Your Cart Is Empty

Rancho RS5000 Shocks Customer Reviews

Average Rating

80 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

timbokhan

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Timothy L (Carrollton, TX) Reviewed for a 2004 — 2006-08-19 00:07:49

If you are looking for control and a firm ride, these are a quality product.

99 GMC Sierra Z71 4x4, 69,000 miles

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Thomas T (Bismarck, ND) Reviewed for a 1999 GMC Sierra — 2011-09-06 19:27:59

Super easy install, did all 4 shocks in less than an hour and a half....didn't even jack it up. Ride is a little stiff on small bumps like cracks and expansion joints, but no more bouncing and jiggling like the stock shocks. I've hated the way this truck rode from the day I bought it and only drove it if I absolutely needed to. Now I can't wait to drive it. Rides like a new truck now.

Nice Ride

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by mark s (Niskayuna, NY) Reviewed for a 1997 Dodge Ram — 2011-12-03 06:47:59

1997 Dodge Ram 1500- My truck had original shocks on it which made it impossible to take them off without a torch and impact wrench.I see alot of reviews say its easy but that all depends on the tools you have and how long the old ones have been on and I live in the Northeast.All I can say is I had to have them installed at a shop 240.00 dollars later they were on and they ride great and look good too.I just wish I could have broke those bolts loose myself but I would do it again.

great shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Shane O (Cordova, MD) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford Explorer — 2009-05-04 20:38:12

much better ride than the stock shocks

Improved ride!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William V K (Holly Springs, MS) Reviewed for a 1997 Dodge Dakota — 2008-09-13 14:46:57

After putting the shocks on my truck the ride has been much better, without so much rough ride, a lot smoother. I appreciate the saleman taking time to help me in buying them.

Great !!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Larry R (Fort Riley, KS) Reviewed for a 2004 Dodge Ram — 2006-09-09 21:03:10

Great improvemnet over stock shocks!!!!

Very pleased with results

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William V (Perkasie, PA) Reviewed for a 2001 Ford Expedition — 2007-01-24 06:20:53

After installing new tires some 10K miles ago, the Exp. seemed way too bouncy on back roads. Originally I assumed it was the tires, but finally though about new shocks with the milti-valve design. At 80K miles, installing the Rancho's has made a big difference and I'm very pleased with the results. No more excessive bounce, and the Exp. even has improved stearing response.

2004 Toyota Tacoma 4X4 TRD

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gene M (Manchester, CT) Reviewed for a 2004 Toyota Tacoma — 2009-10-10 04:48:02

After 71K miles it is hard to remember the feel of the OE shocks, but with new Rancho RS5000 shocks on all four corners the ride is fantastic. Cornering is better, and there is less sway in cross winds on highway. I'll be testing them on some off-road conditions this weekend and I know that I won't be disappointed.

Significant improvement

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by CARL T (Hauppauge, NY) Reviewed for a 2001 Ford F-150 — 2006-09-21 08:08:02

Made a major difference in the handling with a much firmer ride that was welcomed

rat stw ok

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ralph p (stillwater, OK) Reviewed for a 2000 Chevy Silverado — 2007-12-19 09:19:48

i've used rancho shocks on lots of trucks for many years,alsothe steering dampersi've never been more pleased with any other product, they will do what they say and are always still on the truck when i replase it you get what you pay for and they last. great product-good price

KSK

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Karl K (Chesapeake, VA) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy Suburban — 2009-01-18 16:39:15

The Rancho shocks make my Suburban ride 110% better!

nice shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John M (Arlington, TX) Reviewed for a 2000 Chevy Silverado — 2008-07-15 07:07:23

Installed these on a 2000 Z71 Silverado - instant ride improvement. Good quality, nice looks. Install was a bit challenging in front - plus I wasn't sure how the dust boot was to be installed on the front shocks, but I figured it out. Good shocks for the money, I'm happy. Hope they last a long time.

Engineer

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gary R (Elmhurst, IL) Reviewed for a 1987 Ford F-250 — 2010-05-26 11:09:35

We are quite pleased with Rancho shocks on our F250 Ford pickup. We tow a 6000 lb. car trailer and had minimum sway on the truck. They handle the F250 well with the load onit.

