Your Cart Is Empty

BAK BAKFlip G2 Tonneau Cover with BAKBox Toolbox Customer Reviews

Average Rating

80 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Tonneau Cover Quality

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Benjamin G S (Melbourne, FL) Reviewed for a 2001 Nissan Frontier — 2008-04-10 08:49:31

Great quailty. Would like to have a lock on the tonneau cover to access without opening the tailgate. Overall love it.

ITS A GREAT DEAL!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by JOHN T (Fort Washington, MD) Reviewed for a 2005 Dodge Dakota — 2007-02-13 06:36:27

I priced it at at a truck-accessory store for $850, installed. At an auto-parts store for $650, I got it from Auto-Anything for $450. And it installed perfectly. I added a tail-gate lock for $21.

2007 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ryan K (Racine, WI) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-11-15 04:38:14

I finally made up my mind and purchased the BAK Backflip. I'm glad I did. It looks great on my Tacoma. I looked at a lot of different covers and I think that I made a great decision. If you have a Tacoma, be aware, you will lose the function of the tracks in the bed (BAK uses them to mount the rails). No drilling required. Easy assembly (although the directions do really stink). Prompt delivery. All around very pleased with the service, selection, and pricing. Thanks AutoAnything!

So far so good

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Chris R (Longmont, CO) — 2008-04-15 20:25:54

I think this is a quality product, should work out fine, but it's early, I'm waiting to see how well it takes care of water and leaking. INSTALLATION The instructions were alright, not great. For instance, I had no clamps, just small rectangular pieces of steel with holes drilled in them. One of them had the bolts and nuts done in a way to show me how to do the rest, which was fairly time consuming and took more tools than the video made it appear (a single wrench?). I found out during the install on the website(since no one answered the phone number listed) that this was normal for my model. It would've been nice if they'd gone the extra effort and setup all of these makeshift clamps, and not just one, and a simple post-it or amendment in the instructions. One of the clips to hold the sliding arms in place (made of cheap plastic) broke before installation was complete. A trusty rubberband is doing the job now. How about some metal? If you have a Tacoma with a factory bedliner, you will be drilling a hole in the bottom, so get your 3/4" bit ready. CONCLUSION I would buy this again, but I'd hope for a little better quality control in the areas I mentioned. It looks great, looks like the truck came from the factory with it installed. I'd recommend it if you're thinking about getting one.

Number 1 Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jose M (Harlingen, TX) Reviewed for a 2006 Nissan Frontier — 2008-07-02 14:09:37

This is the best investment for my 06 Nissan Frontier. I have gotten all kinds of comliments and my truck looks real tough. The cost was more than reasonable and to think that I almost paid almost twice the amount for a product not as good as BAK Cover. Thanks Jose

Ease of Installation

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Merri K (Paradise, CA) Reviewed for a 2002 Toyota Prius — 2006-04-27 07:27:20

I was really surprised at how easy it was to install this item on my Chevy Colorado. Took less than 30 minutes, and looks great.

And the customer service award goes to.....

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tiffany W (Fredericksburg, VA) — 2006-12-28 16:26:06

AutoAnything!!! The customer service was awesome! I called to inquire about a specific date for arrival and everyone was more than helpful. The Tonneau cover was just as great! It arrived when expected and was easy to install. It was easy to install but the directions were a little vague....there were some parts left over. Overall, it was a great experience.

GMC Canyon crew cab

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeron D (Phoenix, AZ) Reviewed for a 2004 GMC Canyon — 2008-10-24 17:46:03

I shopped around for a while and this is the best tonneau cover you can get. I am not mechanically inclined and I installed this in less than 45 minutes. The fit is perfect and it looks better than I could have hoped. It is light weight, not cheap feeling light, and easy to open and close. The only con would be the cover requires a locking tailgate because all you have to do is open the tailgate and you have access to open the top. I looked at the roll top covers and for ease of install and quality this is just as good or better and less (slightly) expensive. GREAT COVER

love it

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Leonard S (Cohocton, NY) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F150 — 2007-04-15 17:20:43

love it but when you go through a auto car wash it will leek not sure why. took it on vacation had a lot of comments on it. So I told let people know about your web site.

Great design

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gus W (Rosemary Beach, FL) Reviewed for a 2006 Lincoln Mark LT — 2007-10-13 06:43:58

Easy to install, works and looks GREAT!

