Your Cart Is Empty

BAK RollBak Tonneau Cover G2 Customer Reviews

Average Rating

80 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Great Product! Buy it! You will love it!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by DOUG P (Las Vegas, NV) Reviewed for a 2004 Nissan Pickup — 2005-08-29 19:04:16

I am very happy with the Rollbak. It took a longer to install than I would have liked. It does need two people for install. It is very easy to install, just time consuming for an average person like me. My dad loves it so much, he ordered one. I would absolutely buy again from autoanything.com. They ship fast.

For 05 Nisan Titan Crew Cab

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Vendy M (Charlotte, NC) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan Titan — 2005-10-25 23:50:34

Perfect fit, and very strong. Excellent product. Worth the extra money. The only weakness is the fact that I have to turn the built-in Nissan Utili-Track upside down. It is hard to do and needs to be careful because the factory screw heads can be stripped off easily.

great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeff D (Palisade, CO) — 2010-11-29 21:12:21

Great product and better customer service from BAK. The product was sent with the wrong clamps & bak over nited them to me. Easy install if you are a little mechanically inclined. Auto Anything shipped quickly & I will use tthem again.

excellant

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian I (Garner, NC) — 2006-10-12 06:08:16

took about 1 1/2 hours to install, not bad easily adjusted to fit my chevy colorado. instructions weren't to bad, watch video online 1st to be easier. i really like this cover, very pleased with it. Brian N.C.

Happy wife with truck cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by charles j (Hiddenite, NC) Reviewed for a 1998 — 2006-05-28 18:42:37

The product was everything I expected. The wife can haul a truck load of grocries with out tieing all the plastic bags. The only problem was with instructions that left a few steps out that would have made instalation easier.Thanks for good product, and prompt shipping.

BAK RollBak G2

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Matthew A (Shoreline, WA) Reviewed for a 2013 Dodge Ram — 2013-02-09 05:35:42

Great product, great look. Well thought out and very functional. Installation was pretty simple overall, maybe just a little more detail on the lid installation for precise positioning but entire install was completed by myself in under an hour and a half. No modifications were needed. Look forward to many years of use. Great price and delivery AutoAnything! Thanks!

My wife and I love our new Tonneau Cover.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William H (Centreville, MD) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford F150 — 2006-07-06 14:49:34

Istalation instructions could have been a little more complete. It took me and a very mechanically talented friend about two hours to intall the tonneau cover and adjust it. I now have the best looking pickup truck in Centreville, MD. My wife is an artist who has used her station wagon to transport her wares to shows. She now plans to use our pickup with the new tonneau cover to go to shows.Thanks for making the Tonneau cover available. Bill

Very Good bed Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by FRANK K (Allentown, PA) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Silverado — 2009-09-13 16:52:22

I like the design and fits the bed well. I can secure my material & supplies. I had a lot of positive comments. It is a nice product. Frank Allentown, Pa.

I like this Tonneau Cover!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James C (Beaumont, TX) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2005-12-30 22:32:09

The BAK Rollbak Tonneau Cover for my long bed '06 Dodge 3500 arrived when promised. I installed it personally, with very little difficulty. The Dodge bed rails are tapered, from front to back, and I had to make slight adjustments in the shims to be used for this. The fit is good, and I have had several comments from friends as to how good the appearance is. I rate the Rollbak at the top.

love it

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by jessy f (Yelm, WA) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford F-250 — 2009-05-21 23:47:00

damn glad i got it. fits like a glove and looks great. and yes you can walk around on it..

Very pleased with this cover.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gregory S (Uniontown, OH) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-150 — 2005-08-30 13:59:44

It took me awhile to install this cover, but I am very happy with the way it turned out. The cover looks great and functions well. The only issue I have at all with this cover is that it leads you to believe that it is a no drill installation. The 1st two steps have you drill. The rails clamp on, and only the brackets for the cylinder need to be drilled. Not a big deal.

Looks superb, works great!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Max T (Saint Marys, GA) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan Frontier — 2005-11-01 03:53:42

My wife bought me my RollBak tonneau for my birthday. It looks great and works flawlessly. I installed it my self. The directions are good but were confusing in a few areas but if you watch the video, available online, it clears things up and overall it's logical how it goes together. It is a great accessory to my truck for hauling and still being able to use it as a truck when needed. I highly recommend the Bak RollBak Tonneau. You will not be disappointed. Max

close to perfect

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by DORIS P (McMinnville, TN) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-150 — 2005-09-12 20:36:40

very pleased with this product, take it slow with install for best result. the self latch on the right side is somewhat hesitant to get released when adjusted to give good seal at tailgate which you likely will desire. also this latch causes the cover/handle to drop slightly which is noticeable at top of tailgate when cover and tailgate are closed. and the product is a little expensive, but what ain't these days? overall thumbs up in this class! it might just be the best of it's kind. pleasure doing business with autoanything.com!!!