Avalanche 1500 4X4

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William C (Jacksonville, FL) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Avalanche — 2010-12-30 05:37:13

I live 1/2 mile off the main road, my driveway is basically a hunt road ! Over the past three years my original Bilstein shocks have been destroyed ! So far, the new Ranchos have brought the truck back to the smoothness I recall when it bought it in 2006. Ive also noticed a huge difference on the main roads here in West Virginia which are rather rough in spots due to the weather. The real test will come in a year or so to see how they hold up but as for now....so far so good !!

Great Shocks!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brad B (Manhattan, KS) Reviewed for a 2000 Ford F150 — 2007-08-21 10:11:58

Put these shocks on my 2000 F150 4x4 I could tell a difference with just the fronts on! The rears made it even better. If you are looking for a great shock at a decent price these are it!

RS5000 Shocks 1997 Chevrolet Tahoe 2Dr 4WD

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by robert f (Tucson, AZ) Reviewed for a 1997 Chevy Tahoe — 2011-04-28 12:59:10

Great shock. No more bouncing up and down. Ride is firm, but not harsh. Another great product and deal from autoanything.com

Great Shocks for my Ford F250

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jerry H (Concord, NC) Reviewed for a 2001 Ford F-250 — 2007-11-16 11:07:59

I had put these on a Grand Cherokee that I have and loved them so I ordered them for my F250. Very easy to install. Took about 45 minutes. I could immediately tell the difference. Much smoother and better handling right off the bat.

RS5000 Shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John C (Port Deposit, MD) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy Silverado — 2010-07-04 15:01:26

Since the shocks i replaced had 85k miles on them (original to the truck) my ride performance increased dramatically!! The truck doesn't feel like it's "floating" anymore, truck stops and takes off better and my wife is surprised at how comfortable the ride is now - she used to refer to my truck as the kidney buster. I decided to install these myself after i got a quote from my garage - they wanted $265 to install these!!!! that's more than i paid for the shocks. install was very straight forward, no instructions needed. overall, i'm very satisfied with my new shocks!!!

Great shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jamie N (Fort Mitchell, AL) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-150 — 2008-04-14 08:04:22

I purchased the front struts and rear shocks. Great ride. Soft on the bumps and smooth on the road better than factory!

corncob

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Forist G (Dacono, CO) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-150 — 2009-07-31 18:11:36

amazing difference from the original which were completely worn out at 65k feels like a new and stronger truck. very easy to install and fit perfect. thanks rancho !!

great shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by benjamin m (North Andover, MA) Reviewed for a 2002 Ford F350 — 2006-10-21 06:34:20

i replaced my original shocks with Rancho RS5000. these new shocks give a better ride with the feel of the road.no sway - better control for my F-350

RS5000 shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gelasio R (Imperial, CA) Reviewed for a 2000 Nissan Frontier — 2007-12-12 15:51:58

I felt the smoothness just after were installed. My truck rides like new. I am happy!

2000 Blazer and Rancho RS5000

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dwight R (Waterford, MI) Reviewed for a 2000 Chevy Blazer — 2012-08-12 10:08:19

My Blazer has 112K on original Bilstein shocks. I just bought the blazer last month. New balljoints, CV joint, Pitman and idler arm. That got the Blazer going straight and not clunking, but still wallowed around due to shocks. New shocks made the Blazer ride and handle like new! They are a little stiff, but it's a 4x4. The Blazer no longer squats with weight in the cargo area and doesn't bounce. I am VERY happy with the purchase and would recommend them to anyone!!!

I Got What I was Looking For

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David M (Cary, NC) — 2007-10-26 04:56:34

I was looking to dampen the excessive bouncing, floating feeling of my truck on the road (no...my old shocks weren't bad, it's been like that since it was new). These shocks filled the bill. They not only kept a smooth ride, but my truck now seems more connected to the road, with a solid ride. I'd recommend these to anyone.

My truck rides a lot better with the RS5000's

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Larry B (Brunswick, ME) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-150 — 2008-01-03 14:15:11

My son and I installed Rancho RS5000 shocks and struts on my 2004 F-150 FX4 Off Road truck. They went on easily and the improvement in ride quality is great. You will need a strong spring compressor for the struts as the springs on this truck are heavy duty. The rear shocks are on the outside of the frame and very easy to work on. AutoAnything sent them in a timely manner and their service was top-notch.

new shocks for the Tahoe

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Lester C (Gold Beach, OR) Reviewed for a 2000 Mercury Sable — 2007-06-12 21:20:25

I put the Rancho shocks on my 97' 2 door 4WD Tahoe. It is amazing how stable it is and how great the ride is now. I am very happy with these shocks. and the price at auto anything was great.

