Your Cart Is Empty

CampRight Truck Tents Customer Reviews

Average Rating

41 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Coachella

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Augie Max V (Los Angeles, CA) Reviewed for a 2004 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-05-04 19:48:10

I bought this tent for my 2004 Toyota Tacoma to use at the Coachella Music Festival 2011. Because the car camping space they give you is 30x10 and in reality since your car is so long you only get about 10x10 I decided to maximize my space by using this tent. It worked out fantastic and I was able to use all the actual camping space for my Swiss pop-up canopy. Check out my video: http://youtu.be/yIz4bZuR6yI

Very Happy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tracy K (Thousand Palms, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-150 — 2010-06-08 16:35:27

Great piece of equipment! We got this tent on Friday & used it that weekend. It was a little difficult to get set up in the dark, but now that we know how to set it up it's easy. We'll be using this tent all summer long

campdavid

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dave T (Grand Rapids, MN) Reviewed for a 2001 Nissan Frontier — 2011-04-17 10:25:36

I think it's just or better then what I needed.

Great Investment for off the ground camping

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Douglas C (Spotsylvania, VA) — 2011-11-07 09:21:05

2003 Ford Ranger XLT with 6' bed Did a great deal of research on the web to find the best fit for me and my spouse. Did not want a floor or an awning (Just more poles and guy wires to mess with) and after viewing setup procedures on Youtube I choose this tent. Setup is straight forward. I was "That Guy" and ignored the instructions when I set it up in my driveway and it took 40 minutes. At the campsite I followed the instructions and it took ~15 minutes to assemble. Don't be "That Guy". Read and follow the directions when you set it up the day *prior* to your trip. If you arrive late and it is dark, the practice will make setup much easier. The fit is snug on my Ranger so I took my time fitting it to the bed. The poles fit nicely into the colored coded pockets. By this I mean that you don't feel like you will break the poles bending them into position. Inserting the poles through the sleeves can be slowed down by the connectors catching on the material as well as catching when they are removed. Not a deal breaker but slightly annoying. The straps are easily adjusted and remain in place quite well without damage to the exterior of the truck. Lots of room inside (My wife & I are 5'8") with well placed pockets for eyeglasses and other small items and the center hook holds a medium electric lantern without sagging. The zippers move smoothly and entry and exit is not awkward. (If you have knee problems, a step stool to assist in stepping up to the tailgate would be a good investment.) The rain tarp fits well with large plastic windows to maintain an outside view. The storage bag is oversized. Thank you to the product engineer that designed the bag. It is great to have a stuff sack that you don't have to fight to stuff. Pros: Solid fit, ease of setup, truck exterior not scratched, large storage bag. Cons: Poles can be a slight pain to insert and remove from sleeves. Note: When you take down the tent, fold it in from the sides and roll it from the front to the tailgate. This way you can easily fi

I was high and dry

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Terri C (Jacksonville, FL) Reviewed for a 2003 Toyota Tacoma — 2010-08-31 04:50:27

I went to an outdoor music festival and used my truck tent for the first time. It rained for 3 days during the weekend, and I was the only one sleeping on a dry bed. Jealousy abounded! AWESOME! I had to assemble and disassemble it with just a flashlight for light, and had no problems. I can't wait for the next camping trip.....

Simple

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard B (League City, TX) — 2010-08-23 07:43:44

Great tent and very easy to put up... The instructions can be confusing and my main "tip" is don't worry if the straps aren't tight as you put the poles in the tent... Everything seems to work out in the end ! My 7 year old son and I managed to put the tent up, in 105 DegF temps, in about 15 minutes. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED and AutoAnything had the best prices - as normal !

