Your Cart Is Empty

CURT Discovery Brake Controller Customer Reviews

Average Rating

39 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Great Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John K (Saint Johns, MI) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-150 — 2011-12-28 04:58:34

This took me a total of 10 minutes to install. 9.5 minutes to drill the holes and the rest was just a quick plug in to the brake connector. You will need to order a harness for your specific vehicle when you order this. I towed my camper for two hours so far with this and I had it tuned in within a mile or two and it has worked great ever since.

Great Brake Controller

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by GARY W (, ) Reviewed for a 2008 Cadillac SRX — 2011-11-11 07:17:56

This was the easiest Brake controller I have ever installed! I purchased the harness with the controller and it took me 15 minutes to install and that included finding my drill and bit to mount it to the dash. This was by far, the easiest installation possible. I have installed many before but this beat them all. The controller is very user friendly and meets or exceeds my expectations!

Curt discovery brake controller

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by cordell m (Henderson, NV) — 2010-08-11 10:27:01

The unit installs easy. With the plug and play for your truck, you simply plug it in. thanks for a great deal.

2005 Explorer

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steve H (Issaquah, WA) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford Explorer — 2011-03-08 16:27:52

Easy Installation especially with the optional wiring harness that just pulled into existing factory wiring , Lights up when putting on the brakes but have not had time to pull my RV yet, still in winter Storage.

Great product!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dennis C (McAlisterville, PA) — 2011-07-03 14:33:02

This brake controller is awasome! Easy installition & Ouick connection. I am towing a 20 ft. cargo trailer with double axiles & its very easy to adjust to your driving style. I would recomend this product to anyone who is looking for a brake controller at an excellent price & performance!

great service

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by john n (Greeneville, TN) — 2011-07-26 05:46:34

i orded this on a monday and received it tuesday afternoon great service

DG @ Blossvale,NY

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David E G (Blossvale, NY) Reviewed for a 2011 Toyota Tundra — 2011-05-17 04:33:37

Controller is as advertised. Good quality and good looking. Install was easy on my "11" Tundra. Toyota provides the "pigtail" to mate up with the pre-wire so I cut plug off controller and spliced wires...probably would buy harness if I planned to change manufacturer...but I plan to stick with Tundra next purchase. Price was far better @ Autoanything.com than any I found locally.

Larry L.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by LARRY L (Tucson, AZ) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Silverado — 2011-05-26 08:27:04

About as simple as it gets plug and go. I am too busy too spend time on installs, but this was a piece of cake. Could not be easier.

Great Item

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Manuel S (Windsor, CA) — 2011-12-20 21:08:01

The connection was great, easy and quick connection to the brake system.

Nice and easy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gary M (Riverside, CA) Reviewed for a 2007 Dodge Ram — 2012-07-24 08:10:32

I purchased the controller and the wiring connecter and was able to installled it with ease.

Plugged right in and works well

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John B (Ephrata, PA) Reviewed for a 2007 Subaru Legacy — 2011-10-18 03:25:15

Worked just right in my 2007 Ford Sporttrac installation and works well with my trailer too.

Happy Customer

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ryan G (Peoria, AZ) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-150 — 2010-04-12 15:27:34

Very Easy to Install...The only problem I had was the screws didn't work all that well. I ended up using some metal screws with a socket wrench. A little drilling to get the screws started. But overall very very easy to install. Took me about 30 minutes. Looks Great as well!

Buy it

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jason L (Filer, ID) Reviewed for a 2004 GMC Sierra — 2010-11-18 08:04:43

I have only used this once. It is easy to install, adjust, and works great. I would reccommend it. I don't pull anything crazy heavy, but this controller will work for anything my '04 duramax can get down the road.