Great Racho shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by jorge o (San Diego, CA) Reviewed for a 1999 Ford Expedition — 2007-07-09 13:07:57

These shocks are great I could really feel the difference when I driving.

Great Shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Debbie T (Ramona, CA) Reviewed for a 1997 Ford F-350 — 2010-03-03 08:53:52

Just got them and I love them. Made my truck ride alot smoother.

A very good product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Leonard J (Rockledge, FL) Reviewed for a 2001 GMC Sierra — 2010-06-24 09:23:55

Availability, price, performance, and ease of installation makes the RS5000 a great buy.

Ranchos on my colorado

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by SANDI E (Baxter, TN) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Colorado — 2010-12-31 10:07:54

I purchased a set of 4 Rancho shocks for my 2005 Chevy Colorado...I had a friend put them on for me and it didnt take long at all...hardest part was getting the dust covers on the rear shocks....I have taken a 600 mile road trip since the installation and i can definately tell a big difference in the ride...very smooth ...as for you your customer service...it is super...i ordered the shocks on sat and they were here on mon...thank you for a very positive experience all the way around...happy new yr

larry

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Larry M (Republican City, NE) Reviewed for a 1993 Ford F-250 — 2010-11-13 13:37:26

Installed them on an older 1993 F250. They are performing very well on rough roads and trails. Great value and they are nice looking as well.

Great!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Paul M (North Beach, MD) Reviewed for a 1996 Ford F-250 — 2011-10-26 16:55:54

Awesome

F350 new shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Saul G (Pecos, TX) Reviewed for a 1997 Ford F-350 — 2011-08-24 21:54:46

I use my f350 ford on really bad dirt roads working on drilling rigs in West Texas it would wear out my shocks really fast. I install these RANCHO shocks on my truck and its been riding alot smoother. I also used it to pull my 3 horse gooseneck trailer to team ropings

Great Shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jimmy B (Boaz, AL) Reviewed for a 1990 Chevy C/K 1500 — 2011-07-21 07:09:27

The Rancho 5000 shocks are preforming great, just installed them, it only took about 2 hours. So far they have inproved the feel of my trucks ride, however this hunting season is when they will really be put to the test.

Rancho Shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brett R (Petaluma, CA) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-350 — 2010-11-13 20:06:12

Replaced old Rancho Shocks with the RS5000 they work great and were easy to install.

Great Shocks!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brad R (Snyder, TX) Reviewed for a 2003 Ford F150 — 2006-12-07 06:13:02

I've never put anything but decent Monroe's or the eqivalent on my vehicles, so when I broke a shock on my f-150 I decided to go with something a little different this time. I replaced the rear shocks with RS5000s and it made such a difference that I bought a set for the front the next day. To tell you the difference in performance, I have an xm radio that is poorly braced on my dash. So when I go down washboard roads(every day) it about tears itsself off the dash. Since I installed the Ranchos I hardly see it shake at all. This is a great suspension upgrade that really isn't that expensive to do. I highly recommend it for a pickup or SUV....don't know about smaller cars.

All arond great shock!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Scott W (Twin Lakes, WI) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-450/550 — 2010-06-22 17:49:01

Rancho RS5000s are great for all 4x4 Needs, off road or highway!

Rancho Shocks on Chevy s10 PU

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Thomas R (Silver Lake, WI) Reviewed for a 2001 Chevy S10 Pickup — 2011-10-30 07:43:48

Nice stable ride, much better than the ones that came with the Truck.

AWESOME

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by JOHN H (Spring, TX) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Colorado — 2010-12-15 05:15:45

I INSTALLED THESE ON MY TRUCK AND NOTICED A DIFFERENCE RIGHT AWAY. AWESOME SHOCK.

Excellent ride and stability

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David M (Pioneer, CA) — 2009-01-27 05:02:38

I had load assist shocks on my truck. The ride was rough and not very stable. The rancho shocks give a very stable and smooth ride.