Perfect solution for our little truck

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard B (Soquel, CA) Reviewed for a 1990 Toyota Pickup — 2009-12-30 09:37:44

We wanted to get off the ground, still feel like we're tent camping when we're out 4 wheelin', and leave our truck open for all it's other uses during the week, so campers and shells were out. Built a simple platform in the bed to span across the wheel wells and also ordered the full size air mattress for our truck. This tent and mattress fit perfectly! We're now lying right at the rail level and the big windows are awesome. There's also enough headroom, even on the platform to sit up in bed! We have space by the door to put shoes on and off while still in the tent because of how it extends over the tailgate. Initial set up is advised to see how it goes the first time, but it's easy after that. The fly sheet makes it very waterproof, everything clips on securely with plastic buckles, and no more mud when we take it down after a wet night! This was the perfect solution for our camping needs. Really happy with the product and the service. Fully recommend this product for back country and general car camping use!

Great Choice!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Charles C (Aurora, CO) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Silverado — 2010-02-27 05:59:54

I wanted to use the bed for anything so this is a great temporary camper that makes the experience much better. I also plan to buy a bedrug to make it more comfortable in the bed of the truck.

Truck Tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Sue Ellen C (Saint Cloud, FL) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Cavalier — 2011-07-05 04:08:20

We put this up for the first time in 20 minutes. We have a 2006 F150, extended cab, stepside (bought the tent for the 6.5 bed). It fit perfectly. There is an opening for access through the rear slide out window, which is great - we can store things in the truck's backseat and not have to get out and go around to get stuff. Overall, very happy with the purchase, and anticipate using it often.

CampRight Truck Tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Armicia L (Houston, TX) Reviewed for a 2007 GMC Canyon — 2009-08-07 17:38:28

The tent is excellent!! I am so excited! I put it up the first day I got it. The instructions and color-coded straps makes setting the tent up very easy. It took us about an hour from start to finish. It will obviously take less time the next time we set it up now that we know what we are doing. Thanks for the Awesome product!!

Camp right

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by barry n (Lindon, UT) Reviewed for a 2002 Chevy Silverado — 2010-06-16 20:37:14

The tent took a day longer than expected however it fit perfect and went up easy it was perfect not having a floor in it i did not have to empty the truck put it up and held up in a very high wind. The only complaint is the rainfly was missing a few buckles other than that it is awesome.

Have yet to use, but set it up last weekend

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Marlane M (Waterbury, CT) Reviewed for a 2002 Nissan Frontier — 2010-06-24 02:11:28

I have yet to actually use the tent, but I set it up last weekend. It didn't take too long with another person; we'll see how I do alone. The quality and design seem to be quite good. I wish the inner flap was longer--it doesn't quite come up and over my truckbed cover rail. (Hopefully this doesn't mean rain in the truck bed.) I'll be using it in mid-July, so I'll know better then.

Great Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin S (Fenton, MO) Reviewed for a 2010 Chevy Silverado — 2011-10-29 05:16:20

This tent is well built and very easy to assemble it can be setup by one person in less than thirty minutes. I haved used mine several times for weekend hunting trips and am very happy with its performance.

Love it!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Patricia C (Medora, ND) — 2011-07-27 20:41:46

We put in a double air mattress and it sleeps very comfortably ! So easy to put up and you're done!

CampRight Truck Tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Daniel S (Brighton, CO) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F-350 — 2009-08-09 11:58:47

The CampRight Truck Tent arrived on schedule and appeared as advertised. I took it camping a few days later, setting it up using the instructions included. Setting the tent up the first time took longer, due to unpacking the straps and just getting familiar with the set up. Overall, the tent was simple to set up and well constructed. I use the tent on a long bed F350 4-wheel drive which sits higher than most trucks. The large door made entering and exiting the tent by ladder very easy. The tent was surprisingly roomier than I expected and very comfortable. I would highly reccommend this tent.

WOW we love it!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert R (Hubert, NC) Reviewed for a 2005 Dodge Ram — 2011-05-10 17:33:39

We love to go tailgating at many NASCAR events and everywhere we have been DOZENS of people have stopped and asked where we got this, how do we like it and how much was it. Im not much for writing reviews but this product deserves it, long story short: the wife and i love it and would recommend it to anyone. It puts the thought of wanting an rv or pop up out of our heads!

