Your Cart Is Empty

Napier Sportz Truck Tent 57 Series Customer Reviews

Average Rating

80 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Camping Time!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William K (Jacksonville, FL) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F150 — 2007-03-15 05:07:28

Bought the tent for Bike Week use and had a lot of people check it out. First put up was in the dark and completed in 20 minutes.Plan on using it a lot this season.Very happy with the tent.

DC

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dennis C (Greenfield, IN) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F150 — 2006-07-09 17:36:04

Coolest tent I ever owned! Gives you plenty of room and easy to set up.

Quick trip tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Walter H (Glendale, AZ) Reviewed for a 2006 Nissan Titan — 2006-12-04 20:34:22

First time putting it up was a little difficult..but not too bad...Always try to keep the poles centered with the tent materials...This will help when bending the poles. Tent materials appear good quality. Second time you put the tent up it should be easy... Don't put it up the first time in the dark...That could be a problem..Good price at this seller.

Great Tent But Set Up Directions Not Clear

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Melinda W (Beaverton, OR) Reviewed for a 2001 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-07-08 17:04:01

We just used our tent for the first time over the 4th of July, and we just loved it . . . once we put it up. The directions were not very clear, so it helped to put it up in the daylight and use the picture on the box. It will be much easier next time. Other reviews mentioned the need to practice once before camping, and that's a good idea.

Great product that held up to mother nature.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Denise A (Holyoke, MA) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-08-19 05:40:54

Used the tent for the first time and we had a powerful wind and rain storm that evening. The tent held up to strong gust of wind, and intermitant heavy rain. The inside of the tent stayed dry and comfortable! The nice part was being up off the ground where in a regular tent you would probably have had issues with water getting under the tent and getting your bedding wet. We had a lot of campers curious about your product and so we directed them how they could obtain one for themselves. I recommend the product and also found it easy to assemble.

Napier Sportz Truck Tent III

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Christine W (Rancho Cordova, CA) Reviewed for a 2003 Dodge Dakota — 2006-07-19 20:29:22

I LOVE IT! It's the Condo of Camping! It was really easy to put up. It did take 2 people though. Everthing is colored coded. Real easy..for most! One thing I would change though is the entrance. I don't like how the zipper system works. Not sure how to make it better...Would highly recommend!!

The TRUTH about this tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Don E (Laguna Hills, CA) Reviewed for a 2002 Toyota Tacoma — 2008-07-22 18:18:23

PRO: Fits nicely into bed of truck. Fairly easy to assemble. After the second time, I could get it up in 10 minutes. Was able to put it up in a high wind condition. Fits in the bag after you take it down (so they considered the extra folds when you take it down). I can actually sit up on my knees and not touch the ceiling. CON: The fake fur that goes over the straps was a little difficult to get on. Plan on doing this at home and not at the campsite. I used a stiff wire and fished it through. Wish there was a window on the truck rear window side. The wire hole is just big enough to fit your fist through. It will not link through the rear window. I can see how the poles could break. The rear pole over the door has a great deal of stress. The door hinge is on the bottom which means you have to unzip the door completely to get out. My other tent I only had to zip half way. You can not see out the windows when the rain fly is on. Kinda pricey at $200.00, but it was worth it.

Truck tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert R (Roca, NE) — 2008-07-25 14:06:42

Appears very good and functional, only problem a couple of seams look ready to tear right out of the box.

Napier Sportz Tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by john p (Chico, CA) Reviewed for a 1997 Dodge Ram — 2008-07-16 08:41:34

I am very pleased with my puchase. The tent was relatively easy to put up and take down. It didn't fit quite as neatly (I have a Dodge Ram 1500 short bed)as in the photos but well enough that it didn't look dumb.I had originally seen the tent in Cabellas but Autoanything beat their price and was more specific about what model trucks the tents would fit. My fiance and I are avid cyclists and the tent allows us to make camp anywhere there is flat ground at a ride.

excellent tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kasey J (San Diego, CA) — 2007-10-24 13:04:08

the tent was great, it has color coded poles and slots and it went up in no time. The instructions seemed a little out of date, but it was easy to figure out. Overall I was really impressed and I got a lot of positive comments from other campers.

