Your Cart Is Empty

Dee Zee Tailgate Assist Customer Reviews

Average Rating

80 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brandon S (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2012-11-11 12:28:58

Easy to install. Works great.

my gate.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Alan G (Albuquerque, NM) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2012-04-25 07:45:58

it was easy to install and it workes great!

Great little accessory to have !

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Scott C (Startup, WA) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2012-04-21 01:17:41

Simple, easy to install, excellent instruction sheet with the product. The best thing is it works as advertised, does it's job. Can't ask for anymore than that from a product. It's compact, unobtrusive, even can access the tail light housing still and it won't break your bank !

Dee Zee Tailgate Assist

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by WILLIE Z (CHESAPEAKE, VA) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2012-11-16 14:38:52

Easy install These should be oem on all trucks !

DEE ZEE TAILGATE ASSIST FOR 2005 DODGE RAM

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by joseph s (imperial, MO) Reviewed for a 2005 Dodge Ram — 2012-11-11 05:27:45

Love my new DEE ZEE tailgate assist. The install was very easy.Now i can open my tailgate with one hand without the tailgate slamming dowm.Wish i would have purchased sooner.

Excellent addition

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by JOSEPH J (Fairfield, ME) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Silverado — 2012-09-26 05:21:26

At 64 years of age ,the tailgate was especially heavy when I had something in one hand and trying to lower the heavy tailgate. Now I just open the handle and let the assist do the work. Will never be without one.

Dee Zee Tailgate assist

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Wade C (Kingman, AZ) Reviewed for a 2001 Ford F-250 — 2012-12-15 04:20:27

What an outstanding product. It should come as standard equipment on all pickups. The price is reasonable, installs in about 10 minutes. Itsa must have for any pickup

Whew.... Better!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeff K (Neptune, NJ) Reviewed for a 2010 Dodge Ram — 2012-05-23 17:39:34

Fast Shipping and well packaged. Installation took @ 45 min as I didn't fully understand the instructions. Works like a charm. First time I opened it after installation, I forgot I had installed it. What a nice surprise!Doesn't get in the way and tailgate still looks and works fully, even the lock and back-up camera. All I am concerned about is longevity. Will I have to replace it any time soon. Highly Recommend!! Don't have to remove the tailgate to install.

Bracket

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Edward M (Sunbury, PA) Reviewed for a 2013 Ford F-250 — 2012-05-07 17:49:45

The part for connecting to the tail gate wouldn`t work for this truck. I contacted Dee Zee and they informed me they would send a new part to me. I received the part with-in 3 days. It is now installed and working. I`m happy with the response from Dee Zee and also with your concern to follow-up with my order.

Bud

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Francis K (bennington, VT) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford F-150 — 2012-04-25 08:06:46

Easy installation, works great ! Well worth the money...

Glad to have it

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeffrey C (Aston, PA) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota Highlander — 2012-05-02 20:50:59

I bought this because I have young grandsons who are adventurous and just the right height to have the tailgate come down on their heads. Installation was fairly easy with the hardest part being the removal of the existing screw. Once I got the screw out, the rest went very well. Now I'm not only glad to have it for my grandsons but I like the way the tailgate comes down for me. You can open it and just let it go. Very glad I purchased this.

Works as advertised

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Joseph F (, ) Reviewed for a 2012 GMC Sierra — 2012-12-28 09:28:37

Quick and easy install for an items that works as advertised. Only 15 min from start to finish.

phil Petro

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by philip p (AMHERST, NY) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2012-12-06 10:49:10

great product very easy to install took about 15 minutes start to finish don't have worry about my kids getting hit by tailgate any more comes down nice and slow and i will have on every truck i own from now on

Tailgate Assist - don't leave home without it...

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by brian a (Austin, TX) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford F-350 — 2012-12-16 14:08:04

I've put these on my last 3 trucks and can't live with them ever again. Makes great gifts for older parents too...

Very nice product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Chad Z (Davison, MI) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2012-07-30 05:09:44

This is a great product and this one is much better than the previous version. Instructions are very good!

Tailgate Assist

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Derek S (ROCK SPRINGS, WY) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2012-12-26 06:17:56

Great product at a great price! Easy install that took only about ten minutes. I love being able to pop the tailgate open an let it slowly come down by itself. A must have for any truck owner!

Dee Zee Tailgate Assist 2012 GMC Sierra

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Arthur F (Oklahoma City, OK) Reviewed for a 2012 GMC Sierra — 2012-06-06 21:17:02

Great product, it actually works better than I thought it would. It's easy to install and the price from Autoanything was great. I have mine on a 2012 GMC Sierra and would put this on any truck tailgate in the future. I've had it for two months now and I also have a Tonneau Cover (from Autoanything) on my truck so I'm always lowering my tailgate to put something in the bed. It's holding up Great and would reccommend this to anyone who is considering buying one.