Great Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Scott H (Las Vegas, NV) Reviewed for a 2003 Nissan Frontier — 2007-11-12 20:02:12

Easiest installation ever. The cover gives a finished look to the truck.

2011 nissan frontier crew cab

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by john t (Decatur, GA) Reviewed for a 2009 Ford F-150 — 2011-10-21 05:51:19

Install was very easy I did it by myself and only took 30 minutes with no drilling. System fits perfect with factory bed extender and factory rail tie down system. This is a solid well built cover that looks even better than I thought it would. It is very easy to remove if needed but with the back flip design I have hauled several large loads and only had to flip it up.

Sharp Looking and Very Functional

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Thomas F (Stillwater, NY) Reviewed for a 2004 Dodge Dakota — 2007-09-05 04:05:21

This cover not only looks good but it was easy to install ~ 30 minutes and it is easy to use.

BAK Bakflip Tonneau Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John A L (Albuquerque, NM) Reviewed for a 2002 Nissan Frontier — 2007-06-02 21:12:33

Greatest cover ever. Versatile, easy to install and/or remove, secure and protective.

Greatest

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William M (Essex, MD) Reviewed for a 2002 Nissan Frontier — 2007-11-29 14:28:59

I can't say anything bad about my deal here. It was a great price and shipping was quick.. It looks great on my truck and works.. It went on in 25 minutes and was simple to install. Been thru 3 rains and everything inside is dry. bill of baltimore

bak has got you covered

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard H (Ashland, KY) — 2008-08-08 08:23:35

I recently received by BAK G2 cover for my 2008 Ford King Ranch. Received in perfect condition and installation was a breeze. I had to make two small cutouts in a truck bed liner that took 30 seconds and was simple even I could do it. Everything went together perfectly. Adjustments are easy and quick and removal when you don't need it is simple. quick and easy. I had a roll up tonneau before and this is not even in the same leaguel. Looks great, much sturdier and protection and security are first class. Couldn't be more pleased. I am a BAK customer for life. Thanks. P.S. AutoAnything had the best price, shipping was quick and secure. No damage and email followup. I'll look to them in the future for my truck needs.

Good so far..

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Philip M (Atlanta, GA) Reviewed for a 2008 Nissan Frontier — 2008-07-16 05:33:04

I have a 2008 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab (short bed). It was easy to install (about 30 minutes). While I was able to install it well enough, they advertise that you can still clamp in the rails even if you have the utilitrack, but it did not work out quite that way for me. They provide 3 clamps for each side, I could only fit two on each side (one at each end of the side/wall utilitrack rails)(I could not fit the clamps between the top of the utilitrack to clamp in). It holds but I would feel more comfortable with all 3 on. I am going to look into removing the rails and trying to install the third clamp and then putting the rails back on to see if it fits. Overall, i really like it, seems secure enough, and drains well through heavy rains. I would definitely recommend it to anyone. Good luck!

2008 Nissan Titan Crew Cab - BakFlip G2

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ronald J (Enterprise, AL) — 2008-08-23 16:21:52

After reviewing the available covers I choose the BakFlip as it offered the best of soft and hard covers. Easy to remove for hauling yet secure enough to store valuables. Arrived within a week of ordering, not bad for shipping across the country. Easy to install, had to trim the bed liner where the rails met the front of the bed, otherwise no problems. Fits great, looks great, easy to use. A little water leakage with Tropical Storm this week but not bad overall. Highly recommend.

Bakflip For Nissan Titan '07 w/UtiliTrack

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Vladimir L (San Jose, CA) Reviewed for a 2007 Nissan Titan — 2007-01-18 11:42:22

Great product, well thought out, well built, good looking, for a good price. Installation was a snap. The only thing complicating it was the UtiliTrack - the rails have to be flipped upside down to make room for the Bakflip's c-clamps. Perhaps BAK could develop UtiliTrack mounting?

