Your Cart Is Empty

Rugged Ridge Jeep Heavy-Duty Steering Kits Customer Reviews

Average Rating

9 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Best value

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Joshua D (MESA, AZ) Reviewed for a 1987 Jeep Wrangler — 2012-10-30 21:12:51

After searching every 4x4 site on the net these seemed to be the strongest and cheapest. Installation was easy and the instructions were simple. Been out once so far and they held up great!

One Tough One Ton!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Chris K (Winchester, VA) Reviewed for a 2003 Jeep Wrangler — 2009-08-22 07:28:03

I bought the Rugged Ridge one ton crossover steering and wheeled with it on tough trails the following weekend. Held up great, very easy to install and tightened up the steering a good bit. Great product at a great price!

On a '92 YJ w/3.5" of lift.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Charles J P (Pahrump, NV) Reviewed for a 1992 Jeep Wrangler — 2010-02-18 21:48:25

Straight forward install, only problem was some clearance issues with an aftermarket JKS trac-bar. This may have been a non-issue with a drop pitman or the stock bar, but had to remove the spacer (grind it) off of the lower bar mount to move the trac-bar back away from the drag link to allow full lock turning to the right. Also had to be careful as to the placement of the lock nuts on the drag link lower end, they look like they may hit the tie rod if the flats are not lined up, but again, this would only be at full lock of the steering and maybe not an issue with a dropped pitman arm.

Rugged Ridge Jeep Heavy-Duty Steering

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David W (Colorado Springs, CO) Reviewed for a 1990 Jeep Wrangler — 2010-04-12 20:41:52

Great Kit, easy to install, easy to adjust the alignment also. I really liked the extra jam nuts provided in the kit. I use to run a similar setup on my XJ with only one jam nut per tierod and I was always having to readjust the alignment.

Great kit, 'Beefy' stuff!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Craig W (Tucson, AZ) Reviewed for a 2006 Jeep Wrangler — 2009-10-14 20:55:18

This was is a great kit, relatively simple to instal and assemble. Comparing to stock it is a significant difference.

Andrew

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Andrew E (San Antonio, TX) Reviewed for a 2009 Jeep Wrangler — 2010-11-02 05:31:54

Well worth the buy!!! A behemoth of a tie rod!!! The only thing I will recommend is to get ready to buy some new rims with backspacing. I have Rancho shocks, 2in. Lift Springs and stock rims at the time and after the new tie rods they rubbed my tires and I couldn't turn left. Just get ready to swap out your rims if you haven't already. But it's a definite must-have!!!!

1980 CJ UPGRADE TIE ROD

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by greg a (Glendale, AZ) Reviewed for a 1980 Jeep CJ — 2010-01-28 07:00:17

GRAET

Steering

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian B (Marshall, NC) — 2012-05-09 04:45:28

Heavy duty Dom tubing, we will have to see how long the tie rods ends last however

An entire upgrade for the cost of new Tie Rod Ends.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Joey I (Bella Vista, AR) Reviewed for a 1993 Jeep Wrangler — 2010-05-03 20:35:00

First let me say my experience isn't the average and it was my first time installing any kind of tie rods or drag links. Overall the kit is very nice. It is a major upgrade over stock for just the price of replacement tierod ends. I had some problems with installation but it was due to modifications on my Jeep. I have a 4" lift and a drop pitman arm. Everything was perfect beofre with the stock setup but as soon as I put this kit on I had some problems. The drag link was too low with my drop pitman arm and the lock nuts would rub on the tie rod and loosen themselves up. I had to order a stock pitman arm to put back on which isn't good because of the added bumpsteer. The instructions also reccomend a dropped pitman arm with a lift over 2". But they knew of the problems with the links rubbing together. It made me a little angry. I wouldn't hesitate to buy this product again though. The look and the beffy tie rods make it worth it.