Nice tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Stacey S (Greenwood Village, CO) Reviewed for a 2007 Dodge Ram — 2008-02-16 12:32:28

This tent has good quality and is very easy to assemble. It only took me about 20 minutes to put up. The only difficulty is getting into it. I would suggest bring a step stool.

Awesome product.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Peter W (San Diego, CA) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-03-07 09:52:53

I got the Truck Tent III for my 2006 Toyota Tacoma (full cab, short bed) and it works great! It's easy to put up by yourself, fits great, lots of room inside. And there are plenty of screen windows and vents. I wish the pass-thru sleeve to the cab were a bit larger, but that's not a big deal.

Kept me dry

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Cynthia B (Mechanicsville, MD) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F-150 — 2007-05-10 18:36:49

Used once on race weekend easy to put up and take down.Very satisfied.Not satisfied with air materess purchased for the truck at the same time I purchased the tent.

Awesome tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert S (Phoenix, AZ) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tacoma — 2006-11-07 18:16:05

Excellent tent, very spacious, fairly easy to put up. The first time in daylight took about 30 minutes to get everything sorted out. The color codes make things easy though. Night assembly can be kind of challenging, so I recommend a trial run in the day. It fits my Toyota Tacoma short bed (60in long) very well. Plenty of space for a full sized air mattress and very comfortable for two. The only drawback I see is that the 6 foot awning is not detachable, not a big deal, but I do wish it detached. I was also very pleased with Autoanything's shipping...probably the fastest free shipping I've ever had.

experience

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Heather M (Mantua, NJ) Reviewed for a 2008 Dodge Ram — 2008-06-24 05:18:17

I love the truck tent. When I used it the first time it was very quick and simple to set up. The height inside of the tent is great. You can move about freely and stand in the middle. When the wind blew, the tent did not budge and made me feel safe. I only wish that I had spent the extra money and got the air mattress to fit inside, it will be well worth it.

Very Nice Tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Eric G (Phoenix, AZ) — 2006-11-18 17:27:27

This is my first bed tent and once you set it up it becomes a snap. Very roomy and is a great product. The tent was much bigger than I expected. I love the forward access slot that I can run my dc/ac inverter cord into the tent, or install a heater tube. The first outing was a rainy one and not only was it nice to be off the ground there were no leaks. The tent was very sturdy in the wind also. Now if there was a stand up tent that attached to this one like the SUV's use would be one nice set up.

Very Happy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Joanne G (Ocean View, NJ) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-11-26 21:41:23

I used the tent the day it came and am very pleased with it. The first time setting it up took a little while to figure out but, now that I've done it once, it will be a snap next time. I'm very happy with the way it works on my truck.

Great tent - Quick, easy setup

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David H (Santa Fe, NM) Reviewed for a 2007 Dodge Ram — 2007-09-26 20:42:29

I arrived at my campsite in the dark and set it up for the first time in just 20 minutes. I suspect the setup time will be cut in half with the use of daylight on my next outing. GREAT PRODUCT!!

My first experience

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by steve l (Anderson, SC) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford F-150 — 2008-05-16 12:54:31

I received the truck tent on Friday and used that night.I was amazed how easy it was to set up.My wife and I slep comfortable the whole weekend even thru the rain.I will surely get my moneys worth from this purchase.Steve

Great Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by mike c (Madison Township, PA) Reviewed for a 2002 Toyota Tundra — 2006-09-13 18:01:30

The tent works as advertised-thanks again!

Best tent I've ever owned !

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kai L (San Pedro, CA) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tundra — 2006-09-20 03:22:14

This tent worked great. Setup took maybe 10 minutes at the most. All the corners are color coded to match the poles, best of all it KEEPS YOU OF THE GROUND ! I recently took a trip and a majority of the tents got infested with ants, Not Me !