Bakflip review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jack P (Fort Walton Beach, FL) Reviewed for a 2009 Acura TSX — 2006-10-26 18:09:18

I have previously owned several types of hard tonneau covers including several solid fiberglass lids and a retractable type. The Bak-flip is my first folding tonneau. I received my Bak flip cover much faster than I expected. It took only eight working days to arrive. It was packaged properly and arrived with no damage. My wife remarked about how light the large box was. The installation was not difficult and relatively simple for anyone of moderate mechanical inclination. However a person of little mechanical experience would have a problem understanding the included instructions. In my opinion the instructions could be much clearer and should be more detailed and re-written at a level that would apply to people with less mechanical experience. Also I think the manufacturer should provide stainless steel bolts for use in attaching the tonneau to the rails. Post installation observations: 1. The cover is very attractive and the texture and color match the plastic bed cap rails on my 2007 Titan. It looks like an OEM factory product. 2. The cover for my titan has three panels. This provides a nice balance look. 3. I have not had a problem with the latches as I have read in other reviews. Mine latch firmly and easily. 4. With the tailgate locked, there is no way to open the tonneau cover as it has no external latch. You must drop the tailgate first. Although this can be a drawback at times, it does provide a clean look and great security. 5. Although it has rained already I have not seen any water leakage to date; but the lid has been on the truck for only two weeks. 6. I replaced the two attachment bolts at the front of the top with stainless steel bolts immediately. To summarize, the Bak-Flip tonneau is better looking than a retractable lid, provides secure storage, opens all the way, does not have a canister that takes up bed space, provides good weather protection and is about half the price of a retractable or fiberglass lid. It is very easy to open as the sections are light and strong. I

wrong size on label

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Larry M (Warren, OH) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Colorado — 2007-01-09 16:27:07

great looks easy instal over spray in bed liner,less than 1HR. it came labeld for colorado long bed but part number was correct for crew cab short bed as orderd

Nice Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael B (Seaford, NY) Reviewed for a 2006 Lincoln Mark LT — 2008-08-12 12:40:00

Installing the rails was a little tedious. I had to cut the factory installed drop in bedliner with a Roto-Zip to allow the rails to sit within the bed as well as giving the drains a place to exit the bed. Other than that, this is a quality top which gives secure versatility to the truck bed. Washed the truck right after install and saw no water in the bed.

Tonneau Flexibility

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jerry P (Wellston, OH) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford F-150 — 2008-05-24 04:56:44

I have had a couple of solf tonneau covers that just did not meet all of my needs for access, east of use, and staying put. The BAK Bakflip give meets all my needs by being sturdy, flexible, lockable, and lockable. I needed something that would not limit my use of my truck without taking it off when I had a large load. The BAK Bakflip is a great buy for the buck and looks great on my truck.

Great Cover---Nice Sleek Look

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steve T (Fairview, NJ) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F150 — 2007-07-15 18:55:18

The Bakflip cover is great. It took two weeks to get after ordering but well worth the wait. Very easy to install. Very easy to open and close. The only thing that didn't fit were the tubes for the drain but thats because of my Rino-Lining spray in bed liner---no big deal though I just went out and got smaller hoses. Now my bed is covered and when I lock my tail gate everything inside is secure---but if I need to put bigger load the cover folds up out of the way. Way better than any button down cover and looks better too.

Exactly what I was looking for

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Luis S (Pasadena, CA) Reviewed for a 2003 Nissan Frontier — 2007-07-10 07:04:35

Instructions were poor, but installation turned out to be a breeze. The fit is right on for my Nissan Frontier. Simple to use and works as described! Function, fit, and appearance get an A from me. I'm only kicking myself for not getting one of these things years ago.

Great product and support

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark B (Milton, VT) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-06-28 22:54:58

I love the cover. It looks good and works well. However when I bought it, it was missing 2 bolts. I called the company and they said that they would mail me out the parts immediately. So far, I am very impressed.

Great top

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Marc F (Pompton Lakes, NJ) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Colorado — 2008-07-11 05:38:49

Top arrived quickly and without any problems. Directions were clear and easy to follow. I did have a little trouble getting one of the rails on level though. It took about 1 hour from start to finish. The top is awesome, keeps all my stuff dry and safe. Great top that I would recommend to anyone who needs to access stuff in the bed of the truck often.

nicer than i thought

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by leland o (North Myrtle Beach, SC) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-05-23 10:22:43

this fit my 07/ tacoma perfict,shiping took about 2.5weeksfor someone who need to get to my toos in diffrent parts of a small 5 foot bet it worked out great heavy duty top only this is it said locking top it dosent it latches, and since my tailgate dosent you drop it and if yo can figure the under top latching system your in to all my goodies but ill figure somethig out ,auto every this is great have about 8k of things i want formy new truck lee

2009 Rambox

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William B (Clifton Park, NY) Reviewed for a 2009 Dodge Ram — 2011-06-26 17:30:43

Cover is worth the money, low profile easy to flip. Boxes open with cover on. Took about an hour to install had to modify rear drain cups and that was it. Get hot to the touch. Botton Line AWESOME

Great solution

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by E L L (Warrenton, VA) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F150 — 2006-12-06 12:31:44

The Bakflip was received quickly and in good condition. Installation was easy. The fit and operation of the cover is excellent. Of the many cover solutions I have used, this is the best.