Overall a good shock

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by eric r (Thousand Oaks, CA) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2011-01-25 06:54:20

Put a set on the front of my Ram 1500 at about 35,000 miles - big improvement in ride and handling over the OE. Put them on the rear at 42,000 becuase OE were a little bouncy. Ride a little stiffer, but firmed it up nicely - I recomend them. Installation like any other shock but not gas charged.

2005 Chevy 2500 HD 4x4

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kurt O (Lake Placid, FL) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Silverado — 2009-01-21 11:43:26

Replaced my stock shocks with the Rancho RS5000. I travel for bass tournaments all over SE United States. These shocks gave me a great ride with easy installation. Thank You AutoAnything Kurt, Lake Placid Fl

Made a noticable difference in handling.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David C (Lago Vista, TX) Reviewed for a 1986 GMC Sierra — 2010-11-29 08:22:14

Great shocks for an older truck, reasonably priced, and made quite a difference in the overall handling.

2002 Frontier

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Willard J (Dallas, TX) Reviewed for a 2002 Nissan Frontier — 2010-05-04 06:47:56

The shocks arrived quickly, and I was able to remove my old shocks and installed the new RS5000's in less than 2 hrs. Great experience. Haven't been able to get my wife out of the truck since.

leveling the Mega cab

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Don F (Bayfield, CO) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2011-07-08 06:04:20

Level the Dodge over extended the stock shocks.Been useing Ranchos for years.The best for when i need some light off road.And towing ATVS.In the mountains of Colorado

New Shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Raymond B (Lauderhill, FL) Reviewed for a 1996 Toyota Land Cruiser — 2010-11-15 07:21:53

Made a world of difference in my 1996 Toyota Landcruiser, smooth yet firm ride better handling gained about 1 in. ride height. Front shock bolts were difficult to remove because of the age, rear were fairly easy.

Great Value

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Rick A (Chesapeake, VA) — 2007-09-19 17:02:21

I am impressed with the Rancho shocks I purchased. The only problem I had was that no warranty information or installation instructions came with the shocks. I was somewhat at a loss on how to put on the rubber boots.

Good Shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian D (McMurray, PA) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Colorado — 2011-06-08 12:57:52

Replaced the original shocks on my truck with these. The only tough part with the installation was removing the old ones. Immediately took a 400 mile trip and have no complaints. Good value and the buy 3, get one free is an added bonus.

Good value for $, Good upgrade from OEM

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by robert c (harrisburg, NC) Reviewed for a 2003 Ford Ranger — 2011-07-13 14:57:55

This my second purchase of Rancho RS5000, which had some bearing on this purchase. I was considering Bilstiens, however they were 100+ more. The Rancho's are better than the OEM they replaced, I believe better than Monroe, & Gabrial. In addition Rancho gave a $50.00 gift card, which I have'nt receive yet!, which will decide if I'll keep them?

Great product!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by EARLE S (HOLLAND, MI) — 2008-05-01 13:39:44

This is a great shock for the money.

rancho 5000

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by steve p (De Soto, MO) Reviewed for a 2003 Dodge Ram — 2008-09-10 05:25:56

Stiffens ride a bit, which is fine. Cant beat a Rancho setup

Improved ride

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Lee M (Crestview, FL) Reviewed for a 2003 Toyota Tacoma — 2010-12-26 05:28:13

I immediately noticed the improvement in ride quality, especially over bumpy terrain. Less shutter in the chassis, less wallowing in the ruts. Overall, very satisfied.

Easy install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard A (Grantham, NH) Reviewed for a 1995 — 2007-03-30 07:33:09

The hardest part was getting the boots on! I uses a pen inside the mounting hole to pry the boot over the top. Why doesn't Rancho do this at the factory? They also don't put the logo on. They send you a sticker. This should be screen printed on the housing. Easy intall on my 2001 Tacoma. Ride is very good. Happy overall...once I got the boots on!

alright

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dwayne H (New Orleans, LA) Reviewed for a 1999 Toyota 4 Runner — 2007-04-07 20:43:36

I think the rancho 5000 are good shocks and are a good buy. The only problem that i had is that every part was not in the box. I recommend that before you start removing any part make sure you check the box for all the parts.