Brilliant Design

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kirk H (Allen, TX) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan Frontier — 2005-12-29 18:45:53

The BAK RollBak Tonneau cover is an excellent design. It's easy to install and works great. I expecially like the way it locks closed and the three position stops. Directions for installation could use more detail.

Take your time.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by michael w (Estero, FL) Reviewed for a 2011 Dodge Ram — 2011-12-17 08:54:03

I've worked on quite a few cars and trucks over 40 years and I recommend that you watch the videos on their site or go to youtube a couple of times after reading the instruction book. Make notes on the instructions. After installing lay out in the bed and have someone open and close the bedtop while you check the spacing on the rails to get them right. Once done enjoy the fruits of your labor and take the money you saved on installation and have a beer ----- or two.

roll bak

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by jeff t (Mitchell, IN) — 2006-02-06 09:35:28

love it looks great very functional

Love It!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Eric S (St Augustine, FL) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota Tundra — 2005-08-30 06:35:07

The whole reason that I purchased this tonneau cover was because I still wanted to be able to use my truck like a truck, not a car. I accomplished that and then some. I now have a nearly water tight trunk (except for 2 small leaks at the tailgate that can be fixed with a gasket). This was actually a lot easier to install that the BAK website said. Took a little over an hour with very little help from my 9 month pregnant wife. This thing is extreamly sturdy. A great deal more sturdy tan some of the other tonneau covers like this one (most of which are plastic w/ a little bit of alumnum support). It makes no noise going down the interstate at 70mph, or down a dirt road at 30mph. I will definitely purchase another one for my next truck. Oh, and by the way, good customer service from Auto Anything.

great investment

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by GERMAN B (Plantation, FL) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford F-150 — 2006-03-29 02:57:54

Need a trunk like on your truck to carry your tools or baby stroller?? This is the best investment ever done to my truck. It really is a sharp looking cover and the polish metal looks is amazing. The instructions to install it aren't that clear when the truck has a bed liner. Need to make adjustments to fit the roller, but besides that i trully recomend this product.

Great Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Raymond C (Long Beach, CA) Reviewed for a 2011 Dodge Ram — 2011-01-19 21:32:24

I installed the Rollbak with the Adarac lumber rack and the AMP research bed extender. It all looks super badass. I had to do some modifications to the bed extender to get it to fit between the rollbak but it all worked out well.

Awesome!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Patricia C (Rocklin, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota Tacoma — 2005-08-31 16:27:06

Slick cover. But installation took like 8 hours because the instructions stunk. Who would of thought? But its on perfect now and i love it, keeps my golf clubs dry and secure.

My Tonneau

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mike M (Parker, CO) — 2011-09-28 09:08:06

The product is great and I am very happy with it. The instructions could have been better. For example, the aluminum hanger brackets were to be set flush with the truck rails even though my truck has factory installed rail guards. When I installed the lid brackets for the canister lid the brackets came out onto the rail guards. To get the proper fit I needed to put washers under the under the brackets to make the bracket flush. This also required longer screws. Otherwise things went well.

BAK Rollbak Review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Wesley C (Lees Summit, MO) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Silverado — 2009-09-07 20:27:24

Easy install. Instructions could be better. Some things you just have to figure out but it's not too hard. If you thought you were up to this task in the first place you'll get it done. Seems very sturdy.

Rollbak

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tyler S (Woodland Park, NJ) — 2011-07-08 20:11:30

Very rugged unit and was installed by 1 man in 25 min

AWESOME COVER

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert Nickolas P (Adrian, MI) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-150 — 2011-07-05 04:02:07

THE COVER IS ALL THAT BAKLINER SAID IT WOULD BE THE INSTATLATION WAS A LITTLE TRICKY...BUT GOT THE COVER ON THE BED AND IT IS GREAT!!! VERY SECURE AND I ALL READY TOLD FRIENDS WHERE TO GET THERE'S NICK

Bak rollbak Tonneau Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by anthony s (North Babylon, NY) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F150 — 2007-02-27 07:49:14

Just recieved in the mail, did not have a chance to install do to inclimate weather. However I did inspect the contents in the box, This cover is made very strong and is definately a superior quality cover. I am absolutley sure after the installation i am going to be very happy. I will give a follow up post when the installation is complete, which i plan on doing myself.

