Your Cart Is Empty

Dash Designs Original Car Sun Shade Customer Reviews

Average Rating

80 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Pleased with Dash Designs Sun Shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Glen A (East Lansing, MI) Reviewed for a 2002 Saab 9-3 — 2010-06-10 04:50:39

I really like this sun shade. It is compact, self-storing, effective. My only complaint is that the top and bottom of the cover are squared off, not matching the angles of my car. I used a tin snip to cut the plastic cover on top and bottom to this angle, so now the cover won't wear my upholstery at the top or scrape the dash at the bottom. Now I am pleased with the result.

Great Shade.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John A (Tucson, AZ) Reviewed for a 2011 Cadillac DeVille — 2012-06-20 22:27:35

Easy to install. Easy to use and really does a good job of keeping the car cool.

Clean and neat solution to keep your car cooler.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William J (Miami, FL) Reviewed for a 2008 Honda Odyssey — 2010-08-18 06:49:06

Great idea! Very pratical. Easy to install and easy use. What else can I say? I reconmmend this product.

Dash Design on 2010 KIA Forte EX Sedan

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Donald R (Cathedral City, CA) Reviewed for a 2010 Kia Forte — 2011-05-18 03:49:12

I love this shade! Installation was easy, and I don't have to mess with finding the shade in my car and clumsily pulling it around to fit into my window. It's already there, neatly stacked over to one side...I just pull it across and snap it into place. All my friends that see my new shade are getting one for their cars now too!

Car Sun Protector

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Arthur H (Lakeland, FL) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Prius — 2010-06-23 14:51:03

Our sun shade significantly lowers the temperature of our card interior and increases our comfort level when it is out in the sun. The accordion design is very easy to open and close. Storage is very convenient. Also it is very inexpensive for its functionality

easiest ever

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by henry v (Staten Island, NY) Reviewed for a 2011 Mitsubishi Outlander Sport — 2012-06-30 08:07:47

Simple to install(read directions first!) Easy to use,handled gently!Does what it is supposed to do!Best sun blocker available!

Great Sun Shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Lynette F (Reno, NV) Reviewed for a 2006 Mazda 3 — 2011-08-11 14:54:16

This sun shade does the job well. My steering wheel is now touchable again. Also I am a very neat person and don't like clutter in my car, and this shade folds neatly to the side and doesn't come in the way at all. My parents loved it too, so I bought 2 more, one for each of their cars.

Dealing with the sun at Auburn University

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard A (Clinton, OH) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota RAV4 — 2011-08-04 20:43:58

Installed in the Mazda 6 my daughter just drove back down to Auburn University (AL). Installed easily, works smoothly and should help keep the interior from frying so badly. It's noticeable in the interior, but doesn't look bad in a daily driver.

Great shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by NEIL C (Neptune, NJ) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford Econoline — 2011-08-12 17:46:47

Love this shade, fits good on our Ford E450 RV. Push the mirror up and forward, shade slides across. I wish they made them for the side windows.

my car shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by david y (Harkers Island, NC) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford Mustang — 2011-07-15 11:20:28

Iam so pleased with the ease of installation of this shade and so much easier to use then those bulky ones you buy to stores and have to find somewhere to put them when you get in your car Iam really happy with purchase and would highly recommend it to anyone

Sun Shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin M (Clinton, UT) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Silverado — 2010-06-23 19:38:05

Great product, easy to install, easy to use. I thought it might be hard to reach with it mounted to one side, but it is not difficult at all.

Great shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Paul S (Brooklyn, NY) — 2011-08-19 07:28:36

I would highly recommend this shade.

KEEPS CAR COOL

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gary W (Savannah, GA) Reviewed for a 2003 Toyota Highlander — 2010-07-07 19:01:23

Easy to install. Easier to use. Put one in wife's car, then had to get one for our daughter. Great job blocking sun.

DASH DESIGNS ORIGINAL CAR SUN SHADE

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James S (Carmichael, CA) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Sienna — 2010-08-06 09:01:30

I was so tired of the fold-up/roll-up/twist-up and then store-shades. Always a hassle! Found this and it just made sense--stick it to window and it's always there ready to pull across dash in 10 seconds or less, and retract in same amount of time into automatic storage position. Does not reduce or interfere with driving visibility in closed position. Every passenger that sees it in action says "WOW! Where did you get that? That is so COOL!" Will never have any other shade. Will have one for every car I ever own. Best shade I've ever seen or used, hands down!