Nissan Titan truck tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Rochelle D (Bay, AR) Reviewed for a 2004 Nissan Titan — 2011-12-30 18:48:43

Great tent, great price. Easy set up and take down.

Love my tent!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Terri G (Albuquerque, NM) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F-150 — 2012-06-22 06:19:10

Love it love it love it!!! It was everything I expected and a bit more!! So easy to set up and take down...

good tent for the money

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by john h (fayetteville, TN) Reviewed for a 2002 Toyota RAV4 — 2012-06-11 03:57:07

First time installation took about 30 minutes to get everything snug and properly adjusted. Second time took easily half of that. Both time we've camped with it brought rain and wind. We were high and dry and really enjoyed the sound of the rain and the deep sleep we experienced. Much better than being on the ground.

A bargain!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Euel J (Hartselle, AL) Reviewed for a 2009 Nissan Titan — 2012-10-31 17:59:57

Excellent quality,Good looks,Friendly prompt service.

Worked great on my 2012 Tacoma

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jack M (Bellevue, WA) Reviewed for a 2012 Toyota Tacoma — 2012-05-21 21:20:25

I have a 2012 Tacoma double cab with the 5' bed and this fitted perfectly. Coupled it with a truck bedzzz bed which also fit perfectly, made my camping weekend comfortable and dry. Haven't used the rain fly, but it looks like it's a breeze to put on. Without the fly we had a nice view of the stars and stayed quite comfortable. Installation was easy but getting things to fit perfectly like in the picture takes a bit of work playing with the adjustment straps. The only downside is you have to take down the tent if you need to go grab some supplies, but we on hooked the tent from the bed, lifted it off and ran back with ease. Came back, lifted it back on and were able to resecure the tent fairly easily.

More than satisfied.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark A (San Diego, CA) Reviewed for a 2002 Ford Ranger — 2012-06-15 21:55:38

My campright tent is one of the best investments I have ever made. It is easy to store with the oversized bag, installs in minutes, holds up well in windy conditions, the rain fly is awesome with the nice clear vinyl windows. The color-coded poles and sleeves make set up easier than any ground tent I have ever set up. Its nice that it covers the entire tailgate making it much more roomy. (Lots of headroom as well) Throw in a couple of Tri-fold mattress's or an air mattress and you are good to go. Pouches in corners are great for storage and even holding lanterns. Nothing like sleeping under the stars with the mesh roof! I highly recommend one to anyone!

This was the tent for the job

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bruce D. R (Knoxville, MD) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford Ranger — 2012-05-16 12:05:51

My tent was a 100 percent success. I loved everything about it. I would point out two things that might be helpful. Before you go on a trip, set the tent up. The straps are adjustable for different trucks and in the dark, it gets confusing unless you lengthen them before you start putting the tent up. It is also wise to know where the poles go before you try to put the tent up in the dark. People familiar with external frame tents will have no problem setting the tent up quickly, but the geometry is different then a ground tent and in the dark, in the rain I had to do it twice because I did not notice the color codes. That was my fault. Tent directions are useless in a thunderstorm even if you laminate them. I had a little trouble with the portion of the tent that fit over my tailgate. one corner was a bit snug and though it didn't tear, I was worried that it would. Now that I'm home, I'll set it up in nice weather and see what the problem is there. I lived in my truck tent for a week in North Carolina and never had any water inside. I never even used extra ropes or tarps. The one goes left and one goes right doors in the rain fly and tent are a great idea. The tent was well ventilated, but not so much that it did not keep in heat when I used my catalytic heater. PS: Don't fool yourself, no amount of blankets or sleeping bags will make a plastic bed liner comfortable. Get a pad or a piece of plywood. The only problem with the tent I can see is the very reason it is works so well. It is floorless and fits over cargo. But if you arrive with a wet bed, you have a wet tent. So cover your load before you go and you'll have a good trip. One more thing: Tie off the tube if you don't have a sliding rear window