Great cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David F (Traverse City, MI) Reviewed for a 2003 Dodge Ram — 2011-12-01 13:29:43

Installation was easy. I watched the online video and read the instructions. Overall, it took about two hours to install. So far I am happy with it.

Great quality

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Vicki V (Riverton, WY) Reviewed for a 2004 Dodge Ram — 2006-01-03 19:18:33

I gave this to my husband for Christmas. He just had it installed today and he was beaming when I saw him. He was surprised that it was metal and not canvas and was really impressed with the quality. It looks great on our Dodge.

Nice Product!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brandon O (Moncks Corner, SC) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-250 — 2011-11-17 17:02:14

Works just as I expected. Leaks a little on tailgate side. But over all pleased with the cover.

Quality Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Christopher L (West Richland, WA) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Silverado — 2010-01-19 21:27:39

Just installed the rollbak cover on my 07 Silverado Dually, installation was very easy, I really didn't need any help, it works and looks great.

It is great

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Archie E. H (Racine, WV) — 2005-10-12 20:48:29

I love the cover it is everything and more I was looking for and was too easy to install. Fits my 2006 SD great!

nice product, but

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tom L (West Des Moines, IA) Reviewed for a 2005 Dodge Dakota — 2006-01-11 11:15:56

This is a very nice product and seems to be well made. The only weak point that I found has to do with the instructions in reguard to the tailgate "handle" and the install of the final cover. Instructions are vague and somewhat confusing, but overall it is a nice product!

Looks great - a pain to install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jacqueline W (Gloucester, VA) Reviewed for a 2002 Nissan Frontier — 2006-05-18 12:14:53

The shipment came in two huge boxes. In order to put it together, we had to go online to the Bak website to find more detailed instructions. After that, it wasn't majorly difficult. I didn't realize that the tubes for drainage required me to drill through the bedliner. I am not too keen on that, so I'm going to get longer hoses and rig it another way. The holes didn't totally match up, but we drilled new ones, and I had to get longer screws. Other than that, it was a great value, and it looks awesome on my truck. If you're not mechanically inclined, this process may be a pain for you. But the end result is worth it.

BAK RollBak Tonneau cover G2

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by CHRIS C (Pineville, LA) — 2011-08-07 02:32:19

Overall the unit looks and works well. My unit was damaged in shipping due to poor internal packaging. One of the rail bolts damaged the cover lid. This could have been prevented with better protective packaging. Hopefully this will not happen to anyone else. I am currently waiting on a replacement lid.

great cover, BAD INSTRUCTIONS

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kaitlin D (Fayetteville, NC) Reviewed for a 2003 — 2006-04-01 06:27:09

While I love the product, and think it is one of the better after market products to come out for a pick-up truck, there were a few inherrent problems with the directions. No clarification as to which bolts went where, and the strange part that my instructions were for a 2004 Toyota Tundra when I ordered it for a 2003 S-10 ZR2. However, no matter what I will recommend this product very highly...it's well built, well manufactured, and strong. The only downside is there's no locking mechanism with the liner, you would need to purchase a pop-lock for the tailgate.

Not Bad for the Price!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by BOBBY S (Marysville, WA) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota Tundra — 2006-02-15 21:30:16

The fit and finish is quite good, but the installation direction is NOT very good at all. When they wrote the direction they should make it specific to each truck. Sure that may be a little more work that to print up a generic guide but it's much better for the average consumer. Additionally they should give the installation to a customer who has not installed the cover before and have them do a verification install to ensure direction is clear. Obvious this was not done because I ended up chasing my tails on many occasions. I have average mechanical skills and feel that I am capable of such installation. I completed it but spent probably 2-3 hours longer than I should have. They have an installation video at bakliner.com site which I used but that too (as well as the installa manual) left out some important details that I had to guess on. I have too many specifics to complain about, here are some: When you get to the installation step after removing the shrink wrap it tells you to install the handle and handle and having someone hold the strap, but the assemply of the strap to the handle and assembly of the handle has NOT even been addressed yet. The step after that talks about setting lock pin... the installation of the lock pin too has not been addressed, in fact when you get to these steps the lock pins, strap, and handle are all still in packaging. IT'S FRUSTRATING!! Installation of the lid cover is not addressed addequately (at least not for the Tundra). Though I figured all of the above out and completed the install it wasted my time. Bottom Line: Shipping from AUTOANYTHING.COM was FAST and their price was great!! Finish of product is good value. Fit of product is good value in relation to it's price. Installation guide, though an everage person could follow and complete the install it could use a little improvement.

