Your Cart Is Empty

Bilstein Heavy Duty Shocks Customer Reviews

Average Rating

80 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Replaced existing Bilstein HD Shocks with 134,000 miles on them

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dan C (Canby, OR) Reviewed for a 1997 GMC C/K 1500 — 2011-08-16 12:54:27

What great shocks that last such a long time. I replaced all 4 and do notice a difference. It takes them so long to gradually wear down, but they were still pretty good even after 134,000 miles on them. I didn't realize the nose of my pickup dove a little bit until I put the new ones on. It stops without any dive. It seems to handle both curves and stops better, as well as rough bumping county maitained roads. Even with a lot of miles on them, the old ones worked well too, but new ones after this many miles is refreshing (to say the least). I'm expecting these will be the last shocks on this particular truck, but will definitely upgrade to Bilstein HDs again on future pick-ups I own if they don't already have them on.

Awesome

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by leonard h (Colorado Springs, CO) — 2011-09-18 15:13:24

Got Shocks at a reasonable price, you ged what you pay for!

very good

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William T (Lake Havasu City, AZ) Reviewed for a 1999 Ford F-250 — 2012-03-10 05:30:18

easy to deal with and fast shippig

Smooth Ride

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gary M (Killen, AL) Reviewed for a 2005 Scion xA — 2012-10-24 04:35:08

Installed new shocks over the weekend,,not to much of a challenge. Big surprise after removal of original shocks as to just how worn out they were. Should have done this install a few years/miles earlier. As with most purchases I perform on line reviews and Bilstein won hands done,,now as I can way. Would recommend to all.

Awesome

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Fran L (Guilford, CT) Reviewed for a 2004 Nissan Frontier — 2011-12-21 16:56:32

these shock are far superior to the OEM units. Very happy.

1996 F-250 Powerstroke

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Paul M (North Beach, MD) Reviewed for a 1996 Ford F-250 — 2012-08-01 06:21:05

I bought my truck used and it had about 145000 miles on the stock shocks. I got these because I was told they could handle the heavy loads and strain. I am more than pleased with their performance and would reccomend to anyone who is looking to not be thrown like a ragdoll in their truck. Just keep in mind to match the ends where the bolts go on the rear shock because they are opposite of what many other shocks have meaning the protective boot should be on the bottom.

Bilstein Heavy Duty Shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Claude M (Yerkes, KY) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Tundra — 2012-06-26 12:46:50

These shocks perform better than any other shock I have bought. They last years longer than any other shock. I drive my 2008 Toyota Tundra across miles of un-improved dirt roads to work and these shocks do great, and are smooth on open roads.

Bilstein shocks on '04 F250 4WD

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John E (Cocoa, FL) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-250 — 2011-07-14 04:17:55

Had Monroes put on front in NC abt 6wks ago. Couldn't get Bilsteins in timely fashion. They're OK but nothing special. Got home and ordered the Bilsteins for the rear. Big difference in ride stability. Haven't towed w/ them yet but gotta be a lot better than worn factory shocks ;~) Very happy so far.

Worth every penny spent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jacquelyne Y (Horseheads, NY) Reviewed for a 2007 Jeep Commander — 2011-10-13 20:29:32

Installed the struts/shocks on the front of my 2007 Jeep Commander in conjunction with a 2" lift from Fat Bob's Garage in Ogden Utah. The performance achieved is amazing; instant response in off-road conditions while not to stiff when driven on the highway. Highly recommend the product! Scott L. Reynolds

I love this shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jonathan D (Little Rock, AR) Reviewed for a 2003 Dodge Ram — 2012-02-18 08:51:58

My truck is 10 years old and it rides ruff but that all changed when I put this shocks on now it rides like the stock once again

Nice shocks!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Matt K (Lawson, MO) Reviewed for a 1995 Ford Explorer — 2012-08-28 15:56:43

Really stiffened up the ride on our 05 Excursion. Wasn't sure about the blue and yellow but it is not very noticable at all. I would definately recommend.

