Your Cart Is Empty

Escort 8500 X50 Radar Detector Customer Reviews

Average Rating

55 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

escort radar

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Claudia R (Saint Louis, MO) — 2006-12-27 06:03:15

I love it. I show it off to all my friends.

Great

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bryan H (Kendall, NY) — 2006-09-05 21:55:20

i love it, it rarly has a false reading and i recently used it for a normally 3hr trip, it took me 2hrs flat. it has saved me many time and highly recommened this product

Wow !!!!!!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jason G (Moncks Corner, SC) Reviewed for a 2004 — 2005-12-27 21:46:56

This is the best radar detector I ever owned !!!!!

worth the money

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dustin H (Klamath Falls, OR) — 2005-08-28 17:24:09

I bought this baby about 2 months ago and i love it. It has saved my butt several times and paid for itself already.

Great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by marion w (Little River, SC) Reviewed for a 2006 Chrysler Crossfire — 2007-09-13 18:07:10

product works great, must have for every speeder.

Nice Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian J (Fishers, IN) Reviewed for a 2006 Toyota Tacoma — 2006-09-14 04:03:23

Very accurate, I am so pleased with this product. Could have a higher volume on it, but other than that its great

love the blue

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by gary t (Tulsa, OK) Reviewed for a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee — 2006-09-14 03:23:59

I have hard time seeing the red display. the blue is so much easier.

freedom

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David A (New Milford, CT) Reviewed for a 2004 Cadillac Escalade — 2006-07-24 20:17:15

exellent!!!!!!

Perfect

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jesse C (Fort Collins, CO) — 2005-08-29 12:40:44

It is exactly what it says it is. The BEST radar detector out there. It has saved me countless times from the 'van radar' tickets.

Awsome Unit

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Leonard S (Kinnelon, NJ) Reviewed for a 2000 Honda Accord — 2005-12-22 10:19:40

My expectations were high for this unit, and they have been exceeded. I was concerned I might get a lot of False warnings, due to the long distance sensitivity of the Es8500. To my delight, the Warnings have been on the money with earlier warnings of known 'Traps'.

Best Overall Detector on the Market

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brent J (Houston, TX) — 2006-01-03 16:10:19

Purchased my first 8500 years ago (the first year available) and love it. Bought the second one (blue display X50) for my wife when her Bell detector finally gave out. Use almost exclusively in "Auto" mode during driving in the Houston metro area. Would like to "software update" my older 8500 but have no idea where to start??

Top of the Line

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Chandu D (Middletown, DE) Reviewed for a 2006 Acura RSX — 2005-12-06 11:24:40

Best Radar Detector out there, better K bands than the Valentine

I like it

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard J. C (Agawam, MA) Reviewed for a 1992 Plymouth Grand Voyager — 2005-12-31 05:21:09

This is my first Escort unit after using Whistlers for many years. The first thing I noticed was a much more pleasant "chirping" sound rather than the usual and obnoxious "klaxon" type of sound. The cooler blue color temperature appearance is also more visually easy on the eyes at night than is the red when it come to the display. The feature to reduce the sensitivity of, or eliminate altogether, X band interference was a welcome option. I also like the feature of having the mute button easily reachable on the 12V power plug. No more stretching to reach the unit up on the windshield and push the mute. Overall this is the best detector I've owned in the 20 years I've been using them.

So far, so good.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Martin W (Charlevoix, MI) Reviewed for a 2008 Ford Mustang — 2008-08-19 17:39:05

Since we got this, we haven't encountered any radar or laser alerts. I trust it will perform well given Escort's reputation and other reviews we read. It certainly doesn't get many false alarms like our old First Alert cheapy did. It's a quality product from one of the leading manufacturers.

escort rocks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by leland o (North Myrtle Beach, SC) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tacoma — 2007-09-06 10:48:59

really love this blue is the one to get much more visable,, if you get alot ofalerts it's usally store security systems in town but it really works well

Best Radar Detector out there...

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kellin B D (Buford, GA) Reviewed for a 2004 — 2007-06-05 04:13:50

Read the reviews...research the company...believe it. This jewell works like a charm and looks great. It has already saved me on several occassions. Best buy!

Best of the Best!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jonathan S (Walla Walla, WA) — 2006-04-05 21:02:38

Nice radar a must for anyone who doesn't like to be taken advantage of by cops which they always do! One of the best defenses out there!