Looks Great, Secure

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert V (Manville, RI) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan Frontier — 2006-01-18 13:46:22

Went on great, did it with my 10 yr. old son. Instructions in box were very generic, do yourself a favor and go online to the link provided by BAK. It's much clearer.

BAK RollBak Tonneau Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jonathan B (Colfax, LA) Reviewed for a 2005 — 2006-03-28 09:27:18

I recently purchased the BAK RollBak Tonneau. So far I am liking it. Installation was easy and it really gives a good look to my truck.

BAK RollBak Tonneau Cover G2

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Celestino R (APO, AE) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2010-10-27 18:14:51

Easy to install and adds appealing character to my truck.

Great Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jordan K (Gainsville, FL) Reviewed for a 2008 GMC Sierra — 2012-03-10 05:44:22

Cover is good. Directions stink. Some extra gasketing came with it.

RollBak tonneau cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark T (Lagrangeville, NY) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-350 — 2006-02-22 06:27:51

I purchased the retractable tonneau cover to secure my cargo without restricting bed use. The installation was not difficult. I shopped around and AutoAnything had the best price. I haven’t had a chance to test how weather-proof it is yet, but it looks great. I’m happy with the purchase...

instructions suck but great looking cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by michelle y (San Diego, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota Tundra — 2005-12-20 21:19:34

i had the hardest time with the instructions. they dont tell u what to do in order- its easy to put together after all is said and done but took way too much time to figure it out and i got to the end to find out i was missing pieces. BUT customer service was excellent and sent me the parts i needed the very next day. great looking cover, a little hard to open and close but would recommend this product and purchasing it from autoanything. great service!

Good Top

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by GARLAND T (Colorado Springs, CO) Reviewed for a 2001 Dodge Ram — 2007-08-26 21:43:37

Looks good, functions as advertised and serves my purposes quite well. Rails are very susceptible to scratching. Some minor water leaks that can be fixed with a little caulk. Instruction for installation were a bit testy but does not take a rocket scientist to guess around. NO DRILL installation is a lie but only had to drill two holes in my truck. I can live with that. Still trying to decide if opening the gate to open the top is a blessing or a pain. Overall, I'm very satisfied.

Very good product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mitchell M (Columbia, MO) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford F-150 — 2012-05-20 05:02:29

I installed my Rollbak GS tonneau cover on my 2012 F150 in about 1.5 hrs by myself. I followed the instructions that came with the cover as well as watched a youtube video on how to do it. Overall I am pretty pleased with the cover.

Good cover for the money

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Shane B (Canton, GA) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F350 — 2008-02-01 02:58:48

The cover is worth the price. It actually works as described. However, I can't believe how much trouble it was to install. Additional pieces were included in the package with no identification or reference in the instructions. It took quite a bit of adjustments to get the fit correct. My advice, buy the cover and just budget for an extra hour or two for installation.

Nice Cover - Poor installation instructions.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Daniel A (Taylor Ridge, IL) — 2008-08-21 09:00:41

I am happy with the fit, function, and appearance of the BAK ROLLBAK cover. The installation instructions, however are generally vague and sometimes mis-leading. For example, the instruction pamphlet, the instruction video at bakliner.com, and the label on my unit all gave contradicting specifics as to the number of revolutions for spring pre-load at the cannister. Even so, installation can be accomplished with reasonable mechanical aptitude, and the results are well worth the effort.

Solid

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by MICHAEL R (Carver, MA) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan Titan — 2005-09-07 05:53:37

The RollBak is a well built tonneau. Installation was easy (although the instructions were poor). I had to drill 2 drain holes in the bed of my Nissan Titan. No big deal. Because the rails stick into the bed about 1.5 inches, I can no longer use my bed extender. This tonneau is a big step up from my previous soft cover snap tonneau. It's rugged and should last the lifetime of my truck. Also, I think have decreased fuel consumption by about 1/4 to 3/4 mpg.

