Your Cart Is Empty

BAK BAKFlip F1 Tonneau Cover Customer Reviews

Average Rating

80 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Best advertising-word of mouth

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Anthony V (East China, MI) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2010-07-09 04:52:46

I would recommend BakFlip products to anyone looking for the best in quality, style, practicality, and easy installation. Installation was only 15 minutes and gave my truck a finished look.

Great Fit for my truck!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Teresa K (West Long Branch, NJ) — 2011-08-02 08:44:54

Fit perfectly - unrolled it and it was done!

BAKFlip F1 2011 F150

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John D (Alpharetta, GA) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2011-10-07 09:13:49

Purchased the BAKFlip F1 for my 2011 F150 FX4 installation was pretty straight forward, although the instructions were not all that clear. Hardest part was getting the clamps to tighten up as the LineX liner was very hard and slippery. Cover looks and works fantastic. One complain is the design calls for closing the cover after you would close the tailgate to avoid damage there might be some though into changing this requirement.

New BAK F1 cover for 2008 F-450

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael M (St Petersburg, FL) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford F-450/550 — 2011-01-26 14:03:06

The cover arrived a couple days late, but once I got it, it was easy to install, the directions could be a little clearer, but you could follow them. The cover looks great. It could be about a 1/4 inch longer, would by little snugger, but still workers good. Isn't water proof, had a storm a couple hours after installation, wasn't a lot of water, but it was wet. It could be the Ford bed rail covers that are factory installed. I'm still very happy. Can individual top panels be ordered. The storm caused dammage from flying wood (gouge not all the way through)?

water proof

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by john u (Plainville, CT) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-350 — 2011-05-11 09:41:11

not 100% water proof

F1 BakFlip on 2010 F150 FX4

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Christopher T (Davenport, IA) — 2011-10-26 20:31:27

This looks great and works great. Very easy to install. It took me less than an hour to put in. Only problem I had was that I didn't put the foam liner on the front of the bed before I screwed it down. I also had the F1 pushed too close to the front bed and just had to re-position it towards the back a little more for the best fit. I also drilled 2 holes in the bed plugs to fit the drain tubes in and everything looks great. Over all this was the perfect choice. It's light and easy to open. It stays locked and closed when my tailgate is locked. It also stayed cool to the touch when it was hot the other day. It has rained since I've installed it and nothing got wet. I've also gotten my truck washed in an auto wash with high powered jets of water. A few drops of water fell in the bed when I opened the tailgate from the grooves in the tailgate plastic lining, but other than that, no water inside the bed. I'd highly recommend this F1. If you're going to get one, it's well worth the extra money. I also installed some LED light strips under the interior rails of the bed to see at night.

F-250

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John G (Frackville, PA) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-250 — 2011-09-25 06:17:47

This is the second BAKFlip I have owned, the other being sold with vehicle. Fits how I use my truck perfectly. Items in the back are protected and when I need full use of the bed it is done in seconds. Installed myself in about 45 minutes. Autoanything had the best price out there and shipping was quick.

Just what I wanted

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Craig G (Kennewick, WA) Reviewed for a 2011 Dodge Ram — 2011-09-23 21:44:35

Instructions weren't always as clear as I would like, but were much better than most aftermarket accessories instructions. Instructions seems to be generic to the F1 and don't have vehicle specific hints. Fit and finish was a bit rough in some spots but tech support was very helpful with gettings things flipping smoothly. This plus a an upgrade to a eletric tailgate lock and the usability of my trucks bed went up 10 fold.

BAKFlippin' awesome!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James S (Markle, IN) Reviewed for a 2003 Ford Excursion — 2011-08-20 06:25:51

Everything was well packaged. Instructions were simple, yet easy to understand. Everything fit perfect and it took me less than half an hour to install in the driveway. Would have been quicker, but I dropped one of the foam stoppers that you position yourself that keeps the cover from rubbing your window when up. Wouldn't you know it fell right between the bed and cab and landed on top of the gas tank! Had to have my fearless 9 year old daughter crawl up between the driveshaft and gas tank to retrieve it. She got Dairy Queen for all her hard work.

