Your Cart Is Empty

Escort 9500ix Radar Detector Customer Reviews

Average Rating

68 Customer Reviews

Shop Now

Customer Reviews

Safer driving

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Rachel B (Costa Mesa, CA) Reviewed for a 2004 Audi A4 — 2010-02-11 13:11:20

The Escort 9500i is a great tool - it saved me additional stress when taking a recent 500 mile trip. There are perks, such as the ability to display my current speed, that make the GPS functionality really useful. I couldn't be happier with my purchase!

Great Detector - Eliminate false signals

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kyle R (Kansas City, MO) Reviewed for a 2004 Infiniti G35 — 2011-08-16 21:25:05

Detector is one of the best I've owned. The lock out signal feature allows you to eliminate false alerts. Red Camera alerts are great too. Haven't updated with the software yet, but process seems pretty straight forward. Hard to find this unit on sale, but worth the money if you avoid one or two tickets. Highly recommend.

Great! Great! Great!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kurt H (BOTHELL, WA) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Prius — 2011-09-20 20:51:53

Wonderful product. Pros: -Incredible false alarm suppression performance. Auto-learn and simple manual lockout -Incredible radar detection performance. It picked up a patrol in an urban area almost a mile down the road and over a hill. After auto-learn locks out the false alarms, you can be assured that there is a reason to slow down when this thing beeps. -Ease of use. Cons: -Cost. But really, for what it does, it is good value for money. -Size. A tad on the bulky side, but only modestly more bulky than the cheap stuff. -Windshield mount. For a modern device costing $500 or more, the windshield mount is a bit flaky. The mount is the same as every Escort mount since basically the dawn of time. You would think that the mounting technology would have advanced more in 20-30 years. The detector comes in a fancy faux leather-bound box. I would rather they spend the money on a better mount, put more mount options in the box, or a better cord. Would I buy this again? Yes.

Great Radar Detector - Highly Recommended

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Mark R (Garland, TX) — 2011-11-01 20:19:21

I am a first time user of a radar detector. The Passport 9500iX after much research was my radar detector of choice. It was a very good selection. The detector is easy to use and has many great features. Being able to download updates and additional data is a big plus. Great product, good value for the technology and features and you get. I recommend this product. Mark R. Garland, TX

No more false alarms

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bartley W (Salinas, CA) Reviewed for a 2009 Chevy Tahoe — 2009-03-24 08:32:55

GPS is a nice feature. My old Escort 8500 would give false readings on the laser and the Ka band so i would block out laser feature, and low and behold got a ticket with laser, my fault i was tired and not paying attention. My new 9500i has been working great, i can scan all modes and block out the occasional X or K supermarket, next time through that area no alarm, very nice. It handles the processing much better than my older 8500, hardly any chirping when nothing is around. I would have gotten the 9500ix but the blue display suks, very hard to read in bright light and glows like a neon sign at night. Just my thoughts.

Ticket saver!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steve o (Porter, TX) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford Mustang — 2012-12-04 07:11:14

I have had the Escort 95ix for about two weeks and i am sure it has saved me many times. Quality is second to none! It is pricey but it has already save me money. This is a must have if you can`t follow the law.

My Review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by bobby m (Oak Ridge, TN) Reviewed for a 2011 Audi A5 — 2011-04-13 06:08:17

Works great easy to install. speed camara warning via GPS is great. Easy to "mute" with power cord.

A Must Have For

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Adrian P (Clarksville, TN) — 2011-09-23 05:48:53

I owned the 8500 for 3 years and felt it time to upgrade. Anytime I am looking to spend over $100, I search for and read as many customer reviews as I can. Having been a previous Escort owner, add in the hundreds of reviews, both good and ok, I thought I knew what I was getting. The 9500ix exceeded my expectations! I had been driving past a red light camera for a few weeks and didn't notice it until the unit alerted me to it. Factor in the GPS marking for the Walmart doors, long range sensitivity, as long as one pays attention, you won't be having "Elroy" behind you with his lights. Simply said, excellent product.

