Your Cart Is Empty

BAK BAKFlip HD Tonneau Cover Customer Reviews

Average Rating

80 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Fits like a glove

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Eric J (Las Vegas, NV) Reviewed for a 2009 Ford F-150 — 2009-12-29 06:25:56

This is a great cover. Strength, versatility, security, easy access, and good looks - this has it all. I was able to install the cover by myself in about 30 minutes. While the directions weren't very clear (I assumed that the three rubber bumpers were supposed to be attached to the cover in order to provide some protection for the cab), it was still pretty easy. I love the fact that I now have a secure cover for the bed that still allows me easy access and versatility.

Hitchmate Cargo Stabilizer Bar

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark V (Huntington Beach, CA) Reviewed for a 2010 Chevy Silverado — 2012-02-03 07:34:43

The product is a quality product and tough built. I like it, however I do have one constructive critizism. I know I'm old and half-retarded, but I had to fiddle a little to get the right tension. This was a little awkward for me, holding the bar up with one hand, while trying to swing the lever all the way open to adjust the length by one tooth. My suggestion would be to develop some type of screwing tensioner, on the order of a shower curtain rod. That way, you wouldn't have to lever open and closed, trying to find the proper toothe to engage, while balancing the bar with the other hand.

Assembly and instruction

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert W (Chesterfield, MO) — 2009-05-08 09:42:31

The assembly was very staightforward. Using the shims provided, the rails went in straight and the covers fit very well. There were some foam pieces with double stick tape included that did not show up in the directions. I saved them, however, have no idea on where they go.

Satisfied Customer

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark H (Omak, WA) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford F-150 — 2011-06-22 17:19:03

I really like the convenience and the looks of my new cover. As indicated in other reviews, installation instructions/ recommendations are cryptic at best. The instructional video was very helpful. The rails are the most time consuming and difficult to get right and the whole system relies on proper alignment so take your time- I had to fabricate shims for my Dodge (in addition to the provided shims) to keep the clamps from pulling the rails down out of alignment. Customer service was very helpful, shipping was fast, and the product was packed very well, all at a fair price for the product. I have reservations about how long the hinges will last but time will tell. Mark H.

Bakflip HD

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeffery F (Cypress, TX) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2011-12-07 19:23:42

Love the cover and it looks great on the truck. From the side you really don't notice there is a cover on it.Everything fits perfect.

detailed instructions

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by gary b (Olalla, WA) — 2009-01-03 07:31:36

The cover is well made and attractive. Installation is relatively easy and should be weather tight. The instructions coud have better details showing a drawing of bolt and washer stack and details of the shim pack. Overal an excellent product.

I like the lights

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Thomas G N (Baldwin, NY) Reviewed for a 2005 GMC Sierra — 2011-08-30 04:12:21

The lights are bright and look sharp. They were easy to install.

Bully Dog Triple Dog GT Tuner (2500 diesel)

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ian K (El Dorado Hills, CA) Reviewed for a 2008 GMC Sierra — 2009-07-20 20:21:30

Its very easy to download and install. All though I did have some trouble finding a slot through my firewall to the inside of the cab. Other than that, everything went smoothly. I would allow 45-60 mins to install. Its very easy to use and navigate. I noticed a difference in power right away. Big difference! I haven't noticed a different in mpg's yet. I've only had it for a week or so.

BAK Flip HD: Capper Alternative

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Cynthia M (Queen Creek, AZ) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2010-06-11 02:09:19

My wife and I were just about ready to purchase an $1800+ fiberglass capper when she suggested a solid tonneau cover. We first looked at the one-piece covers and the solid roll-covers, never having really considered a cloth cover (too flimsy, no security). The multi-piece solid cover type won us over after a discussion with a co-worker with an F-250 and a solid-type roll-cover revealed deep dissatisfaction. The BAKFlip HD is half the price (or less) of a capper, well made, and super simple to install. `We have but one complaint: It took over two weeks for the thing to be delivered!

Sturdy Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Andrew W (Woodinville, WA) Reviewed for a 2001 Ford F-250 — 2009-06-03 09:41:14

The BakFlip HD is a sturdy bed cover. No sag at all. The installation was very easy and quick. An excellent product.