Performs as promised

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Phillip H (Hermiston, OR) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Silverado — 2011-08-31 10:48:16

The Powergate functions as intended. Installation on 2006 Silverado is difficult. Removing driver door panel and getting wires through the fire wall all took much time. However, tailgate and cover are secure when vehicle locks are engaged. I'm pleased with the product.

So far so good

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Herman H (Holloman Air Force Base, NM) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2010-02-13 11:07:20

After reading the reviews here and on many different forums, I decided to try out the F1. So far it's as advertised, and it looks better than the Extang soft tonneau I had on my previous truck. I like having the best of both worlds. The flexibility of a roll up with the security and safety of a hard top.

Best top I owned

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kurt S (Naperville, IL) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Silverado — 2011-04-05 06:32:51

Had many truck and tops over the years but nothing compairs to the BAKFlip F1 top. instalation was a breaze and the looks are perfect

JDY

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James Y (Salisbury, MD) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford Escape — 2011-11-18 11:12:37

Very pleased with the product and AutoAnything. The installation was simple and unremarkable, only 45 minutes from box to completion. Looks good. Not 100% waterproof but acceptable. Would recommend.

Matt M F150 supercrew

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Matt M (Janesville, CA) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2012-01-11 05:31:30

it had a few blimishes on the mat but looks and works fine

The right choice

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard L (Rockville, CT) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2011-03-08 16:24:22

Very easy installation.Had to trim back of bedliner for rails to fit far enough back for tailgate to close.30 minute installation.

Great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Scott P (Heath, TX) — 2011-08-11 04:30:56

I am very happy with the product. I wanted a low profile lockable cover that would be easy to stow and remove for maximum bed use when it need it. It fully lives up to that expectation. The quality of the product is excellent. I have owned full size caps and two other types of low profile bed covers and this is by far the best. I owned a self con tainted rollup type and the mechanism takes up to much bed space in short bed trucks. I have a Dodge Ram megacab. Easy to install, requires a little figment to get the seals right. Great product, highly recommended. Not cheap but I feel with this product that I got my money's worth.

Easy to Install and Beautiful Appearance

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ariel D (Miami, FL) — 2011-07-17 17:56:15

Ease to install, now I can keep all my tools in the back of the truck with out having to put them in and out of the truck every time I will get somewhere. The appearance of the truck is much better and about gas millage can't tell you that much I really don't pay too much attention attention to that. I really recommend this product 100 %.

great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Don N (Lynnwood, WA) — 2011-07-09 11:01:17

I had a regular one piece fiberglass tonneau cover for my toyota tundra and it was too heavy to lift off every time I needed to hull something. This bakflip made it very easy because you just fold it up and you have the whole bed to use without having to take it out.

Awersome tonneau cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Luis R (Fleming Island, FL) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2011-03-11 04:13:09

This cover is pretty easy to install. So far it has been water tight. I've had some pretty good rains,here in Florida, and the inside (covered by a bedrug) has remained dry. The best advice, I can give on the install is to make sure the rails stay level (so the seal can sit tight against the rail) for proper sealing and there should not be any issues with leaks. I really enjoy the finished look (this cover gives the truck) and convenience it offers. It works well, looks awesome, and still allows you to use a truck as it is meant to be used. Get it, you won't regret it!

Excellent, OEM Quality

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William G (Altoona, PA) — 2011-07-08 06:55:02

Pefect Fit. As good as any OEM cover.

Happy with the F1 Tonneau Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jerys J K (Dayton, NV) Reviewed for a 2011 Nissan Frontier — 2011-04-19 21:18:24

I installed the cover by myself (female) in a few hours. It would have gone faster if the instructions weren't so inadequately written and almost useless. The cover fits well on my pickup, looks nice and is easy to operate.