Camping for Bike Week 2011 Daytona Beach

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gary P (Venice, FL) Reviewed for a 2008 Nissan Frontier — 2011-03-19 11:37:58

Well, I was initially skeptical concerning truck tent camping. I have camped many times in a normal tent set-up. However, despite the fact I had never set the truck tent up before (got it the day we left) and it was pitch black requiring set-up by flashlight and it poured rain in the middle of our process we were set up to get out of the rain in about 20 minutes. Sure will be a lot easier the next time around....LOL

Just what we were looking for

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Travis F (Campti, LA) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2012-03-23 07:58:38

Going to Alaska in our 2012 Dodge Ram and wanted a tent that would work in all weather. When seeing this tent(not being on wet ground)we had to try it. Took awhile for two old,one walks with cane to set up first time. Cute girl in insturction photos helped my husband to read.ha Sleeped in it first time in driveway. NICE.... The colored codes make it easy to put together fits the bed tight and has lots of inside room.. We liked the part of not sleeping on ground and having to deal with cleaning the bottom of tent after a wet night. LOVE OUR TENT

Nice to sleep off the ground

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by gary b (San Diego, CA) Reviewed for a 2007 Dodge Ram — 2012-06-27 22:19:43

Very spacious...easier to change clothes when you can stand up. The key to a great night's sleep is what you lay on...consider a good egg crate or air mattress. If you have a 4x4 or taller truck, bring a stepping stool to assist in getting in and out. Overall, very happy with the fit. P.S. Note: the best part is it actually fits back into the storage bag it came in.

good tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by FARON R (Belton, MO) — 2011-09-24 10:34:41

truck tent works really well took it to wyomimg it was real windy tent worked fine

Very Efficent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Don D (Louisville, KY) Reviewed for a 2001 Ford F-350 — 2010-06-08 05:30:11

Easy to setup, take down. wind nd rain the first time I used it. Very satisfied.

Set it up at home first

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael H (Deerfield, IL) Reviewed for a 2002 Ford Ranger — 2012-06-13 08:55:49

After getting it set up, looks good and reasonably tight. Haven't actually used it though, yet. Hints and hitches on set-up: -Red is toward the front, green toward rear. Took a couple of tries to figure out which way was front of truck. (Yes, I did read directions) -Shock poles took a lot to bend and insert into pockets. Always afraid to breack something or rip it - but it worked. -Rainfly install is quick and easy - might be a challenge in the wind, but connects quickly. Comments: -There is no bottom to this tent - any gaps or holes in truck bed will be easy mosquito access (Duck tape anyone?) -Pass-through to cab is pretty much a theoretical. Looks like it would work, but doesn't install or stay put. May need some Velcro. -Head room is pretty good. Not stand up straight, but can stand Looking forward to field-test...

CampRight Truck Tent review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Reggie H (Hobbs, NM) — 2010-04-13 07:19:10

The CampRight Truck Tent was relatively easy to put up for the first time once I figured out what it was supposed to look like. I would like to have the material the tent is made of to be thicker. I fell like in colder areas like in the mountains the tent might not keep the cold off. The tent also is somewhat see thru without the rain cover on. A thicker material would help this problem.

Great Tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Patricia T (huntington beach, CA) Reviewed for a 2001 Ford F-150 — 2011-01-08 06:43:59

This truck tent is perfect. We use it when we go dirt bike ridding in the desert and its great...