Good truck bed mat

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Charles E (Douglasville, GA) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Silverado — 2010-02-02 18:43:09

I considered ordering a bed mat from the dealer, but the price seemed very high, so I ordered the less expensive Dee Zee Heavyweight Truck Bed Mat for my 2009 Chevy 1500. It more than met all my expectations. Nothing slides around in the bed of my truck anymore. The quality and fit is excellent. I would highly recommend this product.

What the installation video doesn't tell you.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert P (BOCA RATON, FL) Reviewed for a 2000 Ford F-150 — 2011-02-18 06:50:17

The mounting rails for my BAKFlip HD Tonneau Cover go ON TOP of the plastic side-rail covers on the sides of the truck bed. This fact was not apparent in the installation video - so I cut one of the mounting rails to fit BENEATH the truck's side rails. This still didn't work - so I called BAK and got proper instructions. BAK stood behind their product and replaced the damaged mounting rail. After that the installation was easy, and the end result is magnificent!

great buy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by francisco c (Glen Ellyn, IL) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-250 — 2010-11-21 18:37:33

Great buy from autoanything, got here as schedule. Out of the box and install in 30 minutes.

bull rings

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Miguel M (Saint Augustine, FL) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-250 — 2010-11-03 19:52:44

I bought these and installed them on my truck. Took all of 10 minutes, what a great product. Have used them a few time already and really love how easy it is to use.

Great Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Henry J (Rockledge, FL) Reviewed for a 2012 Nissan Titan — 2012-01-14 07:22:42

Great cover very secure. The fit at the cab end leave a little to desire but fixable!

bakflip hd tonneau

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by leonard g (Arvada, CO) — 2011-06-08 07:38:50

we love this tonneau,we thought it was going to be hard to install but it was so easy.i would recoment it to buyers i have gotten so many remarks from people.so i told them we bought it from auto anything,also the customer service was as helpful as can be great job. thank you so much see you in the future. leonard.

2008 F150 King Ranch Crew Cab 4X4 Flowmaster Exhaust Kit

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kenneth S (Fayetteville, GA) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford F-150 — 2012-09-23 08:31:24

Instructions could have been a little more accurate but all consider they were not that bad. If you have a 2008 F150 Crewcab, know that the first factory hanger has to be relocated, easy to do but the instructions do not tell you this. System fit is very well and appears to be of good quality and has has nice sound.

Very pleased!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Joshua B (Broken Arrow, OK) Reviewed for a 2010 GMC Sierra — 2010-12-29 14:54:34

I have had the BAKFlip HD cover on my 2010 GMC for a little over 3 weeks now and I am very happy with it overall. Only a few minor things I would like to see done differently. The system was easy to install, but the instructions were a little vague. I have a need often to run with the cover paritally open, and strapping it open makes me a little uncomfortable. I would rather see a latching mechanism of some sort, but the straps work for short trips. Overall, I'm very pleased and I would purchase this cover again.

Great cover and easy install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Eric P (Sealy, TX) Reviewed for a 2011 Dodge Ram — 2012-05-22 08:09:35

After Auto Anything's Jay Morris sent me the install sheet, it was a snap. Our 13yo and I installed the whole thing in about 20 minutes. Everything arrived in excellent shape with all hardware, but it is apparently packaged for accessory shops. No instructions. Get them off of the Bak website or have Auto Anything send them to you. Just makes the install go quicker.

Secure dry cover that installs easily

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian L (Binghamton, NY) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Silverado — 2009-06-23 08:46:24

I had a roll up tonneau before the BakFlip & the roll up would not stay dry in the bed. The BakFlip installs really easy & keeps stuff dry & secure in your bed.

Nice Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dennis B (American Canyon, CA) Reviewed for a 2010 Chevy Silverado — 2011-03-26 07:42:15

Overally really like the cover. Couple of items would be helpful in the instructions, example when to use shims and when not to (not when there is a liner or spray on liner). Other than that, really like it.

2011 BAKFlip HD

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian W (Chesapeake, VA) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2011-05-05 08:50:44

Quality construction, clean look and a piece of cake to install (even with my wife helping). Would recommend it to anyone looking for a bed cover.