2010 Ranger Suspension

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by spiro v (Westlake, OH) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford Ranger — 2011-11-14 16:03:59

The 4cyl, 2wd Ranger is a very light vehicle and the front end suspension is incorrectly designed for high speed stability. The Bilstein shock replacement, fixed it! It is a pleasure to drive now! Thanks

Great!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William R (Leadville, CO) Reviewed for a 2002 GMC Sierra — 2012-09-05 10:12:30

My truck rides smoother that it did when it was new. Speed bumps and gutters are not a problem any more.

Bilstein for F350

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Greg B (Hagerstown, MD) Reviewed for a 2002 Ford F-350 — 2011-11-16 02:46:15

Install was easy. Well made product.

Great Ride

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William C (Woodstock, GA) — 2013-02-19 12:00:49

These shocks makes the truck ride better than stock shocks

Night and Day

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jason H (Williston, ND) Reviewed for a 2008 Dodge Ram — 2011-11-12 02:21:59

I replaced my factory shocks with bilstein HD's and my ride improved 100% well worth the money!!! Fan for life.

These are the BOMB!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ANDREW J. L (AIEA, HI) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy Silverado — 2012-11-24 10:00:58

Bilsteins are the standard and these are no different! Replacing or upgrading your shocks is the easiest way to improve your ride. My 2003 Duramax diesel still had original rear shocks and it felt like I dropped a kidney everytime I hit a pothole! Then I put these 4600, heavies in and man, talk about a big difference! Now a big truck is a big truck and will never ride like a car, but these things just take the shock out of the bumps and holes. Bilstein is the BOMB!

Great Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James F (New Bern, NC) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Avalanche — 2012-01-10 13:49:35

I replaced Bilstein Heavy Duty Shocks with the same Product. It was great project to do. I trust This product. Ride performance is excelent.

Great shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Murphy J (Independence, MO) Reviewed for a 2000 Toyota Tundra — 2011-08-04 17:04:56

I put the Bilstein shocks on a 2000 Toyota Tundra 2wd, and I can honestly say, it feels like I am driving a new truck. My truck handles so nice, I am totally happy.

BEST SHOCKS MADE. WAS LIKE A NEW CAR WITH THEM

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by joseph j (Phenix City, AL) — 2011-08-27 15:50:35

BEST SHOCK MAKE WAS LIKE A NEW CAR WITH THEM

Great shocks!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by maxwell m (Prior Lake, MN) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy C/K 2500 — 2012-05-11 09:58:28

Install was easy on my silverado. They ride better than new and are just right firmness wise. Bilstein is the best shock manufacturer and reccomend the to everybody!

Excellent shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Carmelo R (Caguas, PR) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota Tacoma — 2013-02-07 18:13:36

I bought these shocks for my Tacoma and they have made a great difference in my ride and height of the vehicle. I recommend them.

amazing

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ethan l (Hartland, MI) Reviewed for a 2003 GMC Sierra — 2012-07-29 04:29:13

theses shocks are by far the best shocks ever had, made a world of differnce on my 169,000 mile truck. It made the ride feel new again.

Great shocks!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gary A (Meridian, ID) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-150 — 2012-03-20 06:39:45

I just replaced the OEM shocks on my 2004 F150 after 74,000 miles. The rough jarring ride is gone, the ride is much smoother, and the handling is better than it ever was with the harsh OEM shocks that came on the FX4. I would highly recommend Bilsteins for your F150, or any other vehicle for that matter! What a difference they made!

New shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeffrey F (Griswold, CT) — 2012-01-03 05:26:30

I had 150k on the Ram 3500 truck and the front end was starting to bounce a bit. Installed the Bilstein shocks and the ride is better that new.

excellent shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert M (Haltom City, TX) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tundra — 2012-04-02 19:24:08

outstanding shocks, of course the rear were easy to install on a 2007 tundra, the fronts a little more difficult. i would reccomend talkin to toyota before taking on the installation. after getting info fronts took about 45 min each with a wall spring compressor. as far as the performance of the shock it was hard for me to tell cuz i put new tires and shocks and fnt end alin at the same time. handles like a new truck, actually better

Installed on a 2004 Dodge Ram 3500

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian S (Fleming Island, FL) Reviewed for a 2004 Dodge Ram — 2012-03-09 20:34:54

Replaced original shocks that had 200,000 mileson them. Way, way, way over due. This is the best the truck has felt on the road. Super happy. Bilestein for ever.