Good Product, poor install instructions

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ryan S (South Beloit, IL) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-12-23 05:44:39

I haven't had the cover long but appears to be a quality product. Overall no major complaints. The installation instructions leave something to be desired; watch the install video online - much more helpful.

Bakflip

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Sharon F (Huntington Beach, CA) Reviewed for a 2003 Nissan Frontier — 2007-04-10 09:25:48

fits perfectly, easy to install, looks great!

Flippin Easy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Edward M (Port Saint John, FL) Reviewed for a 2010 Dodge Nitro — 2007-03-14 23:08:58

I got the Bak Flip a few days ago and installed it in about 20 minutes. It is secure and doesn't leak at all even thru car washes. I installed in on my 07 Nissan Fontier and it looks great.

bak flip tonneau cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by roy n (Odenville, AL) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-150 — 2006-09-19 17:07:54

cover was very easy to install. Looks great on the truck very easy to use.very water tight . only problem it took a while to receive it from the manufacturer. Everything elsse was great.

Great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin G (Trotwood, OH) Reviewed for a 2009 GMC Canyon — 2008-11-22 15:05:52

This cover is exactly what I was looking for to put on my truck. Easy to install, Looks great. I would recomend to everyone.

Easy to fit, looks great

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by scott n (Magnolia, TX) Reviewed for a 2007 Lincoln Mark LT — 2007-06-01 20:28:57

Mostly water tight, somewhat secure. Easy to adjust any type of load. No problems with side bars or load extenders.

Tacoma 06

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Larry S (Flushing, NY) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-04-14 22:42:25

Nice fit, well made. Only one draw back, you can't use the stock rail tie downs it is covered by the rail for the tonneau cover. Looks really good.

BAK Bakflip For My 2006 Toyota Tacoma

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Helio G (Princeton, FL) Reviewed for a 2012 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-04-14 15:12:09

Instructions are not that clear but it is not difficult to figure out how to install with a little patience. It looks great but it is not completely water tight. I think it is a great buy.

Awesome.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John R (Stratford, CT) Reviewed for a 2008 Nissan Titan — 2008-09-18 19:11:00

The BAK Backflip is just as advertised. Easy to install and easy to use. I have a Nissan Titan with utility track system and I had to remove the rail, flip it over and reinstall it. So I get the best of both worlds, the utility track and the Bakflip. It took me about 15 minutes to install the Bakflip because I was anal about making sure it was lined up perfectly before attaching it. The drain hose is a bit of a hassle, I have a spray in bed liner and no appropriate drain holes. Therefore I am not sure what to do with it. I might just plug the drain hose and see what happens.

Fits/Looks Great!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Loren S (Rapid City, SD) Reviewed for a 2012 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-12-24 10:40:40

Easy to install, especially with the instruction sheet and the film clip. Very solid and looks great due to very low profile. Leaked just a bit near the forward corners when washing, but completely dry after a day in the sleet/snow. Really hated to drill a 3/4" drain hole in a brand new truck bed for the drain hose. Seems to work well, but does it really need to be that big? Have already used it in the completely flipped up position. Worked well and is really great to have complete access to the truck bed. Very happy compared to solid or roll-up types.

Very Satisfied!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by mary f (Magnolia, TX) Reviewed for a 2011 Dodge Ram — 2012-01-17 20:49:42

The product got here fast and had no complications at all.I was amazed with how easy the installation was, it took me, by myself overall an hour to install. The instructions were very easy to understand. It has rained a lot since it has been installed and I am pleased to say that it has not leaked any. I was so excited to finally find a low profile, tri-folding, hard cover that was made specifically for trucks with ram boxes. It looks amazing on it, cuts back on the wind, and I get lots of looks and compliments on it! I am a very satisfied customer!!!