Great buy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by JonPaul H (Lakeland, FL) Reviewed for a 2010 Nissan Frontier — 2010-03-14 17:44:15

Took an hour to install, sounds great, makes it hard not to put the pedal to the floor

Great mat. A++ Would buy again.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John W (San Diego, CA) — 2011-08-01 20:54:16

I have a 6 foot bed. The thing just rolled out and fit the bed perfectly and even had notches at the outer edges for the bed loops to fit through. It's like the Toyota factory one except you pay half the price to not have the Toyota name on it. The rubber is not slippery and all my gear stays in one place while I drive.

AWESOME LOOK!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian P (Groton, CT) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2009-09-15 04:51:15

The cover arrived quickly, about 4 days after I ordered. Once received, it took about an hour to install. The directions were a bit vague, but installation was very straight forward. I needed a little assistance in installing, so my five year old neighbor provided the extra hand to hold the cover bolts down. The cover looks extremely sharp and is very easy to operate.

Exactly what I wanted!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Chad N (Belle Chasse, LA) Reviewed for a 2013 Ford F-250 — 2012-12-20 05:15:58

This cover was so easy to install it is ridiculous. It took about 30 minutes and that was to make sure I got it straight. I've had it for about a week and have had no problems as of yet. It really looks sleek on a black 2013 F-250 Platinum.

Best cover!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Rickey F M (Mendenhall, MS) — 2011-06-18 19:04:54

The BakFlip HD Tonneau cover is exactly what I was looking for: provide cover, security for the contents and looks great. It was very easy to install and i an very pleased with it. Had a small issue with the bolts not being included, but AutoAnything solved the problem without any issues. Thanks!

GREAT PRODUCT

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Nathan G (GREENVILLE, PA) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Tundra — 2010-11-30 20:12:03

This was very easy to install, looks great, and is very functional and easy to use!

Very Nice Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian G (Shermans Dale, PA) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford F-250 — 2009-01-14 15:55:56

I received my new BakFlip HD cover and installed it last week. The installation went very smoothly and I was able to complete the project by myself in 30-45 minutes. The instructions that came with the cover had very small print so I went to the manufacturer's website and watched their installation video. This was very helpful. The cover fits my 2006 F250 perfectly and the cover seems to be made from quality materials. So far I am very pleased with the appearance and functionality.

Great Tonneau

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeffery S (La Porte, TX) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2011-03-25 20:35:00

This is my third tonneau, and by far the best! I am very pleased with the Bakflip HD. Installation was no problem even with the poor instructions. Total install time was about 30 minutes by myself. I am now awaiting delivery of a Bak Box. Should have ordered with the Bakflip. The only issue is that it is not 100% watertight. I get a small amount of water entering the rear of the bed around the tailgate, but not enough to be of any concern. Highly reccomend this tonneau and autoanything.

BAK Bakflip HD on 2008 F250

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by jonathan l (Spring, TX) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford F-250 — 2010-04-26 20:14:29

Excellent product. Installed easily by myself in about 1 hour. Having a helper would have made it easier as the top is a bit awkward to position without help. Fit and construction are very good. I have only had the top about a week but it did keep my bed dry after a heavy downpour. Tonneau is almost as easy to use as a roll up cover with the added benefit of not losing bed space to a canister. Just remember to close the tailgate before closing the tonneau.

Easy to install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark D (Labadie, MO) Reviewed for a 1999 Ford F-250 — 2010-08-20 20:20:37

Great product. Took me and my 10 year old about 40 minutes to install. Fits well. Nice and secure.

Excellent Pads

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark J (Pembroke Pines, FL) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F-150 — 2010-04-26 06:38:11

The pads fit perfectly, front and rear. After installation, I definately noticed an increase in stopping power on my f150 SCrew. It makes the truck feel so much lighter in traffic. I'm not sure about the other comments about increased brake dust over OEM...at least in my application, the dust is significantly less. Very happy with my purchase.