2011 tailgate

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by joseph t (Lindenhurst, NY) Reviewed for a 2011 Dodge Ram — 2012-10-11 17:18:00

this tailgate assist was everything i expected and then some i recomend this to all your custmers you guys are the best!!!!!!

Great

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gregory A (West Islip, NY) Reviewed for a 2011 GMC Sierra — 2012-09-12 15:01:34

E-z install, works great

Tailgate assist

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jim H (Leesburg, VA) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2012-04-20 08:08:14

Very easy to install and works perfectly.

Excellent tailgate assist.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark K (Chisholm, MN) Reviewed for a 2010 Dodge Ram — 2012-10-12 10:31:32

I bought one of these for my 2010 Ram, the tailgate on my truck is not light by any means, the installation took me about 20 minutes and is pretty straight forward. I must say that this works great, one finger opening and let it go, this is something that should be factory installed, but since it isn't just buy one, you won't be sorry.

cut hand

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by thomas m (Miami, FL) Reviewed for a 2000 Chevy Silverado — 2012-05-01 03:57:44

Just two days prior to seeing sale on tailgate assist my tailgate fell on my left hand as I was walking away from truck. Cut back of hand and badly bruised the hand. Love the assist. Tailgate now lowers slowly and with little effort..Love it. Only took about 10 minutes to install. Capt. Tom M. Key Largo, Fl

DEE ZEE Tailgait Assist

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dennis M (Sykesville, MD) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2012-04-16 08:22:24

WOW..........easy to install and works GREAT. Took me 20 minutes!!!!!!!!!!

s.e.m.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steve M (Bremerton, WA) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2013-03-05 16:19:28

I have gotten other items from autoanything before so it was a easy choice to buy from them again. The deezee tailgate assist came fast and it was very easy to install. I would recommend this item.

Great Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bill F (Lubbock, TX) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Silverado — 2012-05-21 10:51:48

Easy to install and works great

Nice add on.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael K (Red Bud, IL) — 2012-05-07 18:06:28

Works great.

2011 dodge ram

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ADAM A (Millington, TN) Reviewed for a 2011 Dodge Ram — 2012-04-16 20:44:19

installed 2 of these on 2 different Ram 1500 Long Horns. First install took 15 minutes, but after the learning curve was beaten, second truck took less than 5 minutes. Works great, no worries of tailgate dropping on little guys heads or having the wife struggle w/ groceries in both hands. It also adds no additional pressure to trying to close it. Just get it.

Deezee

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dan W (Whitehall, NY) Reviewed for a 2011 Dodge Ram — 2012-04-23 17:19:43

Easy to install, works great

Great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ryan S (Wauwatosa, WI) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford F-250 — 2012-10-03 00:06:15

I had installed one of these on my 2008 Ford F-150 a couple years ago. Was well worth it. I loved it so much that I ordered one for my new truck a week before the truck was delivered to me. Makes it easy to put my 80lb toolchest in the bed by myself since i dont have to catch the tailgate.

Excellent product. Highly recommended!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Leonard W (Ewing, NJ) Reviewed for a 2009 GMC Sierra — 2012-05-01 17:37:59

Installation should have taken about 10 minutes, but the tool provided to install the "molly" fitting is very poorly designed. Once I used my own method to install the molly, it took less than 2 minutes. The parts fit is very good. The unit works perfectly. I finally stopped playing with it the next day.

Easy install and works great

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by travis w (San Jose, CA) Reviewed for a 2006 GMC Sierra — 2012-04-30 21:02:24

Installed in about 10 minutes and it worked just great after a few minor adjustments to the tension. Nice to have the heavy tailgate not just fall on me when my hands are full

Makes life easy.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Noah B (Newfield, NJ) Reviewed for a 2012 GMC Sierra — 2012-04-10 12:48:47

This is worth it. Easy to install. Just unlatch the tailgate and it falls down slowly.

Great tailgate assist

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Raul L (Odessa, TX) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Silverado — 2012-05-21 07:57:53

Great product. Instruction were easy to understand. Took 20 min to put on.

Great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by lisa s (Reading, PA) Reviewed for a 2007 Dodge Ram — 2012-12-27 12:25:53

Great product at a great price. Installed easily

Great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jerry G (Woodland, MI) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Silverado — 2012-07-11 20:21:13

If you have a chevy with a heavy tail gate order one NOW. I hope GM can see this , this should be a stock item on all trucks,I give it 5 stars .