First Hard Tonneau

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David C (Cheshire, CT) — 2011-10-25 13:40:50

Installation was easy..about 20 minutes, don't know why some people were complaining. Looks great....durability remains to be seen

Great upgrade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Douglas L (Saint George, UT) — 2011-10-27 21:35:10

The Bak Flip G2 exceeded my expectations. Easy install, great looking.

GREAT PRODUCT

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Joseph M (Toms River, NJ) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Silverado — 2011-03-09 02:59:48

SUPER FAST DELIVERY, ONE HOUR INSTALL, BEST PRICE. LOOKS GREAT!

a little extra work, but worth it

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Wayne B (Elkin, NC) Reviewed for a 2005 Dodge Dakota — 2007-05-01 08:44:05

I bought this for a 2005 Quad cab Dakota. Since I only had the 3.7 V6, I wanted to save some weight over the traditional full bed caps. This only weighed 25-30 pounds and saved over a 100 lbs. in towing weight. Because of the factory bed liner there were a few corners that left small gaps to fill with weather stripping (or black duct tape). Also the tailgate protector and liner had to be removed in order for the latches at the tailgate to operate easily. Depending on your vehicle, trimming some pieces off may work just as well. Without the bed liner, I suspect it would have fit perfectly with minimal adjustments. I'm sure this will vary from vehicle to vehicle. It took about 90 minutes to install (20-30 minutes for the side rails, then almost an hour to place it and drill the holes). Once in place, it looks great and works exactly as advertised. Some of the rubber strips were loose upon delivery, but stayed in place after I stuck them back. It's watertight and easy to use. I'm extremely pleased with the clean look and would buy another one without hesitation.

Bak Bakflip Tonneau cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James R (Manassas, VA) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-09-12 11:05:05

This is a great cover. It was easy to intall, although it did not come with instructions, instructions were obtained from the Bak website. This evidently was an updated version as it did not need any drilling. The cover fits fine and looks great.

Quick and Easy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Julia P (Braintree, VT) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-04-07 14:40:15

Although the installation instructions and the online instruction video clip were not identical, laying the parts out made installation very easy. The price is right; however we spent another $40 for drill bits for installation of drainage tubes and caulking of rails to secure weather proofing of bed. Overall installation was extremely easy and quick.

Excellent Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gerry T (Alameda, CA) Reviewed for a 2004 Nissan Frontier — 2007-11-20 16:27:35

The cover was fully installed in less than 30 minutes, with no problems. It looks beautiful. The only problem: my truck has now become my wife's shopping cart!!! Excellent product

BAK Bakflip Tonneau Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Daryl B (Joplin, MO) Reviewed for a 2007 Nissan Frontier — 2007-11-24 05:07:30

The Bakflip installation video made the installation easy to understand. I did have a little adjustment to make with one of the clamps but when I called the company the designer of the Bakflip was extremely helpful. I am very satisfied with the way the bakflip looks and operates. I would not hesitate to recommend this product. Daryl B Joplin, MO

Great Look, BUT

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Thurman M (Beaumont, TX) — 2008-08-05 08:36:23

Delivery was quick, and I put it on in about 30 minutes, BUT the directions for shims were not clear and it does leak badly at each rear corner. I love the look and ease of use. I would buy it again but think instructions for specific trucks should include where to shim and clamp on each model and how to stop the LEAKS

BAK Bakflip Tonneau Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Andrew G (La Crescenta, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-03-10 19:20:04

Bought it for my 5ft Tacoma bed. Simple install, but it would have helped if they included instructions. The device required me to install a lock for the tailgate and the first flap will have to have some modifications to prevent it from being pried open. The back end, near the cab, doesn't open like in the video but is bolted in place, I assume because of the 5 ft bed. Made well and looks good.

So far so good...

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James C (Nashville, TN) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan Frontier — 2007-01-19 02:44:38

I've only had the cover for a couple of weeks but, so far I'm very pleased with it. The installation was very easy and it fit nicely above the factory track system and my bed extender. My only minor annoyance was that the drain tubes were each about 3 inches short of reaching the bed's drain openings. I used all 3 rail supports on each side but, given the bed's short length, I may eventually use only 2 per side. I love the low profile of the cover and the overall looks of it complement my truck nicely. I haven't had it out in the rain yet so I can't say how waterproof it is. My 8 year old nephew was anxious to climb on top of it, but I wouldn't let him for fear he'd damage it. Over all, I really like this product and if it proves to be reasonably water, weather and child proof I'll be happy.