Instruction manual needs help

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ALAN T (Trona, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-250 — 2006-04-10 18:30:48

Overall, I have been happy with the product but was not happy with the installation instruction booklet and on-line video. There are many discrepancies between the written instructions and the video. Deciding which one is accurate was a bit of a challenge. For example, the video says to “grease the inner rail with the lubricant provided.” The written instruction says, “grease the top edge of the inner tracks. WD40 is recommended.” Setting the spring on the canister was another problem. The video says to unwind the canister 4 times for short bed and 5 times for long beds. The written instruction says to unwind 6 times for short bed trucks and 8 times for long beds. Attaching the lid was also different. There were also two plastic pieces. Each with double-sided tape that I still have no idea what they are for and there is no mention of them on the video or instruction booklet. I am hoping that the RollBak cover will give me years of trouble-free service. I selected the product because I wanted a tonneau cover that I could stand on in order to reach the top of the truck cab when I wash and wax it.

Nice Product, Horrible Installation Instructions

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Eugene L (White Plains, NY) — 2006-10-07 06:46:01

Looks great on my Toyota Tacoma. Canister lid rattles somewhat, but I should have a solution to that soon. I didn't believe the other reviewers when they said the the instructions were bad. Well, they are THAT bad. Instructions are vague, not in sequence and contradict the website's installation video. This is not an inexpensive product - the manufacturer should take the time to rewrite the installation pamplet (this time with a complete parts list so you know what's what and no grainy, indistinguishable xeroxed photos). All in all, it took about 3 hours to install.

Great Cover, Tricky Install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Daniel K (Mount Shasta, CA) Reviewed for a 2011 Dodge Ram — 2011-09-28 17:35:38

I really like my Rollbak G2 cover. It looks great, is very strong, and operates smoothly. The install was a little tricky. I read the included guide, and watched all the install videos online. My problem was that there were no vehicle specific instructions, and not all included hardware seemed applicable to my vehicle. I emailed Bak Industries technical support, but have not yet received a response. The inside edges of the side rails tended to tip up as the clamps tightened. Also, even with the tracks adjusted all the way to the outside at the tailgate end, it seems that it too narrow for the slats and binds a little when pulled all the way back. I hope that Rollbak will respond to my email with suggestions on how to rectify these small concerns.

2010 Silverado BAK Rollback

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by TREVOR R (Kerrville, TX) Reviewed for a 2010 Chevy Silverado — 2012-01-02 05:30:05

The BAK Rollback is a great value. It does not have the features of some of the others, but is great for the money. Installation was no problem, but did have one issue. It comes from factory with shims installed on the inside of rails. These had to be removed for proper fit on my 1500. I did not realize until I had installed, then had to take apart and redo. Instructions are simple, Youtube install video is a plus.

Rain in the bed!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ray K (Saint Leonard, MD) — 2010-11-15 00:49:36

I was hoping that no water would get into the bed of the truck and keep things dry and that is not the case. Now if I travel during the rain I must put the suit cases in a plastic bag

BAK Rollback Tonneau Good and ?

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ronnie V (Parsons, TN) — 2012-04-02 12:11:25

Installation was ok but not simple. This cover looks better than any Tonneau I have ever seen and the operation is simple and easy. It's not as waterproof as I would like since we travel some and carry luggage (This cover should eliminate the use of a turtle.) I have a crewmax cab 2011 Tundra and it has more cab room than most cars so we use it for travel a lot. Great looking and easy to use cover that just needs a little more attention to being water tight. Would buy again.

installation good and bad

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John H (Saint Louis, MO) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2011-05-23 05:57:14

Not bad to install, I could havehad it finished in an hour and fifteen BUT I did not get all the screws! They need an editor for the installation instructions. The clamping system is good, but Ford now puts a plastic edge on the side-rails and it does mess with you. I followed the directions by leaving one eighth inch from the tailgate but something still didn't line up and would have leaked. So I had to add an additional strip on the tailgate to meet the gasket. Not a big deal. Overall very happy. It looks good too.

2011 ford F-150 Bak G2 Rollbak cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David S (Chassell, MI) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2012-01-10 17:44:57

I like the appearance and operation of the cover; but, installation was not easy as the video. The installation instructions need to be updated to match the parts supplied with the cover. Field engineering was required to modify the brackets to complete the installation on my 2011 Ford.

RollBak

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Thomas K (Chelmsford, MA) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Tundra — 2009-09-04 14:24:20

I found the G2 easy to install.Can be installed by one person. The Quality was good . Could use a better rail system to close cover ,Women can find it difficult to close

Randy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Randy L (South Wayne, WI) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy C/K 2500 — 2010-12-24 05:12:53

All the pieces were in the box and it went together well. The directions were a little vauge, but just had to think a little and things went well. Looks nice.

