Your Cart Is Empty

AMI Aluminum Tailgate Handles Customer Reviews

Average Rating

17 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

tailgate

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Stephen Z (Batavia, IL) Reviewed for a 2000 Chevy Silverado — 2010-03-26 03:55:15

Great Product

AMI Tailgate handle - worth every penny

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jim F (Berlin, PA) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Silverado — 2008-02-12 15:04:15

I am extremely pleased with my AMI aluminum tailgate handle. My OEM plastic handle broke in the cold with a full load of coal on my truck. I found this handle at AutoAnything, made in USA, machined aluminum. Installation was very easy. Operation is better than the original handle. It is heavy duty, I'm not strong enough to break this one! Looks great too.

SATX SuperDuty

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James G (San Antonio, TX) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-250 — 2007-05-10 04:30:56

The AMI handles are great, easy to install and a significant improvement over the bland black plastic handles installed by FORD. They do stand a little more proud of the tailgate sheetmeetal than the originals.

Thank-Q

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael R (Covington, WA) Reviewed for a 1998 Ford F-150 — 2008-06-14 17:56:51

The tailgte Handle arrived on time, I had a problem with my tailgate not opening properley so I took my truck down to a local Ford Dealer and they replaced another item inside the tailgate and installed the Tailgate handle too. I like the apperance of the handle, and will plan on ordering door handles also.

Great Product !!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by todd f (Rockwall, TX) Reviewed for a 2008 GMC Sierra — 2008-12-01 20:35:15

I installed a actuator lock on my truck, when u lock the doors, the tailgate locks. ONE PROBLEM : the factory handle was very weak and flimsy. So I bought this Billet Aluminum handle, and installed it. took about 45 minutes. Had to grind the area where the actuator plunger went into it. Was no big deal. WHAT A DIFFERENCE !!! The handle looks great, and when the actuator locks, the handle DOES NOT GIVE ONE BIT !!! This is a great lock, and gives greater security than the stock plastic handle does... I highly recommend this handle !!!!

AMI chromed billet handles - LOVE EM!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brad G (Redmond, WA) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Silverado — 2008-10-09 21:32:50

Put AMI chrome billet door handles+bucket and tailgate handle+bucket, along with a pop&lock. They install beautifully with basic tools, and once you get the chevy door panels down it takes no more than 30 minutes to do. The handle assemblies are serious metal, putting the factory deals to shame. Note on the tailgate handle: had to push a bit to get it to fit - very snug on insertion. These are the handles that should have been on from the factory - they work great, look fantastic, and are secure has heck!

New Tailgate Handle

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Harold J. J (Kaufman, TX) Reviewed for a 2004 GMC C/K 1500 — 2007-06-07 07:27:12

Product was vey easy to install, good fit and really looks good on my truck. I plan to purchase the AMI door handles in the near future.

Aluminum Tail gate handle

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Harold D (Cleburne, TX) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford F-350 — 2009-10-08 08:00:48

The handle recieved was a shown, looks great, and has simple easy to follow directions. I had a head start on the installation as I took the tail gate apart before the part arrived.

Solid Design Tailgate Handle

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bryan S (Holland, MI) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Silverado — 2012-07-05 04:55:54

This is a perfect replacement for the cheap OEM plastic handle. With this design there is no flexing of the handle during actuation. It is very solid and I will buy another one for my next truck.

AMI Tailgate Handle complete assembly

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dave C (Billings, MT) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy C/K 1500 — 2008-04-09 21:30:32

When it said it was a complete package assembly, I thought it meant is was assembled already and not that I would have to assemble. I was picturing removing the broken one and installing the new one. Not having to grind things off the old one and assembling the replacement one to part of the old one. There was more to it then what one was lead to believe by the product description.

2003 Chevy Silverado Tailgate Handle

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by CAGNEY P (Homer, AK) — 2006-03-18 22:24:59

This is a well built Tail gate handle. Instalation could've gone faster with some directions but it did'nt take to long to figure out. And if you get tired of the aluminum look you can always paint it.

Better than stock!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bobby K (Princeton, MN) Reviewed for a 2001 Chevy Silverado — 2013-02-12 20:36:46

Installation was fairly easy, now I won't need to by a new handle every year.

Needs tweaked

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Chris S (Ottawa, IL) Reviewed for a 2002 GMC Sierra — 2008-12-21 09:09:46

Handle rubs on bezel, just a little oversized. Had to use part of broken handle to install, but worth it not to brake handle anymore.

Replacement Tailgate Handle

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by DAVID P (Freehold, NJ) Reviewed for a 2006 Nissan Titan — 2011-12-15 03:04:40

The new handle looks and works great after some grinding and filing. On installation the handle rubbed and needed some final adjustment of grinding on the back side to stop rubbing. If you buy this handle be prepared it may not be an exact fit and need additional work not mentioned in the directions.

Lookin' Sharp

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Douglas D (Fort McCoy, WI) Reviewed for a 1997 Ford F150 — 2006-09-23 22:18:19

I just opened the package and WOW, it looks sharp and the quality is evident. I can't wait until I have the remaining parts, I need to assemble my new tailgate.

AMI Aluminum Tailgate Handles

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian S (Union Bridge, MD) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy C/K 2500 — 2007-11-29 06:21:09

I needed a replacement bezel because mine broke off. Apparently that is a common ailment because I've seen numerous Chevy tailgates with the same affliction. The original was plastic, so I wanted a metal replacement. This set fit the bill. The installation was easy. The product looks and works great.

A good buy!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Patrick C (Crp Christi, TX) Reviewed for a 2003 GMC C/K 2500 — 2011-04-07 05:00:29

Product looks good and fairly easy to install.. was beyond tired of the OEM handles breaking and losing the trim rings (plastic junk) all the time. This AMI set was an obvious choice. For first timers putting one of these in, two things: 1) wrap the visible surfaces with blue painter's tape if worried about scratches while installing. 2) before putting the trim ring on, take the time bending the OEM handle bracket (may have to take it out of the tailgate 2-3 times) so that the handle is centered left-to-right in the tailgate hole/bolt hole for the trim ring, otherwise the handle will rub on the trim ring.