Awesome !

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Wojciech P (Des Plaines, IL) Reviewed for a 2010 Nissan Frontier — 2010-02-02 20:07:53

Long range, intelligent, works grate !

9500ix excellent detector

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Charles S (Toledo, OH) Reviewed for a 2009 Pontiac G8 — 2010-06-18 07:37:23

This is the best detector that I have ever owned.... sniffs out the smallest trace of radar but doesnt do many false alarms... havent used the GPS stuff yet, but will try that soon...

9500ix Blue

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kelly W (Holland, PA) Reviewed for a 2009 Pontiac G6 — 2010-03-15 20:26:58

This is a wonderful radar detector - it is very accurate, user friendly, and it speaks to you. The only annoying thing is how bright the led light is on the plug, which I remedied with a piece of electrical tape. I have not tried updating the database as of yet, but I plan on doing so in the near future. It gives you a great deal of warning time, which you have to get used to so that you don't slam on your breaks too hard too soon :)

High Tech Radar detector

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert D (Merritt Island, FL) Reviewed for a 2011 Hyundai Sonata — 2011-06-30 23:03:00

This radar detector works great. Its' learning function is wonderfull; after passing by the same door opener X band signal, the unit stores it's location in memory and the next time you pass by that X band siugnal it does not alert you (no annoying false alarms). Sensativity is very good; picks up signals from great distances and immediately displayes you speed for 2 seconds, giving you the opertunity to adjust your speed. I would recomend this unit to anyone who demands high tech and flawless function.

Avoid Predatory Speed Traps and remote auto ticket generators

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David D (El Paso, TX) Reviewed for a 2009 Porsche 911 — 2009-12-07 07:13:56

After driving sports cars for over 40 yrs I finally gave in and bought a radar detector. I am careful driver, never speed more than 6 miles over the speed limit or with the flow of traffic but, since the City and the County have found a new source of generating revenue with camera radar and more speed traps I decided I wouldn't be another victim. Always driving a sports car, I didn't want to be a target for tickets but the local governments are trying to fill the void in their bloated spending with revenue from companies that are paid on the numbers of tickets and values they can send out. And to increase the violation rate they have reducedd the yellow light caution time by 1-2 seconds, reducing safety and increasing revenue from all the extra tickets. So I did my research and bought the best in its category and no radar jamming capabilities. I haven't increased the speed of my driving, but it has already saved me serveral tickets in upscale residentual areas. Dave D.

Escort 9500 IX

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Benjamin G (Olympia, WA) — 2011-09-26 20:33:56

This radar detector is wonderful. It has already warned me on may occasions about red light cameras in my area at intersections I didn't know there were any. I also recommend the direct wire smart-cord. I installed the radar detector at the top of the windshield on the passenger side and tucked the wire out of sight and the power indicator I secured to the dash in the corner by the drivers window with Velcro and it turned out great!!

Return from 3-day trip today

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Robert F (Kissimmee, FL) Reviewed for a 2009 Hyundai Santa Fe — 2010-01-04 18:05:40

First road test. Impressed with the range of detection. Remote indicators are far too bright at night, however.

Great Product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Carole L (Clermont, FL) Reviewed for a 2009 Subaru Forester — 2009-03-31 09:11:01

I have been using my Esort for about 2 weeks now. It is wonderful.....extremely accurate. I am especially impressed with the ease it takes to update the data base. I live in the land of red light cameras, so being able to stay current on their location is a big plus. I would encourage anyone who does a lot of driving to make this investment.

best radar ever owned

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by shon n (Arlington, TX) — 2011-12-17 13:02:23

I haven't had the chance to use it on the interstate but in the city it is very useful especially the false alarms and red light cameras, thanks escort for another incredible radar topping your own 8500 escort.