Neat concept

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James V (Sunset Beach, NC) — 2011-06-11 03:18:14

I really like the way this windshield sunscreen works, it is extremely conveneant, and much easier to use then the others i have owned.

Love my Sun Shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by JANET S (Las Vegas, NV) Reviewed for a 2007 Saturn Ion — 2011-06-21 20:25:00

I live in Las Vegas and it has been in the 100+ already and this shade keeps my car cool. It was very easy to install and easy to open and close. I love this shade and have told some of my friends who have ordered one. And they like theirs too.

Sunny side out

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bj R (Bristol, RI) — 2011-07-30 06:11:15

I love this product.It's easy to use,and because it's mounted,it's one less thing sitting in the back seat with my grands kids and all their stuff, Does a great job reflecting the sun off the windshield. Don't hesitate to purchase it.

Pleased customer!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeffrey E (Algonquin, IL) Reviewed for a 2011 Buick Enclave — 2011-08-05 10:45:34

This is the greatest item that I have bought for my new Buick Enclave! The sun was really backing my dash board and I was woried about my dash board cracking. this shade makes it so easy to use that you will use it as it's so easy to do and makes my car so much cooler! a must have for any car!!

Must have item

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jim R (Collinsville, OK) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Cruze — 2011-08-18 20:20:55

This is the 4th vehicle I've installed Dash Designs Original car sun shade and will put one on every vehicle I ever own. They are THE car accessory to buy!

sun shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ramze h (Hoover, AL) Reviewed for a 2001 Honda Accord — 2012-04-19 08:08:27

the item is excellent

At Last!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ruth K (Red Bluff, CA) Reviewed for a 2001 Ford Focus — 2010-08-06 06:54:44

At last I don't have to try to find and open a sunshade. There is no fiddling with it. You pull and attach. What a joy to use. When you get to be my age the easier it is to use a product, the better. I can only wish I had found this product sooner. Thank You!!

folding sunshade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kenny K (Huntington Station, NY) Reviewed for a 2006 Hyundai Tiburon — 2011-07-01 13:49:42

great idea, I was tired of the foil shade having to be stored behind my seats getting stepped on etc... easy install and works well so far, been 2 weeks...

Nissan Sun Shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Russell K (Davenport, FL) Reviewed for a 2012 Nissan Frontier — 2012-09-12 17:24:31

This is the 2nd Sun Shade I bought from your company and love them. I had a piece break on the first one and you were kind enough to send me replacement pieces. I love your site and the free shipping is such a treat for us on a fixed income.

Easy to install and easy to use

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Patricia D (Smyrna, GA) Reviewed for a 2011 Hyundai Santa Fe — 2011-06-24 02:41:01

When not in use, this sun shade takes up very little space. Actually, it is hardly noticeable. When you reach across to expand the shade, it moves very smoothly. Same when closing. I bought one for both of our vehicles and I recommend it.

Best Sun Shade on the market.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dorian B (Houston, TX) Reviewed for a 2000 Lexus RX 300 — 2011-04-29 07:56:19

I had one in my old car that got totaled. This was one of the first purchases made for my new car. Sun shades are a pain to unfold, open and put in the window. They take too long and I have had them in the past but got tired of dealing with them. This is the simplest shade to use. All you have to do is reach across and pull. I use it everywhere. Even when I am only going into the store for a minute. The heat from the sun on the dash makes it so hot, the air conditioning has to cool the dash before it can cool your car. And in Texas, it is a hot sun! SO using this means I get cold air nearly instantly and makes driving in the summer so much more comfortable. Best Sun Shade on the market!!

Works as advertised

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian M (Richmond, VA) — 2011-07-15 22:11:09

After a week, no problems. Easy enough to install- took about 15 minutes with me double checking everything before I attached the adhesive. I've seen people complain that they wish it would keep the car cooler, but that's impossible for a product like this. Most of the cars heating has nothing to do with light coming in through the windshield. What this does is keep UV from damaging your dash and keeps the steering wheel, etc from getting too hot to touch. I think it works great and it has a two year warranty. It's worth the price over one of those fold up shields.

Sun Shade Review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Marilee T (Green Valley, AZ) Reviewed for a 2000 Ford F-150 — 2011-02-16 07:56:47

Works great, so convenient. Much better than the removable kind, always right there and keeps the sun out!