I like my BAKFLIP 1

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James M (York, PA) Reviewed for a 2011 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-03-16 19:42:10

fairly easy to install, looks great, arrived from AutoAnything in a timely manner

Balflip F1

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steve D (Collegeville, PA) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F-150 — 2011-07-31 13:59:08

Product was pretty much what I expected. Good fit and finish. There was a small dent on the underside, but not worth complaining about. The instructions were very vague..installation of the rails took longer than expected since I was trying to install them in the wrong orientation which made me cut out more of my bed liner than I needed to. Also the fiberglass still seems to get decently hot in the sun, but an improvement over the aluminum I guess. Would definitely recommend.

Thank you BakFlip

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by N WAYNE E (GLEN ALLEN, VA) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Tundra — 2011-07-14 07:37:33

My wife loves her new tonneau cover. I found it surprisingly easy to put on. I'm not exactly Mr Fixit, but it took maybe 10 minutes and we were finished. It looks terrific and is much more user friendly than the hinged hard covers.

Sweet Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Wayne D (Waxhaw, NC) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tundra — 2010-07-02 14:46:30

This cover gives me the best of both worlds, a hard cover that will hold up to some serious use that is able to flip and get out of the way easily. I've owned hard tonneau covers that I loved but they were almost not worth trying to take on and off. I've also owned a soft flipping cover that was somewhat easier to remove, but anyone could just unsnap it and have full access to my junk. Anyone looking at tonneau covers needs to take a long look at this cover, with all of the features and great looks of the BAKFlip F1 is hard to pass up.

So easy to install, "I" could do it!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gregg O (Spirit Lake, IA) — 2011-08-22 09:34:42

Watched a couple of online videos (as the instructions provided really aren't the best, in fact they aren't even good). The video showing it all zipped up and inside-out for applying the stickers/velcro was the best. Simply applied the adhesive stickers, inverted, put into bed of 2008 Silverado, removed backing and it fit perfectly. The guys on the video took about 5-10 minutes, it took me an hour in real time, but I'm very deliberate and it was a hot day. Bought a BakFlip and installed that over, so I can't comment on weather resistance, because mine won't be exposed. People I've shown already would rather have this than their rigid plastic liners. My use will be light duty, so I expect it should hold up great.

Bak Flip Tonneau F1 is awesome!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by jay r (Somers Point, NJ) — 2011-09-29 11:42:29

What can I say. People have been stopping me and asking me about this cover and where I got it. I have it on an F-150 supercrew with a 51/2 foot bed. If you want to really use your truck bed and at the same time have the security of a cover, this is what you want. You can haul a tree, a snowblower, or whatever, and not have to worry about taking off a shell-type cover. It folds up easily, partially or fully folded up against the rear window. Its very strong and well constructed. This cover will install in about 15 minutes or less. For me it took longer since I already had a ford drop-in bedliner installed. I removed the 4 tie downs to release the bedliner with a torx screw driver. I had to pull the bedliner toward the rear and notch out the right and left corners of the bedliner (taking about an inch off each side of the bulkhead and cutting down on an angle. This was necessary to permit routing of the hoses that serve to drain the tracks behind the bedliner bulkhead. After that I secured the bedliner and re-attached the tiedowns. There are two things that could improve my experience. !) the hoses should come with hose clamps or cable-ties to secure to the track fittings and 2) there should be a set of instructions. There are some utube videos on-line so I really didn't need the instructions but it would have been nice to see.

Locked-N-Loaded

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard P (Elysburg, PA) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2011-05-02 05:35:13

I insatalled my BAKFLIP F1 on my 2011 Ford F150 with my son in about half an hour. The rails fit perfect. The clamps that held the rails needed more than two hands to hold and tighten, but after we the first two went on, no problem with the next four. The covers sat in the rails with no adjusting and all went fairly easy. I can now load the back of my truck with my valuables and lock the tailgate. Quality cover in design and appearance. Lock-N-Loaded

Bak Flip-good buy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert Z (Atwater, CA) Reviewed for a 2011 GMC Sierra — 2011-05-24 20:58:39

Needs 2 people to install-1 to hold it in place-other to bolt it. Make sure you hve it all the way forward and close tailgate to make sure. Have had some people stop and comment about it-all good. It is easy to open fully. Have not tried to see if it leaks-Calif rain has stopped. Overall I am happy with it so far. I hope it doesn"t deteriote over time.