Does all I want it to do, except stop cops w/radars!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Jeff S (Benicia, CA) Reviewed for a 2009 Nissan 370Z — 2011-03-02 03:30:15

I've used this product for almost two weeks now, in both urban and Highway setings, and it's performed nothing short of spectacular. No more fast braking like I used to do with my Cobra Detector (which was old/out of date) now I have 1-2 miles to ease back on my speed before even being captured on radar. I been clocked multiple times, all safely within the limit, hmm, wonder how come?!

saved me 5 times the first day I used it.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David M (Atlanta, GA) Reviewed for a 2008 Maserati Quattroporte — 2012-02-17 05:23:24

I drove from West Palm Beach to Atlanta and was saved 5 times by my 9500ix. It has paid for itself 5 times over already.

Love it - really works

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Janis P (Prattville, AL) — 2011-08-14 06:46:19

We drive our porsche to and from work. The radar detector works like a champ; detects red light cameras and k band used by local law enforcement. I like the speed indicator when kband is detected; no need to look down to check speed, it shows on the detector.

Great buying experience!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Victor B (Beaumont, TX) — 2012-04-18 18:43:12

Great product. Best price anywhere by shopping with AutoAnything. Just subscribe to their emails and use the best discount when available. They are an authorized retailer so Escort will honor the warranty. The 9500ix is a great product. Expensive but you get what you pay for. Who wants a radar detector that goes off all the time.The 9500ix has very few false alerts and learns where they are and blocks them after three times. This detector is worth the money if you can buy it with some kind of discount. Spend the money and you will not be disappointed.

Great product overall

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Beau D (Burleson, TX) Reviewed for a 2008 Jeep Wrangler — 2011-02-02 19:59:53

I think this is one of the best money can buy. Lots of great features and works everytime.

9500ix review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by thomas M (Oconomowoc, WI) Reviewed for a 2001 Ford Mustang — 2011-02-13 14:53:57

The 9500 ix works well. The only problem I am having with it is the mounting system/ and cord. The cord pulls on the mounting system, and occasionally this will pull the detector from it's mount on the windshield. The suction cups stay in place, the detector itself will slide out. This send the unit crashing to the floor, as the cord is under too much tenison. I had to velcro the device to my dash to keep it from sliding off

9500ix my second unit

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Svetlana M (Skokie, IL) Reviewed for a 2010 Toyota Venza — 2011-10-17 11:49:08

This is by far the best radar detector I have ever owned. Trust me you won't be disappointed.

Worth more than the cost!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Frank H (Oakland, CA) Reviewed for a 2001 BMW 3-Series — 2010-01-23 13:04:58

Superior quality to the competition. The 9500ix truely delievrs on the promise of extreme long-range warning. It warns on the bands used by the CHP, local pd's and cameras. I was crusing on HWY 580 here in NorCal and it picked up a sneaky CHP over a small grade and around a bend and alerted. Figures two CHP's were working together. One on radar and one the coyote. Down the road, several cares pulled over the next two miles. HA, I gleamed! That may have been me just as well w/o the 9500ix. Now here's the best. Just the other day, for the fun of it, my buddy is driving in his car next to me with his radar on, a Valen... Anyway, my bud and I are talking on our cells and the 9500ix chirps loadly, and he asks me what's up and I say "SLOW NOW". We get around a turn and a CHP is atop an overpass and hitting individual cars. My bud's Val tripped perhaps 2-3 seconds after my 9500ix. Safe again! All the features are sweet and well thought out. I haven't done much than leave all the factory settings do their thing. This is my first detector, but based upon what my friends have said about the quality of their Passports, I was sold prior to making the purchase. I just wish Passport could tell me when the light would change so I could slow down quicker at a siginal. Maybe it's just me, but it seems many of local municipalities are timing the phase from yellow to red quicker. Isn't there a law that says the time between colors is regulated. I degress, get this model and you will be pleased! Shop and compare. Mention where you found a better price and AutoAnything will set you up with a price match! Excellent service and return policy. Why go anywhere else. Happy and safe motoring.

9500ix

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin V (Savannah, GA) Reviewed for a 2012 BMW 5-Series — 2012-01-18 06:36:58

This is the second one I purchased so I now have one for each vehicle and no longer have to remember to swap. It has already saved me so it has paid for itself.