BAK lacks, but the cover looks nice

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mike T (Englewood, CO) Reviewed for a 2001 Chevy Silverado — 2007-10-26 09:11:42

It's true... the installation instructions are poor but I managed to figure it out with help from the online video. The kit was missing some nuts and there were a few scratches on the cannister and side rails which kind of bummed me out. Also, the tubes included were too fat for the drain holes so I had to make some adjustments there as well. The biggest disappointment was discovering that the finish was textured, not smooth. Nowhere in the literature does it say that the finish is textured and you can't tell from the pictures either... Anyway, by this point I had the packaging all ripped apart and decided I could live with the texture and the scratches easier than I could deal with sending it back. To sum things up, I was just really bummed on the whole experience. I went from being stoked upon ordering to sad upon opening to content upon having it installed. All said and done though, I'm happy with how the cover looks and works.

trip to store

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Derrall M (Kirkland, WA) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F150 — 2007-02-07 21:46:11

overall I am happy with the product, however I was suppied the wrong size square head bolt,smaller than the nut!

good cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Al B (Saint Bernard, LA) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford F150 — 2008-02-19 16:12:11

cover is great but it does leak a little. but the latch system and the opperation is very good.

Poor Instructions

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kurt L (Saint Peters, MO) Reviewed for a 2000 Ford F-150 — 2008-03-15 08:48:36

All in all the qaulity of the cover is good. The instructions are a little lacking. With some common sense and some mechanical ability one can figure it out. I installed it in about two hours. Not enough shims were sent, I had to make my own. It is important to shim properly to get it to run smooth. I had to add weather stripping to front bed rail in order to be weather tight. Over all I am happy with the cover, it does the job by keeping my tools and gear secure.

Nice cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by TERRY J (Little Rock, AR) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tundra — 2007-10-26 23:42:45

Very versitile,tough cover. Installation would have gone smoother with better instructions. Putting everything together and on the truck is fairly straightforward, its all the adjusting to make it right that takes time and causes frustration. I did have to drill into my bed rails(the inside) with tap screws to help secure the front brackets.It needs more clamps to secure the rails because there is some flexing when weight is applied to the top.The top itself is very rigid and well made. I stood on it. Operation is easy and works well once you master the "pull back and twist up" on the right side where the top unlatches from the closed position.It is not water proof, but none are, not even the over the rail fiberglass ones.(I have one of those on another truck)But very little gets in, and mostly only at high pressure car washes.This top protects my valuable tools I use every day,from weather, and thieves, and is SO much more practical than other tops, and of course, looks great.I went to a local dealer to check out the similar tops they had, and quality wise, they are pretty darn equal.But the price for this one at autoanything was nearly half of what the dealer wanted.I am very pleased with the purchase of the rollbak cover.

Needs Work...

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Thomas W (Punta Gorda, FL) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F-350 — 2010-01-14 21:32:06

The paper instruction manual and on line video installation manual need a lot of work. Although common sense may prevail in this installation a well done manual would be of great assistance. It took myself and my son 4 hours to install this rollback liner and that's directly related to the inadequate installation manual that comes with the product. One more thing about this; try making the advice on installation you've done model specific to the extent possible. Show video of installs on Fords, Chevy, Dodge, Toyota and so on, not just two of them and think that addresses all the nuances of each model. With a few tweeks I'm sure I'll be satisfied with the model as a whole. But any "utopian" idea about an easy installation is either intentionally misleading or naive on the manufacturers part. This was a lot of work; updated installations manuals and more articulate video's would greatly reduce calls to tech support.

Very nice but...

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Larry M (Marrero, LA) Reviewed for a 2003 Ford F250 — 2007-10-03 14:22:01

The cover looks great. The instructions aren't the greatest but with help of video still can be done fairly simple. Kit did not have the shims in it and could have used them. Had to make my own.

Great Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jack B (Elizabethtown, KY) Reviewed for a 2004 Nissan Titan — 2005-12-29 11:21:22

I installed the cover by myself in one afternoon on my Nissan Titan. Half the time was spent removing the Utility track System, and things went pretty smoothly. The instructions could use a little work, and some steps are out of order, but they can be followed after several rereads. I reinstalled the utility track system on the sides to be able to utilize it for tiedowns, but it will not function with other accessories. A little Creative engineering on the part of BAK addressing the clamping system would probably allow the track system to remain in place in the stock position.