Excellent Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael D (Titusville, FL) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-07-14 17:05:19

Awesome cover, easy to install and looks great!

Very nice mat!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bradley V (Highlands, TX) Reviewed for a 2013 Ford F-150 — 2013-01-10 08:25:27

The BedRug mat is a very nice, comfortable mat. It was very easy to install and fit very well in my truck. With hard use I think adding a few more hook-and-loop strips near the tailgate would hold it flat with less chance of it getting tore up.

TR

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Todd R (Las Vegas, NV) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Silverado — 2011-05-28 16:44:00

This is my second Bakflip, I would of transferred the original one but it would not of fit the bigger truck. This thing is great, I upgraded to the F1 and was glad I did. The panels are much sturdier than the G2 and does not retain as much heat. I would recommend the F1 to anybody who needs a versatile tonneau cover!

Great cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tom S (Portage, WI) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy Silverado — 2012-11-01 15:52:15

Autoanything delivered everything on time, the cover went on like a dream and does not leak an ounce. I have yet to take it through the car wash tho.

BAKFLIP F1

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by GERALD H (Valencia, CA) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Tundra — 2011-08-06 05:47:34

Overall experience with Autoanything, and Bakflip F-1 product was excellent. I picked up the F1 directly from manufacture in San Fernando was less than satisfied with there customer service. Installed F1 by myself and it took about 30 min. overall with adjustments.

BakFlip F1 for 2011 F150

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Drew P (Palatine, IL) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2011-04-25 10:10:05

The F1 cover was very nice and the install was straight forward and pretty easy, took less than an hour and would have been even less with 2 people. I have not had any leaks so far and it's been through 2 thunderstorms.

2010 Dodge Ram Crew Cab

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by CHRISTOPHER T (Macomb, MI) Reviewed for a 2010 Dodge Ram — 2010-09-01 21:46:27

This cover was very easy to install. The only problem was that one of the drain connectors was disconnected when I unpacked it. It was easy to reconnect. After one day in the sun all the seals laid flat and tight. The next day it rained extremely hard and the cover did not leak. I also drive on many dusty dirt roads and when the cover was lifted the bed and its contents were dust free.....

Super Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Barry V (Elko, NV) Reviewed for a 2011 Toyota Tundra — 2011-06-16 07:43:21

Bought the F1 because I like the easy fold up compared to the snugtop lid it replaced. This cover is everything and more than I hoped for. Sturdy, looks good, easy to operate and installed in no time. completely satisfied.

Easy to install, high quality

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Patrick S (Cedar Park, TX) Reviewed for a 2011 Toyota Tundra — 2011-09-21 09:01:03

It was very easy to install and looks professional. The material is very sturdy. Opening and closing is very easy and the doubts I had regarding the "cable lock" were unfounded. You have to get used to opening the cover before closing the tail gate, because in the beginning you might tend to forget that. Though the adaption to my Tundra is well made, a few things could be improved. I do have a Texas Edition with the bed spray and I cannot mount the clamps which hold the cover rail and any point. I was trying to mount them at the very end, the exact middle and the beginning of my bed, but they won't fit at the very end because of bed protection. Time will tell how this rubber protection keep up with the weather - I might need to add some lubricants. After all I am very happy with this purchase. The price seems a bit high for the material, but I guess I am paying some for the design;).

MICHAEL

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by MICHAEL P (Dunedin, FL) — 2011-09-24 07:11:30

THE BAKFLIP F1 LOCKS GREAT & WAS EASY TO INSTALL.