I used to RV, now I Tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by michael g (Mill Valley, CA) Reviewed for a 1996 Dodge Ram — 2006-08-01 18:46:15

After many years of hauling a trailer, schlepping a big camper and pulling a fifth wheel trailer, I now am back to a tent. My Truck Tent III is simple to put up, I actually packed it full before I left home and just popped it up with bed and all inside when I got to camp. My brother also left his class 'C' motorhome behind and used my old shortbed Napier Tent, and his kids thought this was really something special. Funny that big motorhome and the kids loved the tent experience the best. I have had two truck tents now, the latest for my longbed has plenty of room for all my gear, the new little vented areas keep it dry, don't have to open the screened windows now to keep it that way. Now if Napier would just make an add on like they do for the SUV's I'd have it made, I could then have a sitting area and my bedroom loft in the truck.

Great!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Rebecca P (Mechanicsville, MD) Reviewed for a 1999 Ford F-350 — 2008-06-03 03:53:35

I like my new tent. It was easy to install by myself and even easier with a second set of hands. The instructions were a little off for the hook up around the tailgate and the rainshield. After a few tries these problems were easily fixed. Still need to find an air mattress that fits an 8' truck bed.

Great tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Antonio B (Knoxville, TN) Reviewed for a 2002 Chevy S10 Pickup — 2007-10-08 20:53:56

Just right! big, pleasant to see, right for camp out avoiding to sleep on the ground. Nicely made. very good product.

Nice Tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by George K (Aurora, CO) — 2008-08-12 06:50:48

This truck tent is nice, though I think a little pricey. Plus, you have to seal the seams and such which, for the money, should have already been done, or the tent sealer included. Overall a fair deal.

Awesome summer fun gear

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Patrick C (San Jose, CA) Reviewed for a 2000 Ford F150 — 2007-06-06 14:51:37

This tent fit right out of the box. Went up in a snap. If you expect a wet camping trip, you may want to seal the seams the prior to your adventure. I can see daylight though mine. I plan to bring a tarp just incase it rains.

Nice Tent, Glad I got it

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David C (Austin, TX) Reviewed for a 2002 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-05-17 14:27:07

It's really nice to be off the ground away from the bugs. Overall I like the tent. My buddy bought one at the same time and my only complaint is that he got the fuzzy strap protectors and I didn't. Maybe they knew his truck was nicer? Who knows.

Don

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Don B (Auburn, CA) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2007-10-08 20:32:01

Very high quality and easy to erect

truck tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Patricia R (Coinjock, NC) — 2008-07-30 17:53:29

We used our tent for the first this past weekend. It was easy to put up and was spaces enough for all 3 of us. I would recomend this tent to everyone who has a truck and likes to camp.

no problems

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dendy D (las vegas, NV) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-04-24 17:43:50

We haven't went camping yet but it's exactly what my husband wanted and the fuzzy protectors for the straps are perfect for him, If it didn't come with those we wouldv'e had to use blankets or something. Because his truck is his baby. Thanks

toyota tundra

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David M (Vancouver, WA) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tundra — 2009-07-17 23:31:28

Great product,quick and easy setup. Nice soft covers for the straps, No worries scratching the paint I give this tent a 10

The Best Thing I Ever Bought

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Nicholas R (Colo Spgs, CO) Reviewed for a 2000 Dodge Ram — 2007-06-11 18:31:41

The Truck Tent III is the best camping aid I have ever purchased. It is simple to set up, secure to the vehicle, and turns heads everywhere. It was well worth the price and it already has paid for itself in a slew of the best camping trips ever.

great purchase

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William W (Foster City, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota Tundra — 2008-07-04 11:59:19

Perfect fit, great headroom, nice design, don't forget to buy the truck bedz custom fit air mattress. will not be sorry you did. this thing generates quite a few comments from passers-by.

Our extra bedroom

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Louise E (New Hampton, NY) Reviewed for a 2005 GMC Canyon — 2008-03-01 04:25:11

We camp with friends who have a RV and use the Sportz Truck Tent as an extra bedroom it is great. it takes up no extra room on the site because my truck is already there....after practicing to put it up once or twice it goes up with ease but make sure you put it up at least once before you hit the road

Top Notch

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by April O (Los Angeles, CA) Reviewed for a 2001 Toyota Tundra — 2006-10-24 15:18:13

I fell in love with a friends sport 2 tent so i bought the sport 3 it is better designed and built.

