Your Cart Is Empty

BAK BAKFlip F1 Tonneau Cover with BAKBox Toolbox Customer Reviews

Average Rating

35 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Great Product, very easy to install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Vincent B (LAKE WORTH, FL) Reviewed for a 2011 Toyota Tundra — 2011-02-16 06:01:09

This is an outstanding Tonneau. I was a little nervous paying so much for a product I had never seen. Put your mind at ease, this is an outstanding product. I am never happy with anything, I can always find something I wish was done differently. Not this time BakFlip got it RIGHT!!! However there is one thing that is not immediately obvious to Tundra owners with the Rail System. This installation requires you lower the rails. They include all the parts to do so. The only down side is that you will no longer be able to remove the cleats.

BakFlip F1 and BakBox

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael H (Barnhart, MO) Reviewed for a 2010 Dodge Ram — 2011-06-17 22:22:58

The combo arrives quickly from Auto Anything. F1 Tonneau: The install of the tonneau cover was straightforward and easy. Perfect Fit and mostly dry under the cover after driving in a torrential rain. BakBox: The BakBox that was shipped incorrectly by BAK. Still waiting on replacement. Can say that it is of very high quality like the F1. I received a call from the BAK owner, Ivan, related to the incorrect Bak Box. He was very professional, polite and humorous. He offered his assistance in any way that I desired to correct the incorrect shipment. That is quality, top shelf customer service. Mike

F1 BAKFlip for 2008 longbed GMC Sierra

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James D (Draper, UT) Reviewed for a 2008 GMC Sierra — 2011-03-22 13:28:56

Works best with bedrail covers, but works without them too. Very easy to install even with the cargo management rail system I have on my Sierra. High grade quality and ease of use for opening and closing cover. Very durable so far and fits well to bed of truck. Long term durability not sure of yet.

BAKFlip F1

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Sean M (Kirkland, WA) Reviewed for a 2009 Dodge Ram — 2011-07-13 08:57:02

I am really happy with the BAKFLIP F1. The install was easy, took about 1hr. I had to do a slight modification to the rear drain cups (cut a notch) other than that everything else was smooth. It looks great with the Rambox!!

BAK Box

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Christopher A (Elwood, IN) — 2011-08-07 14:39:45

I just received my 2nd Bak Box that has been made to be a universal fit. I also own a 1st generation box that i feel is better built. The universal brackets leave to much play in my 2011 GMC bed. Looks kind of bad but functions ok.

Great Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Heather S (Fredericksburg, VA) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Tacoma — 2009-12-31 20:21:57

Very easy to use, quick to install. Allows a lot of flexibility to the driver.

love it

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by don d (Lincoln, RI) — 2012-12-20 06:11:57

very easy to put on,great lloks on my 2012 gmc canyon,good deal

BAKFlip F1 and BAKBox installed on 2011 Chevy Silverado

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Danny M (Cleveland, OK) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Silverado — 2011-12-05 08:55:06

Thank You! Very nice, Simple and great looks. My son and I installed the BAKFlip and BAKBox just a couple days before taking a 1,400 mile round trip. The trip was dry to our destination but got rained on almost all the way "BAK" home. Our son had suggested putting the luggage into trash bags in fear they might get wet. We were leaving late and had to drop off my wife Kathy,(Chris' mother) at the airport so we took the chance and left bag-less. BAKFlip kept the bed dry! I was expecting to get better gas mileage but couldn't tell much difference. Thank you again. Satisfied, Danny.

BAKFlip F1

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tristan M (Ferriday, LA) — 2011-07-27 21:02:50

The BAKFlip F1 fits great, looks wonderful, and creates much needed space to stow valuable items securely.

BakFlip F1 on a 2007 Frontier

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gregory S (Peachtree City, GA) — 2011-07-27 05:59:54

The Bakflip F1 cover came with no scratches or issues. Literally took 20 minutes to install. --For those of you that have the utilitrack system on a Nissan Frontier please be aware that even though the Bakflip can go on without touching the track, some accessories rub against the Bakflip side rail clamps. Specifically the sliding bed extender. It will slide past it, but it rubs and is a pain to get it past the clamp. I think I can fix this by changing the type bolt that goes on the bed extender. Plus when raising the bed extender it rubs against the Bakflip side rails. --Another warning goes out to everyone. I recommend using loctite on the bolts that hold the cover to the side rails towards the front of the bed. I read on a forum that someone lost theirs going down the highway because these came loose. Sure enough, I checked mine after 500 miles and they were barely on and this was after tightening so much that I thought I cracked the top. I re-clamped them with loctite and have seen no problems. --As for convenience this cover is pretty sweet. I move stuff pretty regularly and being able to fold the top up is just what I need. Plus the added value of locking stuff in the back makes it freaking awesome (assuming your tail gate locks). I have been through a couple of bad storms and I have not seen one drop leak in the back. --There is one note about the F1 that they claim that I disagree with. They say that it stays cool to the touch even in hot weather. Granted I live in Atlanta and the temps here are in the mid 90s, but the cover has been so hot I could cook an egg on it. Overall I would absolutely recommend this cover to anyone who needs to lock stuff in the back of the truck and needs to move large items pretty regularly. Just be aware that like any product, there are some things to be careful about.