Excellent tool

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Joe R (Los Angeles, CA) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan 350Z — 2005-12-24 05:03:15

I've had my Passport for a few weeks now now and by far it has exceeded my expectations. I've more than once been notified of impending radar which has saved me from a costly ticket. Its paid for itself!

The reviews were right!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Denise V (Gibsonia, PA) Reviewed for a 2003 — 2006-01-15 17:38:15

I have had my Escort 8500 x50 since December and have used it in conjunction with a Valentine One I presently have now. I have been very happy with the Valentine One and felt that it was king of the hill. Now after having the Escort 8500 x50 I am begining to rethink this. I drive the same area on a daily basis which consists of highway and secondary roadways, hills, bends,etc. Typical Pennsylvania roads. To the normal x band alerts from alarms and motion sensors the Escort seems more sensative than the Valentine when in highway modes. I only use the detectors in highway since I want the greatest sensativity. For radar alerts the Escort alerts the same if not faster on occasion than the Valentine. This was especially noticed on bends where the Escort was a clear winner for me. I thought this may be due to both detectors being on at the same time but after using one at a time the Escort still won. The display is bright in the daytime and you need sunglasses at night but there are three light levels to pick from. The Valentine does not dim down at night which I don't understand but you can buy an additional remote display for $39. The Escort has a basic display built into the 12volt plug. It is basic info but serves it's purpose. It is easier to identify the alerts than with the Valentine. X,K,Ka are very visable but an alert is an alert and should get your attention no matter what it is. The Escort also tells you the number of incoming signals like the Valentine but I do wish it told you the direction of the signals. Price can also be considered a bonus especially saving $75 or more. I would not hesitate to recommend the Escort to anyone. It's style and functionality are great. It's ease of use and performance not to mention it's better price make it a great addition for any driver who wants strong performance at a better value and isn't that what we all want out of a product.

Good, is best

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Wing Chi C (New York, NY) Reviewed for a 2005 Toyota 4Runner — 2006-03-24 06:34:21

It provides me the correct instruction, extremely accurate, installment simple, the operation is easy, I trust this product

RD for my G35

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Sherwin P (Waldorf, MD) Reviewed for a 2003 — 2006-07-25 06:04:00

So far, so good. It picks up a lot of signals. Sometimes there is a cop, sometime there is not one. But better to be safe than sorry.

Great buy

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Edgard Y (Katy, TX) Reviewed for a 2005 Nissan Maxima — 2005-09-28 10:26:36

This is with no doubt the finest radar on this price segment.

IT WORKS AND DISPLAY IS NICE

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by CARL W (FLAGSTAFF, AZ) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-250 — 2006-04-15 14:52:09

I HAVE 6 OF THESE THEY ARE IN ALL MY CARS AND TRUCKS AND THE 5 KIDS HAVE THEM IN THERE CARS AND YES WE ALL HAVE CLEAN DRIVEN RECORDS THANKS TO THESE UNITS AS WE SAY DONT LEAVE HOME WITOUT IT IN THE ON POSITION. THANKS FOR A GREAT PRODUCT.

One of the best investment i have made this year. Thanks

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Cynthia S (Birmingham, AL) Reviewed for a 2004 Dodge Ram — 2005-12-04 07:50:37

I have own a lot of radars in my life, The Escort 8500 is the best one by far.

Great radar detector

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert W (Morristown, TN) Reviewed for a 2010 Dodge Ram — 2006-07-23 05:23:41

This is my third radar detector, it is the best one of the three i tried.Very few false signals good range of detection. plus there are excellent extras that work in conjuction with this model. I am very satisfied.

saves on tickets

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert W (Carlsbad, CA) Reviewed for a 2003 — 2006-10-24 13:30:31

in just 3 weeks of use I believe it has saved me issues in at least 6 cases. It works great from the rear and the front. I would not be without it.

WOW!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Thomas H (Glenmont, NY) — 2006-02-06 07:21:57

I have owned just about every (Escort) radar detecter made, and this one out does everything the company says it will do. It is nice to be on a closer playing field with the police.

Quality product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jimmy C (Bigfork, MT) Reviewed for a 2009 Toyota Tundra — 2010-09-03 21:02:27

I was impressed with the ease of installation and readability of the user manual. The Escort 8500 X50 has met with all my expectations so far, and I would recommend it to anyone. Jim

My second passport

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by omer j (Burns, TN) Reviewed for a 2007 Cadillac CTS — 2007-06-21 07:16:17

is even better than the first.I can see the blue much better.