Turck Tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by john m (Bonney Lake, WA) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Tacoma — 2009-09-26 14:44:01

I got the tent and practiced putting it up before my trip next week. The instructions are not very good. It sets up like any other tent save for the straps that hold it down. I found it very difficult to put the poles into the stirrups by myself. When putting in the inside pole, (the black pole), the stirrup at the door ripped a bit as the pole was seated. Hope it holds. The fit is good, and with the straps, look likes it will hold up in a pretty strong wind. The 3 "door" straps that go around the tailgate... only got one connected. The instructions aren't very clear about their use. I think the tent will serve me well with what I need it to do.

It was so easy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ROSELLA D (San Diego, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan Frontier — 2007-08-17 08:13:57

We loved the truck tent, it took about 15 minutes to set-up but I imagine it will take even less the next time. The take down was even easier. It was super comfortable inside and all of the little pockets were very handy. It beat sleeping on the ground

Napier sportz truck tent III

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Sue Q (Maumee, OH) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Dakota — 2007-08-28 20:14:45

the tent worked great, spent some time prior too my trip too check it out and with never setting it up before, it only took me 20-25 min by myself.. once the tent was up it was very nice. and tear down takes not much time at all..very happy with my purchase.

Outstanding

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Thomas W (Jacksonville, AR) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Silverado — 2006-08-04 14:55:24

This tent is outstanding, only takes a short time to set up and even less time to take down. Will spread word about The Sportz Truck tentIII to all friends. Thanks for this great product!!!!!!!!!!

Way Too Kewl

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard S (Baltimore, MD) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy S10 Pickup — 2006-09-25 17:10:38

I must say that it took about a half hour to put up...But it looked great and held up in some nasty weather... I took it to Dover for NASCAR weekend Sept`06. Had about a dozen compliments for it!!! My truck has a tool box and there were no problems...The tool box just became a built in night stand .. I also recommend the air mattress

Great Tent with a few problems

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Andrew C (Dothan, AL) Reviewed for a 2008 Nissan Titan — 2008-03-21 16:40:50

I love the tent. Once you do it the first time it is very easy to work with and set up. Fits great in my 08 Titan Crew Cab. Only problem is that during setup the poles tend to catch on the fabric and bend, so you just have to watch it.

What a sweet deal!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ian M (Garden Grove, CA) Reviewed for a 1995 Chevy Silverado — 2007-09-29 09:09:38

Set it up the first time with plenty of light and the directions, then after that it's very easy to set up with just a flashlight! Super spacey, lots of room, and the pockets are great too. A great product for a relatively low price! I just wish they had more colors...

Pretty decent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Barry P (Escondido, CA) Reviewed for a 1991 Chevy C/K 1500 — 2007-03-14 07:46:55

Its a good tent overall but it has its flaws. It takes a little time to set up like all tents. I recommend that if you use this tent in sand, try to protect you paint from the straps. I go to Glamis sand dunes and its hard to keep the sand from getting between the straps and your truck. Overall I like it and many people compliment on it. I enjoy how it keeps you of the ground and it seems to hold up pretty good in wind. I would recommend it to anyone.

Awesome

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David S (Houston, TX) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford F150 — 2007-03-22 03:40:02

I just set it up last night to use it this weekend, and all i can say is wow. I didn't know it was so big. I am a 5'6" guy,and i can almost stand straight up in it. Thanks for making an Awesome tent. David

Great Fun

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Cecilia P (Syracuse, UT) — 2007-08-21 07:35:44

This is a wonderful product, the set up was easier than I anticipated. My only complaint (very trivial) is the color is not the same as in the picture. It arrived very quickly, perfect for camping. A bit of advice, spring for the air mattress, I bought one from a department store and it lacked the quality of the on offered with the tent, it's worth it.

Great tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ryan c (schaghticoke, NY) Reviewed for a 1999 Chevy Silverado — 2007-08-12 12:18:34

I have had nothing but good times with this tent, it is very spacious inside, i love not sleeping on the ground and looking for a spot on the ground with no rocks.