BakFlip F1

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Greg G (Waco, TX) Reviewed for a 2010 Dodge Ram — 2010-12-27 19:40:29

Everything was excellent with the exception of the installation instructions. The instructions need to be enlarged and more description would be helpful.

MJH

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael H (Yuma, AZ) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2011-03-15 06:28:10

Best thing since sliced bread. 10 minutes to install

The Right Choice

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Calvin E (Hampton, VA) Reviewed for a 2004 Jeep Grand Cherokee — 2011-10-28 04:31:41

I did a lot of research before deciding on the F1. I've had it on my truck for a week and so far I am extremely satisfied. I installed it in less than 30 minutes.m

Nice Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Salvatore A (Sun City West, AZ) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Colorado — 2011-02-10 21:23:30

Nice Cover,works as intended,easy to install,the only thing I am a little disappointed about and it is not the fault of the lid is how low it is when closed - not alot of height between the lid and the bed of the truck maybe 18 inches thats it.So if I am carry something it will be open which it does well.opens fast and easy.all in all i am satisfied. Sun City West , Arizona

Nice cover!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael M (Travis AFB, CA) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-03-02 16:09:00

Easy to install. The only thing I had to do extra was to drill 2 holes for the drain tubes. Overall I love the cover!

Easy to Install and very nice looking

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brandon E (Imperial, PA) — 2011-05-18 04:05:54

It took me about 45 minutes to install and if looks great. I really enjoy the added security and the flush appearance of the Bakflip. The F1 was the highest quality and was still at a reasonable price compared to some of the hard covers. I would recommend to anyone and I'm an engineer!

Just what the doctor ordered

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Thomas K (KENT, WA) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford F-150 — 2013-04-02 09:22:27

This system has met all of my needs. There was little confusion with the wrong clamps, but customer service promptly fixed the problem.

Raptor

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Darrel K (Rapid City, SD) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2011-06-15 20:46:48

Top of the line product, installed very easy,mounting is very good and tight, function is excellent. I do not think you can find a better cover.

BAK BAKFlip F1 Tonneau Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Anna W (Deridder, LA) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Colorado — 2012-01-02 13:25:11

Really love this product. It keeps anything stored safe and protected. Product was easily installed by my husband and his friend in about 30 minutes. I have 6 grandchildren that live close and are with me alot, so I needed a place to put everything else.

BakFlip F1 Forever

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John F (Tallahassee, FL) Reviewed for a 2009 Dodge Ram — 2010-09-05 16:59:53

I purchased the BakFlip F1. I think the cover is built very well and the install was easy. The only problems I had, I created by over tightening the brackets which caused them to pull the center of them in and the latch part to move out ward. This caused the latch to hit the top of the bracket instead of closing properly. It was an easy fix. The cover looks great and I am verrrrrryyyy satisfied with it. I think the price is a little high, But that is ok, due to the fact it is all made in America. I think it is great they are helping to do their part in keeping Americans employed. Five Stars to Bakflip. I WILL purchase from them again and recomend them to my friends.

Joe S.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Joe S (Santa Fe, NM) Reviewed for a 2011 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-10-29 12:02:23

I love the looks and function of my BAK BAKFlipF1 Tonneau Cover. Installation was pretty much straight forward . The only complaint I have is there was one rubber washer missing from the kit. I managed to make one myself.

fine product!!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John B (Batson, TX) Reviewed for a 2011 Dodge Ram — 2011-02-02 22:03:43

very nice!!!

BAKFlip F1 - 2011 Nissan Frontier short bed

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Patrick H (Fort George G Meade, MD) Reviewed for a 2011 Nissan Frontier — 2011-09-10 07:26:26

Install was fairly intuitive, instructions were adequate - could be better. My concern was fit with cargo rails and bed extender and the fit is just right. One item missing in the instructions were 3 adhesive strips taped to the cover. Once I put the cover in the up and locked position I decided to use those strips where the cover would otherwise hit the cab and back window. Already hauled cargo with the cover up and it worked fine. I am now eager to see what kind of improvement I will have in average gas mileage.