Bilstein Shocks on My 2008 F-450...

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by E Ashley F (Costa Mesa, CA) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford F-450/550 — 2011-12-31 10:37:16

Very nice shock for my 2008 Ford F-450 Crew Cab Dually truck. Highly regarded as the best for this line of trucks by many on the internet blogs, who own the superduty line. Easy to install - having my small floor jack made things very easy, as these are a gas shock, and you must re-compress them back in to reach the mount holes. I merely installed the top half, put my jack under the bottom, cranked them up, and in they went. 2 people could accomplish the task as well, but I installed mine by myself, with all wheels on the truck, and the truck on the ground. Very nice riding shock. A semi-firm ride, nice control over the very rigid F-450 Dually suspension, but these shocks tame the rough sections of the Southern California freeways (and the freeways are getting very bad around here with California's economic woes). I highly recommend this shock to anyone who owns the superduty line of truck. Autoanything had very fast shipping, no hassles, great communication, great pricing, and all around I am very satisfied with my decision on the Bilsteins, and purchasing from Autoanything. Will do more business with both companies again in the future. E A F Orange County, CA

2000 Trans Am WS6 Convertible - Amazing Rear Shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by eric r (Thousand Oaks, CA) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2012-04-24 07:34:10

Forget about any instructions, and for this installation they would have been handy. This is not a fun car to find the top bolts on. But these are definitely worth the effort and the price. The ride is stiffened considerably but this car is not built for a soft, comfortable ride; the handling is absolutely amazing; best I have ever experienced with only a shock swap. Immediately ordered a set for the front and looking forward to a similar positive change.

Shocking relief

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin C (Beaver Dams, NY) — 2011-09-10 05:36:36

I recently purchased my Bilstein HD shocks all the way around for my 2006 GMC 2500HD Duramax. I chose AutoAnything because of being satisfied with their service in the past. I chose Bilstein because GMC used them for the original factory shocks. After 108,000 miles of service I decided to change them. What an improvement. Ride, stability, confidence and comfort. Thanks so much.

BETTER than Any of their competitors

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Lincoln C (Boston, MA) — 2011-11-15 17:14:46

15 yo Tahoe rides better than new! put new shocks 12 months ago another brand, not much imorovement, and did not LAST. Bilsteins are unbelievably EXCELLENT!

Bilstein Heavy Duty Shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Lauire B (Gardner, KS) — 2011-11-07 09:39:55

Great replacement LT/SUV shock, restored handling and driving control. Improved rough road response and brake dive. Great price for great equipment. BUy these shochs you will be amazed.

Bilstein HD Shocks for Nissan Pathfinder

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by JEFF N (Federal Way, WA) Reviewed for a 1999 BMW 3-Series — 2011-11-11 01:33:10

These shocks were a great replacement for the electric adjustable shocks that came on my Nissan Pathfinder. The ride is very comfortable and compliant. It is like a new vehicle.

What A Diffarance

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ERIC O (WINGDALE, NY) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy C/K 3500 — 2011-12-13 07:32:02

There is or was a diffrance in the ride and handling of the dump truck with all new Bilstein Heavy Dudy Shocks. The ride improved a lot over the factory shock, truck only has 26k on it love the shocks

EXCELLENT SHOCKS, YOU CAN'T GET A BETTER RIDE

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by john m (burleson, TX) Reviewed for a 2000 GMC Sierra — 2012-06-22 14:25:39

I HAVE HAD SEVERAL DIFFERENT BRANDS OF SHOCKS ON MY 2000 GMC SIERRA. THE LAST PAIR ON THE FRONT WERE MONROE SENSA TRAC, THE BEST MONROE SELLS. AFTER A YEAR, YOU COULD FEEL EVERY BUMP LIKE RIDING ON SQUARE TIRES. THESE SHOCKS TOOK ALL THE BUMPS AND SHIMMIES AWAY.