G2 Rollbak 2012 Tundra

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by MARK S (Chandler, AZ) Reviewed for a 2012 Toyota Tundra — 2012-03-30 07:30:42

Fits well, like all covers not totally water proof. Selected this product coz of AZ heat, should be able to withstand summer without warping. I had a different cover for my other tundra but it took a toll after 110 degree summers. Nice to have this product and surprised of the absence of manufacture badging. I added door guard strips on cover handle to insulate from heat . Kit also provided for lowering the cargo rails looks ok. Only wished that a better locking system was supplied. All in all cover performs as stated, now let's see if finish will withstand AZ summer heat.

My Roll Bak

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John A. S (Catasauqua, PA) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan Frontier — 2006-01-19 17:49:56

Being in the construction industry I need the bed of my truck often, however I also want to make sure my valuables were safe when not at work. This is a great invstment and I am glad I purchased it.

Installation

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William L (Minden, LA) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford F-150 — 2008-02-15 20:17:51

Don't believe the propaganda that it will take just a short time to install this puppy. I did it alone but in five hours and not cause I am just slow. The directions are ditzy and totally unclear. After installing the unit then reinstalling it several times, I got it on right..well mostly! Had to finally sucumb to calling their hotline and getting information on parts that were not depicted in the instructions nor was it clear what the hell they were for. All in all it is a nice nearly weatherproof cover, better and more sturdy than the Pace Edwards I had on my 2004 F150, so far that is. It seems to be more solidly constucted and looks very good on my new F150 and was only about $200 more than the Pace Edwards. All things being equal, it is a pretty good cover and I think I will be pleased with it down the road.

Short and simple

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Adrian M (Billings, MT) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F150 — 2006-06-01 16:13:04

I had to use the supplied shims to make it sit level, but other than that it fit fairly well. It requires more than the recomended WD-40 to lubricated the rails to make it slide well which I expected, but I definately like the function, especialy for the price.

Installed on Nissan Titan

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert H (Wanaque, NJ) Reviewed for a 2010 Nissan Xterra — 2006-09-06 11:07:54

Just installed on my 2004 Nissan Titan king cab. Instructions are terrible. They leave out alot of small details that are important to the install. The brackets that support the cannister, should be made avaliable with longer & additional screws. I used an extra screw on each side, because the cannister is heavy, and the mounting point for the brackets on the Titan are not ideal. Overall, a good product...now, I just need to figure out a way to use the bed extender. Using the Rollbak cover requires flipping the utility track rails upside down and the bed extender won't fit anymore!

Not so easy installation instructions for Tacoma 05

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Shannon C (Wilmington, NC) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota Tacoma — 2005-12-17 14:03:01

It took a lot longer to install than advertised. Also, some parts needed for installation were not included, such as self tapping screws. Instructions are extremely vague. It would not take much effort on Rollbak's behalf to be more specific with their instructions for varying truck models. In addition I did not receive the free gift promised with my purchase.

"Set aside some time...Nothing quick,easy here"

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Charles M (Eure, NC) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota Tacoma — 2005-09-05 16:46:08

Came w/o instructions in the package(s). Ran some instructions off the Internet home site. NO parts list itemization. Good product, hopefully, once I can get ALL (several) the adjustments made. NOT an easy to install unit as it obviously fits several makes/models. High quality just a bit of of bear to install/adjust. Believe it wil be A-OK upon making those needed adjustments

rollback disappointment.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Anthony E (San Antonio, TX) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2011-12-20 06:34:54

this cover was rated as tough and almost weather proof;however, I installed it following the mfg instuctions and online videos provided and water permeates the bed. I intended to use this whe travelling however if rain will continue to penetrate. it would not have been worth it. the cheaper vinyle rollup cover I had on a previous dodge truck was excellent in preventing water penetration.

Instructions?

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Vincent J (Deerfield Beach, FL) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota Tacoma — 2006-02-15 14:28:14

I consider myself to be pretty handy with tools,and I am an avid model builder so i'm pretty good at deciphering the most vague guide.However this cover,which I purchased for my 2005 tacoma was a real test!Some parts where not even in the book!Track on drivers side gave me a lot of problems, no matter what I tried Icould not get it to lay flat (twisted?)I finally removed the spacers on the bottom edge to get it on but this lifted it up off the bed rails so if you are looking for water tight this isn't the cover for you.Over all the finished product looks pretty good.Somebody needs to do something about those instuctions or they are going to get alot of returns.Overall its a pretty good tonneau for the money.

Could be better...