Great Sun Shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Judy J (Colorado Springs, CO) — 2011-09-16 17:21:23

It was fairly easy to install. We didn't get is quite as close to the edge of the window as we would have liked, but it seems to work very well. It opens and closes very easily and smoothly. It is a little hard to reach from the driver's side. My husband made a hook that we can use to reach the catch easier from the driver's side. We especially like not having a sun shade loose in the car

Sun Shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by CESAR A A (Tucson, AZ) Reviewed for a 2002 BMW 3-Series — 2011-07-22 05:20:18

This sun shade designed for my BNW was an excellent addition to the car. Work perfect.

My Second One

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Virginia C (Waco, TX) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford Five Hundred — 2012-05-08 21:06:55

Love the convenience of the car shade. The first one broke, but impressed with shade and decided to purchase my secoond one.

Better than I thought

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by mark c (Slidell, LA) Reviewed for a 2011 Nissan Frontier — 2012-05-03 04:35:12

Easy installation. Works great.

Perfect Sunshade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by FERDINAND M (GLENDALE, CA) Reviewed for a 2009 Lexus GX 470 — 2012-08-17 21:32:35

I first used the cheaper version of this about 10 yrs. ago which were made of plain paper, and really love em. This new one made of much better reflective material that is day and night difference from the old one. What's great about this is it's right there when you need it. I spent much more with other made to order sunshade that I probably used not more than five times because they are pain to fold and store in the car. I'll definitely get another one of this for my other car.

Dash Review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Lois D (Hurricane, UT) Reviewed for a 2012 Honda CR-V — 2012-02-29 11:25:21

The thing I like about the sun shade is it does not meet in the middle like the last one I had. It is also very easy to install and is easy for one person to hook up. Also is well built.

Best Money I've ever spent!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James C (Leesburg, FL) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Prius — 2011-09-16 12:06:47

I own a 2010 Toyota Prius which got very hot, very fast while sitting only a few minutes in the sun. To rectify this problem, I had my windows tinted to Fla. Legal limits. That helped a little. They "claimed" it reduces the heat inside the car by 60%, but I noticed only a slight difference. What made a very BIG difference was the temperature inside my car after I installed and used my Dash Design Original Sun Shade. I believe it reduces the inside temperature 60 degrees as they claim it does. The instructions were easy to follow and I had it installed in less than 15 minutes. A great Product at a reasonable price. Jim C. Leesburg, Fl.

Accordion sun shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by DAVID C (SCHERTZ, TX) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota Prius — 2012-08-10 13:34:25

I really like this product. It was very easy install with the enclosed directions. It is easy to use also but some care must be taken when closing the unit up. I ordered another one for the hatchback window of my prius. Although not recommended for this application I see no reason why it would not work. It would have to be folded up before driving but that only takes a few seconds. I recomend it highly in stead of the silver fold up sun shades or the spring type mesh shades.

Easy and Effective Sun Shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dorothy G (LYNDEN, WA) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Malibu — 2013-01-23 10:55:10

As we live in "rainy" Washington state, we haven't used our newest sun shade yet. Our last one was identical to this one and it finally broke. It was the most convenient sun shade we've every had. It kept the sun out...the car cooler and we loved it. Wish they would come up with an easy inexpensive solution for the back window.

car sun shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by jackie m (Mesa, AZ) — 2012-08-25 07:07:11

my sister has one and of course i had to have one to! i love it and tell everyone about it. works so good here in az. very easy to install and use thank you!

EASY TO USE, EASY TO INSTALL!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by RIZALINO B (North Las Vegas, NV) Reviewed for a 2007 Nissan Murano — 2012-08-02 22:41:45

it's easy to install. once installed, it was so easy to use, just pull and click. no more twisting! my car looked great when i open my sun shade, classy!

best car simd shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by carlos f (hillsboro, TX) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford Fiesta — 2012-08-05 20:08:48

i was looking for a ford fiesta custom made sun shade for the windshield and i found this new item , it so easy to install and the best is that i dont have to fold it every single day, i really like it so much, i keep buying from autoanything because they have custom item for my ford fiesta, thanks

A great idea

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Daniel C (San Antonio, TX) Reviewed for a 2010 Honda Insight — 2010-11-03 07:26:50

Stops the sun well, easier to use than others, installed easily. Strongly recommended.