Nice cover but mounting system needs improvement

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Henry C (Idaho Falls, ID) Reviewed for a 2006 — 2007-08-21 23:49:21

The touted easy mounting system of the BAKflip cover displaced the four OEM moveable cargo hooks on the 2007 Tacoma double cab truck - didn't expect that after reading all the reviews. One advice: use lock washers (not spring washers)on the screw head side to prevent the screws from spinning freely when you try to loosen the screws later for adjustment or alignment. Otherwise the installation was very straight forward. The web-based installation guide didn't provide any additional installation hint - needs improvement. Cover looked like original equipment for a couple of weeks, but beginning to notice some sagging at mid-span on the leaf nearest to the tailgate.

Cool cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Shawn S (Midwest City, OK) Reviewed for a 2008 GMC Sierra — 2009-01-27 04:51:31

I had a roll up type before and wanted something that was a bit more flat on the bed, this is almost completely level with the bed. Very heavy duty, there was over an inch of ice on it yesterday, no sag at all. Install took a little longer than I had hoped, just because I had to adjust things with the shims they provide to get it all squared up.

Toyota Tacoma

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Deanna S (Moreno Valley, CA) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-01-10 19:48:45

Instructions were too vague however, the online video was helpful. Ended up with extra brackets (?). Mounts to/covers cargo clip rails - total loss of cargo clip use - not good. Fit (to side rails)is just OK. Overall satisfaction is good-somewhat disapointed.

all that was promised

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Craig L (Tucson, AZ) Reviewed for a 2004 Nissan Frontier — 2008-08-28 16:08:37

I ordered the Bakflip based on the it's clever design, not knowing if it would be a quality product. I am very pleased. It is very easy to install and operate. It has improved my gas milage by one and a half miles per gallon and it appears to to be made ruggedly enough to hold up to working conditions. The only concerne I have is that it looks like it might be easier to brake into than some of the other Tonneau covers. I also was lucky that my truck tailgate locks because the only way to lock the tonneau cover is by having a locking tailgate. Over all I am very pleased.

Tacoma's got BAK

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tim C (Tucson, AZ) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tacoma — 2008-04-15 12:30:27

The install was easy and quick. Overall, this is a very nice top.It was a bit hard to set it in the right position. Slightly larger (25 - 50%) rubber flaps on the sides would make alignment easier and less critical. The rail weather stripping is also a bit too soft. The sharp edges of the panels bite into the soft rubber. Wider and or higher durameter material should work better. Overall, this is a nice top.

BAKFlip Ease of Installation

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Paul F (Tempe, AZ) Reviewed for a 2004 Nissan Titan — 2008-01-04 15:04:24

The BAKFlip was easy to install by following the video or accompanying written instructions. It looks good and is functional as a cover that fits flat with the top of the truck. The holder for the cover all the way up against the bed is a little flimsy but is functional.

BakFlip on 2006 Tacoma 4x4

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Phillip E (Charlotte, NC) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tacoma — 2006-11-01 06:36:34

I would rate the quality of the materials a 9/10, quality of construction 8/10 - some glue showing where panels attached to hinges. Fit was pretty good, but instructions could be improved. Advertised as all stainless fasteners which was incorrect - washers and nuts regular steel. Drain receptacle and tubes weakest link and should be re-engineered.

Good Deal

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert Z (Port St Lucie, FL) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford F150 — 2006-05-17 20:12:39

Cover works as advertized, one issue, the two exposed bolt heads are not stainless steel, or other rust proof material. I will need to recoat with something, otherwise perfect.

Bakflip Tonneau Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael P (Fox Ridge Rd, FL) Reviewed for a 2004 Nissan Titan — 2006-05-17 17:16:52

The cover was easy to install, took about an hour. It looks and works as advertised. My only complaint is that it does not seal around the tailgate.

eaiser than I thought

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James D (Hamilton, NJ) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Colorado — 2008-09-17 06:23:42

I got the cover and though the instruction given are very vauge (no idea how to install the drain tubes) the install went easier than I thought. I had the cover and all installed (except the drain tubes) in about a 1/2 hour. I recommend this cover to anyone looking. My father-in-law is looking to get one for his '03 Dodge after seeing mine.

Bakflip cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian B (Prescott Valley, AZ) — 2006-10-10 15:04:02

Great product. It was very easy to install. I would rate it a 2 out of 10 in the level of difficulty. The supplied directions could use some work, they are not very clear. The BAK website has an ok video of the install.