BUY IT!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael J (Lawton, OK) Reviewed for a 2011 GMC Sierra — 2012-05-03 14:16:44

This is probably the best tailgate accessory invented. This tailgate assist really works. It allows you to open your tailgate without worrying about it dropping or being damaged. I installed it in about 15 minutes after figuring out the directions. I recommend this product to everyone that ones a truck!!!!

2011 Ford F-250 Super Duty ...

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Todd B (Houma, LA) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-250 — 2012-05-04 22:11:04

Fits great! Make SURE you follow the instructions & DON'T follow the youtube video. All you have to do is take the drivers side tail light off & remove the rubber stopper. It took me about 15 minutes to install 100%. Other then need 2 wrenches, I don't think 15 minutes is bad at all! WORKS GREAT!!!

Grate part

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Aaron M (LAKE CITY, FL) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Silverado — 2013-01-01 09:30:23

Easy install and works very well. I plan on getting more for gifts.

tailgate assist

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by keith k (BRUNSWICK, GA) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2013-02-22 10:03:33

Great product. Had been looking and comparing different websites for the best price and auto anything had it. I ordered it and in about a week I received it. Pretty straight forward install.

Instructions were incorrect

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert A (Caledonia, NY) Reviewed for a 2012 Chevy Silverado — 2012-05-02 14:50:58

I Love my Dee Zee Tailgate assist! But, the instructions that came with it were wrong. And I ruined the adapter that you screw into the tailgate. I called Dee Zee Tailgate and they advised me the instructions are incorrect. So, they had to mail me a new part. Everything is Great now!

Great Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jens R (Portland, OR) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford F-150 — 2012-09-23 23:09:33

Easy to install and works flawless. Quiet honestly, the Dee Zee tailgate assist is a part that should be included during the assembly of any pick up truck for convenience and safety reasons.

Excellent!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by matthew l (Galloway, NJ) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Silverado — 2012-04-19 06:03:46

This system was easy to install and works perfectly! I have ordered 2 more units for friends of mine who love it as well. Perfect product, needs no improvements.

Great Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David Y (La Verne, CA) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2012-05-22 20:37:43

The instruction could use some improvement, other than that it is a great product, now I dont need to worry about dropping the tailgate, Titan came stock so I got use to it and at times I forgot and accidently let go the tailgate, now I don't have to worry about it.

Tail gate assist

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by don s (argyle, TX) — 2012-08-04 18:47:51

Works great at a valuable price. Thank you

DeeZee Tailgate Assist

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by michael g (north las vegas, NV) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2012-10-06 16:00:21

Works great

Works well

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Russell K (Buena Park, CA) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford F-350 — 2012-11-12 07:08:07

Had bought one of the auto-part chain store models initially. It did not work very well as the tailgate dropped too quickly and the large shock barrel rubbed on the tailgate and tailgate cable. This version has a smaller diameter shock and a better attachment system. You have to either trim or remove the rubber piece on the bedside for a proper fit and good operation, no problem though! The tailgate drops at a safe speed now so my daughter and son can open the tailgate safely. Highly recommend!

Dee Zee Tailgate Assist 2004 Silverado 2500 crewcab

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dana R (Mission Viejo, CA) Reviewed for a 2004 Chevy Silverado — 2012-04-26 00:21:48

SWEET, & Smooth opening. no more crashing tailgate, one hand operation

a little hard to install on F250, but works well

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Charles P (CHARLOTTE, NC) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford F-250 — 2012-11-23 06:02:47

hi

Women will love this.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Susan N (SPENCER, WV) Reviewed for a 2011 GMC Sierra — 2012-10-09 05:05:57

Great product, especially for women opening a heavy tailgate. Also purchased one for my daughter, and my neighbor is purchasing one too after trying ours out.

Dee Zee Tailgate Assist

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dennis S (Salisbury, NC) Reviewed for a 2008 Chevy Impala — 2012-04-17 17:34:43

Works great and I'm sure that it will save on any shock to the back-up camera mounted in the tailgate.

Great product!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Cody E (WEATHERFORD, OK) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2012-09-24 20:32:16

Quick easy install. Works perfect. Shuts as easy as stock. We have two and love them on both trucks.