Napier Sportz Truck Tent III

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Nels S (Salt Lake City, UT) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford F-150 — 2008-05-06 09:03:39

The truck tent is perfect for the camping that my wife and I do. We have a 21' boat that we usaly take for weekend trips and we had a tent trailer that we used to have to pull either with the boat or take a second vehical. The truck tent has made camping and boating together much easier and enjoyable. The truck tent is very easy to set up it takes less than five minutes. It is perfect for two people and keeps you high and dry.

Napier Sportz Tent III

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kirk H (Bellevue, WA) Reviewed for a 2001 Chevy Silverado — 2007-07-15 19:46:35

Used the tent one time so far in the Rain Forest in Washington State. Didn't rain but the tent worked great. The tent is fairly easy to set up and take down. Fits in a small bag for easy storage. The rubber caps on the end of the tent poles tend to slip of easily. This could be fixed with some sort of glue but haven't had a chance to try it.

Fun Weekends

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Susan D (Hollywood, SC) — 2008-03-13 03:36:02

I purchased a truck and was shopping at youe website when I found the Napier Sportz Tent. It has give me some really exciting weekends outside. Thanks for the adventures

Nice Tent That Fits Well

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steven K (Lewiston, ID) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Tacoma — 2009-09-13 19:38:13

I really like this tent. It looks good on my Titan and fits very well. The first (and only, so far) time I set it up was in my driveway to see how easy it would be. It took me an hour and ten minutes to do it by myself, but will be much easier next time. I'm a pretty good do it yourself person but found the instructions somewhat lacking, especially which pole fits where. Also, it's not all that easy to put on the rain-fly by yourself as it is really high off the ground - If it was windy, it would have Really been fun. Overall it is a great accessory to have.

gr8 4 my needs

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Daniel M (Live Oak, FL) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F150 — 2006-09-26 15:21:57

fast up/down, good comments from all who see it. suits me fine. room to sleep, pull trailer with my toys. the ultimate answer for any traveler.

Impressive

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John W. D (Niceville, FL) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-04-12 09:37:02

I test set up my tent at my house to see how it would go. I am impressed with the construction and fit. The inside headroom is very good and welcome in the heat of Florida. One caution, I would strongly advise new buyers to test set up the tent before they use it for real as the set up can be confusing and and complected. Also, there are a heck of a lot of poles to install which takes a little practice. Overall the tent is very good.

Cool tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Justin D. C (Richland Hills, TX) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2006-07-07 12:50:11

Tent goes up easy and is just right for us. Would look in to getting something for the bed to make sleeping more comfortable.

Napier Sportz Truck Tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jaye N (Aloha, OR) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford Mustang — 2006-06-01 14:02:20

Very easy to setup and stays dry. Fits bed completely and suggest a air mattress to go with tent. Great product!!

Simple after the first time

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Karen Z (Glendale, AZ) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-10-18 17:00:38

I attempted to follow the instructions word for word the first time we set up the tent. But we found it easier to just set it up on the ground before attaching it to my Toyota Tacoma. The inside is very roomy and it also has lots of vents. Just wish it had a pocket where we could access the power outlet in the bed of the truck without having to unzip the front door.

great tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David D (Crystal Bch, TX) Reviewed for a 2008 Dodge Ram — 2007-10-29 16:41:32

easy to put up. really quick

2004 Canyon

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kerri G (West Chesterfield, NH) Reviewed for a 2004 GMC Canyon — 2007-06-06 11:09:48

I suggest a trial run set up before getting to your destination. 2nd time around is much easier. One of the pole sleves on my canopy was sewn at the wrong end, making it difficult to use, so we just rolled it up and went without for the weekend. Plenty of room on the inside, 2 adults and small child did OK for 4 nights.

Sportz Tent III-NJ

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James W (West Milford, NJ) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford F-150 — 2008-09-12 14:04:48

The overall fit was good. It does take 2 people to set this up, keep that in mind before you break out the beer. The rain-fly needs to be a little longer because it does not fully cover the sides, (about 4" are exposed along both sides). I was able to feel the morning dew along this section on the inside. Don't know how this would hold up in the rain. Overall, worth the money.

Gets the job done...

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Anthony A (Round Rock, TX) Reviewed for a 2007 Dodge Ram — 2007-05-17 11:48:53

This product is a great idea and works well. I was expecting the fit to be more custom and the material could be a little more robust, but overall it does what it was intended to do very well. I would recommend this product to other.