Sweeeet cover!!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Adam C (North Miami, FL) Reviewed for a 1998 Ford F-150 — 2010-01-08 16:43:45

Easy install in about 10 min in the dark with a buddy of mine. Came with a small ding on one of the rails. But not able to see it with the cover closed. Great look great fit. Get compliments all the time. BAK is a great choice. Hasn't rained yet so dont know about the seal. But looks like its pretty water tight!

I would definitely buy this again.......

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James O (Fresno, CA) Reviewed for a 2009 Ford F-150 — 2011-04-08 07:51:44

Took me about an hour to install it by myself. Went together easily and it looks great. We just had rain, wind, and hail yesterday, the bed stayed dry because I installed the rail drain tubes. I am very satisfied with this cover.

Bak HD

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert F (KINGWOOD, TX) — 2013-01-03 07:44:19

Love the cover. It goes on easy and looks great. It easily folds and takes seconds to do so. If you are looking for a cover, you seriously need to consider this one.

2011 F150

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Francisco A (Big Lake, TX) — 2012-02-03 07:05:35

Great Tonneau cover, couldnt be happier!

This Cover Does It All

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Stephen T (Grand Blanc, MI) Reviewed for a 2010 Dodge Ram — 2010-06-04 08:57:58

In looking for a truck bed cover, I wanted something low profile and secure. What made it more challenging is that I have bedrails and a bedliner as well. My BakFlip HD was just the right choice: hard-top, tri-fold cover that is locked down with my locking tailgate. It was easy to install... in fact, it took me less than 45 minutes. My biggest challenge was access through my bedliner for proper drainage of water runoff from the cover tracks. If I had the choice again to buy this cover, I would puchase it in a minute!

BAKFLIP Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by JOHN V (Hamburg, NJ) Reviewed for a 2010 Dodge Ram — 2011-11-08 03:09:21

This cover is incredibly easy to install. It took longer to unpack from the cartons than to install it. I installed it in about a half an hour. It's strong and great looking. I love the way you can walk on it.

New Owner

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James W (Elmwood, MA) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2011-05-03 09:32:28

I've only had it for a couple of weeks. I have a 2010 F-150 with abed liner. The only problem I had with installation was the rails were too long to close the tailgate. When I called BAKIndustries, they were closed for inventory. I called "AutoAnything" and they knew nothing. I finally just cut away part of the beedliner. I installed the drains the next day. We had a huge thunderstorm just after I did that. No water in the bed at all. So far, I find it to be everything I hoped for. It is pricy though.

LARRY'S BED RAIL COMMENT

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Larry G (Grand Island, NE) Reviewed for a 2011 GMC Sierra — 2011-09-07 19:57:19

INSTALLATION, FAIRLY SIMPLE.LIKE OVAL TUBE LOOK,DIFFERENT LOOK THAN COMMON ROUND.

great cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert D (MOUNT HOPE, WV) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-250 — 2013-03-08 04:36:15

Great cover, easy to install. Almost too easy. When I was done I had to think, "is that it." Took maybe 20 minutes at the most. Fits secure and easy to use. Even in midst of a WV winter, it only took a day for the seals to form down tight.

BakFlip HD good buy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Fred P (Verona, WI) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F-250 — 2009-10-04 06:17:24

Very happy with the BakFlip HD. Turned out to be very water resistent (why I went with the flip over the canister rolling cover.) Traveled 1000 miles through some storms and no water in bed. Very easy to install. Looks good. Kids jump on it, but I would not walk on it.

BedRug Mat

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Derrick D (Las Vegas, NV) Reviewed for a 2009 GMC Sierra — 2009-06-29 20:21:03

I had the full bed rug liner in my 08 dodge ram and it was great! I traded that truck in on a new one that already had a drop in liner. This mat was the perfect answer to cover the bed floor to stop items from sliding around and easy on the knees for crawling around the bed!

Great Looking Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Sam E (Idaho Falls, ID) — 2012-01-20 20:52:49

My HD cover was very easy to install. One wrench and a drill for the drain hole and it was installed in 40 minutes.

Tailgate seal improvement

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Henry B (Sapulpa, OK) Reviewed for a 2009 Honda Ridgeline — 2012-01-26 09:12:34

The cover is excellent in every way except the tailgate seal.You shouldn'nt have to lift the cover every time you open the tailgate.of the three previous covers i've had, none required me to lift the cover each time i opened the tailgate. had i known this, i would have bought a different brand covcer.