Bak Flip

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by todd h (Mesa, AZ) — 2011-09-14 21:19:33

Install was easy. Cover works great! Put on my f350 in an hour

BAK FLIP FI on 2010 Ford F-150 XLT Crew Cab Standard Bed

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeffrey D (Ellicott City, MD) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2010-10-06 08:49:44

Quality construction and excellent fit. Looks great and is easy to use.

ease of installment

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard G (Baton Rouge, LA) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2011-09-13 06:06:06

I ordered the F1 cover four days before having a heart attack and spent 5 days in the hospital 3 stents later and all that was on my mind was this cover being delivered safe and I put it on within 1 hour of getting home from the hospital of course my health came first but really love this cover very easy to install just watch the movie first. it is one of the best investimates on a long lists its great.

2010 Ford F150 SuperCrew

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian S (Carmel, IN) — 2011-05-17 04:45:45

Easy to install, fits great, and looks excellent. Took it to a car wash after I installed it and had a little water leak at the tailgate seams, which is expected. Did have some hard rain while driving with no leaks. So, very happy with the cover!

Awesome!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jim F (Parker, CO) Reviewed for a 2011 GMC Sierra — 2011-12-23 11:54:38

Great fit!!!! Looks and opens great.

Pop Lock

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Paul B (East Moriches, NY) Reviewed for a 2011 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-08-09 06:19:15

Very easy to install, matched the original almost perfectly, the holder for the backup camera was on the oposite side of the handle but still installed perfectly

Happy Trucker

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard S (Dana Point, CA) Reviewed for a 2011 Toyota Tacoma — 2010-11-14 08:01:16

This cover is well made, nicely finished, looks great on the truck and just took minutes to install. plus stayed dry after rain and carwash.

Great cover, pretty good price

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John S (Littleton, CO) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Silverado — 2011-03-16 21:10:00

The cover dropped right in on my truck without any problems. It took me a few minutes to determine where the plastic shims that came with the rails went, but once I took the tape off and slapped them on, the rails fit just fine. The cover itself easily slid into place, and only required minor readjustment in position to get everything lined up. Last weekend, we went up to Estes Park, near Rocky Mountain National Park. We woke up on Sunday morning to about 3" of snow. Not a lot by Colorado standards, but enough for a bit of a test. By the time we got home, all the snow had melted off. I checked under the cover, and all our gear was dry, although there were some water drops in the bed area by the cab. Had we not had the cover, we'd have needed to try to cram everything in the cab. Very happy with the cover, would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Great Tonneau Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Otto G (Twain Harte, CA) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2011-10-01 18:07:11

This is a great cover! I've purchased two for two different Ford F-150 trucks. I've had roll up covers in the past but find this product to be far superior and more functional for daily use.

Pop Lock

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Shane H (KALAMAZOO, MI) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Silverado — 2011-03-06 12:28:14

Easy install, works great. Everything I expected it would be.

Great addition to any truck!!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Lynne B (Grand Haven, MI) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Silverado — 2011-11-21 06:19:16

I bought my F1 in Aug 2011 and am very satisfied with it. I installed it myself in about an hour. It was easy to install but the directions weren't all that impressive. I have a Line-x bed liner, so the seal around the edges isn't as tight as with plastic liners, so I do have a few spots around the edges of the bed that leak just a little, nothing that has me concerned. It still keeps out 98% of water so my gear in the bed stays dry. The added level of security is nice, I can lock my tailgate, close the F1 and know that my stuff is safe. I think it looks awesome on my truck and couldn? be happier. Highly recommended.

early but happy so far

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Sean D (Bulverde, TX) Reviewed for a 2009 GMC Sierra — 2010-02-12 06:17:26

I have had it for only a short time. But i am happy with my decision to pick this cove. It works very well for me. I am able to cover up any valuables and keep them out of the weather. It has been raining in Texas the last week and I do not have a single leak. Very low profile and attractive. Great cover

BAKFlip F1

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Alan S (Londonderry, NH) Reviewed for a 2012 Chevy Silverado — 2012-06-22 03:42:58

This is my third BAK Tonneau cover and the quality is just as good as the first. This is the easiest cover to install that I've ever seen. I have never had a problem with any of the covers after installation. I rate this as the best hard cover around.

all good

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James V (Las Vegas, NV) Reviewed for a 2007 Dodge Ram — 2010-02-25 12:14:10

I love everything about it except the price

Great Bed Cover !