Dodge 3500

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tommy W (Burns Flat, OK) Reviewed for a 2008 Dodge Ram — 2011-05-31 17:59:21

I put the Rancho RS5000 Shocks on my 06 Dodge 1 ton dually, and I am glad I did. I pull enclosed gooseneck trailers in my business (hot pressure washering), which are quite heavy, these helped smooth the ride with and without the trailers being towed. I would recommend these shocks to any truck. Tommy Western Oklahoma

Nice shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by chad s (Parker, CO) Reviewed for a 1997 Toyota Land Cruiser — 2007-09-19 21:09:32

Good value for both on and off road driving.

Ranch 5000 Grand Cherokee

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Timothy R (Lexington Park, MD) Reviewed for a 2003 Jeep Grand Cherokee — 2007-11-24 20:13:06

I replaced what I thought were bad shocks on my Jeep. Turns out, they weren't but I installed the Rancho's anyways. I'm very happy I did. The ride really smoothed out having been bouncy with the stock shocks. Improve your ride for a decent price.

Rancho RS5000 on a 2002 Ford F-150 FX4

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Nicholas K (Brunswick, OH) Reviewed for a 2002 Ford F-150 — 2011-05-27 06:13:36

These are the stock shocks that came my truck (I bought it new in 2002) and now it rides like new again. The left rear original simply "leaked" all of its hydraulic fluid for no apparent reason other than age - strange! Hopefully the new ones won't have this issue, but the originals lasted almost 100,000 mi.s (8 years). I would definitely recommend these to others!

Easy install...nice ride

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Neil P (Cedar City, UT) Reviewed for a 1984 Toyota Pickup — 2009-01-22 14:54:12

Quick and easy installation...nice smooth travel...allows a little more extension than stock. Good shock for hunter wanting mostly good road performance but solid performance offroad too.

Rancho 5000 on Tundra

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Andrew D (Castro Valley, CA) Reviewed for a 2002 Toyota Tundra — 2007-10-12 08:52:43

The Rancho 5000 shocks seem to be perfect fit for the Tundra in ride smoothness and durability.

2006 F-150

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by dave h (Saint Louis, MO) — 2010-04-07 07:20:21

They improved the ride on my F-150 2whldrive Supercab 6.5 ft bed.

stiff ride

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John B (Phoenix, MD) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Colorado — 2011-02-15 07:34:55

I put these on my Chevy Colorado 04 Z71. They are much stiffer than expected so beware if you want a nice cushy ride.

Good investment

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John M (Bourbon, MO) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Colorado — 2006-10-13 09:28:19

Installed RS5300/5301 shocks on 06 Chevy Colorado, Z85,Crew Cab, 4WD. Improved handling and stability on and off road. Very satisfied! No regrets!

quick and painless

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Daniel G (Mechanicville, NY) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F-150 — 2010-07-26 17:57:22

Replaced the factory shocks at 102,000 mi.About 1,000 mi. so far and ride is as good as new.

Solid shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by nicholas o (Clinton, NY) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Colorado — 2011-01-26 06:09:11

Replaced warn stock shocks on my Colorado Z71, these are a bit stiffer than stock but overall very happy with the ride.

Better than worn out stock shocks.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Scott P (Santa Ana, CA) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Tahoe — 2011-09-07 16:32:37

I can't compare these to the stock shocks because our Tahoe was drifting around like a boat before we replaced them. We are rarely off road but went with these anyway. Did these with new tires and paid to have them installed. Our ride is fantastic now not stiff at all.

2002 Toyota Tacoma 4x4

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeromy R (Callands, VA) Reviewed for a 2002 Toyota Tacoma — 2010-08-20 12:53:33

I was a little unsure about ordering something i've never seen or used but these shocks made a world of difference on my tacoma. Onroad it handles great but offroad is where it made most of the difference. Thanks for making my day

Good shock for better handling

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James M (Keller, TX) Reviewed for a 2003 Dodge Ram — 2006-07-12 20:53:40

I installed Rancho RS5000 shocks on a 2003 Dodge Ram 1500 Quadcab. The immediate difference is a tighter feel to the ride and better cornering. If you are looking for a smoother ride, then this may not be the shock for you. For better handling, these shocks do the trick.

Big improvement over stock

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John S (Wenatchee, WA) Reviewed for a 2003 Ford F-150 — 2008-04-28 21:02:53

The shocks look great and smoothed out the ride. They work well with an empty truck, will see how they work with a full load.

