Your Cart Is Empty

Softride Quietride Tightening Ball Mount Customer Reviews

Average Rating

19 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Great Hitch

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kandy K (Middletown, OH) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford Econoline — 2012-05-15 20:33:32

These Quietride aluminum ball mounts are great. They look nice too, even though the package does say that it's made in China. It sure seems like a lot of weight for a soft metal like aluminum, but they are rated for 10k lbs, so I guess I'll trust em. Plus they won't rust. I sold my expensive DiversaTech adjustable height ball mount and bought two of these Quietride ball mounts. A 4" and a 6" drop. The adjustable height mounts just rattle too much and I don't trust them. I'd rather have less pieces that can fail. I use this mount with a stainless steel Convert-a-ball and it works great. I just swap out the ball for whatever size I need. I have one one each of my 4" and 6" drop mounts. This should cover all my needs and it solid and won't rust. The locking cross pin is nice too. I think its stainless steel.

Softride Quietride Tightening Ball Mount

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Terry G (Montgomery, AL) Reviewed for a 2000 Dodge Dakota — 2010-03-15 20:16:06

Great mount! does not make any noise while towing and sloop is taken out so there isn't any jerking around.

No more clunk, clunk!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William R (Houston, TX) Reviewed for a 2000 Chevy Silverado — 2010-06-25 06:12:34

Finally, a smoother, quieter towing experience with my boat and this hitch. Made a huge difference in reducing the clunking movement with every stop and start. Now there is just the soft bump of the trailer brake, but that is nothing compared to what it was with a traditional hitch. Also, the solid aluminum looks great, although the almost $100 price was steep even for something this good. After all it is just a hitch, ya know?

Softride Quietride Tightening Ball Mount

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Glenn G (Warner Robins, GA) Reviewed for a 2009 Dodge Ram — 2009-09-21 07:31:35

Love the sleek design. The locking capability is absolytely amazing!!! No bump, No clunk, Nothing but quiteness. Everyone should own one or more of these!

Everyone likes a tight fit.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kirk F (Mattawan, MI) Reviewed for a 2001 Chevy C/K 3500 — 2009-03-19 04:38:26

Great product, solves all the problems with the clunk that is generated from the hitch to reciver price is fair for an improvement to a problem that has been around sence the begining of tounge towing, the only down fall is that I wish I had thought of it.

Softride Quietride Tightening Ball Mount

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tom C (Cincinnati, OH) — 2011-06-30 20:27:47

I have been towing for more than 30 years with the annoying movement and noise between the ballmount and receiver. This product is the real deal; it has completely eliminated the problem. Outstanding solution...

Awesome!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Christopher C (Lisbon, NY) — 2011-07-12 05:31:10

This hitch works exactly as described. It will not move inside the hitch receiver. Anyone who tows anything should get a hitch like this one. The only thing to improve the product is if they had a quick connect system. You will need a wrench to install.

no more clank clank

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by gerald s (Edmond, OK) Reviewed for a 2008 Honda Ridgeline — 2009-04-04 06:34:50

quiet says it all very pleased with product

Could have been black!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michelle M (Deptford, NJ) Reviewed for a 2008 Nissan Frontier — 2008-09-25 22:20:08

Excellent mount...no noise, comes with a lock and the only reason I rated the appearance good is because it was not black.

softride quietride

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bryant S (Lake Havasu City, AZ) — 2008-07-10 16:00:07

Ball mount works as advertised and is of high quality. I would have preferred the polished aluminum finish, but that model was not available yet. I would buy this product again and have no regrets.

Aluminum Softride Tightening Ball Mount Product Review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark R (Okemos, MI) Reviewed for a 2007 Honda Pilot — 2009-07-22 01:38:07

This is the absolute best option for a quieter ride when towing anything. The aluminum Softride/Quietride Tightening Ball Mount exceeded my expectations. I bought another one once I experienced the benefits and ease of installation of this excellent product.

There's no better ball mount

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Samuel A (BOWIE, MD) Reviewed for a 2007 Mercedes-Benz GL-Class — 2012-10-16 06:36:18

This is by far the best product you can buy as far as ball mounts are concerned. Its super easy to install, looks really cool (i got the silver one), and grips the hitch super tight - no room for rattling or moving about. Highly Recommended.

SUPRISED

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Harry R (Jensen Beach, FL) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota RAV4 — 2012-06-22 03:02:59

WAS SUPRISED AT HOW WELL THE SOFTRIDE WORKED.THE BALL MOUNT TOTALLY ELIMINATED THE RATTLE BETWEEN THE BALL MOUNT AND THR RECEIVER ON MY CAR.NOW IF I CAN FIND A QAY TO ELIMATE THE RATTLE BETWEEN THE BALL AND TRAILER COUPLING I WOULD BE TOTALLY RATTLE FREE. THE SOFTRIDE DID EXACTLY WHAT IT SAID IT WOULD DO.I WOULD RECOMEND THIS PRODUCT TO ANYONE.

Great mount, cheesy lock

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Aaron B (Tulsa, OK) Reviewed for a 2001 Ford F-150 — 2010-07-06 12:00:21

I have yet to tow with this ball mount but I did install it to see how it works and how stable it is. This thing really tightens up great, there is absolutely no room to wiggle around which should provide a quiet ride as advertised. The mount itself is really a beautiful piece of work with what appears to be a very durable finish (only time will tell). Unfortunately they have paired up this work of art with a really cheesy locking bolt. The bolt itself is fine actually, it's just the lock cylinder. It works just fine so far but the very first time I tested it out I chipped off the finish, exposing the steel beneath. That was just from trying to work the key into the lock! I could easily see this lock corroding away in no time so I will be EXTRA careful about keeping it clean and dry when not in use.

Discoloration

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by vincent b (Crystal River, FL) — 2012-08-01 04:02:40

Great product other than it discolored within the first week of having it

Trailor hitch

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Chad B (Many, LA) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Silverado — 2011-04-09 03:49:35

This hitch is awesome

Great design...I just wish it fit

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brandon N (Austin, TX) Reviewed for a 2009 Toyota Tacoma — 2009-07-24 07:54:17

I have an 09 Tacoma Pre-Runner with the factory installed tow package. Unfortunately the bolt that secures the ball mount to the hitch is too short for the lock to be installed. I'm going to follow-up with the company and see if they can supply a slightly longer bolt.

Nice product, but watch out if you have a Toyota

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by RICHARD J (Southington, CT) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Tundra — 2010-04-26 21:09:25

Grate product... I like the design - it really works like they advertise, very tight quiet ride. The issue I had was that the standard lock/bolt that Softride provides is not long enough for my 2010 Toyota Tundra. The locking mechinism will not fully lock due to the extra wide receiver on the Tundra - it almosts makes it, but is about 1/4 inch short. I contacted Softride and they said "I bet you have a Toyota, we have told Auto Anything a few times to make some note of the limitations". They are sending me a longer bolt, so hopefully that will solve the issue. The person I spoke with at Auto Anything was great and I feel 100% confident in the product.

Lived up to its name

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Derek W (Montrose, WV) — 2008-08-06 12:13:04

Used it for the first time this past weekend. Almost didn't even know the trailer was there. Very quiet and makes towing easy.