2011 GMC Sierra Ext Cab 6'6" Chapel Hill, NC

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert F (Frankfort, MI) Reviewed for a 2009 Subaru Outback — 2011-04-06 18:38:50

Fairly easy install and looks pretty dang good.

Ron

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ronald O (HEISKELL, TN) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Silverado — 2012-11-10 16:14:59

Very please with product, looks great, easy to install about 1.5 hours, provides the function I needed and was looking for.

BAK BAKFlip HD Tonneau Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James D P (Plano, TX) Reviewed for a 2004 — 2011-07-06 08:45:26

Having in the past a fiberglass one piece cover and later a cannister roll-up cover, this one exceeds all. Installation took 45 minutes. Everything fit perfectly and retains 98% of the useable bed space. It remained watertight inside the bed even in a auto car-wash. Great product.

Can't Think of Anything Negative to Say

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Max M (Tucson, AZ) — 2008-12-29 20:22:54

Just what I needed and wanted. Quickly shipped. Easy to install. (Written instructions could have been more explicit, but the assembly adventure was short and painless.) Sturdy. Looks great. Seals wonderfully, with a great system for draining accumulated water. It poured rain just a day after I installed the cover, and there was not a drop of moisture in the bed. Easy to open: partially or entirely. I love it. No complaints. Thank you BAK and thank you Autoanything.com. Superb product.

bed caps look great on my black sierra denali truck.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark M (Clementon, NJ) — 2008-12-31 05:41:41

the black bed caps look great on my black sierra denali truck. They fit perfect and were easy to install.

2010 toyota tundra BakFlip HD

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mun K (Irving, TX) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Tundra — 2010-03-17 05:59:37

I love it. It's really improved gas mileages. It's was 15.6/ gallon Average but right now 17.00/ gallon

Best Bed Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeffrey J (Byram Township, NJ) Reviewed for a 2012 Honda Ridgeline — 2011-12-28 09:38:49

Very easy to install and looks great on my 2012 Ridgeline. I already received compliments on the BAK BAKFLIP HD tri-fold and I only had it for 1 week.

Great Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Shane G (La Place, LA) Reviewed for a 2011 Toyota Tacoma — 2012-03-31 10:58:33

Cover looks great

HD Tonneau

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Danny H (Huntington Beach, CA) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford Explorer — 2009-10-06 21:27:51

It only took me 30' to install it including studing the instructins. Very easy to use. Looks good and it is strong enough to hold items left on in a hurry. Downside, need to flip up the last panel every time I use the tailgate and too expensive.

BAK BakFlip HD

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Terence C (Charlotte, NC) Reviewed for a 2009 Ford F-150 — 2009-05-31 13:34:22

The cover is wonderful. It took 15 minutes to install and looks great. I highly recommend the BakFlip HD Tonneau Cover.

very nice design

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin A (SPRING, TX) Reviewed for a 2010 Dodge Ram — 2013-02-07 06:24:23

Love the design of my BakFlip HD tonneau cover - sturdy, sleek and easy to install and operate.

BAKFLIP HD Perfect for My F50

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Arthur S (Arlington Heights, IL) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F-150 — 2009-12-25 07:45:52

I definitly made the right decision purchasing the BAKFLIP HD Tonneau cover. Product is very well made, looks great, works well, and fits my 2007 F150 SuperCrew like it came from the factory. Installation is very staight forward. Read the directions and watch the online video and the job goes quickly. The most time consuming part of the installation was trimming my bed liner to provide clearance for the drain tubes. I also had a slight interference with the BAKFLIP rails hitting the inner liner on the tailgate preventing the tailgate from latching. The solution again required minor trimming of the liner. Be patient trim the liner and the installation works out great. Very happy with my selection of the BAKFLIP

Bakflip HD

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by charles m (Cabot, AR) — 2011-06-17 16:20:18

The installation was pretty simple. I did have a oem bedliner that did not let the side rails mount far enough up to let the tailgate close, but with a grinder it works perfect. The sleek low profile is very nice and it's strong enough for my 10 year old and 5 year old to walk on, but when I put all 225 lbs of my weight on it, it was a little more than I would recommend.