Wonderful...again

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard W (Gaithersburg, MD) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford Focus — 2012-05-24 15:50:17

5 years ago we bought and installed shades on both cars. We no longer have one of the cars. The car we kept just, after 5 years, had to have its shade replaced. We were delighted to find where to get one. AND it was readily installed successfully. Thus, you have a happy customer. We plan another order for another item (dashboard non-reflective cover).

This product is so much more than I expected.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Judy M (Covington, GA) Reviewed for a 2005 Chrysler Pacifica — 2012-08-18 07:35:38

It easily attaches to windshield. When not in use, it is completely out of sight. Does not create any blind spots. It is easily accessible from drivers side to pull across windshield. I love it and would buy another if needed.

easy use

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John T (Springfield, WV) Reviewed for a 2007 Ford Focus — 2011-09-01 11:21:32

this is the easiest to use auto sun shade I've ever seen.It takes up no room yet it is always there when you need it.Just reach up & pull it across the windshied & snap.When finished just unhook & follow it right back to the edge of windshield w/your hand.If you let go it will snap back in position but you want to keep ahold of it & guide it into place. I do wish it was cutout to go behind the rearview mirror ,but thats not really a big deal. I use it daily,I will always have in my vehicles from now on.I now have it in both my car & truck.It is also very easy to install. John ,Springfield,WV

Convenient and easy to use

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Carl B (Tinton Falls, NJ) Reviewed for a 2012 Jeep Grand Cherokee — 2012-09-13 20:20:38

The shade is always ready for use, no fumbling or searching it. Just reach across, grab the handle and draw it across the window. When you're ready to go just unhook the drivers side and let it retract - no need to fold it or find a place/bag to store it. I had one in my last car for ten years without any problems. When I got a new car this was one of my first accessory purchases.

Cooler in NJ

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Margaret M (Cape May, NJ) Reviewed for a 2006 Honda Odyssey — 2012-08-18 11:11:43

This product works well. It took 2 people to install. Be sure to read all of the instructions for installation before beginning so it adheres well. I use a hanger to hook it toward me and to return it to its "storage" space. The accordian does get messed up if retracted too quickly.

shades

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Henry L (High Ridge, MO) Reviewed for a 2008 Hyundai Santa Fe — 2011-08-17 05:32:18

we love it!!! will send many customers! already friends are interested!

Keeping the sun out

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Sharon K (Tempe, AZ) Reviewed for a 2009 Honda Civic — 2012-06-07 20:56:58

I've had my sunscreen for about one week now and love it. It is easy to pull across and put back. The only draw back is the handle is black and it gets very hot so hard to help the screen back when the plastic frame get very hot.

A Great Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David T (Midland, TX) Reviewed for a 2008 Mazda Miata/MX-5 — 2012-08-03 07:22:36

This is the fourth car I've bought one of these type shades for, and I wouldn't use any other type. Instead of fumbling around for the old traditional type and unfolding it, this is so easy to just pull over and latch. Then one has to fold up the old type and stow it away somewhere -- what a hassle! Why would anyone ever use anything else but this product? It's simply the best.

car sun shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Natalie B (Goodyear, AZ) Reviewed for a 2000 Jaguar S-Type — 2011-12-08 09:01:03

Great item easy to install and works great! protects the car from the sun without fighting with a sun screen every time you park.

Splendid sun shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Sam F (El Paso, TX) Reviewed for a 2002 Toyota Tacoma — 2011-07-14 14:36:03

I had tried several other brands and sizes with absolutely no good results. Dash Designs Original Sun Shade is a perfect fit, easy to install, attractive, and effective.

Easy to use.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Celeste W (Kingsland, TX) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Prius — 2012-03-15 20:46:25

I think this sun shade is an excellent idea. It works great and you don't have to unfold it and place it in the front window every time you use it.

sun shade review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Terry C (Boerne, TX) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy C/K 2500 — 2010-09-01 06:21:59

This is my second sun shade and I love them! The first one is ten years old and still going strong. The Dash Designs sun shade is always ready to be used, and out of the way when not in use. I highly recommend the Sun Shade by Dash Designs.