A good shock

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeff T (Saint Jacob, IL) — 2011-07-28 13:05:16

Bought these for my 2003 Dodge Dakota quad cab truck. The ride feels good and better than my old shocks. The price was awesome. A great looking shock.

Nice for the price

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by craig b (suggerloaf, CA) Reviewed for a 2000 Ford Ranger — 2007-05-26 08:20:33

i put the 5000's on in less than an hour.. good ride on road, real smooth off road.

Rancho RS5000 Shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Hamilton M (Bloomfield, NJ) Reviewed for a 2004 Dodge Ram — 2006-10-22 06:55:08

I recommend anyone to change the original shocks for the Rancho RS5000. Easy to install and happy with the result, these are a quality product.

Dave

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David M (Palmyra, VA) Reviewed for a 2003 Ford F250 — 2007-10-23 06:32:09

the shocks made a big difference in the handling and ride.

Mercury Mountaineer

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Shurn D (Spotsylvania, VA) Reviewed for a 2005 Dodge Dakota — 2006-12-09 05:52:46

These are great shocks. Stiffer ride but more comfortable. Must better than the OEM shocks.

Awesome

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark W (Tucson, AZ) Reviewed for a 2001 Toyota Tundra — 2008-10-22 09:43:55

I really notice a difference in the ride. That might be because the old shocks were shot to begin with but I'm still incredibly satisfied with the end result. Was somewhat difficult to install but that is due to the design of the Tundra.

Shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by TRACY S (Fort Mohave, AZ) — 2011-06-06 21:16:39

Not the best qualiy.

Hard to tell

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Troy B (Lakeland, FL) Reviewed for a 1994 Jeep Wrangler — 2007-11-23 05:21:32

It would probably be better to ask me in a month when I've come back from my first off-road adventure in the Jeep. Right now, it's hard to tell.

Rancho RS5000 Shocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by william k (Springville, AL) Reviewed for a 2002 Toyota Tundra — 2007-10-18 17:21:57

Installation of the front shocks on my Tundra was a little troublesome due to the spot welds breaking on the coil spring flange. This allowed the assembly to turn a few degrees which made installation of the lower bolt extremely difficult. I expected better workmanship from Rancho. The rear shocks went on fairly easy. These shocks ride well and are stiffer than the OEM shocks. Overall, they seem to be pretty good but only time will tell.

Do you like to bounce???

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Timothy K (Coatesville, PA) Reviewed for a 2003 Toyota Tundra — 2007-04-12 11:19:03

I read all the reviews on this site and thought for sure that the Rancho RS5000 shocks would be a great replacement for my stock pieces that have gotten very soft recently. I only have 31k on my '03 Tundra, but I also run w/ a fiberglass cap and load the bed w/ camping gear on a regular basis. My truck only has a V6, so I have to assume that the suspension is a bit weaker than the V8 model, but I was surprised when I noticed the bed hitting the bump stops whenever I had any kind of weight in the back (even small loads). I decided to replace the shocks all the way around, even tho I did not have any noticeable issues w/ the front. I ended up getting the dealer to install them because of the necessity for a spring compressor up front. The back shocks should've been a no-brainer for me to do personally, but I couldn't get the old ones off in the timeframe that I had. Fast forward (2) weeks and I can honestly say that I am not 100% pleased. Granted, I only run the truck about 16 miles/day, but even w/ the weight of the cap, the backend bounces like it has air shocks w/ 100psi in them! The front seems fine, but then it always did. The back shocks however, seem to need a lot more weight on them to smooth things out. I've yet to use the truck for camping or any kind of off-road abuse, but I can only hope that things settle down w/ time. My wife use to feel that the truck was the most comfortable vehicle for long trips. Now? She has yet to ride in it and I can hear her questioning my decision already!

Boast Off Road Hahahahahah

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David M (Chugiak, AK) Reviewed for a 2001 Chevy Silverado — 2011-03-21 13:29:09

So I placed the order everything arrived. I was surprised how easily the pistons moved in and out just by using my hands. Well I installed them and drove around the street thinking cool. They were soft not stiff like i've read. I was like well all this hype must be good! I went Off Road and went about 20 feet at 20 miles an hour in washboards before I stopped and turned around..(My Dash and front end would have been destroyed) Ordered a second full set same thing...Ordered Gabriel Shocks Front and Rear. Hit those washBoards at 50+ Fell like driving down a Country road in Spring. Dont buy