Your Cart Is Empty

Thule Transporter Cargo Box Customer Reviews

Average Rating

14 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

completely satisfied

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Craig A (Ormond Beach, FL) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford Explorer — 2012-04-20 02:47:39

It held a lot of items. Couldn't tell it was even on the vehicle while driving. Easy to put it on and take it off.

Tule Transporter Cargo Box

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gary F (Papillion, NE) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Durango — 2012-06-21 06:19:23

Very unique design cargo box in the tilt box, license plate adaptor and overall appearance. The only thing I would recommend changing is the attachment method to the hitch. It attaches to the receiver with a bolt; I would prefer to have a oin attachment so I could use my locking pin for extra security from possible theft.

Can't beat it for the price

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Milt H (Virginia Beach, VA) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford Freestyle — 2012-01-20 03:44:32

Excellent construction. Durable. Easy to put together, easy to use.

Appears to be very good quality

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steven V (WATERLOO, NY) Reviewed for a 2009 Jeep Grand Cherokee — 2012-12-08 19:35:23

At this point, I have only driven ten miles or so with the box installed. Assembly was straight forward and easy. The Good: * fits tight on vehicle -- no sway or rocking back and forth * looks great * vision only slightly impaired along bottom edge of back window * can still open tailgate without tipping Cargo Box down * under carrier frame heavier duty that expected Concerns: * prefer a 2" receiver instead of adaptor to 1 1/4" * a longer hitch bolt with hole and lock preferred

Holds a ton of stuff

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by alyson t (South Yarmouth, MA) Reviewed for a 2008 Lincoln Navigator — 2010-12-31 12:24:23

we use it in addition to a full size roof Thule for packing 7 skiers in a Navigator for a 5 day ski trip. Plenty of stuff to bring. This tailgate box does the trick. although relatively simple to assemble, directions could have been more precise on use of certain length bolts and washer placement. Easy to set into hitch, plug in tail light harness.It's necessary to mount the license plate holder on the box and relocate your plate to the box when in use. Folds down to allow liftgate to go up, but the box must be empty or light first.Worthwhile thing to have.

Best concept for flexibility and size

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeff L (Lexington, SC) — 2011-07-12 06:01:56

After receiving and putting together, very happy with quality and flexibility of the storage (I can use on both our Suburban and my Silverado) and the unit is very roomy, tough, and manageable to move / put on vehicle. I would recommend zip tying the additional wiring for the tailights since there is a bunch of extra (depending on where your wiring harness is). Only potential issue will be storage when not using (does take some space).

Excellent design - easy to install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ben R (Coeur D Alene, ID) Reviewed for a 2012 GMC Sierra — 2012-09-26 21:20:26

Well built, attractive and easy to install. Well worth the money if you need a little extra space. I particularly like the fact that the receiver fits both 1-1/2" and 2".

Transporter

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John M (Venice, FL) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Prius — 2008-02-13 05:05:01

Great!

Great Product!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Eric S (Allen Park, MI) Reviewed for a 2004 Chrysler PT Cruiser — 2007-11-14 16:25:40

Fast Delivery, easy assembly, and more room then I thought it would be. One of the best purchases I have made on the Net.

Thule Carrier

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by john m (Hedgesville, WV) Reviewed for a 2007 Dodge Durango — 2007-12-11 16:08:15

Excellent. Extremely large. We loaded 8 days clothing for 4 people in ours and drove 2000 miles total for the trip and no extra gas or any extra space needed in our vehicle.

An OK solution / alternative to a roof storage box

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael C (Vancouver, WA) Reviewed for a 2009 Volkswagen Touareg — 2012-12-15 21:30:51

Ordered this because my wife is short and wouldn't be able to reach a storage box on the top of our Touareg and we saw an RV with one of these boxes this fall and thought this would be a great alternative. The metal frame is very sturdy, however, the plastic container feels flimsy / weak. We have yet to really test this with significant weight, but running nearly empty it seems to ride quiet. The container is lockable, but does not come with a hitch lock (the Thule hitch lock is $40+... ouch)

review of thule cargo box

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Patrick B (Amery, WI) — 2011-06-22 09:16:50

The thule cargo box is excellent,very spacious don/t have to worry about theft as have lock.Very well constructed.

Handy Transporter Box Adds that Xtra Space

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Rahim J (Bradenton, FL) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford Escape — 2012-04-24 12:43:17

This cargo box is easy to install and gives you that extra space you need without causing much drag on your vehicle. We are pleased with this product and think it looks sharp on the back of our vehicle.

don't buy it if you have an H3- otherwise OK

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gared B (McKinney, TX) Reviewed for a 2008 Hummer H3 — 2011-06-23 19:30:37

I have a Hummer H3 and I was looking for a product that would give me added cargo space using a hitch solution so that I could have my roof rack free for transporting kayaks. I went to the Thule website and used their "Fit Guide" that tells consumers which Thule products will work for their vehicle. The website recommended the transporter cargo box. However once I received the product I found I could not open the back door as advertised even with the box in the tilted down position. The vertical portion of the frame gets in the way of the tire on the back of the vehicle. So then I had to buy a hitch extender so that the vertical portion of the frame would be futher back. Once I did that I could still only open the rear door half way. It's enough space to get in and out what I need, but still a bit cumbersome. In addition, I have to be careful now not to put too much weight in it so I don't create too much tongue weight with the box being extended so far back. The material for the cargo box is flimsier than I thought it would be. For the money, I was expecting better quality. I am not sure how well it is going to hold up over the long term. It's not bad though, just thought it would be a little more rubust and sturdy. Further, I was thinkging I would have been able to fit more cargo inside than what I actually can. I really wished I could have walked into a store and seen it myself instead of doing the entire process online. Now that it is not really what I want I can't just return it to store. Sure I could get a refund by I would have to pay for the shipping cost, which would be a high cost to me since it is such a large item. In addition I would have to go through the trouble of disassembling and re-packing. With the money I spent on the box plus the hitch extender, and still not being able to have the full intended functionality I wish I hadn't bought it. I could have just gotten a hitch extender, a regular hitch hauler, and a nice quality cargo box and I could have gotten the