Blind Perfection!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jordan B (Reno, NV) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford F-250 — 2012-05-13 20:32:44

Performed a road trip today and this detector picked up Radar signals far beyond my naked eyes could see. Glad I purchased the best in the market!

great detector

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Blair W (Pueblo West, CO) Reviewed for a 2004 Mercury Marauder — 2007-02-24 20:15:14

I enjoy the detector immensely. This is my upgrade from the 7500, which has 2 sets of suction cups. The 8500 has only 1 set. It would be great if Cincinnatti Microwave would also provide the direct wiring. This is my 3rd Escort and will stay with them. If you read their background, they do the radar systems for the government. They are top notch.

best radar detector

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by dale b (bandon, OR) Reviewed for a 2008 Dodge Ram — 2012-06-23 07:43:22

This is the best radar detector I've ever seen. It picked up radar and laser longer than any radar detector I've had before. Picked up radar about a min before I even saw the police man. Thanx

EQUAL PLAYING GROUND

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by THOMAS H (Glenmont, NY) Reviewed for a 1970 — 2006-02-20 20:27:04

I purchased (1) Escort 8500 X50 (blue display) from your company approx. 3 weeks ago, I was so impressed with its performance I decided to buy 2 more, one each for my wife and daughters cars. Without a doubt, "THE BEST"

EXCELLENT

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by JUAN B (Ponce, PR) Reviewed for a 2006 Porsche Boxster — 2006-02-24 05:56:27

Excellent radar unit.

Escort 8500

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Adam D (Fultondale, AL) Reviewed for a 2001 Ford Explorer — 2006-02-18 08:38:59

This radar is top of the line. I was using it the first day and I was on the interstate and it all of a sudden started going off. Well it kept going off and I thought it was another one of those radars that turns out to pick up every little thing and I was going to send it back. Well about a mile and a half up the road there was a state trooper and that thing picked it up soo far ahead that no matter what you drive and how fast you drive, you should be able to safely slow your vehicle and avoid a speeding ticket.

T Cross

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Thomas C (Nederland, TX) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F150 — 2011-12-28 07:32:05

Insalled unit and it saved me a ticket the 2nd day I used it.

Pretty cool machine

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Haroon H (Baltimore, MD) — 2005-11-26 22:12:26

I'm quite pleased with the device so far. I had already read about the downfalls, ie beeps too much in the city, and is supposed to be big and heavy. So for me these things really didnt bother me, and in fact its not that big at all. Love the blue light, and most of all, it gives pretty good signal for police radar, Ive had it like a week and its definitely saved me already like 3-4 times. One thing to note though, although most police guys are using Ka and K some still use X eg NJ police, so beware, not all X is city stuff. In any case, will highly recommend this product to anyone. One last thing, some cops can beat this device by simply pointing the radar into traffic as its already past them as opposed to oncoming traffic. that way when you get the signal, its waaaay too late, it picks up at full blast, kinda scary really. Happened to me in Delaware, though I was doing 80 something, the cars around me were too, so I got lucky I guess. I think there's really nothing that can be done for that though, short of jammers (which are illegal in some places and can get you a ticket to jail). Good luck people.

Returning customer

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by chester s (WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP, MI) Reviewed for a 2012 Audi A6 — 2012-04-16 20:15:41

Every time I buy from ESCORT, IT JUST GETS BETTER!

Escort 8500X50 Radar Detector (Blue Display)

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Roger C (Lincoln, NE) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Silverado — 2009-08-25 18:06:58

I have my new escort 8500X 50 from AutoAnything and received it just like I brought it in the store for a great price. I had it installed in seconds and working. My son seen how good it preformed compare to his cobra detector which set next to mine in the same vehicle and mine picked up radar two miles away. His didn"t sound off till we were about a quarter mile away. Escort picked up radar over a hill also. This is worth the money. My son is now using one just like it on all his trips across the country (state to state). Saved him on his first trip. Thanks AutoAnything, great service again and fast no problems at all.

Escort 8500

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Landon B (Lethbridge, AB) Reviewed for a 1951 Chevy Truck Pickup (1934-1961) — 2007-12-27 19:46:27

great product top of the line unit.

need for speed controller

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian S (Pittstown, NJ) Reviewed for a 2006 Chevy Corvette — 2006-09-06 13:45:12

Ok, so i am a bit of a fast driver, the escort is a must have for all real men behind the wheel, and if your like me and drive a flashy sports car on those sunny days with the top down, you should not leave the garage without the x50 looking cautiously around for that cop looking to remove funds from your wallet. The unit is flawless, works great, i have one it the truck and one in my Vette and one in the Porsche. Like i said, if you want to exercise your need for speed, be careful and take the escort along to protect your cash flow, driving record etc. Drive carefully, drive fast and above all have some fun out there!

