasing additional equipment. A previous reviewer mentioned this so I searched around web site to make sure I bought the correct carrier. BTW I cut down two bike flags and attached to rear of carrier to help the driver behind me see that I had something sticking out behind my vehicle.

Good Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian T (Bel Aire, KS) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Trailblazer — 2011-09-12 06:21:30

It's great and easy. I still cant get it perfectly level. Other than that it works great for our family of 7.

Great cargo carrier

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James N (Stockton, MO) Reviewed for a 2012 Jeep Wrangler — 2012-05-01 05:24:39

I'm very pleased with the Cart Cargo Carrier based on quality of manufacturing and especially the service I received from the AutoAnything staff. I read a few reviews complaining of scratches, rust and poor packing. Mine came in perfect condition. The carrier was very easy to assemble and fits perfect on my Jeep. It's a great value. One more plug for AutoAnything........great help on the chat line. This is my go to company for anything I need in the automotive area.

Basket hitch hauler for highlander

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Charles D (Biloxi, MS) — 2011-11-11 03:51:41

Not too hard to put together by yourself but it always helps to have an extra set of hands. It was slightly bent out of the box but all parts lined up after tightening. It is heavy enough that my wife won't be able to lift it to put it into the hitch.

it is a great carrier for what we need!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Regina D (Newton, NC) Reviewed for a 2001 Jeep Wrangler — 2011-08-12 15:14:08

However, when it is empty it leans to the size a bit. This may be common, but it did irk us a little. BUT it is great for the purpose it was made for. We like AutoAnything.com for all are Jeep Wrangler parts.

GOOD

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jose Z (San Jose, CA) Reviewed for a 2001 Volkswagen Jetta — 2011-03-15 09:24:25

Too narrow and too noise when it's empty, but still good for my Jetta 2001.

CURT BASKET STYLE CARGO CARRIER

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael J (Hendersonville, NC) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford Van — 2010-07-31 12:11:29

This product was easy to put together within a 1/2hour.I reccommend getting the one that folds up for storing when not in use so you have that extra space for getting in and out of places.We rented a van for traveling with 11 of us and it didn't have a hitch,so we bought the hitch which attaches to the frame, not the bumper and uses existing holes.This required some assistance in holding the hitch while attaching the bolts, but we installed the hitch and put together the cargo carrier in less than an hour.Suggest a tarp over items for when rain may come.Do not attach bunge or straps to anything but bars,not basket wire bottoms,they pop out.Excellent way to create space in vehicle without causing mpg to decrease when driving.Adds no extra travel noise.

basket style cargo carrier

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ted B (San Juan Capistrano, CA) — 2012-02-14 11:49:51

Relatively easy to put together, but tolerances are a bit rough. Have not used yet, but it looks like it will do the job.

CURT Basket Cargo Carrier

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert M (Brooksville, FL) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Express — 2012-04-20 08:48:45

Good carrier;flip-up option worthwhile.

Don't have a rear mounted spare tire

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Keith I (WILDOMAR, CA) Reviewed for a 2012 Jeep Wrangler — 2013-01-10 11:21:23

When I ordered the carrier, the site asked for the make and model of my vehicle. I ordered it with the hinge so it could be folded up behind the vehicle. When it arrived, I found that the rear mounted spare tire on my jeep would not allow the carrier to fold up. Curt said that their web site states that, but since I odered it from another site it was not their problem.

Average...

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert S (North Huntingdon, PA) Reviewed for a 2008 Nissan Rogue — 2010-07-13 12:27:29

Assembly was easy, shipping was fantastic as usual. Price is fair enough, but there definitely are less expensive baskets out there. Paid more for this basket than I did for the hitch.. doesn't seem right. Took it on a trip immediately (425 miles each direction)... not a rattle out of it or any problems with it's sturdiness whatsoever. But after just a few days in the Virginia Beach humidity, rust is starting to show up in the seams. Whoever painted this thing needs to rethink the process. I'm satisfied, but the price and paint job make it average at best.

Not worthy of the CURT name

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James H (Surprise, AZ) Reviewed for a 2012 Toyota Venza — 2012-05-15 12:36:20

We have three vehicles at our home. I bought this folding carrier and a CURT hitch for my 2012 VENZA. This carrier, when folded upright, contacts the rear bumper of all three vehicles... some worse than others. One vehicle has a factory hitch, one has a "Hidden Hitch" and one has a CURT hitch (a VERY GOOD product, I might add!) The 'tongue' is too short by about 1-2 inches for many vehicles, in my opinion. I called CURT's Tech Support and was told to buy a hitch extension, which I did ($20 at Harbor Frieght), but now the hitch is way too far extended behind the vehicles (and likely illegal in some states!). The solution is to add 2 inches to the tongue's length, and then drill two pin holes spaced about 1 inch apart in the tongue to allow for such problems. This would add, maybe, $3.00 to the cost to manufacture. This rack is made in China as stated on the box, and not by CURT in the USA as their hitches are. It shows. Unlike the well-made CURT hitch, the paint does not look like powder-coat, but rather soft enamel. The reflective tape applied looks like it was added by a drunkard. It is just CURT-branded, and not worthy of the CURT name in my opinion. Also, it sells for much less elsewhere and with Free Shipping. Fortunately, Auto Anything does price matching (Thanks!).