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael H (Franklinton, NC) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2010-07-14 08:31:51

Great quality cover, easy install and easy to use. A little pricey but you get what you pay for.

Cover was what I expected

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ron H (Scottsdale, AZ) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-250 — 2010-12-07 09:52:23

Shipping was fast. Installation was simple...about 45 minutes by myself. Looks good. Had to readjust fit once but it was again simple. Leaks some following carwash.

bakflip tonneau cover on toyota tacoma

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by david p (Morristown, NJ) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-03-11 15:39:26

Nice cover, easy installation. downside is you cant use the factory tie downs on the original rails so now i can only tie down back of bed and the rail behind the cab. Also hoped it was locking and its not so since the tail gate doesnt lock anyone can get in. had a big rain storm and it leaked a little. overall i like it alot

Looks good, beware of bed liners!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David A (Bowie, MD) Reviewed for a 2001 Chevy Silverado — 2012-01-09 15:24:40

I have a 01 Silverado with an under the rail bed liner. Without the bed liner, I could see how someone could install this cover in 15-20 minutes - it's pretty easy. With my bed liner in place, I had to cut "L" shaped notches in the liner so I could fit the cover clamps under the rail. It wasn't a huge deal, thanks Dremel, but did add a bunch of time to the install. Once the notches were cut, and rails installed properly, I laid the cover (it's heavy!) on the rails and it went on easy. I had to shift the cover a little once I had it unfolded so everything would line up. As for rain protection, the tubes work fine - they run the water through the built in holes in the liner. I wouldn't put anything super valuable in the back during inclement weather as it's not 100% water proof, but for everyday stuff, it seems to keep the elements away.

Bed Rug Review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Randy Z (Batavia, IL) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Silverado — 2011-08-20 11:30:08

As advertised the Bed Rug is easy on the knees. I've had rubber mat's in the past and this rug beats them hands down. Seems to be a good qaulity product. Looks great,items don't slide around. Glad I got it.

Bakflip F1 review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Scott L (Terryville, CT) Reviewed for a 2013 GMC Sierra — 2011-10-08 06:30:24

The installation instructions were a little vague. I also recieved 2 different size thumb wheels to lock the cover in place which took a week and talking to the owner Ivan to get. I found Ivan to be very caring and willing to listen to the promblems encountered.

Great Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kyle B (Beachwood, NJ) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-03-27 09:39:21

Awesome cover durable by light. Looks sleek, installation paper was a litle vague .But if you have common sense its a breeze!! Not 100% water proof. But with a little modifications it would be perfect.. Price was pretty high but i guess you get what you pay for.. Overall this is a Great pick.. very pleased!!

King Ranch 5.0

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mike N (Edmond, OK) Reviewed for a 2012 Honda Accord — 2011-09-22 06:18:36

I have a throttle body spacer and had to make a modification because the tube wanted to hit it. Also had a little problem with the elbow boot. You had to stretch the elbow boot to get it over the tubes and wanted to slide back off before you could clamp it. It is noisier than the one I had on the chevy. The top of the box does not touch the hood and could use a cover. I do love the washable filter. I had one on my Chevy and the easy cleaning makes you clean it more offten. I will never go back to oiled air filters. Only if they made them as OEM drop ins would it be better. But they might make to much money if they did that.

Toyota Tacomma

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Edward K (Springfield, VA) — 2011-10-07 02:58:45

Cover is exactly as described in the litterature and others, clean lines, fits well and offers the ability to easily use the truck's full bed on a moments notice. I was disapointed that they do not have the option of the Bak Flip Tool Box for a common vehicle like the Tacomma.

You need better instructions

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Timothy D (Mays Landing, NJ) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford F-150 — 2012-11-08 09:21:28

Everything is good with this product, but the instructions are hard to understand. And the pictures don't help. Once I got it on and in-place I love it.