A great camping item

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Matthew N (Webster, MN) Reviewed for a 1999 Ford F150 — 2006-07-20 00:43:58

This item is great for anyone who loves camping, its easy to set up, and it keeps you up off of the ground. The only problem that i have is because my truck is too high, To get in i really have to crawl in, But i had a step fabricated that was extended to fit into the reciever hitch of my truck, and i can use that to climb into my truck, It is definatly a great tent and it is really handy.

Truck Tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Art S (Largo, FL) Reviewed for a 2008 Dodge Ram — 2008-04-01 05:34:53

It got lots of looks at the campground.

Napier Sportz Truck Tent III at Burning Man

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Graham B (Oceanside, CA) Reviewed for a 2002 Toyota Tundra — 2006-09-30 12:52:59

I purchased the tent in order to sleep in it while at the Burning Man 2006 event located on the Black Rock desert in Nevada. I set it up by myself in less than 10 minutes with no problems. The floor of the tent did a good job of keeping the dust out created by the wind. The tent held up just fine no matter how hard the wind blew. The zipper tabs rattle with the shaking of the tent by the wind which can be solved with tape around the tabs, heat shrink tubing or removing the tabs and replacing them with cord. The quality of the fabric material is high. Graham

Traveling Home

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Marla H (Hubert, NC) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F150 — 2007-05-19 17:17:10

I just put my new Sportz III in the back of my truck and it took a little bit of trial and error but I know it will be easier now that I know what I'm doing. It is very roomy and even though I haven't used it yet, I can tell I am going to be pleased with it.

moisture

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by gary w (Loveland, CO) Reviewed for a 1998 Dodge Dakota — 2008-09-19 20:02:55

there was a lot of condensation build up from the door to about a ft back on the top and sides on the inside, had to leave zipper open about six inches on door & side windows, still had some beads of water on inside. ( not good in the mountains where it is very cold at night) did hold up under about 12 hrs of rain & sleet, moisture from inside, even when dry outside. rod that holds arch above door had one section splinter after 3rd use, all in all it served its purpose in good fashion. needs better ventalation & stronger rod at rear. much better than on the ground.

GREAT TENT!!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by LAURA S (Bakersfield, CA) — 2008-03-14 09:07:58

MY HUSBAND AND I BOTH LOVE THIS TRUCK TENT!! IT IS WELL MADE IT DIDN'T TAKE LONG TO PUT TOGETHER WERE BOTH EXCITED TO GO CAMPING NOW!!! THANK YOU

Napier Sportz Truck Tent III

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jackie M (Silverthorne, CO) — 2008-06-19 07:59:36

The tent is great. I was amazed at how clean it stayed inside. My partner has bad knees and it was so much easier to crawl in and out of the tent and sleeping bag. The only downside is that one of the poles broke when we were putting it up for the first time. That was discouraging but we made it work.

Not too shabby

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Alexander S (Santa Cruz, CA) — 2007-09-19 20:20:34

Users are recommended to limit themselves to two to four (2-4) beers before attempting to erect the Truck Tent III. Excessive inebriation may result in misalignment of the door, resulting in extreme difficulty in entering the tent via conventional methods. Assuming a minimal sobriety upon arriving at campsite, the Napier Truck Tent III is certain to swiftly evoke the envy of every other camper in the area, as they're sleeping on rocks and the owner of the Truck Tent is sleeping on leaf springs.

Bonnos outdoor adventure

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael B (Saylorsburg, PA) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2007-05-17 04:59:16

The only dislike that I have to the tent is the fact that with a tonue cover it hinders the setup ever so slightly. Other than that the Napier Sportz Truck Tent was one of the best investment that I could have made. I camp alot and have spent many a nights in the bed of my truck under the tonue or the stars. This should be a nice change.

truck tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Don W (Cheyenne, WY) Reviewed for a 2006 GMC Sierra — 2007-06-03 15:05:05

This a nice tent, it takes alittle bit in the first set up, but this tent is worth the buy.