To pull a trailer

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John W (West Frankfort, IL) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Silverado — 2012-09-12 20:49:26

your curt brake controler was good for the price and it was easy to install but had have a jumper to hookup 2005 chev.pickup

katobb

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David B (Canfield, OH) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Silverado — 2012-06-04 08:14:40

Qwick and easy inatall. Go to Curts' web site for vehicle video. Very helpful

compact yet functional

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dennis M (YUCAIPA, CA) Reviewed for a 2001 Dodge Ram — 2011-03-12 22:18:46

This controller is very compact, you hardly notice it in the cab. Works well and has a led indicator showing the amount of pressure or force applied to the brake system of the trailer. Easy to install on any angle. I had to cut the connector off to splice it into my dealer supplied factory wiring harness. I did not want to spend the extra money to buy the adapter harness offered.

Easy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James F (Westminster, MA) — 2011-06-22 03:41:35

This is by far one of the easiest acc I have ever installeded and set up. I can't vouch for longevity yet but so far so good, I'm happy.

Curt Brake Controller

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Butch M (Gardnerville, NV) Reviewed for a 2002 Chevy Silverado — 2011-04-23 08:25:36

The review is late because I got the wrong harness and I didn't install it right away. The installation of the unit was very easy through holes already in the dash. The directions were blurry and I had to look at a friends' truck to see where the harness pluged into my truck. After some minor adjustments, it seems to work fine. I'll be leaving on my trip using the controller in about 10 days.

curt brake controller 2005 ford f150

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard F (Dupo, IL) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-150 — 2010-03-04 06:03:28

Also ordered the wire harness to match the brake controller plugged right in . So simple to install also received a card with controller with instructions for operations handy reference. Highly reccomend this product.

99 chevy pickup

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ken H (De Soto, IA) Reviewed for a 1999 Chevy Silverado — 2012-09-04 07:42:37

install was as simple as it could get!! 10 minutes and it was in!! works great and easy to adjust to the proper brake control!!!

Excellent Value-Unit Works Well!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jon D (Wichita, KS) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Silverado — 2012-04-30 09:27:02

I found this unit at a local trailer supply store before I found it online on this website. The cost at the local store was twice as much as here! Needless to say, I was happy about the value right from the beginning. Once I received the unit (super-fast shipping) I had it installed in a matter of minutes. Once I hooked up to my 5th wheel (first time pulling a trailer that size ever!), I had the brakes adjusted almost immediately. The digital read-out makes everything very easy. The unit is built with a quick connect end...all you have to do is buy the adapter that fits your truck. I had an adapter that came with my Silverado when I bought it, so I just used it (had to cut the quick-connect end off the unit and wire them together, but it was still very easy). Great product!!!

CURT Discovery Brake Controller

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gary D (Sandy, UT) Reviewed for a 2008 Land Rover LR3 — 2012-03-14 06:31:19

Quick and easy to install - just plug, set the strength and go! I used it for my Landrover LR3, and didn't want to drill into the interior so I used dbl sided velcro and it fits neatly by the bonnet leaver.

Great Value

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Don A (Loveland, CO) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Tundra — 2012-06-21 08:34:01

This controller was very easy to install - took 5 minutes. I recommend purchasing the custom wiring pigtail that plugs directly into your wiring harnass. Even at $80 for the complete package, this controller exceeded my expectations regarding operation and ease of adjustment. Just a slight movement of the knob allowed me to fine tune the braking control while on the move. A great product!!

CURT Discovery Brake Controller

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard U (Greensboro, NC) — 2012-10-01 15:17:43

Fast service. Easy set up. Great deal.

Good value for the price

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dennis S (Manlius, NY) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Silverado — 2013-03-02 15:25:21

contradicting installation instructions. great customer service at AA and they provided the correct wiring installtion.

Love it!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Arlen E (Houston, TX) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford F-150 — 2012-12-30 10:07:25

The ease of installation with the adaptor for my truck was amazing. It was also easy to adjust. I basically plugged it in and it was ready to use.

I love it - easy to install - looks good

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John R (College Station, TX) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota 4Runner — 2012-03-02 06:34:41

I installed this with the cable for my Toyota 4Runner over my lunch period. It looks sharp and was easy to install. I used it that very weekend to carry an Forest River r-pod - weighed about 2800lbs - and it worked great. Good deal from AutoAnything - glad I got one.