The Ticket Stopper

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Gerry S (Sulligent, AL) — 2008-07-30 10:05:17

Since i ordered The Ticket Stopper,i have become more confident about my over drive.This device does a lote of amazing things that you just can`t take your eyes off of.I love the blue lights and the alert sounds that it makes.It`s a radar i`m glade i purchased and i`ll tell everyone thats in need of one and show it off to everybody.Escort9500i was a great chose!

3 cops with in 15 miles

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Brian M (Zeeland, MI) Reviewed for a 2007 GMC Yukon — 2010-12-14 07:51:59

Detector went off in time to slow down before getting to close. Great product.

great product

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Yoon A (Glencoe, IL) Reviewed for a 2007 BMW M Series — 2009-12-19 20:52:59

well thought out, non-intrusive and very intuitive. It paid for itself in the first week of use.

The Best!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by larry a (broken arrow, OK) Reviewed for a 2011 Lincoln MKS — 2012-08-16 11:13:16

This radar is so smart! You will not go wrong!

So far so good

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Steve A (Houston, TX) — 2011-10-19 07:06:32

It's wonderful that it learns were all of the false alarms and saves them to memory. It's great that it makes a loud initial alert and then reduces volume automatically, and the easy to reach mute button comes in handy if you are on the phone.

Extra eye on the road

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ryan T (Tucson, AZ) Reviewed for a 2009 Pontiac G8 — 2011-12-17 09:04:05

I have had it a few weeks and it works well. It's pretty cool seeing it learning my area around my home and work. I leave it on highway and it stores all the false alarms while telling me of real issues and photo speed traps.

please with detector

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ted B (San Juan Capistrano, CA) — 2012-02-14 11:53:23

Operates as advertised. Most appealing is relatively minimal bother from false alarms.

Quiet when it should be.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David B (South Berwick, ME) Reviewed for a 2009 Ford F-150 — 2012-05-10 09:39:58

I have been very happy with this detector. It automatically ignores the day to day things that make others go off. After three times at the same frequesncy it will ignore door openers and such. Since it has GPS, it automatically adjusts sensitivity based on your speed. I lik it enough that I bought one for the other car.

Buy It!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by dave g (Allen, TX) Reviewed for a 2012 Volkswagen CC — 2012-04-27 11:30:39

Buy It! You'll love it. For years I have put off buying the Escort detector and purchased cheaper competitor detectors. I am so pleased with my purchase - it's first rate!!

The Escort 9500 Radar/Laser Detector

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dennis L (Arena, WI) — 2012-03-30 12:34:03

The Escort 9500 is a very good radar/laser detector which may save you some serious money if you happen to exceed the slow plod of 55mph American drivers are expected to not exceed. Even when you get behing a semi truck that is showering you with gravel as you stay behind it in an attempt to pass the monstrous behemoth. Many times have I been alerted to an unknown officer around the next corner that would have given a ticket for driving 60 in a 55 mph zone. Or the police officer who is approaching one from the other direction with the radar machine hanging out his window, guessing as to which car his meter refers to. Yes, 2 tickets avoided, your license suspended, and possibly revoked and made to walk. All could be avoided if you had known you were being recorded going 60 in a 55 zone with radar. It seems a large expense, $500.00, but the alternative can be devastating without a driver's license. Buy one, you will never regret it once you count the times it has saved your ___ from a speeding ticket. Especially in RED cars.

awesome unit ,works real well !!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by stanley j o (daniel island, SC) — 2012-08-05 02:37:20

i have used escort products for over 20 yrs and this new 9500ix is the that i have used !! stanley j

high priced

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Zane L (Orange, TX) Reviewed for a 2008 GMC Sierra — 2008-12-27 17:06:55

Little high priced.

Freedom and Open Roads

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tommie H (Desoto, TX) Reviewed for a 2011 Hyundai Genesis — 2012-05-17 19:50:05

I was enjoying an evening drive, and my little birdie went crazy. It was beeping K band intensitivly,there was a black and white unit behind five vehicles. This detector is great at locating speed-cameras. I feel so at ease with my 9500ix Radar Detector. Tommy H.