Great Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ken F (New Braunfels, TX) — 2011-05-24 22:03:59

Works great and although I do not speed, it lets me know when I am being checked out.

New Escort User

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Laura M (MARSHFIELD, WI) Reviewed for a 2012 Chevy Cruze — 2012-08-16 04:38:51

Just received my Escort and am very pleased with both the appearance and ease of use. This is the first radar detector I have ever bought. I really like the different modes: city, highway and auto. The display info on the power cord is also a nice feature.

Escort 8500 X50 Radar Detector (Blue Display

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Richard A (Sanger, CA) Reviewed for a 2006 Dodge Charger — 2010-01-26 09:50:11

i used this to travel a total of 400 miles from Fresno to Pismo beach the week after i had received it in my rental car. it detected 3 highway patrol cars pulled over with there radar guns before i could even see those highway patrol, works great!! highly recommended

Florda Get away

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Randy B (Franklin, TN) Reviewed for a 1995 Honda Prelude — 2012-03-06 20:52:56

I received the unit just before a scheduled trip to Florida. Average speed was close to 90 and it save me three times on the way down and several time on the way back. I would reccomend this unit. Not many false alarms!

Escort8500 X50

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Harold M (KATY, TX) Reviewed for a 2012 Ford F-250 — 2013-03-09 19:18:14

This is my first Escort. I made a 600 mile trip across Texas today. It was drizzling across San Antonio to Kerrville. The smokeys were out and I had ample warning. I will recommend it.

Escort 8500 X50 Radar Detector

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by travis p (Holstein, IA) Reviewed for a 2007 GMC Envoy — 2006-05-12 19:29:18

the best one out there that ive have.

Escort 8500 X50

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steven O (Birmingham, AL) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Avalanche — 2006-10-03 00:39:19

This is a great radar detector. Just need to figure out how to hardwire it. Plugs into the side of the unit with a phone type jack, which is out of my league. Has everything you need tho, X, K, KA and the new LIDAR.

opinion on escort 8500x50

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Hui M (East Brunswick, NJ) Reviewed for a 2003 Honda Element — 2005-11-02 07:15:01

this detector works best on highways. there's too much signal varieties in the city. overall, this detector is great.

Escort 8500 X50 Blue

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Alan H (Calera, AL) Reviewed for a 2003 BMW 3-Series — 2009-08-19 11:12:56

Has good strong warning for Ka band coming from Law enforcement. False Ka alarm's have weak signal making it easy to know the differance. A little pricey but is a excellent unit.

kool!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by james e (Covington, GA) — 2006-09-30 05:42:18

does the job

Escort 8500 X50

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Rick T (Louisville, KY) Reviewed for a 2004 Ford Mustang — 2006-09-17 09:31:22

I have only had my X50 for a couple of weeks but the performance so far has been great. Very few false / positives, easy to use controls and great display. My only complaints are that the mounting bracket is cheap as usual and for the price a visor clip should be included. I also think the 12volt cigarette plug is cheaply made. I have had to replace it on every Escort I have owned and this one looks no different. Great detector but they could have used the money they spent on the carrying case for a visor clip and better power cord materials. Oh yeah, and while I’m on my soap box, $30 to $40 dollars more for the blue display?????? ROBBERY.

i see you

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Andy T (Benton, LA) Reviewed for a 1995 Ford F-150 — 2011-07-13 04:47:37

glad i bought it very very helpful

Reliable

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Fernando C (Bronx, NY) Reviewed for a 2005 Mitsubishi Galant — 2007-01-10 04:17:41

It's a very usefull device that will save you money, and also save you time in your long trips (if you know what I mean). I recomend it as a gift to any driver. You're going to love it. I have no regrets on purchasing the Escort 8500 X50. Go for it!

alot of money

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by James L. R (Little Falls, NY) Reviewed for a 2005 Ford F-150 — 2005-12-28 01:20:28

Have used it for a long time now and goes of a lot at false alerts.But when it is a cop it picks them up from a long ways away.Works great for that.Think I payed to much for all the false alerts.Had a corbra one for less money and did just as well.