Great shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by sue f (Allen, TX) Reviewed for a 1997 Dodge Ram — 2012-09-02 13:30:38

Took our 3/4 ton dodge that rode like an old lumber wagon to floating on air well worth the money to keep an truck feeling new

Excellent quality

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael F (Paulina, LA) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Tundra — 2012-11-24 07:34:46

Bought these to replace OEM shocks on the rear end after 104,000 miles. The ride is improved much better. A lot less bounce than the originals. I also have Aftermarket air shocks on the rear which improve the ride when hauling heavy loads.

Back in control

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steve L (Fort Lee, VA) Reviewed for a 2004 Nissan Titan — 2012-11-06 05:35:57

I procrastinated for too many miles and months but finally changed out my shocks. Based on others expieriences Bilstein was the recoommendation of choice. I'm not disapointed, not only is it a more comfortable ride, my truck feels more in control and has a new feel after 100K miles.

Very Nice Shocks!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert H (Sugar Land, TX) Reviewed for a 2003 Ford F-250 — 2012-07-26 08:50:48

I drive a 2003 Ford F-250 with a 7.3l Diesel motor. I pull a travel trailer and a boat and these shocks work great whether I'm pulling toys through the hill country around Lake Travis or just driving down the freeway with nothing on the hitch.

Outstanding, Top of the line shocks.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mike S (Saint Johns, FL) Reviewed for a 2001 Dodge Ram — 2012-08-23 09:33:13

I purchased these shocks after discussing them with a representative at AutoAnything, as a replacement for my original stock shocks on my 2001 Dodge Ram truck that has ONLY 100,000 original miles. Had I known how much smoother the ride was with these Bilstein's, I would have bought them at 40,000 miles. Great shocks, and AutoAnything had them at my door in UNDER 3 days. Great service.

Great shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark G (Indianapolis, IN) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan Titan — 2011-11-30 10:38:32

Great shocks. Notice the difference already.

Perfect Fit

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Paul P (LIVINGSTON, TX) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-450/550 — 2012-09-26 06:39:30

I Pull a 18K pound 5th wheel with my truck and the ride when empty with the stock Rancho shocks were harsh at best. After installing the Bilsteins both my wife and I noticed a difference. The ride was more analog vs. the digital ride of the stock Rancho shock.

2000 Ford F-150 Shock Replacement

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Adam L (OOLTEWAH, TN) Reviewed for a 2000 Ford F-150 — 2013-01-13 18:49:36

These shocks are great! They were very simple to put on, once I got the proper tools. All in with shocks and new wrenches, I spent $350 and about 5 hours total replacing my shocks. If you have an impact wrench that can reach in very small & tight spaces, you could cut that time down to about 1 hour. Ride quality is amazing compared to my old shocks with 165,000 miles on them :)

Bilstein HD shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Beth S (Gloversville, NY) — 2013-01-07 12:41:50

The shocks perform great! My Duramax thanks you!

Love'em

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by seth r (Concord, CA) — 2011-10-16 22:22:18

I installed the Bilstein HD's on all four corners of my Suburban and the ride is tight, not hard or harsh at all

Replacement Shocks for 2004 Subburban

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jody C (Beaumont, TX) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Suburban — 2012-12-03 15:46:55

The Bilstein shocks are are a supreme replacement shocks engineered in Germany with quality parts.

Bilstein H D Shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Raymond P (Glendale, AZ) Reviewed for a 2000 Chevy Corvette — 2013-01-27 16:48:35

Great 50 % less body roll car sticks like a rail ride not as smooth you get a ride like a vette should

Excellent value in highway performance

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian M (Petaluma, CA) Reviewed for a 2002 Dodge Durango — 2011-11-17 21:29:05

1. Application 2002 Dodge Durango 161,000 miles. Stock ride height, wheels and tire size. 2. Priced same as Rancho 7000 3. Piston rod is not massive in diameter. 4. Gas pressure makes for a little challenge to compress on install. 5. Wheels are held against road irregularities consistently.