It works good.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Elizabeth E (Rangely, CO) — 2012-10-02 20:54:30

What can I say. You need to get one and try it out. We like ours.

Install Curt Discovery Brake Controller in 2009 Chevy Tahoe

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by W. George E (Sewickley, PA) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Tahoe — 2012-03-13 07:49:44

Installation was not as easy as expected, not due to the product but due to the fact that the '09 Tahoe did not have a quick connect for the unit. The controller had to be hard wired into the Tahoe's system which was done by my local Chevy dealer. I have not had to use to controller as of yet as the trailer for which it is to be used has not been delivered. I do not expect any problems in using the controller. I also note with pleasure that Cabela's price for the same unit is substantially greater than yours and they charge for shipping. I am an Autoanything.com customer for life.

functional

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dakota H (Fall Branch, TN) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy Silverado — 2012-03-28 17:19:38

installed controller in ten to fifteen minutes then pulled a trailer to beach the following day. worked very well

Installing into 2008 Dodge Ram 1500

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Peter B (Las Cruces, NM) — 2012-11-09 07:14:49

The unit required a separate cable which did not match the pins on the controller. Buyers should be advised that this unit requires a separate cable and to specify the vehicle when ordering the controller so that the correct cable can be supplied.

Great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Joshua J (Yuma, AZ) Reviewed for a 2008 Dodge Ram — 2012-08-31 09:43:38

Instalation, with the vehicle specific cord, is a snap. Took less then 10 minutes to install. Quality seems on par. I have used it twice with a tandem axle, quad brake, 22 foot flatbed trailer carrying between 3-5k with no issues. Initial setup and programming could have been spelled out a little better but I did enjoy the plastic business card size cheat sheet.

easy to install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeremy G (Bemidji, MN) — 2011-07-07 21:49:54

Installed in about five minutes with pigtail adapter. Easy to use.

Difficult to install on 2012 Dodge Durango

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gary F (Papillion, NE) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Durango — 2012-08-03 08:19:24

Everything is great about this product except the installation. With factory installed towing package, the supplied break controller wire connector is not where the MOPAR packaging says it is (Under the dash next to the steering wheel). Actually it's above the master wiring harness located above the emergency break mechanism and almost impopssible to attach the MOPAR plug to the connector. Then after the connector is attached, you have to remove (cut) the Curt connector and hard wire the MOPAR and Curt wires. I gave up and finally had to take the unit to a professional tow hitch company (Council Hitch) and they installed it in about 15 minutes and cost an additiional $40+tax. There is a Curt wiring adaptor you can purchase which eliminates the removal of the Curt connector.

2010 F-150 Brake Controller installation

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Daniel B (Union Mills, IN) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2011-03-24 16:52:46

Easy to install, everything needed was there.

Good value.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by John C (Alexandria, MN) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tundra — 2012-04-13 07:03:26

Very easy install on my Tundra, even without the special harness. I like the digital readout much better than the older lighted unit I had for years. And mounting angle is not a factor. Nice clean appearance. Very good value.

Too easy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Anthony G (Irving, TX) — 2011-08-24 08:10:24

Install was very simple with adapter plug. Just mount with 2 drilled holes route cable and connect, doesn't get any easier. Appearance is great but because of location it's not very noticable. Arrived in 2 days. Thanx guys.

Curt electric brakes

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Randell B (Maurice, LA) Reviewed for a 2003 Ford F-150 — 2011-06-06 07:04:34

easy installation, nice compact look.

Junk product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by William C (Walpole, NH) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Tundra — 2012-01-30 15:15:52

Unit had a short in it and kept blowing the fuse, when a different unit that my shop had for sale was installed it worked fine. Directions stated that that warranty was void if you cut the plug off at the end to wire it in directly. Out $60 for nothing.