This little deal is awesome.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James J (Marlow, OK) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Silverado — 2012-12-11 20:39:16

Glad I got it. All the guys at work think its the coolest thing. Makes my truck unique.

tail gate heaven

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by albert s (El Paso, TX) Reviewed for a 2013 Ford F-150 — 2012-10-21 10:19:50

this is by far the most functional accessory ever!!!! well worth the price...will save your shoulders..esp on high profile trucks

Tailgate Assist

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by DAVID W. S (Watertown, WI) Reviewed for a 2008 GMC Sierra — 2012-05-01 16:17:13

The tailgate assist exceeded my expectations. Instalation was a snap, instructions very user friendly. Price was the lowest that I found on the internet. Before tailgate assist, if the tailgate would slip out of your hand while opening it would fall quickly and possibly cause injury. After installing the tailgate assist the tailgate glides open effortlessly.

Tail gate assist

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Howard F (Lockport, NY) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2012-09-08 16:33:19

Quite a unit, works perfectly! Wife finds it very useful in her ability to control tailgate. Critical to read instruction, dealing with Tail gate anchor stud so keep that in mine. Well made,very useful, and rather cheap accessory !

Dee Zee Tailgate Assist

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Leonid S (Edgewood, MD) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford F-150 — 2012-09-16 19:16:22

Very good product, easy installation and works very well.

Excellent Idea

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Barry M (Jefferson, MD) Reviewed for a 2011 Dodge Ram — 2012-10-03 18:32:12

Installation very easy. I was very glad to find this product I had a Nissan that had this feature built into the tailgate and missed it very much when I sold that truck. Very helpful when a trailer is hooked up in case the tailgate gets away from me it does not slam down on the jack before I can catch it.

Easy Install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ALLAN H (LONGVIEW, WA) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2013-03-01 21:42:55

The Dee Zee was real easy to install.The tailgate assist makes it easier to lower and raise the tailgate. Great Product.

Tailgate Assist

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert G (Media, PA) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford F-150 — 2012-05-07 06:57:58

Once I got over my 'BLONDE' moment - Step 2 on the instruction sheet, everything went smoothly and it works great.

Reel Redneck

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kenneth M (MIAMI, FL) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2013-02-12 18:32:35

Was easy to install after watching video on youtube and works great.

Great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Frederick T (Whiteman AFB, MO) — 2013-01-30 06:10:15

Easy to install and works awesome save your self a broke wrist for less than $40.

Just good enough

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ed K (Seminole, FL) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-250 — 2012-04-17 05:29:12

This item seems just strong enough to dampen the tailgate motion. I have little confidence that it will perform long term.

Awesome

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian S (Earlham, IA) Reviewed for a 2007 Dodge Ram — 2012-08-29 16:35:17

Really like this item, makes my heavy tailgate manageable for anyone to use.

Avalanche review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark M (CLEAR SPRING, MD) Reviewed for a 2013 Chevy Avalanche — 2013-02-01 13:16:41

I installed the tailgate assist on a 2013 Avalanche in lieu of a Silverado as selected. My truck wasn't offered as an option. It fit fine but my tailgate may be a bit heavier. Wasn't sure if I should install a second unit on the right?

great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert R (Sault Ste Marie, ON) Reviewed for a 2011 Chevy Silverado — 2012-05-03 06:15:11

great product dont have to worry about dropping the tail gate anymore however first timers should order two one for each side

Dee Zee Quick

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeff R (Indianapolis, IN) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Silverado — 2012-04-14 10:36:19

No complaints on the parts or instructions. Install was quick and easy. However, the tailgate falls a little faster than I would like. Much quicker than may other brand. Not sure if I like it yet or not. Given time I am sure it will grow on me.

THE D-Z TAILGATE ASSIST (it's a Doo-Zee)

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Hugh M. P (Wichita, KS) Reviewed for a 2003 Chevy Silverado — 2012-05-02 06:00:59

Easy to install, works really good. I've fought that heavy a** tailgate for almost 9 yrs. My wife has always been afraid of opening the tailgate, now it's not a problem for her. This thing should be standard equipment for PU's. I highly recommend this for any full size truck. HMPIII

Dee Zee review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Thomas K (Paradise, CA) Reviewed for a 1999 Ford F-150 — 2012-07-24 14:46:17

When I tightened the bottom bolt,nutsert, 9, 360 degree revolutions, it failed to work so I called Dee from Dee Zee and she told me to tighten it up to 13 revolutions if need be. So I went to just one more than recomended and it failed. I called them and they sent me another and the new ballmount nutsert was zinc colored and not brass colored. I think it may be a better stronger nutsert than the original. It worked with 10 revolutions. It is still working after 2 months. The jury is out and we shall see if it holds up. So far so good. Tom K from Paradise, Ca.

No Banger

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark W (Edmond, OK) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Ram — 2012-04-17 11:04:44

The assist device was a breeze to install and works perfectly, will be getting one for my sons truck soon.

good product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bertrand b (FAIRFAX, VT) Reviewed for a 2012 GMC Sierra — 2013-02-16 09:21:26

I ordered this tailgate assist for my 2012 gmc sierra; I installed it myself without any difficulty. The product did as advertised. I would recommend this product to anyone looking to save their tailgate.