GREAT DEAL

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by JOSE R (Pico Rivera, CA) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-03-07 20:30:51

REALLY LIKE THIS PRODUCT LOOKS AND WORKS GREAT

To tonneau or not to tonneau?

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Cary A (Aloha, OR) Reviewed for a 2007 Nissan Frontier — 2007-05-02 15:19:34

It had to be a hard, locking cover that folds out of the way quickly and yet be secure so nobody could steal my stuff. Bakflip to the rescue! It's sweet - but the installation directions were lousy. Nevertheless, good buy for the money and AutoAnything rocks!

tonneau truck

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard G (Winston Salem, NC) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-04-28 06:25:25

Everybody loves my new tonneau trcuk. The cover was very easy to install.Thanx for the quick shipping. ric

Great Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ryan C (Muskegon, MI) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Colorado — 2008-02-19 14:02:07

I am very happy with this product. Heavy duty and feels well built. Installation took much longer than advertised though.

Great cover, just what I wanted.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William C (Sugar Land, TX) Reviewed for a 2006 Nissan Frontier — 2007-10-18 18:50:43

Perfect for my truck. Just what I was looking for. Very versatile. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because one of the locking latches was misaligned and I had to pull out the screws and readjust the latch. Also, the directions are unclear but the cover is pretty simple to install.

Ingenious Product With A Couple of Small Shortcomings

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Edward M (Las Vegas, NV) Reviewed for a 2005 GMC Canyon — 2007-06-05 16:01:01

For the price, this is an exceptional product. It looks great, is easy to use, and provides protection as well as security for my belongings (I work in IT so I'm sometimes traveling around with $10-20,000 worth of equipment). Though the instructions are just as bad as other folks on here have warned, the cover really is easy to install once you lay all the parts out and stare at them for a while. I only had an issue with two things: 1. The instructions call for a certain size drill bit to make holes for the 4 screws that attach the cover to the rails. Unfortunately, the size of the screws seems to have changed, and the hole was much small than it needed to be which lead to much re-drilling with larger bits and a fair amount of swearing as the screws were a bear to get in. Once I was able to actually get them through the drilled holes it was fine, but the process was not fun. 2. They supply two drainage tubes each about 2 feet in length that attach at the front of the bed near the cab to drain water. I'm still a bit perplexed as to what I'm supposed to do with these as I don't have any drain holes (at least not ones nearly long enough to allow for the size of the tubes) and they are hardly long enough to read the end of the bed to drain out the back. Maybe I missed some subliminal message in the convoluted instructions supplied so if someone wants to clue me in that would be great. 3. I live in the desert southwest, and I'm mildly concerned about the affect the extreme heat is going to have on the rubber seals after a couple of summers. I guess we'll just have to see. Overall, I think this is a great product; it looks great on my GMC Canyon, is easy to use, and is one of the best, most cost-effective solutions I have seen. The customer service from autoanything.com has been exceptional and I will be using them as my default auto accessory source.

COVER GREAT-HARDWARE & INST POOR

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ransom E A (Lake Dallas, TX) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-05-24 11:13:17

Bought cover for '07 Tacoma Dble Cab 5ft bed. Hardware is inferior and not suited for this vehicle with the angled top rails. Corrected by installing large thin 1 1/4" washers btwn factory rails and BAK side rails. This allows for square fit of cover. Wrong bolts for side plates were replaced with common 1/4X20X11/4" bolts. This allowed flush tightening of bolts to plates and plates to side rails. Put foam rubber behind side plates to hold them to side rails for easy nut installment. Shud come with tailgate lock for high price.

Almost perfect

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeff W (Glendale, CA) Reviewed for a 2001 Dodge Dakota — 2011-03-08 06:09:38

Installation was a snap, except for the drain tubes, for which I had to drill holes through the bed wall between the bed and cab. The fit for my truck was right on the money and the cover was on in less than half an hour (except for the drains). The cover looks great, works smoothly and seems very sturdy. The lack of wind turbulence makes my truck roll down the road more smoothly, and I think the cover's materials also damp out some road noise and vibration. Overall, I'm very satisfied and would have given it perfect marks except for two things: 1. Despite the drain tubes, some water still gets in the bed when it rains. 2. The rubber seal at the right rear corner is not stuck down completely, leaving a little flap that sticks up, spoiling the looks a bit. I don't think this affects the water seal - it just looks a bit off.