Campright Truck Tent is a good solution

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Charles W (Sedona, AZ) Reviewed for a 2000 Ford F-150 — 2011-09-29 09:18:36

Truck is 2000 F-150 6.5' bed. Have not tested in rain or wind, although I expect it to perform very well. Pros: I performed a pre-setup of the tent up in about a half-hour without reading directions; pretty straight forward. Great Fit. Well Constructed fabric components; Pole placement in heavy-duty nylon fabric tabs... sturdy. Rainfly install is a snap. Cons: (1) The shock-corded poles are assembled with a metal collar at end of each pole segment. However, the collar-edge is exposed...not recessed into the pole. When inserting a pole into its nylon-mesh sleeve, this collar edge WILL hang on the sleeve fabric--especially when under compression (think rough finger nail on nylon stocking). I expect this issue to cost me at least 10 minutes of solo erection time. This is a serious design flaw which would be cured if the mesh sleve were solid nylon fabric. If you have two people, temporarily attach the outside straps, thus laying out the tent in place; then insert all assembled poles from one side, where your helper is pulling/straigtening the individual pole-sleeves. Have your helper put their pole-ends in their respective pockets; now, erect the colored poles, followed by the white poles, on your side. (2) Check the rubber nipple pole ends. Some of these will not have been glued, and you will surely loose them during pole removal from sleeve. (3)The Rainfly snap-buckles, which should be simple/smooth operating, are pretty cheezy-cheap. These are easy to snap-in incorrectly; if you do this, they are nearly impossible to release at break-camp time. Suggestions: Definitely do a prefit before your first camping trip. Carefully tune all of the strap lengths. Roll up all of the excess strap and tie a heavy rubber band around the strap bundles. Check to assure that all the pole nipples are tightly glued. For a one-person install, tie 4 ft--or so--length of cord below one of the Rainfly windows (at buckle position, after affixing fly buckles on one side) so you can throw it over to the other side; oth

Can't wait to use it this summer!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by thomas s (Brownstown Twp, MI) Reviewed for a 2010 Dodge Ram — 2012-03-31 14:38:50

Not sure how it is yet,just did test set up.....waiting for summer

great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David P (Bristol, CT) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Silverado — 2010-07-07 05:24:16

We love the campright truvk tent...it's the better way to camp

Good Tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Lori B (Pleasant Grove, UT) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-03-03 09:07:30

Tent works for what I was looking for. No problems yet

Easy set up.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dominic T (Charlton City, MA) Reviewed for a 2009 GMC Sierra — 2011-05-05 18:26:44

Found this tent very easy to set up. Some reviews stated the instructions were hard to understand but tent poles are color coded so set up couldn't be easier. Looking forward to actually useing it.

Nice tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Franklin B (Milford, OH) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-350 — 2012-08-02 20:26:16

Diffently a good tent. The instructions could certainly be better. One you get it set up, it is easy to setup again

Worth the money

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by keith w (Maspeth, NY) Reviewed for a 2010 Chevy Silverado — 2010-07-28 21:00:36

just used the tent for five days in some heavy down pours. stayed dry and out of the puddles. Only drawback is it does not totally seal around the bottom of the tailgate allowing some mosquitos in.

Great Tent But...

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by George M (HARKER HEIGHTS, TX) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Colorado — 2012-10-09 11:56:43

Got to the site, set the tent up....had a great weekend using the tent (even after having to move from the original site due to ants)...only to 'tear' the tent down and have one of the Rain Fly buckles rip outo f it's sewn in attachment point. Other than that it is a great tent; large windows, ample space, and the door opens easily enough, even with the rain fly installed!

screen roof ? what the

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by daniel w (Westland, MI) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford F-150 — 2012-06-16 02:58:55

i would'nt of bought it if i new it had a sreen mesh roof aqnd if i put the rain tarp on than i dont get the air

Avalanche Tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jonathan P G (Lakeville, MN) Reviewed for a 1996 Chevy Avalanche — 2010-07-07 18:19:05

Decent quality tent but difficult to install based upon instructions provided. Finally ended up creating the basic tent structure on the ground and then lifting it onto the truck. Definitely a 2 person job.