DeeZee TailGate

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Matt T (Orlando, FL) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2012-10-10 06:53:48

I really like this piece. It helps with the slamming down of the truck tail gate. It is really nice and it is kind of funny at you lose the habit of thinking the gate i going to slam down. I would definitely reccomend this. The installation is a little tricky, especially with the first step of putting in threaded piece. But my buddy and I figured that out and it was smooth sailing from there.

Nice product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Matthew P (MANCHESTER, NJ) — 2012-12-26 04:04:52

Simple install. Easy. Took about 10 minutes to install. Read ahead on the instructions and gather all the right size wrenches and allens to make your install quick and easy.

It does what it says it does!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Deric M (Vernonia, OR) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-250 — 2012-04-21 22:07:31

Installation was simple, this product seems to work nicely.

So far so good

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Luis B (Daly City, CA) Reviewed for a 2004 Dodge Ram — 2013-03-09 09:45:25

I installed it only a week ago. The instructions were poor in a couple of steps, but I figured it out. Youtube helped too. It is working fine so far. It replaced an EZDOWN I had for a couple of years, but the bottom tailgate connection collapsed. The Dee Zee is much more solid in that area, and I think it will work much better.

a

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Rich B (Erie, PA) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Silverado — 2012-04-24 07:33:23

I like the assist as it does ease the tailgate coming down. This is the third one I have purchased for my 2006 Silverado. The last two broke in th same area, the top mounting hole. I expect this one to last about three years like the last two. I am hoping someone else starts making something similar with this weak point corrected.

Can I have another

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Eddy O (Spanaway, WA) Reviewed for a 2010 Chevy Silverado — 2012-10-08 21:02:53

Install was simple, I tried to paint brackets first but the material was not very accepting of the rattle can paint job. Powder coated bracket would have been nice. Overall I love it. Tailgate still drops a little quick so maybe a second unit would have helped on the opposite side. I hope not but worry that it may be too much strain for the one unit to last a long time with the extra workload I guess we'll have to wait and see.

Tailgate Assist install

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jason B (Shepherd, MT) Reviewed for a 2012 Dodge Ram — 2012-04-18 06:23:22

Great idea...wanted this to help lower the tailgate while having my fifth wheel hooked up. I hated to climb under the trailer overhang and lower the tailgate. It does do what it states to do. Slows the opening of the tailgate and it doesn't slam down. Ok...install is fairly simple. The nutsert for the tailgate is a joke. Doesn't fit well and clamping force is marginal at best. I have tightened it twice so far and only used it about five openings. We'll see this time... The cylinder itself is a very tight fit. Don't try to use the original washer on the bed side it puts the cylinder out too far to close the tailgate. The one provided is to thin to allow the cable to deploy without rubbing the paint on the bed side by the light. Take the time to put a slight bend in the cable hook and it will work. Add clear paint protector on bed side and it works ok.

INSTALL ISSUES

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dan G (Oceanside, CA) Reviewed for a 2010 Dodge Ram — 2012-08-21 12:26:17

I HAVE READ THE INSTRUCTIONS, GONE ON LINE TO WATCH THE YOUTUBE INSTRUCTIONS, HAVE CALLED THE HELP LINE (NO HELP). I UNDERSTAND WHAT NEEDS TO HAPPEN FOR JUST STEP ONE, BUT I STILL AM HAVING ISSUES. I READ ALL THE REVIEWS, SOME PEOPLE HAD ISSUES, SOME HAVEN'T. I TRULY NEED STEP BY STEP, FOR A MONKEY TO USE (THE INSTRUCTIONS THAT CAME WITH THE ASSIST SUCK!). I'M ABOUT TO SEND BACK THE PRODUCT AND GO WITH THE COMPETITOR. ME AND MY NEIGHBORS MUST BE TRUE IDIOTS.

DeeZee just isn't what it's suppose top be

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ronald P (Cresson, TX) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford F-350 — 2013-02-21 07:15:49

The DeeZee lift installation was straight forward, however, after installation and only after a few time of using the assist the upper bracket ball assembly broke. The lower ball bent which at that time I removed the whole thing. Good idea, poor approach.

poor design

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ed A (Sarasota, FL) Reviewed for a 2011 Dodge Ram — 2012-04-17 05:32:23

I installed the tailgate assist and it was fine for the first week, one day I lowered the tailgate and I noticed that the assist was not attatched. The ball that is supposed to attatch to the bottom of the shock was broken.