Excellent Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark M (Long Beach, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan Titan — 2007-06-29 11:57:54

The Bakflip Tonneau cover that I purchase work, and looks great on my Nissan Titan. Just wash my truck today since having the cover and it didn't leak as much as I thought it would. So I know my cargo will be safe from any wet weather until I get it to its destination. This was a great buy! My only complaint was the instructions sucked. But if I can figure it out anyone can. Great Job!!

Nice but not worth the price

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steve L (Browndale, PA) Reviewed for a 2011 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-03-30 13:08:27

As always its a pleasure shopping with AUTOANYTHING, this product was easy to install and is good looking on the vehicle, but I don't believe its worth the price in comparison to other products out there that provide the same thing.

installation

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Andrew M (Northville, MI) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F-150 — 2008-06-27 07:24:37

Great cover, The installation was more intense than i inticipated because of my bed liner. some trimming of the liner was required for the drain ports. Once the rails were on the rest came together in under 5 minutes.

sleak

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by SCOTT M (Phelps, NY) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F150 — 2007-04-15 12:00:41

love it . handy and highly recommended to any looking for a tonneau cover plus easy installation

Good cover - Looks good

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark S (Ephrata, WA) Reviewed for a 2006 Nissan Frontier — 2006-04-29 07:26:23

I am really happy with the quality of the cover. Total installation time was about a hlf hour, incuding getting everything ready. Instructions could have been a little better, but overall they were pretty easy to use. This cover adds a good look to the truck. I definately recommend it.

Looks Great

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael N (Baton Rouge, LA) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tacoma — 2006-04-11 08:29:11

The Bakflip looks great once installed. However, the directions are too generic and the instructional video on the website was not very helpful. It took a lot more time then I thought it would to install but now that it is done I love it.

Installed on 08 Colorado

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert S (Glenshaw, PA) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Colorado — 2008-06-24 11:59:29

Installation was a major choreon my model, mostly because lining up the catches with the track is very difficult. Lying in the bed with a light to adjust the tracks while the cover was in place was the only way and I still have to push pretty hard to get the plastic catches to click. That will eventually bend the track. The catches should be adjustable vertically as well as they are in and out. This would eliminate having to push so hard on the cover to make it latch. Directions on locations for shims was not useful. Top or side of what? Oh, and forget about calling on a Saturday for help. That said, the unit looks absolutely great, but if she can't cook, looks only go so far.

BakFlip Nissan Frontier (Good Compromise)

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gregg C (Harrah, OK) Reviewed for a 2007 Nissan Frontier — 2007-08-21 19:02:41

BakFlip is a good compromise. I have had the cover on my 2007 Nissan truck now for 2 months. I traded in my SUV for a crew cab truck with the idea of keeping the interior room but also having more space to haul stuff. I needed a bed cover that would keep my cargo relativly safe and dry but also easily moveable in case I wanted to haul something larger. After a lot of research it came down to the BakFlip and the Undercover. The idea of the backflip wins hands down but after having it for two months the decision comes down to one thing do you really need to haul items taller than the sidewalls of the bed or not. If the answer is yes then the bakflip is the one. I like the idea that I can stop off at a Home improvement store and have no worry that the items I buy will fit. I just fold it up. The downside is that the cover is only safer than a tonneau because it appears secure in reality it can easily be shifted and opened from outside. Its only about 90% water proof and last weekend I looked back and noticed that it really does jump around alot at highways speed. I almost thought that I had made the wrong decision, but came to the conclusion when I had to haul my daughters PowerWheels home that it was the right choice. If you haul unplanned stuff then its worth it. If you don't and need security then a flip up design might be the choice. Strong point: Folds up, Relativly inexpensive, Looks great, Fits inside the bed wall. Weak point: Not very sturdy, Fit truck well but required some ingenuiety, Low security.

reg cab with ram boxes

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by dave s (West Bend, WI) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2012-06-26 09:38:29

The bak flip for ram boxes was not designed for the reg cab trucks. It must have been design for the crew cabs. The parts I rec'd were different than what was in the installation manual and video. I ended up taking the brackets on and off 3 times to get it together properly. Then the latch arm holder screws did not fit in the holes. And finally the 2 bolts that hold it down in front were not even close to lining up. I had to fabricate parts to make it work