Nick's review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Nicholas W (Gilroy, CA) — 2008-12-26 12:59:58

Good product. My only complaint is that the website says the product will not interfere with tie downs or bed rails, which is NOT true. The product installs over the bed rails, which prevents the usage of them. The website also said "no drilling required", which is misleading as the drain tubes require drilling into the bed of the truck. Other than those misleading statements, I think this is a good product.

BakFlip HD, Good but......

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dennis T (Chico, CA) — 2009-08-07 14:52:42

I think I'm going to like my new BakFlip HD, but I have a few comments. 1. The hand tightened fastener at the right front is too close to the right rail making it very difficult to hand tighten. The black star-shaped knob rubs against the plastic part of the right rail. 2. I thought I'd receive 8 rail clamps instead of only 6. 3. I wish the rails more easily allowed for using bolts to secure them to the bed. 4. I thought "each" panel had a slam latch ? Only three of my 4 panels have latches. 2009 FORD F-150 6.5ft bed.

leaks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by wayne s (Rhinebeck, NY) Reviewed for a 2009 Ford F-250 — 2010-06-28 14:26:14

I have trouble with it leaking. I have tried moving it foward and backward with the same results, leaking. Other then that I like it. It's too bad it has that one blemish.

Satisfied

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gerald B (Florence, AZ) Reviewed for a 2011 Honda Ridgeline — 2011-03-07 16:26:16

Appearance excellent! Have only had two weeks but am satisfied. Ease of installation are first rate. Quality seems very good, but time will tell. Have only had for two weeks.

Nice looking product for the truck

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kelly F (RINGGOLD, GA) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2013-03-16 17:36:21

Good looking bars and easy to install. Was missing one part, but customer service was superb.

Mr. Kevin Mebane

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin M (Riverdale, IL) Reviewed for a 2012 Toyota Tacoma — 2012-01-14 19:01:52

I like the way it makes my truck look but one of the caps came broke. Also the step seem the to close to the car.

Back flip

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Delbert G (Crescent City, CA) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2012-03-10 15:42:57

The Back flip was very easy to install. The cover looks great on the truck. The issue I had with the Back flip was some of the rubber seals were not completely smooth, they were slightly warped. Definitely a great purchase.

Good item.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert L S (Central Point, OR) — 2011-06-16 07:42:26

Installs easy. panels look a little odd. rubber at edges needs tending the first day or so to make sure it falls correctly.

Easy install, but gets hot in southern Arizona

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Nicholas D (TUCSON, AZ) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Silverado — 2013-03-27 09:59:25

I probably should have thought this out a little better, but the black top gets extremely hot in direct sunlight. The top installed in less than an hour, but while installing in a mid 70's temperature day it became to hot to handle, can't wait for the 110 degree summer days. Probably would have been better off with the fiberglass model. Fit and finish very nice. Looks great, fits great! Read all of the instructions before attempting the install, as there are additional flyers with information.

08 TITAN

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mikhail D (Bridgeport, CT) Reviewed for a 2008 Nissan Titan — 2011-07-28 12:11:28

Great cover, easy install, price could be a little better, but adds real nice appearance to the truck.

BAKFlip HD on a 2011 Chevy Silverado 2500HD Short Bed

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark T (Destrehan, LA) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Silverado — 2011-12-27 04:57:50

The tonneau cover was packaged very well and arrived at my house undamaged. The cover was easy to install and works well. The rear cover was tough to latch until the rubber seal molded itself to the shape of the tailgate in the sun. It also helped to install sticky back spacers between the very rear part of the side rails and the truck bed to prevent the rails from deflecting and not allowing the latch to catch properly.

2008 Ford Super Duty

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jonathan W (Bentonville, AR) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford F-250 — 2009-08-24 07:05:50

It came in well packed but one of the plastic pieces was broken. Install time took about 45 min to complete. The cover seals fairly well but does leak a little around the front of the cover and one of the sides. Going to buy some weather stripping to see if that helps. Like other reviews that I read prior to purchasing the cover, the instructions were not the best but the online video was helpful. Overall, this is a good cover that meets my expectations. Expensive but worth the money when compared to other hard covers and the functionality you get.