Escort 9500 ix

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Bruce B (Coppell, TX) Reviewed for a 2012 Chevy Avalanche — 2010-07-12 20:14:43

The Escort 9500ix Radar Detector works much as advertised. It is easy to install and even easier to use. It detects radar signals with sufficient warning to allow speed adjustment.

why own a great radar detector?

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by DIEDERICK V (Macomb, IL) Reviewed for a 2011 Toyota Camry — 2011-12-14 04:45:01

Driving with a great radar detector you put your trust in brings a whole different dimension to driving. This is like having another set of eyes which take into consideration what the detector is telling you from moment to moment. I am not interested in speeding as much as going with the flow knowlledgebly. In Florida, traffic moves at a considerable pace in most places with many people not even knowing they are on radar being clocked by a hidden cop.( Happens more often than you might think!) The difference here is that I know I am approaching a radar and slow accordingly while drivers around me are blissfuly ignorant of the fact and pass me by furiously. Knowledge is power and to a greater degree peace of mind which makes driving a lot more enjoyable. By the way Autoanything beat Amazon and others on line and in stores with the 15% discount offered for christmas

Worth the price.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Irfan Q (San Antonio, TX) Reviewed for a 2008 BMW 5-Series — 2011-02-18 09:50:40

I had a Cobra radar detector for 3 years. Finally decided to try the Passport 9500ix I read so much about. The sensitivity is amazing. The smart GPS technology gives me the accurate speed & allows me to slow down well before I need to. Red light camera detection is an added plus, especially on roads that are not busy & the temptation to just slide through is there. Would recommend to anyone sitting on the fence.

9500ix Radar Detector

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by ALEJANDRO D (Houston, TX) Reviewed for a 2007 Chevy Corvette — 2009-08-03 15:54:27

Best radar detector I ever had, works great around town, as well as on the Highway. This radar saves me ahead, way ahead of time. The speed camera, speed trap, and red light camera work as advertise, excellent!!

Good deal

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Dashawn J (New Windsor, NY) — 2011-07-01 22:29:52

Works well

Escort 9500ix personal review

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Rick A (Santa Fe, NM) Reviewed for a 2001 Dodge Ram — 2009-09-25 09:05:47

This is just one great product. It even has useful features I somehow missed when I was researching the unit. It is a little pricey, but you get what you pay for and so far the 9500ix has not disappointed me. I think I have two other persons wanting to buy one after I showed them mine.

top notch

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Daven R (murfreesboro, TN) Reviewed for a 2010 Ford F-150 — 2011-04-18 20:44:47

If you're looking for a top notch bacon sniffer then look no further. This thing is amazing and will sniff out the pigs a mile before you ever see them. Hands down the best.

Transwarp speed

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Donald R (Waco, TX) — 2009-06-19 05:20:20

It's been 25 yrs. since I've had a ticket. Since I've moved back to Texas I have seen so many cops writing tickets, and oh yes it happened to me. Will take dif.dg. and get out of it but I still need more protection againt the enemy. Since the economy has taken a dump the cops are writing faster than ever, if I had a billion dollars I would buy everyone the Escort 9500I. It hunts, smells, and taunts the enemies, it also saves many dollars that could put groceries on your table. In Dalworthington Gardens not long ago 4:00 am was on way to work, approching light just turned green, I changed lanes, no one behind me for at least 150 yrds., so I change lanes, cause I didn't give the all mighty signal it cost me $170.00 had I had the Escort at the time It would have saved me. Since I've bought the Escort It has save me many, many times over. Just think if everyone drove right we could fire the worthless ticket writing cops.