NJOYNCO says "Love These Bad Boys and Highly Recommended"

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Travis B (Colorado Springs, CO) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Colorado — 2012-09-13 00:45:50

Lets just say, immediately I can tell the difference from the OE stocks that were on my '08 Colorado!! I priced and did my homework (as far as reviews on these) looking for the best as we all do and this site alone has given me straight confidence in purchasing what I need for my truck and my other vehicle. Even as I'm typing this review I'm looking forward to the $10 off coupon for me to purchase some badly needed Ceramic brake pads from POSI. Thank you Auto Anything, you have a buyer in deed!

Great deal

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Thomas H (EATONVILLE, WA) — 2012-12-20 21:44:28

Super fast shipping, great deal. I'll shop here again

Great buy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by lancer e (Marysville, OH) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-250 — 2012-03-09 14:25:56

Love these shocks. Great ride and look great.

Bilsteins are great

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael W (Paso Robles, CA) Reviewed for a 2004 Dodge Ram — 2012-01-11 19:53:43

No more bounce and they almost completely eliminated body roll in curves. It does not feel like I'm driving a lifted truck. I've bought them before and I'll buy them again.

atvmudfinder

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ronald W (Clarksburg, WV) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Silverado — 2012-01-04 08:19:49

I READ ALOT OF REVIEWS ON OTHER SHOCKS BEFORE I PURCHASED MY BILSTEIN H.D I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THESE SHOCKS. WISH I WOULD HAVE GOT THEM SOONER.THE RIDE SO MUCH BETTER THEN STOCK.MY TRUCK FEELS LIKE IT SHOULD I CAN GO INTO A CURVE AND YOU CAN FEEL THE TIRES PLANTED TO THE ROAD.I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND BILSTEIN TO ANYONE.

Nice shocks!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ryan L (Averill Park, NY) Reviewed for a 2002 Toyota 4Runner — 2012-06-07 05:01:20

Put these on my 2002 4Runner, and it feels like a new vehicle! I love the way it drives now, and the traction is 10x better. Highly recommend.

Is like driving a new Tundra after they were installed!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Douglas K (Dayton, OH) Reviewed for a 2000 Toyota Tundra — 2012-09-08 03:57:52

Replaced my stock shocks and struts with these Bilstein Heavy Dutys' at 135K miles. Should have done it at about 50K miles ago. The difference can't be described. Handling and cornering is the most noteable improvement and all I can say is WOW, what an improvement! Get you some of these, they are awesome.

Shweet Shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Alexander O (EAGLE, CO) Reviewed for a 2004 Nissan Titan — 2012-11-03 11:55:41

These were a great price and showed up quickly at my door. They work well and are smooth operators. Great replacement for my old Ranchos that blew out. Buy them.

99 Surburban 1500

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by james h (davis, CA) Reviewed for a 1999 GMC Suburban — 2012-03-10 15:46:14

Really are a great set of shocks. Worth the extra $15-20 over the comparable shocks. Really are great on my truck. The only downside is shipping took forever!!!!!! I ordered got a shipping date in 7 days within a 5 day window, then they notified me on the last day of that window it would be another 10 days. It only took 4 of those days, but it was too much. Great shocks. Reasonable cost, forever shipping. You decide.

Bilstein Shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Frank B (Tijeras, NM) — 2012-09-12 13:38:20

I installed the Bilstein shock on my 2000 4runner. They are performing very well. Bilstein makes an excellent shcck and Autoanything beat everybody's price with free shipping.

Rear and Front Bilstein Hvy Duty Shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by JAMES J (Woodbridge, VA) Reviewed for a 1999 Ford F-150 — 2012-02-26 20:48:18

Got these to replace my Ford stock shocks. I had actually replaced my front shocks 3 years ago and noticed a little difference then. However, there's a huge difference now with the Bilsteins. My 1999 F-150 almost feels like a new truck...however, there's a few other things that need replacing. Definitely would recommend these as an huge upgrade to stock replacements.