Poway Rodeo

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jennifer P (Las Vegas, NV) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2006-10-06 16:37:42

I took this tent to the Rodeo in Poway Ca, for two weeks. I set it up to show off and there were alot of people who liked it and wanted to know where I got it. So I told them and they thought it looked cool. As for me using it, I liked it. Set up was a snap. As well as tear down. I used my own gueen air mattress and it worked out great.

Tent Enjoyable

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by MICHAEL G (Coatesville, PA) Reviewed for a 2003 Dodge Ram — 2007-05-29 08:50:19

I used the tent this past weekend and it was the weather that would test this tent to its fullest. The tent did well in the high winds and it did okay with the rain. I had a few drips throughout the night which I was not expecting. Also, the canopy could have been larger. The tent did fit well in my truck.

Review of Truck Tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William H (Sheridan, WY) — 2008-06-23 21:26:39

I used the tent during a trail ride outing, in Montana. Recieved many compliments about it. Thank you for your outstanding product.

Not very easy to follow

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Paul P (Flower Mound, TX) Reviewed for a 2001 Dodge Dakota — 2007-03-07 04:10:21

The instructions are not very easy to follow on the construction of the tent. I am going to have to wing it. I hate that. It's not very explanitory.

new

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kim B (Simi Valley, CA) — 2007-12-26 18:14:14

really like it

replacement of damaged parts a pain

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tamie S (Spokane, WA) Reviewed for a 2001 Chevy Silverado — 2007-09-19 10:01:10

We received our tent on 9/11/07 and used it for the first time on 09/15/07. A pole (olive green-tailgate pole) came splintered on one connection. I called Napier to order a replacement and was told I had to fax the order form, shipping number, model number from the tag on the bag, pole description, etc. I had to then go to the post office to send the $3.00 fax. I asked if there was anywhere else I could purchase a replacement and was told no that I had to follow this procedure. Not thrilled with Napier customer service especially when their product was defective/damaged item. I felt they should have taken the info over the phone, apoligized for the defect, inconvience, and sent the pole without any added expense. We'll see if the replacement is arrives. I highly recommend AutoAnything. Great comminication, shipping, etc. I will purchase from them again but probably not any Napier products.

Not so easy to pitch

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by LeRoy D (Chula Vista, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota Tundra — 2008-02-13 06:35:35

I love the tent and the room inside is fantastic! But it was a little harder to assemble than I thought it would be. I'm glad I did a dry run in my driveway. It took me 55 minutes to put up and it was a two person operation. The instructions were not that helpful. So difficulty and instructions knocked a 5 star rating to a 3.

Napier Sportz Truck Tent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Curtis B (Lincoln, NE) Reviewed for a 2003 Dodge Ram — 2006-11-28 20:15:32

I was expecting a much more "durable, solid" material for the tent considering the costs. It sets up alright, but the material the tent is made of does not seem durable or heavy enough to warrant the almost $200 price tag.....

poorly built

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Christian B (Fayetteville, NC) Reviewed for a 1996 Ford F150 — 2007-05-17 20:19:49

First use so far was for two nights. During the first night two of the corner pockets for the poles broke open and the poles stuck through them...creating a saggy roof that would have been worse if it would have rained. Also the corner pockets started to rip from the tent. In addition, one of the poles broke on first set up. Not impressed and may have to send it back with all of the deficiencies...not sure if I want one sent back.

leached colors

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeffrey C (Battle Ground, WA) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy C/K 2500 — 2007-05-09 09:51:44

In putting up my tent. I noticed that they had packaged the tent wet as the blue die transforded into the white. Also noticed very loose sewing/steching.

Nice Try, but you don't stay dry.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gregory W (Escondido, CA) Reviewed for a 1998 Ford Ranger — 2008-02-09 13:51:25

Works great... if there is no rain. In my opinion the tent should be made out of thicker material and the inner pole moved to the outside and ALL seams should be reinforced a lot more. As one poster has already said you can see daylight out the seam areas. If you buy this tent bring a tarp with you that you KNOW is waterproof to throw over the tent and the bed of the truck. FYI the amount of water in the tent was enough to completely wet down a full length towel plus another cup or 2 along the edge of the tent. The water came in from everywhere below the rain fly.