Almost a flawless product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steven K (Gardnerville, NV) Reviewed for a 2011 Dodge Ram — 2011-12-27 22:42:06

Purchased the BAKFlip F1 for my 2011 Ram Laramie Longhorn. I chose the F1 for the added strength to hold up to the snow that can accumulate a couple of feet in one day here in the Sierra Nevada. Installation was quick and easy, taking about 45 minutes from start to finish. The fit was precise. Operation is easy and the cover looks sharp. The ability to fold the cover completely forward and out of the way is a unique and nice design feature. My only complaint is that the cover does leak, mostly at the corners during rain or when washing the truck. Not sure how the water is getting in, as the fit looks precise. If you want your cargo to stay dry, this may not be the product for you.

looks and operation

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Joe B (Bella Vista, AR) Reviewed for a 2011 Honda Ridgeline — 2011-05-07 11:24:43

Too early to tell if it sheds the rain as advertised but ease of operation, ease of installation and appearance are first rate

BakFlip F1 for Toyota Tundra

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Betsy G (Diamondhead, MS) — 2011-10-14 10:40:31

I love my BakFlip. It looks great and definitely helps in saving gas mileage. I have to admit though it does leak but this may be due to how I had to install it. I have a spray-on bedliner and the large drains were covered by the spray. I had to jury-rigged the tubing to flow through small holes on the side of my truck and this may be causing it not to drain properly. My only compliant is when I received my package, there were NO INSTALLATION INSTRUCTIONS. There wasn't even a parts list. Luckily there were plenty of YouTube videos to fill in the blanks. Overall I'm very please with my investment.

Bak Flip F1

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bradley C (Woodstock, GA) Reviewed for a 2011 Dodge Ram — 2011-07-20 10:36:27

Good cover,although pricey, and it seals up nicely. Only issue I have is the drivers side D hook was not taped down during shipping, and poked through the top. I found their paperwork to say that once a piece of the cover/rails were installed, they will no longer take it back. Oh well, a little creative RTV sealant work, and we are in business. Otherwise, Great cover!

Overall Very Pleased and would Recommend

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark N (COVINGTON, KY) — 2011-10-04 04:43:01

Installed on a '10 Tacoma with factory back-up camera. Overall installation was fairly straightforward and easy. It swaps the side of the camera (R side of handle to L side), but the view remains the same. The pins for the gasket didn't line up perfect, but they worked. It took me about 45 minutes or less to install and that was not hurrying. The plastic doesn't seem as nice (looking anyway) as the factory, but I am pleased overall. Combined with my BakFlip F1, I now have a large locking trunk (covered bed) or a completely open bed in a snap if needed.

BAK BakFlip F1 Tonneau Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mike H (Crandall, TX) Reviewed for a 2008 Lexus IS 350 — 2010-01-29 13:08:39

The BakFlip took approximately 15 minutes to install and looks great. The only downside is that it is not 100% water proof. Im going to work on that issue with a little silicon on the side brackets and maybe some additional stick on weather stripping at the front. Otherwise, it looks and works great! MIKE from Texas

Overall good value

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steven R (Austin, TX) Reviewed for a 2009 Dodge Ram — 2010-12-03 09:07:33

While the mounting bracket could be a little beefier and the installation instructions more clear (with regard to routing the wiring through your firewall and making the final connections in the cab), overall I thought it was a good value. Combined with the BakFlip bed cover, it makes for a nice, secure storage area in the bed of my truck that unlocks with all the other doors.

Only time will tell.....but looks great

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ryan D (Spokane, WA) — 2011-10-24 22:57:19

Had it on for about a month and it appears great. Installation is a bit tricky. Took a couple times to readjust to make sure the rails sit flush. And the shim chart needs to be updated/accurate as it says it needs shims for my truck, but they were not included. Upon calling BAK they told me my truck doesn't really need them, however the cover actually fits way better with them, so they quickly sent them out to me. Looks sharp, packaging was awesome, appears to not leak water at all. Only time will tell.