ESCORT 9500IX REVIEW

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Woodrow B (Waterport, NY) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-250 — 2012-01-27 10:15:04

PURCHASED MY ESCORT 9500IX FROM AUTOANYTHING. UNIT ARRIVED ON THE DAY PROMISED IN PERFECT CONDITION. I HAVE PURCHASED SEVEN OTHER DETECTORS IN THE PAST. THIS IS BEST OF THEM ALL IN PERFORMANCE . I HAD A QUESTION ON UPDATING UNIT ON LINE AND ESCORT PROMPTLY ANSWERED. I WAS IMPRESSED THAT ESCORT SENDS ANY UPDATE TO ME AS THEY BECOME AVAILABLE.ie SPEED TRAPS RED LIGHT CAMERAS . WOODY B

does what it says

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David B (Shelton, CT) Reviewed for a 2007 Toyota Tundra — 2012-02-01 03:58:21

It learned very quickly the false alarm spots on my two different routes to work All of a sudden i realized I wasn't hearing as many beeps as I did at first But I have only had it less than two weeks so I still don't know how it will react in long trip radar situations

Great

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ralph W. H (Philadelphia, PA) Reviewed for a 2005 Chevy Monte Carlo — 2012-02-22 14:06:45

I have not used a radar detector in over 20 years, the 9500ix is the cream of the crop. I use on a road trip over the weekend and it does just what it cleam it will do. No problems at all, it showed me all of the speed traps, red light cameras as well as speed cameras, outstanding piece of equipment.

AWESOME!!!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Kevin A (Monroe, LA) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford F-150 — 2012-05-25 09:38:54

This detector is the BOMB! I recommend purchasing the super suction cup, though, as the little suction cups that come with the detector are a little flimsy. Easy to operate and works great! Saved me from at least two tickets on my most recent trip.

Escort 9500ix

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Tammy O (Lafayette, IN) Reviewed for a 2002 Dodge Ram — 2012-02-08 07:22:07

This radar detector has been very helpful and works very well. It is a little pricey but worth the money

Alert for you Buck!

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Louis G (Chicago, IL) — 2011-10-24 07:11:35

Fancy box, loads of instructions. The inner may be more advanced or maybe not. It is really hard to gauge it's efficiency, it beeps, learns location all fairly well. Did I pay $300 more for nothing? The GPS is close but not real accurate, off between 100-150 yards, Red Light cameras, I get alerts in a couple of spots with camera in the area. For this money, take it to the next level, have it interface with your navigation, heads up display, cell phone. Seems like the same old stuff a different box. I don't have the confidence driving with this unit.

Excellent service

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Shinsuke Y (New York, NY) Reviewed for a 2011 Ford Mustang — 2011-06-05 08:38:41

At first the GPS function of the rador did't work properly, but the customer service of Autoanything should be the premier one I've ever seen. Soon I receive the replacement. It works fine. Thank you so much.

a few trips

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Paul T (Houston, TX) Reviewed for a 2010 Mini Cooper — 2009-08-11 00:20:18

I was raped a few times by red light cameras not any more finally figured out where the shots were coming from

Escort usage

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael S (Lapeer, MI) — 2012-02-21 13:51:05

During a recent trip sniffed out three oficers but didn't even chirp on the fourth one coming at me in traffic. Add a $90 ticket to the cost this is way over priced!

ticket reducer

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Roger H (Parker, CO) Reviewed for a 2008 Toyota 4Runner — 2010-03-26 09:09:59

I have had the 9500Ix for about two weeks, it marks new locations well so is helpful in that sense. I have found the power cord to be overly large and heavy,so if the unit is not aligned perfectly over the power receptacle it pulls the unit to the side letting it rattle against the windshield. If you want to use a receptacle far to the right and place the unit within easy viewing and reach to the left it is not ideal. Other than that I hope it is good for $500. One other thing it is to bad they couldn't include a USB cable for the high price.

9500i

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ronald S (Tomball, TX) — 2009-03-24 12:37:50

I purchased the 9500i just in time for a 2500 miile road trip. This is 4th Escort I have owned dating back to the early 80's with the original Escort.My last detector was an 8500. I would still be using but the laser is continually going off. If I could have turned off the laser mode on my 8500 I would still be using it. The ability to eliminate false alerts from alarms and door openers are great. The speed readout feature allows you to get a true speed as most speedometers tend to be optimistic, and is easier to see than the speedometer, also the ability to turn off any mode is nice. The 1st thing I did was turn off the x mode. The Ka band on the 9500i does not seem to be any better than the 8500, maybe even a little less sensitive. As for the POP mode, that appears to be a smoke screen to sell detectors.

