Your Cart Is Empty

Surco Hauler Customer Reviews

Average Rating

14 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Surco 1-Piece Hauler 20"x 48" (2" Receiver)

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert M (El Paso, TX) Reviewed for a 2003 Toyota Tacoma — 2009-06-16 11:37:00

I purchased this carrier for a recent camping trip with the family. My Toyota Tacoma has a short bed and limited space for gear. The Surco carrier was simple to install and gave me about 50% more carrying capacity. I also used it to round up firewood for our campfire and loaded it with several heavy logs. The carrier held up well and served its purpose. Make sure you purchase a tie down net and an anti-rattle lock to compliment the carrier.

My new Surco Hauler

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Nancy S (, ) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford Escape — 2010-11-01 04:01:09

I LOVE this little "basket" on the back of my Ford Escape! I usually carry three Rubbermaid boxes in it now to put my purchases so they don't take up space in the car since I have two large dogs who take up most of the cargo area! I also use the Hauler to take our garbage can down to the garbage pick up. (We live in the mountains). That is the best! Now, that stinky can doesn't have to ride in the car! Other uses...I can use it for tying one of the dogs to while I'm loading the other in her crate. I can also stand on it while I'm washing the top of the car! I can put things on it when I'm loading the cargo area so they don't have to touch the ground. Other nice features...I can stand between it and the car if I HAVE to reach into the cargo area. It is very easy to take off and on and doesn't require much space to store either. I use two bungie cords for tie-downs and they work beautifully. It is very well-made and Surco has thought of little details to make it very versatile. I LOVE IT! Thank you!

great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Anton A (Cary, IL) Reviewed for a 2004 Nissan Armada — 2006-12-13 16:15:14

it is perfect for people with big cars and lots of kids. We can haul everything on it.

Surco Hauler 24x60 2 inch

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael A (Saint Martinville, LA) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford Expedition — 2007-05-02 07:34:12

Purchase was exactly what I wanted for hauling luggage, ice chests, etc., on road trip. Well made, fast shipping. This fit perfectly on the back of our 2007 Eddie Bauer Expedition. No wind sheer issues. Luggage raok carriers look sportier but the ultra convenience of this hauler wins out for us. You will also need bungee cords (or some type of tie downs), waterproof cover and of course hitch pin.

Surco Hitch Hauler

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bryan K (Somerville, MA) Reviewed for a 2002 Subaru Outback — 2008-07-15 07:13:19

Excellent product. Easy to use, well made and one of the better versions of a hitch cargo basket out there. No movement while the car is in motion and perfectly fits three Rubbermaid 18 gallon totes across the width.

Great Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael M (Columbus, OH) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford Explorer — 2007-08-01 04:52:07

I purchased the 24x60 Surco Hauler to have extra space for gear for family camping trips. It has a great deal of space and worked great. The quality of the construction is very good. I feel it was a good value.

60 x 24 one piece 2

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ami F (Lyons, KS) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Highlander — 2007-09-11 06:59:55

This cargo hitch is absolutely terrific!! I have used it several times already. It is so simple to put on and take off, which is important to me because my husband is in Iraq and so i have to take care of all the things he normally does. This cargo hitch has been such a life-saver. I haven't had any problems with swaying either, even when it's empty. I would rcommend this product to everyone!!!

Good product at intial view, blemished...

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gerald B (Watsontown, PA) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Corolla — 2007-11-21 19:35:17

The product itself looks pretty solid at first glance out of the box. Not heavy duty, but reasonably put together. I wouldn't trust it with more than a couple hundred pounds of stuff n it. It arrived with paint missing from several areas and scratched easily during assembly. I'll have to repaint it (probably with that tough rubberized stuff), but that's not a huge deal. Giving 4 stars because it arrived missing paint and isn't as strong as I had hoped.

One piece Surco Hauler

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Vinc D (Boulder, CO) Reviewed for a 2011 Suzuki SX4 — 2012-04-27 22:04:02

I did a lot of window shopping before buying a cargo carrier. Originally I got the Curt two piece carrier but decided after it arrived that it had way too many pieces. I imagined it vibrating apart on rough roads. Don't know if that's really likely. I called Auto Anything and explained I really wanted the Surco one piece instead but I felt it was too expensive. I found a better price on the web. Auto Anything made everything simple. I paid for return shipping on the unopened unit, they credited my account very quickly and we pre-ordered the Surco with a competitive price match. We really like the Surco Hauler too! It's very handsome and I love the literal one-piecedness of it. I slid it in the receiver and put in the pin. My wife asked what the load rating was and promptly jumped up and down on it to test it for herself. No problems but I was surprised. I might put some highly reflective tape on the carrier. It's slim, sleek and black. Looks great but I don't want someone to drive into it. Vinc

surco hauler

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by L T K (Kennett, MO) — 2009-07-14 20:04:33

The surco hauler is very well built and overall I am very pleased with its quality. The only shortcoming is that it has some "play" from side to side after I attached the carrier to the hitch bar--it wobbles some. The bar fits the hitch receiver well. any suggestions on how to take this wobble out of the "fit"? Thanks

Great!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James B (Greenacres, FL) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Highlander — 2007-06-26 11:00:03

Came as advertised and I've already used many times this week. I will be ordering the attahement to flip it out of the way.

Sweet but sways

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jamesbones T (Brooklyn, NY) Reviewed for a 1995 — 2007-07-03 03:30:22

the unit is perfect for my suburban, there is a bit of sway though when rack is empty, it seems worse when in 90º Up position. I am ordering the 'anti-sway' attachment. Always happy with Autoanything Service. James T.

Luggage hauler

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William B (Colorado Springs, CO) Reviewed for a 2001 Lincoln Navigator — 2008-07-22 20:21:50

Love it so far and will put it to test end of August on trip from Colorado to Illinois...

surco hauler

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by craig p (Waynesville, OH) Reviewed for a 1996 Dodge Ramcharger — 2005-08-31 03:35:11

the sides could be taller. other than that i like it.