Bakflip and Bakbox

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ryan N (Riverview, FL) Reviewed for a 2011 Dodge Ram — 2011-10-29 06:07:32

Installation was easy and straight forward. However, it is defiantely not leak prrof like my old roll n lock. But it only leaks a little bit at the front. I even installed some weather stripping and some black rtv sealant where I thought the water was coming in. But its mostly water tight so not bad at all. The bak box is overpriced in my opinion. Its kind of a loose fit like its not cut to an exact fit. Also the ends aren't capped so it looks like an after thought. But it is handy to have. I would rate it a 7 out of 10. But it should be cheaper for what it is.

Installation Instructions

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ronald G (Carlsbad, NM) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-250 — 2013-04-17 12:41:07

This tonneau fits great and looks even better, HOWEVER, the installation instructions leave a lot to be desired, they do not give you a step by step instruction just some confusing pictures. If you do not have a good mechanical appitude get a friend who does to help you. Wish the tool box was bigger.

Leaks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by sam s (eggertsville, NY) — 2011-10-29 04:35:09

Installed on my new 2011 F-150 with 6.5ft. bed and factory under rail bedliner. Easy to install but leaks pretty badly. Most of the water is coming in along the cab area.Drain lines were installed properly and instructions were followed to a tee. Won't install Bakbox until the leak is resolved.This unit is constructed very well and is extremely functional but a bit overpriced. For that price there should be no issues what so ever.

Bak Flip F-1

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Todd A (Trout Run, PA) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2012-03-19 11:53:05

Received fairly quickly after order, in good condition. Instructions are not great but I installed mine with no problem. Good quality, but it should be for the price. Looks great, secures my bed, and keeps stuff dry. These are the reasons I bought it. Will see how it holds up. I'm not in love with the idea of it being secured against my back window when folded, but it is padded so we will see. Removes quickly and easily. All and all it is just what I expected and serves my purposes well.

Ricky

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ricky S (Suwanee, GA) — 2011-07-06 11:19:55

Installation was quick and simple. The package was shipped to my vacation spot and was installed in about an hour. Clamps provided an angled attachment and will pop off. One latch is cracked but not causing a problem. Sealing is excellent. Toolbox is flimsy but will provide limited space for occasional items, not sufficient for tools. Tool box has limited value. 100- 125.00 maybe is the added value of this item. Autoanything provided excellent service. 2010 F150. Will purchase items again.

F1 Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Russell L (Columbus, MS) Reviewed for a 2012 Nissan Frontier — 2012-10-10 04:53:23

Pros: so far been through several rainstorms and no water has gotten to the bed when the cover is closed.. As advertised, the cover can be folded multiple ways and driven up hills/ on freeways etc. Cons: Like others have said, the instructions are severely lacking. The video on youtube helped a lot. Also, when folded up in various configurations I have had water leak through the cover (from water sitting on top of the cover, like rain from the previous day).

2010 Ford F150

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jillian W (Boca Raton, FL) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2011-07-09 05:04:39

Great products. Delivered on time and in good condition. Easy to install. I'm really happy with this purchase.

BAKFlip F1 + BAKBox

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by KELLY S (VANCOUVER, WA) Reviewed for a 2002 Dodge Ram — 2011-12-14 15:28:38

Would be nice if the next redesign allows access to the toolbox section by simply folding the ONE section by the rear window open (fold towards rear). As it is now, you must fold open ALL 4 section (on my 8' bed) before you can get to the toolbox section. But... I knew this before ordering so I'm giving a thumbs up to my purchase, as the fit and quality are EXCELLENT! :)

BakFlip F1 - Tacoma

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Matthew T (HONOLULU, HI) Reviewed for a 2012 Toyota Tacoma — 2012-09-06 03:15:29

BakFlip F1 came well packed and undamaged. Instruction were vague at best, but was easy enough to figure out. Looks great is very functional. Because Tacoma come with a locking tailgate I ordered and installed a power "pop and lock" to secure tailgate and cover. Seals looks pretty water tight but I can see where water will inevitably get in. But regardless I bought the Bak F1 to secure items in the truck bed and it works well.

My review of the BakFlip F1 & the BakBox

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Leroy P (Laredo, TX) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2011-09-28 16:18:46

I like how the cover looks & how easy it was to install. I just hope it withstands the elements long enough for me to justify spending $1000 plus.

BAK FLIP

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Allen C (Chicago, IL) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Silverado — 2011-10-26 08:57:49

EASY TO INSTALL. NEEDS SOME SHIMS IN THE CORNERS TO FORM A PERFECT SEAL. LOOKS GOOD. I AM HAPPY WITH THE PURCHASE.

BakBox review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by kevin d (newport, MI) Reviewed for a 2009 Ford F-150 — 2011-04-16 11:10:28

I liked the idea of BakBox but it's not working out the way I would of liked. I adjusted the BakBox 3 times allready and it continues to fall out of the tracks. I will try and customize it so the sides are not as flexible but doing this I won't be able to tuck it away the way I wanted. I like the idea but this Box needs some more engineering. Not worth the price at this time.