Bilstein HD Shocks on 2006 Dodge Ram 2500 Diesel Mega-Cab

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert M (North Stonington, CT) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2012-01-24 08:29:15

These shocks were really easy to install. Living in New England, the pot holes and frost heaves are immense. I used to bounce over the bumps and have trouble keeping the back tires in contact with the road. These new shocks definitely smoothed out the ride, lessened the roll when taking corners, and keep the tires where they need to be...on the road! The difference in ride is immeasurable.

Bilstein Bomb Bomb

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mike C (SNOQUALMIE, WA) Reviewed for a 2001 Jeep Grand Cherokee — 2012-10-29 20:50:30

Bilstein Heavy Dutys are awesome. My Jeep rides like a truck. A darn comfortable one. Low body roll around turns and these shocks suck up the huge missing chunks out of the asphalt like you have pillows where your tires should be. Great purchase. Great price.

Smooth as butter

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Andrew J (North Salt Lake, UT) Reviewed for a 1997 Toyota 4Runner — 2012-06-04 21:34:23

I love my new Bilstein shocks! They are so smooth and make a world of difference. I only did the front end, but now I'm noticing such a difference in my front vs my back that I need to get the rear done. I highly recommend this product!

4runner install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Louie B (Ukiah, CA) Reviewed for a 1997 Toyota 4Runner — 2012-05-22 07:47:43

my customer was very happy with these shocks after insallation.

Time will tell

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin A (Granite Falls, WA) Reviewed for a 2001 Ford F-350 — 2012-10-15 20:48:08

Installed the shocks in less than an hour, and I do not work on my vehicles very much. My only question since instructions were not included was, do I leave the zip tie on boot or not. Called auto anything and was helped immediately. Theses are replacing stock shock on front of 2001 f350 7.3L turbo diesel. Looking forward to better off road ride looking for deer and elk, and pulling fifth wheel.

2006 Tacoma 4 x 4

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Charles C (Gatesville, TX) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tacoma — 2012-11-22 07:43:19

Just replaced the rear shocks with a set of Bilsteins and could tell a difference right away. It stiffened the back end back up and I can tell when I'm off road now. I just can't wait until I get the fromt shocks replaced. They lived up to the Bilstein reputation.

Good, but not as good as I expected.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Christopher L (Lake Grove, NY) — 2011-10-22 21:33:54

A lot of people were raving about how great these shocks were on their Xterras. After doing my research and hearing different comments like, "why did I wait so long", "I should have put these on from day one", "handling is a night and day difference"...etc. I had very high expectations of these shocks on my Xterra. After replacing the stock ones that had 54,000 miles, I oviously expected it to be night and day. After taking off the originals, I noticed that they had little resistence compared to the new ones, and when left compressed, 3 out of the 4 never re-expanded! I then became real excited about the new shocks. Once installed, I took it for a test drive, and to my surprise, the difference was slight! I have to say, the ride, especially over bumps, feels more controllable and solid. But, other than that, I still get sloppy handling on the turns, and a lot of nose dive when braking. I didn't expect sports car handling, but I did expect a substantial improvement. All in all, I have to say I'm satisfied with the purchase, but just wish that it was a bigger difference in the ride. I assume that I only got a negligable improvement because it's an SUV with a high center of gravity, a lot of weight, and high profile tires.

replacement shocks, removed crappy kyb's

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by william s (Elgin, TX) Reviewed for a 1999 Chevy Tahoe — 2012-04-21 10:11:32

was serious bobblehead with kyb shocks, after i removed them noticed when compressed, they didnt push back out, replaced with the best I know, top of the line Bilstein shocks. their a bit stiff, but could be the tires, I know that i wont have to replace them again.

positive

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James S (Interlachen, FL) Reviewed for a 2003 Ford F-250 — 2011-09-21 03:41:38

There great other then the way they look under front of my 03 F250 upside down,the ribbed boot is on bottom and bows like a bananna.

Final new shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kenneth L (Renton, WA) Reviewed for a 2000 Ford F-250 — 2012-07-23 15:55:43

What a diference my old shocks were shot the bilstein are instant inprovement. Much better handling at high speed.