No hassles!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Doug C (Dillon, MT) — 2011-06-26 12:36:10

Thought I would try this rather than a normal type of sun screen. Works wonderful and no storage hassles folding up panels and then stowing away in a pouch or wrapping a band around it. Easy install and very easy to deploy or close. Just be sure not to crinkle the pleats during use so it refolds properly. Works very well!

better than the split screen I had in my other car

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by deanna d (Phoenix, AZ) — 2011-10-27 08:34:05

I was very pleased to see that a one-handed screen was available. Overall, I Like it with 2 exceptions. the screen when closed leaves a gap at the top of the windshield not helped by putting the visors down. The other thing, as noted by some other reviewers, is that you must hand guide the screen when you are returning it to the passenger side or else you must spend a lot of time straightening out the pleats, so it will open easily next time. DD, Phoenix

sun shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by gary s (North Fort Myers, FL) Reviewed for a 2006 Ford Explorer — 2011-06-30 20:29:40

the shade i recieved was good quality,easy to install,very good instructions everything you need comes with the product.The only neg.is that it goes around the mirror not behind.

car sun shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by HIMANSHU P (Canoga Park, CA) — 2010-08-18 08:18:19

Car Sun shade was good. it was as expected. Quality little bit low.

Sun Shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David U (San Diego, CA) Reviewed for a 2009 Toyota Camry — 2010-07-27 11:50:28

Better than any other windshield sun blocker I have used, no more folding in middle and falling out of windshield or find a storing place for it, easy to use and easy to install just follow directions.

one piece sun shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by DAN P (KELLER, TX) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Tundra — 2011-10-07 11:51:52

Purchase and install approx sept 30 2011... only used one week now.... good quality and works as advertised... have to give the springs more time and see if they last.... happy as of now... and yes I would purchase another...

I have had this type of car sunshade before

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Karen M (FALLON, NV) Reviewed for a 2005 Volvo XC90 — 2013-03-09 16:39:36

I like them! That's why I ordered one for our new vehicle.

Works well, very convienent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ANN W (Woodbridge, VA) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Corolla — 2011-12-08 05:20:42

I got this sun shade when I got tired of fighting & folding other shades. Install is easy. After one season, one clip is loose and will have to be reattached. It is much more convient than conventional shades. It keeps a good amount of heat out, but not as much as the heavy foil backed shades; but still enought to make a dk gray car w/ black interior tolerable in 105F heat, especially with the windows cracked.

Sunshade for Honda CR-V, 2010 Model

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by JoNell E (Sierra Vista, AZ) Reviewed for a 2010 Honda CR-V — 2011-07-11 10:44:45

I installed it and left it in an open position for two weeks while I was out of the country and parked the vehicle in Tucson by the airport. It seemed to work fine except now when I close it up, it does not stay tight as I had hoped. Other than this and the unusual smell of the material from being closed up in the car for two weeks in the hot Arizona temperature, I am okay with it.

Good Shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gerald N L (The Villages, FL) — 2011-10-15 04:44:28

We really ike the shade but it takes quite a reach to disconnect it. Other than that it is excellent.

Dash Designs sun shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Judy S (Mesa, AZ) — 2011-09-21 11:19:37

I really like the Sun Shade. However I live in Arizona and have found when my car is out in the hot sun all day the shade seems to get soft and won't fold back the way it should, it bends and crumbles. On a cool or cloudy day it seems to fold the way it's should.

Good shade, easy to install and use.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by S Joan P (Roswell, NM) — 2011-08-09 20:47:33

Does tend to wrinkle a bit when you fold it up if you don't hold it just right. Then you have to straighten out the folds, but not too bad. Would be nice if it fit behind the mirror instead of in front, but all in all a pretty good shade

WORKS WELL

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by martin o (Littleton, CO) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Camry — 2010-07-28 12:56:16

EASY TO INSTALL, WORKS WELL

Great material, flimsy plastic frame

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Andrew L (Cullman, AL) Reviewed for a 2010 Subaru Forester — 2010-06-16 08:02:54

I received and installed my Dash Designs Original Sun Shade. Everything was fine and the install went well. However, after sitting in the sun for several hours, the plastic housing seems very soft, and flimsy. I suspect the housing will break after repeated use.The housing should be made of aluminum to provide needed rigidity. Overall, I am satisfied with the shade's ability to block the sun and keep my car cooler.And..I do like the convenience of the roll up design.

mismatch

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Stephen B (Carthage, IL) Reviewed for a 2003 Ford Econoline — 2011-01-21 19:38:36

does not fit as requested, entry handles are in the way so the shade will not attach to the pillers. Oh so sad

It works

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by George T (Santa Ana, CA) — 2012-07-24 09:42:57

Have tried several other kings of sun shades, and wood not stay inplace. Your's does the job.