I like it.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jerry J (Clinton, PA) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2010-07-02 10:14:40

I like it.

HD Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James P (, ) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Silverado — 2011-08-17 20:24:14

The BakFlip HD arrived in about a week and took about 30-45 minutes to install. Looks awesome and has not leaked. So far so good, time will tell.

Re-write the Instructions BAK!!! Good product.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Matthew P R (Cheyenne, WY) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Silverado — 2011-02-23 21:06:22

I have seen this on other reviews and it is so true... BAK RE-WRITE your instructions!!! The product is relatively simple to install but questions arise, like where do these washers go... Shims?? Padding? The video says nothing of shims, padding and washers? Watch the video before installing I am glad I did, it helps some but could be better. The product does seem high quality and I hope it is. The cover is packaged very well, although mine shipped direct from the factory and there was a pretty good dent in the edge of two of the panels, it is not visible when the cover is down so I am not going to fuss about it. Also there is a bold faced note in the box that says you MUST register the product within 2 weeks of receiving it, well I hope I am not screwed because I was in the process of moving when I received it and I just now got the cover on now.. (2.5 weeks after receiving it).. Bottom line I like the cover, it seems like it is built well, looks great, goes on easy but a few things you figure out on your own, warranty registration time limit. I hope I can maybe review the cover again in about 6 months or once I really see if I made a good purchase, lets face it they aren't cheap...

2011 Tacoma Access cab

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James M (Highland Lakes, NJ) Reviewed for a 2011 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-11-23 14:27:34

I gave the BAK BAKFlip HD cover an overall good rating-would have been excellent, but it was pricy. Fits my Tacoma as though Toyota designed it! Was a one wrench installation as advertised. Was nice to have the cover hardware preinstalled. It definitely looks nice! Thanks, JM

BakFlip HD

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by christopher o (Gilbert, AZ) Reviewed for a 2008 GMC Sierra — 2009-07-28 21:41:17

Overall I am happy with this product - I have only owned it about 3 weeks but have been on a camping trip to Yellowstone with it. Cons - Gets VERY hot to the touch in the Arizona sun - Expensive for what it is - Not sure how long the rubber seals and hinges will last - Gutter drain tubes could be smaller diameter and more flexible Pros - Looks great - Keeps much of the dust and rain out - Increases security

BakFlip HD Tonneau Cover Review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Daniel B (Riverside, CA) Reviewed for a 2008 Dodge Ram — 2010-06-09 11:11:21

It installed very easy, I am definitely no motor head or wrench monkey and I had no problems installing this myself. From the time I opened the box til it was installed was definitely less than an hour. It looks great and sits pretty flush with the truck bed. The only problem I have had is that it does leak a little bit, luckily I live in SoCal and we don't get heavy rains very often.

BakFlip HD very sturdy and sleek

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Zachary W (Wichita, KS) — 2008-12-31 07:14:56

My only reservation about this cover is the amount of lip on the side rails is too small. In order to get the cover to fit securely on my 2008 Silverado, we had to put in some extra shams between the rails and the bed. This resulted in pushing the rails farther in, which made the lip on the side rails just barely covering the top of the bed. Nonetheless, this is a very good looking cover. I was worried about the cover bouncing when driving 70 mph, but there is actually very little movement of the cover itself. I may need to make some extra tweeking of the cover to get it as secure as possible, but I believe BakFlip needs to make the lip on the side rails wider for me to give this an excellent rating.

Not as good as expected

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kenneth N (Montgomery, TX) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2011-12-06 20:36:07

The hinge to hold cover open was broken on arrival. Have not had any luck getting replacement part. Also I am getting water in the bed of my truck but have not pin pointed where it is coming in.

BAK BakFlip HD Tonneau Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by marek p (BROOKLYN, NY) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Tundra — 2008-11-01 10:13:21

i think price for Tonneau Cover is very very very high .there is nothing special on the cover not even security. cover can be open anytime with little damage.there is no security locks 3rd panel of 4.it is easy to open.