Large and quiet

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Andre M (Greenfield, MA) Reviewed for a 1994 Toyota Land Cruiser — 2011-07-08 20:16:47

The unexpected: surprisingly large and surprisingly heavy. The expected: the detector is quiet (GPS works really well) and the windshield mount is flimsy. Once I hardwire the 9500ix and figure out a discrete permanent mount, the ergonomics issue will be solved. The rear laser sensor does not inspire confidence, but I hope never to have the opportunity to test it. Other than that, this detector is precisely what I was expecting based on the description and reviews - at a good price.

A great piece of electronic

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Christof S (Phoenix, AZ) Reviewed for a 2008 BMW 335i — 2010-05-24 20:35:05

I recently bought this detector and it's working great. I already used the valentine1 one, but I must say the Escort 9500ix beats it. The false alert learning is absolutly great and the detector is also usable in towns without driving you crazy with all the false alerts from traffic lights and door openers. One small optimisation: The cable connection would be better placed on the other side of the case, but is doesn't really matter. So overall a great piece of electronic. al little bit pricy but to be fair, you also get a lot for you bucks.

First Impressions

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by David K (White Plains, NY) Reviewed for a 2011 Infiniti M37 — 2011-04-14 13:05:30

I last had an Passport detector in 1973. The technology has sure come a long way. Too bad the window mount hasn't changed in 40 years. I have NO regrets about the cost of the 9500ix, but it would be nice if it came with a better window mount (like just about ANY GPS device) and a longer cord. After all some vehicles have moved the "lighter" plug to the center armrest. Likewise the nice hard case -- I dare you to fit it in your glove box. Of course, Passport can address all of these with extra cost options. Good thing the detector itself sets the standard in the industry.

confident

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by willie m (Temple Hills, MD) Reviewed for a 2012 Toyota Highlander — 2012-07-23 19:29:25

I really haven't had the chance too really test it out, but just fooling around with it I have enjoyed the performance of it.

pretty decent

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Anshul M (North Billerica, MA) — 2012-06-27 22:34:17

very quiet and very effective.

ticket stopper

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Lucille L (Lakeland, FL) Reviewed for a 2009 Toyota Camry — 2011-03-05 13:01:37

so far it seems to work ok sometimes the alert is not long enough to slow down but i was not speeding so i was ok,im still testing it out

Would like more for the money.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Ben S (Columbus, GA) — 2011-08-18 14:45:21

A nice detector. Comes with very little accessories, but it does have a nice plastic case. Metal on window mount is thin and somewhat flexable, ie. will jiggle. Does not come with cord for hard mount, but it does have a nice plastic case. They want you to pay to get yearly updates after paying so much for the unit. Why not leave out the fancy plastic case and give us some of the things that matter more?

good price

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Russell K (Gig Harbor, WA) Reviewed for a 2006 Lincoln Zephyr — 2010-10-29 21:28:57

Best price on the net. Too soon to evaluate the rd.

Seems overpriced for the hype

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Anna S (El Dorado Hills, CA) — 2012-09-16 13:24:18

Not worth $500 for GPS enabled , but the cheaper version is DEFINITELY worth your buy.

Great radar detector.

Appearance
Ease of Installation
Price/Value
Quality

Reviewed by Michael L (STRONGSVILLE, OH) — 2013-01-24 21:53:50

I just retired an Escort 8500. Had it at least 10 years. This one blows it away! Love the red light cam database and the ability to program speed traps. I have not been using it long and it is already eliminating many false alarms. Drawbacks: had to have detector plugged into power supply to synch up the database. The case looks nice in pics but is garbage. The inside of mine cracked when I pulled the detector out. And behind it was rusted tin. The Detector itself works awesome!