First time user

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert C (Fairview, TX) Reviewed for a 2007 Hyundai Accent — 2012-07-24 20:44:06

The shade work very good. It is rahter ezy to use and is out of the way when driving. No more folding of shades for me. it was 101 today so it made a big dif. inside.

closing

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Arthur N (Boynton Beach, FL) Reviewed for a 2008 Acura TL — 2011-05-12 06:03:54

opens and serves the purpose easily, but does not close evenly without manually straightening some pleats

It works, and is convenient

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Amanda H (Arlington, TX) Reviewed for a 2005 Honda Odyssey — 2011-09-16 11:45:06

We bought this for our Honda Odyssey since the windshield is so large, and normal shades are kind of a hassle to work with and store. It hooks up easy and works well as far as doing what it should. You have to retract it a specific direction to ensure it folds up right but it isn't that big of a deal. I'm not sure it repels heat as good as others but good enough considering it is a space saver.

Practical and Well Made

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Erich H (Milwaukee, WI) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Yaris — 2010-07-05 21:36:41

The product is practical and well-made. I use it daily. I just wish it could keep my car cooler than it does?? I'm sure it knocks down the temperature just wish it did it more so.

Easy to use

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by jassim z (springfield gardens, NY) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota FJ Cruiser — 2012-04-19 08:08:32

I did not expect so easily installed, it's wonderful

Good shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by EMAD Q (Atlanta, GA) Reviewed for a 2011 Hyundai Sonata — 2011-03-16 20:38:11

The shade is well built. It is convenient and easy to install and use. It does not decrease the visibility from the side pillar. I would recommend this type over the regular folded shade.

works pretty well but somewhat cumbersome

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael O (Culver City, CA) Reviewed for a 2010 Honda Civic — 2012-03-14 03:29:55

Pros: not difficult to install, no rattle while driving, does not interfere with view (when retracted of course), blocks most of window when closed, pretty quick/easy to open and close but room for improvement Cons: somewhat bulky/clunky, requires a bit of finesse to open and close. It has two plastic halves that clamshell together over a pleated shade that is retracted by two spring loaded wires. The two halves lightly snap together when closed/unsnap when opened requiring some care in handling. The pleated design under spring tension is clunky and must be maneuvered around the rear view mirror. I once had a thin shade like the type seen in homes – the roller blinds that you pull down over the window. It pulled across the windshield effortlessly but it was held by suction cups that would not stay and it rattled when driving. No manufacturer really gets these right.

Concept is good- Functionality needs tweaking

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Becky B (Davie, FL) — 2011-08-08 20:50:58

Contacted AutoAnything two weeks after receiving order. The shade arrived with scotch tape and minor scratches on the product. The concept is great...and when it works it is wonderful. However, the heat in Fla is extreme and the shade is too hot to handle. When retracting, it "bunches" up and takes several minutes to "straighten". When I contacted AutoAnything the girl stated she would contact the manufacturer, but naturally have not heard anything and it has been over a month now. Because of the lack of customer service, I cannot recommend to family and friends.

it's ok

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by valis h (Plano, TX) Reviewed for a 2009 Volkswagen CC — 2010-12-01 21:13:19

it's a bit on the bulky side when it's retracted (right-hand side). Not sure of the purpose of the block lower and upper "knobs". If i had to do it again i would look for a shade that came from both the left and right and velcro'd in the middle. But this will do.

OK for the price.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Creig M (Fredericksburg, PA) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Tundra — 2012-01-11 21:12:23

They changed the design from two piece to one. Seems like it will be OK.

NOT GOOD

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert C (PERHAM, MN) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Impala — 2012-08-16 10:31:04

KNOB TO HOLD BROKE OFF ON FIRST PULL

Dash Designs Original Car Sun Shade

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael H (Huachuca City, AZ) Reviewed for a 1987 Toyota 4Runner — 2011-08-19 20:15:17

I am sorely disappointed in the Sun Shade. Would not fold when I retracted it and if I left it opened for 24 hours it was impossible to get closed. Got tired of fighting with it and it went in the garbage. As for me it was a total waste of my money.