Allen wrench needed

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert C (Goleta, CA) Reviewed for a 1997 Ford F-150 — 2012-08-25 22:04:21

Bilstein rubber bumpers are half the size of the original equipment(OE) Ford bumpers(grommets)and more difficult to line up during installation. The front Bilstein shocks are about 1 inch shorter, when fully extended, than the OE Ford shocks. Also the Ford shock has a nut on the bottom of the top shaft that can be easily held with an open end wrench while turning the top nut with a socked but the Bilstein has an allen wrench hole on top, 50 turns with an open end wrench is not good.

F250 7.3l

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ann m (Apache Junction, AZ) Reviewed for a 2002 Ford F-250 — 2012-08-03 05:16:28

The bed of my truch would bounce going down the freeway @ 70 just put tires on it so was sure it wasn't them so I bought these shocks wow what a diffrents that made I meen night and day smooth a great shock deffently worth the dough.

Vast improvement

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Todd B (Norristown, PA) Reviewed for a 2004 Dodge Dakota — 2011-11-11 20:39:09

The Bilstein shocks are such a improvement over the original shocks. I only replaced the front, and now cant wait until i replace the back to actually see what i have. But i am satisfied with the front replacements.

Off road

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kyle Z (Hays, KS) Reviewed for a 1994 GMC C/K 1500 — 2013-02-07 08:56:01

These shocks will keep your tires on the road, good handling and stability, but they do ride a little rough. Overall I'm impressed on how they respond to road conditions.

All the difference in the world

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by rob l (myrtle beach, SC) Reviewed for a 1997 Ford F-250 — 2012-10-09 08:19:56

I can't compare these to any others besides the worn out oem's I replaced. However, if you've ever towed a boat on a tight two lane with rough patches everywhere and found yourself constantly oversteering because the bumps send you every which a way and you darn near run off the road or run somebody else off, you will benefit greatly from these shocks. The keep your tires stuck to the road tracking straight. The difference in control is huge.

shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steve R (Filer, ID) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-250 — 2012-12-06 07:26:50

They were easy to install. Don't like the way the boot bunches up. Haven't really notice a difference in the ride, hoping when I get the rear ones it will make a difference. Had a 135000 on original so these should help

Bilstein Heavy Duty Shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tim P (Chandler, AZ) Reviewed for a 2002 Ford F-250 — 2012-10-08 11:32:55

I have been driving on them for a week or so I like them but I had Pro comps before and they felt really good (they had 80,000 miles on them and needed replacing) so I don't know if these are worth the higher costs I will know for sure after towing my 5th wheel trailer across the country in Dec.

easy install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dianna D (Yucaipa, CA) Reviewed for a 2007 Hummer H3 — 2011-10-24 19:43:15

Easy to install. Don't like the colors. They should make them black or chrome so they go with any vehicle. My Hummer is red and the yellow and blue don't look very good. They fit perfect in my stock Hummer H3.

Stabilizing a Truck Camper on a 1/2-Ton Truck

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by GREGORY W (Anaheim, CA) Reviewed for a 2009 Dodge Ram — 2012-06-12 16:00:38

The OE shocks gave out after 50K miles due to off-road driving and periodically loading my truck down with an 1,600# truck camper. New Bilstein's stabilized the vehicle at higher speeds.

bilstein shock absorbers

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by douglas s (Tucson, AZ) — 2012-09-20 11:09:35

Installed these on my 2005 HD Silverado. We tow a 10,000 pound trailer. The shocks reduced the 'bouncing' I experienced while at hiway speeds. Also rides great while unloaded. No harsh ride at all. Highly recommended.

Read This Before You Purchase

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Paul T (PHOENIXVILLE, PA) Reviewed for a 2004 Toyota Sequoia — 2012-10-25 16:08:55

Don't waist your money on these shocks. They don't work. Following installation of these on the rear of my vehicle with a coil rear suspension, I found the rear of the vehicle springing with almost no damping from the shocks. The next morning I purchased another pair from my local Toyota dealer (same price). I installed them and they work great. I made this expensive mistake. I can't speak for every application, but if you are driving a Toyota truck, factory shocks will work much better.