Work well but a problem out of the box with power windows

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James A (Charleston, WV) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2011-09-08 13:14:55

These look nice, are a snap to install and do a good job of letting fresh air in and keeping water out. In heavy rain you may have a few drops here and there but nothing serious. Only criticism is on my F-150 the anti-pinch feature makes it VERY difficult to roll up the windows. You cannot use auto-up b/c it will sense an obstruction and back down goes your window. You have to close the window in small increments to avoid the anti-pinch feature. Even then it doesn't always work and back down goes the window; a real problem if you're driving in the rain and your window keeps rolling back down. This may get better over time but after one week it's an issue. I haven't tried the back windows yet on my SCREW cab so can't speak to those on wind/rain but they fit well.

All access to my bed

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John G (Waynesburg, OH) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Colorado — 2011-12-06 07:35:48

I've owned regular covers and they are a pain to take on and off. This opens quickly with ease. And it fits flush between the sides to give you a cleaner look.

2004 Toyota Tundra

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by nathan s (athens, AL) Reviewed for a 2004 Toyota Tundra — 2011-10-30 20:23:01

Good product, easy to install and works well for light duty cargo hauling.

AVS

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tim L (Vero Beach, FL) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Tundra — 2011-04-11 19:41:40

The ventvisors all fit just as described. a much cleaner look with the inside the channel style. Very pleased.

F150 back flip cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brad T (Dimondale, MI) — 2011-07-06 14:46:41

Very nice cover, although the rail clamps don't seem to fit all that well. Looks great on and secures your gear. Instalation is fairly easy with a second person

Great functionality. Leaks too much for the price.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Marc M (SAINT LOUIS, MO) — 2011-06-23 07:25:57

I like my purchase, and I think it is the best concept truck cover out there. I was really hoping it would be a little more water-resistant than it is. I have a persistant leak right smack dab in the middle of the cover that requires me to wrap up all my luggage before putting it in the back for a trip. Besides that, functionality is exactly as expected.

expensive, could use manufacturing quality attention

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by shawn B (Fort Lauderdale, FL) — 2011-05-30 22:24:21

On my F150 the F1 looks nice. the issues I had were the clamps and rails which are not a perfect fit. there are shims included to improve the rail fitment but it is not perfect. the clamps can easily I MEAN EASILY be taken off with a simple twist even though they are tightebed down with a wrench. The clamps just do not sit flush and have full contact with the surface of the truck/rails. there are issues with the double sided tape which holds the rubber seals to the lid. the fabrication cuts on the metal are average, with rough, unfinished edges. I called the company for install assist, and they were attentive. I spoke with the owner, he was nice, but it doesn't resolve the issues with the cover. For $950.00 retail, I think the quality could be better, and there could be improvement on the clamp system.

Quick and Easy if you can get it to snap in...Otherwise

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin R (Raleigh, NC) — 2011-09-25 15:56:46

I couldn't get the device to completely seat into the area under the handle by simply pushing it in from the outside like the directions describe. I removed the inner tailgate cover allowing access to the entire tailgate mechanism (on a 2005 dodge pickup) by removing the inner tailgate cover. This allowed me to pull the little ears that want to snap into place on the inside of the handle housing to secure the popnlock in place. The tab/ear didn't snap firmly into place so I tried to bend it with the pliers and broke the little tab off. I then had to MIG weld the tab back on and I made the attachment a bit more secure after that with some additional metal. This product tries to make the installation non-intrusive and quick. It's close but I couldn't get it to snap in.

underwelmed

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David M (west palm beach, FL) Reviewed for a 2011 Dodge Ram — 2011-10-08 08:39:46

I live in florida so I ordered the fiberglass F1 back flip because they said it would not get as hot as the less expensive aluminum one. Well it gets real hot 175 degrees hot. called the bakflip customer service and they said... oh well. Barely fits the bed of the truck. if the rubber edges even think of curling up then the bed would be exposed and leak. very heavy to flip past the first one. 2 months old and the attachment bolt and bunge loop are corroding. sure wish I had been able to see one in person before I bought one. The build date of my bakflip was 2002 and they said it would fit a 2011 model-?.