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Roberto G (San Diego, CA) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-02-01 08:44:40

Not happy with the instructions. You might want to read it all before starting because it's not in sequence. Intructions you get and what you view on the web are not all the same. There were some weather strippings and felt that were not on the instructions on where to install it, it's left to your imagination. The top cap could be better installed other than two self tapping screws on each side exposed. When it rains water seeps in in various gaps. On my Tacoma I had to cut both ends of the tailgate cap provided for me to close the tailgate. I also did not get the free door sill. With the cost of this item it should be better.

Not bad...

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael D (Pasadena, MD) Reviewed for a 2000 — 2005-12-29 07:39:02

This was the first retractable tonneau I have ever worked with and overall it is a great concept. I found the installation to be simpler than the instructions led on. The instructions could be more clear, concise and offer better illustrations or photos. So far, the only problem I have had is that it seems to allow water into the bed if the truck is parked nose in on a downhill slope. Overall, I was impressed with the materials and workmanship.

Worth the money

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by thomas g (Coral Springs, FL) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Silverado — 2006-07-01 07:23:43

The directions included were awful! Luckily with a little common sense it can be figured out. The installation by myself took three hours. Mostly because of poor directions. I could probably do it now in an hour. The cover isn't as good as a roll n' lock, but this one keeps the stake holes open which I needed for my bed rails. The overall look is awesome, but a little hard to operate.

BAK RollBak Tonneau Cover

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Victor C (Round Rock, TX) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford F150 — 2006-09-24 10:00:21

Good: Very nice looking. Solid construction. Operates well with adjustments. Bad: Poor instructions. The video and written deviations cause some installation confusion. Not enough shim size variety. Top cap does not form a seal with the cab rail on the bed. Weather Proof rating 7: Good except for 2" on the left and right sides. The felt weather stripping does a good job for the center portion of the bed. Would be an 8 if the top cap fit the cab rail. A 9 if the weather stripping went all the way to the edge and a 10 if the weather stripping was easily serviced or replaced. Once this wears out, I do not know if you will have any weather proof capabilities. Details: Watched the BAK web site installation video. Read the instructions and they were different. The user must understand the concept because the installation document has the right procedure for the canister mounting brackets. The canister brackets are longer on one edge and now push up against the cab rail instead of 2" back as stated in the video. Neither instructions show how to or that you need to attach the felt weather stripping onto the end piece before installing to the main bed cover. This helps with weather proofing. The top cap once installed is 1/2" from mating up with the top edge of the cab rail. The instructions still say to use the WD-40 but the video uses grease that is not provided. The shims that they provided were way too thick and the rail alignment for my '06 supercrew was not proper so I had to make my own via weather stripping since I need 1/16" instead of the 3/16" provided. The vendor should provide some different sized shims to meet the owners vehicle. There are only 6 shims so that would be 18 pieces (6 x 1/16, 6 x 1/8 and 6 x 3/16") Cosmetic Suggestions: The vendor should find a way to make the top cap appear flush with the top of the cover. Not a requirement but it would look that much better.

NOT 100% LEAK PROOF

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jessie C (PICO RIVERA, CA) Reviewed for a 2011 GMC Sierra — 2010-11-15 20:29:15

Installation was not easy. Does not lock in halfway positions. WATER GETS INSIDE BED !!!

Cover poorly designed but works if your easily pleased!!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Andrew E (Clermont, FL) Reviewed for a 2002 Dodge Ram — 2006-04-03 21:12:23

I was able to install and assemble the cover by myself, however I did notice some flaws in the design. I have a 2002 Dodge Ram short bed. The tracks (the part that attaches to the bed rails) are very wide and become flimsy. The cover it's self is a full 7" too narrow, this is great for a universal fit, but if you actually put 100lbs of weight on it the cover would rip the tracks off and colaps in. I also had to modify the shims so that the rails didn't have gaps for water to enter through. Over all the cover was a slight dissapointment and i wish i had seen one installed before i ordered it. Oh ya and it doesn't slide on the rails very well seems to me they should have used some sort of ball bearing or wheels, not just a piece of plastic. Oh and i threw the door sill protectors away, they were two thin pieces of plastic with double sided tape on them.......?

keep looking

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Frank S (Sellersville, PA) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2011-07-02 05:46:24

Received the cover quickly , was not hard to install, but during the install I realised that the weather stripping around the canister was not going to work well but thought that if I needed I could caulk around any voids. What I didnt expect was that the cover itself is not water tight at all, I sprayed water from a garden hose to simulate a light rain for about a minute, when I dropped the tailgate to look in side I saw multiple wet areas. Water dripping through the slats in various areas, totaly un acceptable . I'm hopping to get a full refund